Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GTA: Vice City - Appreciation Thread

• 26-06-2010 10:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,030 ✭✭✭✭

Was just thinking about this and how it is one of the best games I ever played.

So...what exactly made it so good? What are your fond memories of it?

I havn't played it in a long time, how is it playing now-a-days?

I remember cruising past the golf course in my porche listening to 'I just Died in Your Arms Tonight'. The sun had just set and all the neon signs and colours were out in full. I remember thinking this is one of the best constructed and most enjoyable games I have ever played.

Fell free to post any pics, videos or stories about your experience with this.

I don't think we will ever see this outstanding standard in a video game ever again!

PS. Is the PC version any good (need high specs for it?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

The music made it for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭amjon.

Hopefully the next one will be retro. Vice City is a classic, still listen to the sound track today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

At the time this was the best game i had ever played.. ..Everything about it was just great from the soundtrack to overhearing people on the street talking.

What a game!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

Its €7.50 on steam at the moment. And the first 5 for ~ €22.

Bought it yesterday, as it runs on my crappy intel integrated graphics on my portable laptop (or should at least - GTA3 does :))

At least i'll have one of the most enjoyable games with me when i travel!

Had it on the xbox originally, don't think i spent as much time playing any other game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

The music was great!
    I loved buying properties and then doin missions so you could make money from them. ! Was great fun too when you knew the city off by heart. I dunno what it was but the city felt like it was your home city. ! what a great game. !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,030 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

I might get this on PC so if it runs on an integrated graphics card! I saw some mods, they look class like the bat mobile mod.

I just remembered Lance Vance. One of the best scripts of any game.

Lu Tze wrote: »

Had it on the xbox originally, don't think i spent as much time playing any other game.

I had it on playstation. Used to wake up at 6.30 before work (usually i get up at 7.30). Used to play an hour before work and then play it from 4pm-12 when i got home, barely stopping for food. No other game has EVER made me do this before or since.

The OP's video makes me want to play it again but sadly my ps2 packed in long ago.

I'll say it again WHAT A GAME!!!

Nice man haha :)

Imagine Vice City using the RAGE engine of GTA 4!!! Why don't r* stop fooking around and just to a remake!

My PS3 plays PS2 games, wonder if it would play this!!!! :eek:

sheehy83 wrote: »
    I might get this on PC so if it runs on an integrated graphics card! I saw some mods, they look class like the bat mobile mod.

I just remembered Lance Vance. One of the best scripts of any game.

When the steam servers are back working again i'll download it, and let ye know how it handles on the integrated graphics (mines intel 4500m i think)
    falan wrote: »

I'll say it again WHAT A GAME!!!

I could never get into san andreas in the same way, despite it being an excellent game, and better looking and larger area - vice city just had something special that i can't fully ascertain :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭TheTosh

Something about A Flock of Seagulls on the radio while driving around doing nothing is one of my fondest memories in gaming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Mr. K

I haven't played it since I got 100%, many years ago. A classic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

I remember harassing my mam to buy it for me and rushing home from school to play it every day. I think I was a real brat!

There was just something about knowing the city so well every street was familiar and had it's own characteristics.
    The cheesiness and the retro 'Miami Vice' look made that game. Ray Liotta's voicework, a stellar cast of unique, memorable characters... i might just but it off steam to play it again.

Lets hope they remaster it for ps3 like god of war

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

after i finished the game i remember just cruising/driving around with nothing to do just chillin' for weeks

There was a advert on the radio all the time advertising "shady acres"...Someone told me this was real and i used to spend hours looking for it:o

Some memorable quotes from the game "these shoes are new" and "you know i been loyal" hahaha

http://www.gtaforums.com/index.php?showtopic=287484

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KrazeeEyezKilla

It was the first game I ever played on the PS2 so having not played GTA3 yet I hadn't seen anything like it before. You could just drive around the place listening to the radio or doing stunts with on a motorbike without making any attempt to finish it. I was on about 38% until I decided to finish it off a few weeks before San Andreas came out. The 80's soundtrack was the part of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

I really enjoyed the mission with the mini rc helicopters from the roof of some building-good times!
    The game had an optimism that San Andreas and liberty city don't have-they're far too cynical...
    Was it vice city where you void do drive bys with Frankie goes to Hollywood-two tribes blaring?;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

I actually preferred San Andreas. The music was great in Vice City though...

that said that country channel in San Andreas was fantastic

Something all GTA's had but 4 didn't was a radio station I loved, Head Radio(3), V Rock(Vice) and Radio X(SA) but none stood out in 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭_sparkie_

i lived in the middle east when this was released and it was banned. i had to get my aunt to buy it in ireland and bring it whit her when she came out to see us. well worth it though, it truly is an amazing game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Ah the memories, I used to park on the beach and watch the sun go down while Toto's "Africa" was blaring out of the speakers. good times.

There arent many games where you can have fun doing absolutely nothing in it, but this worked so well in Vice City, and of course, the radio stations, Fernando Martinez is still hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

vice city just had something special that i can't fully ascertain :)

Definitely.

