Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off topic stuff

• 27-06-2010 2:24pm
    Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭

Thread for off topic randomness...

Going to have lunch in Celtic Manor now...
    No score in the football, no clubs in the car :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Daithio9

*Newsflash*
    Cork are the biggest bottlers ever in GAA history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

Brutal scotch foursome score this morning, followed by several beers watching the Germans hammer the Brits along with the BBC pundits cry foul over the need for goal line technology:
    "Gary Linekar and country please form an orderly line behind the Irish camp in attempting to persuade Sepp Blatter to change his mind"

L.O.F.T wrote: »
    Brutal scotch foursome score this morning, followed by several beers watching the Germans hammer the Brits along with the BBC pundits cry foul over the need for goal line technology:
    "Gary Linekar and country please form an orderly line behind the Irish camp in attempting to persuade Sepp Blatter to change his mind"
    Or alternatively they could, like us not bitch and moan about it, and realise it's never going to happen and move on, although I must say your way is alot more entertaining and funnier to watch.

Daithio9 wrote: »
    Or alternatively they could, like us not bitch and moan about it, and realise it's never going to happen and move on, although I must say your way is alot more entertaining and funnier to watch.

Daithio9, we are still moaning and bitching about that hand ball! its only since the French got dumped out at the group stage which has taken the sting out of being bumF**ked by FIFA.

Licksy wrote: »
    Thread for off topic randomness...

Going to have lunch in Celtic Manor now...
    No score in the football, no clubs in the car :(

Why have you no clubs at Celtic manor...... of all places?????

Daithio9, we are still moaning and bitching about that hand ball! its only since the French got dumped out at the group stage which has taken the sting out of being bumF**ked by FIFA.
    I'd say it's made it worse that the French were so pathetic, that they didn't do themselves or their fans justice, when we know it would have been a huge party if we were there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

I'd say it's made it worse that the French were so pathetic, that they didn't do themselves or their fans justice, when we know it would have been a huge party if we were there.

that's the main thing:rolleyes:,what the french did over there is nothing to do with us,i'm sick of people saying we should be there instead of them,like if Henry hadn't handled we were going to be awarded the match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

heavyballs wrote: »
    that's the main thing:rolleyes:,what the french did over there is nothing to do with us,i'm sick of people saying we should be there instead of them,like if Henry hadn't handled we were going to be awarded the match

agree its total bollix . we had lots of chances to qualify before that match but we are sh.ite. we had no business being there and its a joke to hear all the backlash about how bad all the teams were in the world cup, how bad were we , we didnt even make it that far , what a joke

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Why have you no clubs at Celtic manor...... of all places?????
    Just back from a family holiday in England... you think it was bad being in Celtic Manor with no clubs... how about being within touching distance of Sunningdale too... ah well :(
    It's on the agenda to take a trip over there with only clubs in the car sometime :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Just back from a family holiday in England... you think it was bad being in Celtic Manor with no clubs... how about being within touching distance of Sunningdale too... ah well :(
    It's on the agenda to take a trip over there with only clubs in the car sometime :)

Whats it like there,would it have been easy enough to have gotten out?

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

I played both the Old and the New Courses on the same memorable day... my favourite place to play golf that I've ever been (in fairness, that wouldn't be that hard).
    It's certainly a toffee-nosed place but the courses are magic...
    http://www.sunningdale-golfclub.co.uk/site/home/

Greenfees are expensive in season - about €300 to play both courses and thats mon - thurs! When I played it, id didn't cost me anything... happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Place looks stunning , what were you thinking not bringing your clubs !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,186 ✭✭✭G1032

I played both the Old and the New Courses on the same memorable day... my favourite place to play golf that I've ever been (in fairness, that wouldn't be that hard).
    It's certainly a toffee-nosed place but the courses are magic...
    http://www.sunningdale-golfclub.co.uk/site/home/

Greenfees are expensive in season - about €300 to play both courses and thats mon - thurs! When I played it, id didn't cost me anything... happy days.

how did you play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭upthe19th

have one wedding this year to go to and it's on a medal weekend....give me strength....everyone should get married on a monday;)

Gerrr, I'm hitting the ball like a monkey and I don't know why, please help me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Walking off a tee last night and spotted the lid off a tin of mackerel fillets. Who the hell eats them on a golf course?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

mackerel fillets. Who the hell eats them on a golf course?

03de_1_sbol.JPG

*Newsflash* update, cork are still the biggest bottlers, UP Cavan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,571 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Real clever dig at GreeBo there good to see you ban hasn't changed your trolling ways :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

I was in elverys today all golf stuff is 33% off. Think it was working out at two Nike polos for €37.

Daithio9 - living off one funny post for how many months now?

fullstop wrote: »
    Real clever dig at GreeBo there good to see you ban hasn't changed your trolling ways :rolleyes:
    Who's trolling who?, nice to see I have my own personal stalker now, keep up the good the work.

