Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blarney Stone on a list of the world's 101 worst places to visit

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

The Weiner Circle sounds like my kind of place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

and it is one the worst, no surprise on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Hopefully Blackpool is on that list. It makes Bundoran look like Sydney harbour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

That fecking Spire in Dublin should be right near top too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Meh, she probably just had a sht time wherever she went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

The Weiner Circle sounds like my kind of place.

Is that a nickname for the internet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

WindSock wrote: »
    Meh, she probably just had a sht time wherever she went.

I expect she didn't get groped enough on the Tokyo subway, which was probably the start of her troubles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭Greyfox

and it is one the worst, no surprise on that.

True, it's proof the americans love absolutely ANYTHING Irish, queueing up in the rain to kiss a stone that looks exactly like the rest of the castle, then they buy a solvenier which says I kissed the blarney stone! Stupidest tourist thing ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

Greyfox wrote: »
    Stupidest tourist thing ever!

and the most unhygenic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

Does Temple bar get a look in?
    Surely, one of the worst kips in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

the travel writer criticises the Irish tourist attraction because of access problems

Well somehow I don't think 15th century castle designers had lazy American tourists in mind when they built the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Whenever I meet American tourists, they're always feckin moaning about something, usually because some attraction doesn't match the hype in a brochure, or bellyaching because the locals in some foreign country haven't bothered their arses learning English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Whenever I meet American tourists, they're always feckin moaning about something, usually because some attraction doesn't match the hype in a brochure, or bellyaching because the locals in some foreign country haven't bothered their arses learning English.

Overheard in Bunratty Castle:

"Why did they have to build the castle so close to the God-damned motorway"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I was at Newgrange a few years ago and there was an American complaining about not being able to fit through the entrance of the monument.. yer man was about 30 stone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I was at Newgrange a few years ago and there was an American complaining about not being able to fit through the entrance of the monument.. yer man was about 30 stone

Good job he wasn't there for the solstice blocking all the sunlight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

I remember when younger we went to Blarney Castle. All i can say is it's place on the list is well justified and should be higher than whatever position it is in. 3 hours queing to kiss a fucking stone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Degag wrote: »
    I remember when younger we went to Blarney Castle. All i can say is it's place on the list is well justified and should be higher than whatever position it is in. 3 hours queing to kiss a fucking stone.

surely you were aware beforehand what you were putting in for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

aDeener wrote: »
    surely you were aware beforehand what you were putting in for?

I was 8. I was probably told i was queing for ice cream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I went there once when I was around 20 with some of the family, I'd never been so said why not.

At least there's a good view from the top of the castle...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

:eek::eek: I observed the same exact thing only it was a group of them moaning that they should have widened the passageway. One of their fellow americans laughed them out of it though. Suggested something about no remains of the golden arches were found at the site :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Do people actually kiss the stone?

That's disgusting, who the hell would want to go see some rock that's probably covered in herpes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Jesus, all very serious responses for AH.......

She can kiss my stones for free.
    In fact, she can even suck the whole dangly bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

phasers wrote: »
    Do people actually kiss the stone?

That's disgusting, who the hell would want to go see some cock that's probably covered in herpes?

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

fontanalis wrote: »
    Hopefully Blackpool is on that list. It makes Bundoran look like Sydney harbour.

what exactly is wrong with blackpool, it has

* a themepark that is continually voted in the top 5 in the world on themepark sites

* a great beach, 3 nice piers with stuff to do

* the illuminations are lovely and the classic trams are a nice touch too

* nightlife aplenty with two of the biggest clubs in britain and as well as the usual favourites with regards bars such as brannigans, flares, walkabout etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

In Cork innit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

rossie1977 wrote: »
    what exactly is wrong with blackpool, it has

* a themepark that is continually voted in the top 5 in the world on themepark sites

* a great beach, 3 nice piers with stuff to do

* the illuminations are lovely and the classic trams are a nice touch too

* nightlife aplenty with two of the biggest clubs in britain and as well as the usual favourites with regards bars such as brannigans, flares, walkabout etc etc

I found it pretty grim, in my few hours there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fulhamfanincork

You just all hate it because it's in Cork. If it was in Dublin you'd all be creaming over it and Bono would be constantly shagging it. The Blarney stone is a hell of alot better than that crummy metal dildo you plonked in O'Connail street. Langers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

You just all hate it because it's in Cork. If it was in Dublin you'd all be creaming over it and Bono would be constantly shagging it. The Blarney stone is a hell of alot better than that crummy metal dildo you plonked in O'Connail street. Langers.

