Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda found with four people living in his shed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Mountjoy's overcrowding is worse than I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

If this was the middle east, 2000 or so years ago that man would have been a hero..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Jesus is back lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Is it even legal to sack him over that?
    Like how does the fact that he's a tight arse affect him working as a Guard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

They'll have to build an extension before the *three wise men show up.

*if they could find one, it would be a miracle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Good to see the tradition of Garda slum landlords is being upheld. Is he married to a nurse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

easyeason3 wrote: »

He's clearly operating illegally, I'm not sure its good for the force to allow him to continue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Someone who upholds the law, should be expected to adhere to it.

mike65 wrote: »
    Good to see the tradition of Garda slum landlords is being upheld. Is he married to a nurse?

No, a teacher. She's called Mary.

She also miraculously concieves every Dec/ Jan so she will be on maternity leave come the start of a new school term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Probably a teacher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

he probably took the oven out of his own house anyway , no use for it he have to buy fuel , better be cold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Is this a fritzl job or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭moonboy52

Good riddance to him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

orourkeda wrote: »
    Probably a teacher

Yeah my money would be on this too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Bajingo wrote: »
    If this was the middle east, 2000 or so years ago that man would have been a hero..

That's so clever, but for the purpose of the story we will accept that baby Jesus was born in a stable, OK.

So, who was the stable owner? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

During the initial High Court hearing last month, Mr Justice Patrick McCarthy was told two of the properties rented out by Mr Galvin represented “a clear and present danger”.

He also claimed that the Garda had acted like he was one of "the Devil's Own" and dismissed his defence - that he had served in the best interests of his fellow countrymen - as simply "playing Patriot Games".

After cross examining a "Witness", it was clear that he could be no longer be "Presumed Innocent" & sentenced the Garda to "Six Days & Seven Nights" in Mountjoy Prison.

After being sacked from the Gardai due to the seriousness of the case, the Judge added that "the Force can no longer be with you".

He also claimed that the Garda had acted like he was one of "the Devil's Own" and dismissed his defence - that he had served in the best interests of his fellow countrymen - as simply "playing Patriot Games".

After cross examining a "Witness", it was clear that he could be no longer be "Presumed Innocent" & sentenced the Garda to "Six Days & Seven Nights" in Mountjoy Prison.

After being sacked from the Gardai due to the seriousness of the case, the Judge added that "the Force can no longer be with you".

So he got to play hide the lightsabre?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Some would say its a qualification :pac:

But no Dlofnep and brianthebard are right on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭moonboy52

Not installing a new washing machine when the old one is on its last legs is being a "tightarse".

What he was doing was immoral and definitely exploitation. Shame on him!

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Some would say its a qualification :pac:

But no Dlofnep and brianthebard are right on this one.

But would he not have gotten a warning?
    Not like a nod & a wink from a seargent but an official 'clean up your act pronto or you're out' kinda warning?

Maybe it's me being suspicious but I think there's more to this than meets the eye. I'm having a Heratio moment.

Why do people think that a person involved in illegal and/or sackable behaviour is entitled to a warning ?

If I take my mickey out at work and start pissing on my co-workers in front of customers do you think I shouldnt be sacked/arrested/sectioned unless I continue to do so on receipt of a warning ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

If I take my mickey out at work and start pissing on my co-workers in front of customers do you think I shouldnt be sacked/arrested/sectioned unless I continue to do so on receipt of a warning ?

Only unless you're a stripper.

Why to people think that a person involved in illegal and/or sackable behaviour is entitled to a warning ?

Oh never mind, I know what I'm trying to say in my head but I just can't think of the words to explain what I mean.

Very hungover :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

My dog lives in better conditions than that.

Hope his name is smeared all over Ireland...Shame, Shame, Shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Not like a nod & a wink from a seargent but an official 'clean up your act pronto or you're out' kinda warning?

Maybe it's me being suspicious but I think there's more to this than meets the eye. I'm having a Heratio moment.
    Oh never mind, I know what I'm trying to say in my head but I just can't think of the words to explain what I mean.