Daithio9 - living off one funny post for how many months now?
    You mean to say this isn't the comedy forum?, and all this time I thought it was.

nataliegulbis.jpg

... and while i'm at it...

natlie-gulbis-311.jpg

natalie-gulbis1.jpg

?m=02&d=20100711&t=2&i=152160094&w=460&fh=&fw=&ll=&pl=&r=2010-07-11T230107Z_01_BTRE66A1RXY00_RTROPTP_0_GOLF-OPEN

Paula Creamer (23) wins the US womens open yesterday in Oakmont by 4 shots. Only player to finish under par. Not bad for someone who 4 months ago didnt know if she would ever play golf again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Infraction for taking the thread off topic...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

soundsham wrote: »
    You might As well ask
    What's the best car on the road......

depends - you need to consider a number of characteristics:

design, fuel economy, reputation, warranty, service/repairs, insurance, additional extras/features, future saleability, etc, etc

otherwise that question is pointless soundsham

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

conno16 wrote: »
    depends - you need to consider a number of characteristics:

design, fuel economy, reputation, warranty, service/repairs, insurance, additional extras/features, future saleability, etc, etc

otherwise that question is pointless soundsham

Obviously BMW M5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

i like the look of that new nissan
    you know the one that is a complete rip-off of the VW scirocco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Those Natalie Gulbis pics, the first one has got to be photoshopped surely?

Her rack is enormous and then in the next bikini shot she's like an ironing board?

Either way, I'd tap that.

More pics please!! Here ye go..

post-29912-1184897792-3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Anna Rawson
    anna-rawson-lpga.jpg

Cristie Kerr
    Cristie%20Kerr_thumb.jpg

Cmon the Deise.

El oh el, cork bottlers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Anyone ever read about this chancer, the "phantom of the Open"

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maurice_Flitcroft

Shot a 121 at St. Andrews! :eek:

_48567280_-2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

What is that?

Aidric wrote: »
    _48567280_-2.jpg

Yani Tseng, winner of the Ladies British Open last weekend. Got a bit of a hop when I saw that photo. Good player mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Yani Tseng, winner of the Ladies British Open last weekend. Got a bit of a hop when I saw that photo. Good player mind.

You really need some balls to win a major like that :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭LittleLiam

England's Melissa Reid. 7/10.

Not a bad few dolls playing in the ladies irish open.

I finally got the love of the game back, after 3mths of hating it. Two mins with the pro down the driving range, and i was cured it was such a great feeling to have confidence when taking a shot knowing you've a fair idea where it will end up.

page.asp?id=224

ANXIOUS wrote: »
    Not a bad few dolls playing in the ladies irish open.

I finally got the love of the game back, after 3mths of hating it. Two mins with the pro down the driving range, and i was cured it was such a great feeling to have confidence when taking a shot knowing you've a fair idea where it will end up.

i'm still looking for it,i've lost it over the last 2 or 3 years,even when i play well i don't overly enjoy it,were u like that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

LittleLiam wrote: »
    England's Melissa Reid. 7/10.

Cant see the pic, but yes I know who yer on about. Yum yum

i'm still looking for it,i've lost it over the last 2 or 3 years,even when i play well i don't overly enjoy it,were u like that?

Yeah i got to the stage, where i wouldnt even play golf with lads i grew up with. It just made me so frustrated, and lost me alot of money :o because i just couldnt compete with them.

The worst bit was when my friend who i always had to give shots to, turned around and said how about we make this interesting and ill give you 5 shots.

So i went out to seapoint p&p club in louth and shot a 56 +2, that got me thinking that i could turn it around.

Now i cant wait to play again, because i just have the confidence, it got to the stage where i was losing countless balls. Then the next game of golf i play i lose one, i over shot the run-way by about 35yrds because i wasnt commiting to my shots for a year because i was afraid of where it might end up.

Do you enjoy and aspect of the game?

ah yeah,i play off 5 so i can play a bit ,would say i'm probably a good 8 hcp,when i hit a long straight drive i like it but that doesn't last

i was actually just thinking about one of my first golf experience's,going down to play in Arklow with my dad in his society,i remember it like yesterday,we stopped for the full breckie(my first)in Ashford and my dad gave me 3 brand new Prostaff balls,i was loving it
    i remember the dew on the grass etc,i wish i could get that excitement back

ah yeah,i play off 5 so i can play a bit ,would say i'm probably a good 8 hcp,when i hit a long straight drive i like it but that doesn't last

i was actually just thinking about one of my first golf experience's,going down to play in Arklow with my dad in his society,i remember it like yesterday,we stopped for the full breckie(my first)in Ashford and my dad gave me 3 brand new Prostaff balls,i was loving it
    i remember the dew on the grass etc,i wish i could get that excitement back

If youve a son, why not re-create the experience with him. You might get something from his enjoyment and you might also up your game to show off.

you hit the nail on the head and i didn't even realize that that's the one bit of real pleasure i get out of the game at the mo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭postalservice

Cristie Kerr
    Cristie%20Kerr_thumb.jpg
    Also Cristie Kerr :pac:
    s_kerr1_i.jpg

Also Cristie Kerr :pac:
    s_kerr1_i.jpg

Let me guess one was taken before she got married and the other taken 6mths after she got married.

Speaking of natalie gulbis...
    http://twitpic.com/2cvkyd