To be fair, It is terrible.

I know it's terrible. How much did they spend on it? Couple of million? I still remember tv3 being there every morning as each piece was put on top of one another :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

I'd love to go to Beijing's Tap Water Museum, just so I could say that I had been. It sounds so dull, that it could make for a great topic of conversation; in a perverse kind of way.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

I'm from Cork and never felt the need to go there, I especially wouldn't be kissing it, God knows what icky disease you'd pick up.

Once it keeps duping tourists into shelling out cash, that's fine by me ;)

I'm from Cork and never felt the need to go there, I especially wouldn't be kissing it, God knows what icky disease you'd pick up.

I have never gone either :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭The Davestator

The stone is pretty crap, but the castle and the grounds are very nice and worth a visit IMO.

Also, your man who helps you kiss it, cleans up, everyone was tipping him when i was there. i didnt cos I am fit and able bodied enough to actually lie on my back AND get up again without assistance...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

The main point that everyone seems to be missing is how did the woman actually get out of the kitchen to visit all these places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

It just goes to show how stupid some people are. What do people expect to see when they go to visit the Blarney stone? Maybe they should put a big slid down from the top and a pool at the bottom. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

Do I understand you right? Do people actually pay good money for the privilege of kissing a stone that is just like every other stone in the castle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

What about the holy stone of Clonrichert?!

Its been upgraded to a class 2 !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Have any Irish people actually been to the Blarney Stone? The day I was there, i was all set to go, but i was the only irish person there, they were all overweight ameicans in bright clothes, white runners and silly hats. I couldnt bring myself to go, not missing much anyway, by the sounds of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭FunnyStuff

profitius wrote: »
    It just goes to show how stupid some people are. What do people expect to see when they go to visit the Blarney stone? Maybe they should put a big slid down from the top and a pool at the bottom. :rolleyes:

Now that sounds like fun!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

We hate Cork for entirely different reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭jigglywoo

I visited Blarney Castle during the week as I was staying down in Cork. Thought a tenner in was a bit much but the grounds are very well maintained. I thought the castle was cool, had little stairs going random places. A lot more interesting than other ruins I've visted.
    I had no interest in the stone at all. If they wanted to make money off the stone they'd charge people extra to kiss it and they already charge you to get a picture taken.
    Don't know why people are complaining about it so much, it may be a silly stone but it brings in tourists and money so that can't be a bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

This says it all. Well not really but still WTF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Genrikh Yagoda

blarney stone, it even sounds sh*t!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Genrikh Yagoda

Riddle101 wrote: »
    This says it all. Well not really but still WTF

Looks like an awful lot of effort for nothing, do you think that guy enjoys his job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭eamo12

Well somehow I don't think 15th century castle designers had lazy American tourists in mind when they built the place.

The 'ol lazy/dumb/stupid Americans quip will always gets you top of the popularity stakes - well done for that. (yawn)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Its a stone and you have to go up a load of steps to kiss the thing. Waste of time but the americans believe it is worth while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Hahaha!!

I mentioned this in another post on another forum but met an American girl recently who claimed she saw a Leprechaun at the Blarney Stone. She was a nice girl, so I tried to keep the patronising tone out of my voice when I asked her was she sure. She had a little think about it and finally agreed with me that, yep, it was probably just a small man.

Okey dokey.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I'm from near Blarney - I just associate the castle grounds with going gatting/fumbling around with the opposite sex as a teenager/spin the bottle... Therefore I think it's a wonderful place and object to this demarcation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

blarney stone, it even sounds sh*t!

How about "Baloney Stone"?