Very hungover :(

We know what you're saying, but the Guard was acting illegally. He committed multiple crimes. There isn't any more than meets the eye, its just that he was caught red handed being criminally neglectful. Its no different to what would happen a drug dealing guard. I imagine its in their contract anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Willie: "Don't let 'em get to you, lass. I'm too good for this place too. Now run home to your shack."
    Lisa: "I live in a house!"
    Willie: "Well la-di-da, college girl! Well I guess you're too good for me too!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Did they expect anything other than a pig sty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

A LANDLORD who was found to have three adults and an 18-month-old baby living in a garden shed heated by an oven has been sacked from his job as a garda over his property dealings.

That's disgraceful. Everybody knows you should only heat babies using a microwave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Squarewave

"Garda found with four people dead in his shed!"

Now that's a more eye-catching headline..!

And it rhymes!

Man I'm good...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

No, a teacher. She's called Mary.

She also miraculously concieves every Dec/ Jan so she will be on maternity leave come the start of a new school term.
    that has to be a joke, my god

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I think the shocking thing about this case is that a landlord was actually prosecuted for providing substandard accomodation. That seems to be a rarity in this country.
    He was given notification to improve his properties in 2008 and failed to do so which then led to prosecution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Wonder if they were warm enough.

Did he have them under a vest?

snubbleste wrote: »
    I think the shocking thing about this case is that a landlord was actually prosecuted for providing substandard accomodation. That seems to be a rarity in this country.
    He was given notification to improve his properties in 2008 and failed to do so which then led to prosecution.

That's what I wanted to know earlier!
    That's what I meant by saying there's more to the story.
    Thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 566 ✭✭✭AARRRRGH

Ive often seen garden sheds advertised on daft as apartments.

Disgraceful.

AARRRRGH wrote: »
    Ive often seen garden sheds advertised on daft as apartments.

Seriously ??????

Mind you theres a lof of apartments out there where the standards of construction would be little better than the average garden shed :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 GavinEire

dlofnep wrote: »
    Jesus is back lads!

loL good one.

The thread title is of course misleading, the Garda was not found with four people living in his shed, he was in his nice comfy house.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Sounds like the plot of Lethal Weapon 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

was anyone else really hoping for a picture of the shed in that article??

with the people in it even better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

dont forget there were three men and a baby in teh shed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

+1 Have reported a couple of landlords in my time and AFAIK all are still operating as I have seen the same properties advertised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

The thread title is of course misleading, the Garda was not found with four people living in his shed, he was in his nice comfy house.:p
    Ah, the dangling modifier...

My modifier does not dangle :mad: :pac:

was this shed attached or very close to house, how old was it, was it at back of house, it must have been very big to acommodate that many people, it had to have a bathroom, kitchen, bedrooms and been insulated, what did he charge for the property per week, did he provide bin service, how did he charge electricity, did it have open fire in it

goat2 wrote: »
    was this shed attached or very close to house, how old was it, was it at back of house, it must have been very big to acommodate that many people, it had to have a bathroom, kitchen, bedrooms and been insulated, what did he charge for the property per week, did he provide bin service, how did he charge electricity, did it have open fire in it

Why don't you ask him?
    His name and partial address appears in the newspaper link provided.

Why don't you ask him?
    His name and partial address appears in the newspaper link provided.
    Efforts by The Irish Times in recent days to contact Mr Galvin were not successful

if they could not contact him, what hope have we,
    maybe he is now living in the shed

The Tribune Convicted former garda still letting out accommodation
    Kevin Galvin, who lives at Furry Park Road, Killester, Dublin, has also been the subject of further complaints to the housing charity Threshold since his dismissal from the force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

If he was a proper tightarse/typical guard he would've moved himself and the family into the shed and rented the house...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

This thread is so old I didn't even remember how witty my reply on page 2 was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

This thread is so old I didn't even remember how witty my reply on page 2 was.

That's because it was crap.