It just had such an amazing atmosphere. It was the music and the colours I think. It made it kinda upbeat and positive, despite all the crime :D

It just had a lot of style for a computer game. Absolutely love it and watching that video is making me want to go and get it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Buy Armani suit.
    Boot person off pink scooter.
    Drive to beach side road.
    Crank up Billy jean.
    Just cruise......ooooooh yeeeeeah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Gonna get GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas for the laptop off eBay, I love them all so much, but the PS2 and XBox are banjaxed.:(

baz2009 wrote: »
    Gonna get GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas for the laptop off eBay, I love them all so much, but the PS2 and XBox are banjaxed.:(

They are 22 quid together on steam (plus GTA 1 and 2)

http://store.steampowered.com/sub/606/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭wanrek

It was the 80s feel gud factor that made it for me, the music, the sun. It was just perfectly done. Think they should defo do a remaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭Polar101

The soundtrack and Pastor Richards on the radio.. "morality is what I say is right, and immorality is what I say is wrong".

Vice City's music has given me a lot of guilty pleasures Bryan Adams Run To You is one

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

No word really does GTA VC justice. Just a joy to play. As already mentioned, the soundtrack, the atmosphere and the colours just took it that extra level over the other GTA's for me.

The soundtrack itself made me fall in love with power ballads and I was 14 year old lad at the time :pac:

I just read online that Vice City for the PS2 works fine on the PS3!! I don't have a clue where my copy is though!!! :eek:

Wonder can you still even buy this in shops?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,318 ✭✭✭weiland79

I just read online that Vice City for the PS2 works fine on the PS3!! I don't have a clue where my copy is though!!! :eek:

Wonder can you still even buy this in shops?

Right thats it, I'm closing the shop early. I know exactly where my copy is.

cruises off into the sunset listening to Billie Jean.....

weiland79 wrote: »

The guy said when he tried it, no music worked and he got like a gridning noise from the ps3. (Imagine VC with no music :() He then tried a different copy and it worked fine.

I remember trying Scarface on my PS3, was mad to play it again and found it was so laggy it was unplayable, was raging. Mad to test this now!

Dammit! Could only find San Andreas, but that works perfectly and a great laugh riding round on the BMX's and riding round with MC Eiht! Excellent! Still want VC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Its such a good game...it just has this charm to it. so many zany characters too. Gotta love PHIL CASSIDY!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

Please tell me you people who got it to work have the 80gb ps3 not the launch model...otherwise i cant play it:(

gooch2k9 wrote: »
    Please tell me you people who got it to work have the 80gb ps3 not the launch model...otherwise i cant play it:(

Sorry, I got the 60gb launch model. Only tried San Andreas and that works fine, so vice city should too. I saw it on play.com for 5 euro, prob get it for that in town 2nd hand as well. Really don't wanna play it on the pc.

weiland79 wrote: »

Or mister mister- broken wings :D. I really want to play this game now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

Thanks to this thread I just downloaded Vice City on my laptop:p. Seems to work well too.

Looking forward to catching up with it. So for all you PC gamers, what are the best mods for Vice city?

Thanks to this thread I just downloaded Vice City on my laptop:p. Seems to work well too.

Looking forward to catching up with it. So for all you PC gamers, what are the best mods for Vice city?

I got it on steam as well runs grand considering how low powered the laptop is. Annoying not using a controller though, will have to try the x360 controller on it later

. Annoying not using a controller though, will have to try the x360 controller on it later

How are you connecting your 360 controller to your laptop?

got one of these a while ago for the desktop

http://www.play.com/Games/PC/4-/3299826/Microsoft-Xbox-360-Crossfire-Wireless-Gaming-Receiver-for-Windows-White/Product.html?ptsl=1&ob=Price&fb=0

Great. I'll pick one of those up on ebay. My 360 got RROD but I still have the controller so I may as well make some use of it. :rolleyes:

i tried it there, it sucks! can't get to game to recognise the triggers or the right analogue stick

I have XPadder, map a keyboard to the PS3/Xbox controller. Problems in any game i've tried. Gonna just hunt for the PS2 version in the bargain/2nd hand bins. This is one game that deserves to be played properly, the way it should be.

Just remembered the secret Scarface motel room from the film with the chainsaw in the bathroom! And then the mission where you are chasing a guy down the street with a chainsaw. Can't wait to get this again!

I have XPadder, map a keyboard to the PS3/Xbox controller. Problems in any game i've tried.

Problems using xpadder or just the controller with no config? Will have to try this at the weekend

Well I was using it for the PC game Saw (awful awful port). Analogue sticks would only work sometimes and even then they wouldn't do what they were supposed to. Then I couldn't change certain keys in the options of the game so I found it very hard to remember what keys were mapped to the buttons and when a shotgun trap is pointed at your head and it says press W and your looking at your PS3 joypad, it can become a bit confusing.

Would probably be better if you downloaded ready made profiles for certain games.

Having an awful time trying to find this on PS2. Anyone see this in any shops on yer travels?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Gonna just hunt for the PS2 version in the bargain/2nd hand bins. This is one game that deserves to be played properly, the way it should be.

On the PC with mouse + keyboard controls for on foot, a solid framerate, high draw distance and high resolutions?

My graphics card sux (although should play this okay, just hate mouse and keyboard for driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Having an awful time trying to find this on PS2. Anyone see this in any shops on yer travels?

I'd say online is your best bet really... Loads of used copies on amazon marketplace/ebay

Going to have to grab it off steam now, my poor credit card has had a hammering this week!!