Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Greece v Argentina

• 21-06-2010 10:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭

i just cant keep away

why is argentina odds on -2 @ 9/2 so high

greece are awful and they need to win so they have to come out and attack and argentina can just bury them on the counter attack

am i missing something

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Sir Vival

Headshot wrote: »
    i just cant keep away

why is argentina odds on -2 @ 9/2 so high

greece are awful and they need to win so they have to come out and attack and argentina can just bury them on the counter attack

am i missing something

Maybe the fact that argentina have already qualified for the second round...? I personally would still fancy them to win but not by more than 2

Big odds alright.

A draw means the Argies win the group though so they might not go full tilt and the Greeks need to win although a draw may be enough for them.

Not sure how I'll bet on this one tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I'm thinking of AH -1. 2.10 odds on PP. If Argentina only win by a goal you get your money back.

Greece are horrible and only managed to beat Nigeria because your man got sent off. The South Korea game is on at the same time so they won't know their result going into it. So playing for a draw isn't really an option which means they'll try attack and that should leave a lot of gaps at the back. And even if Argentina rest a few players i just think they'll have too much class going forward and should win by at least a goal. Hopefully 2 so they cover the handicap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭coughlan08

first proper bet in the wc,
    had a good weekend of betting in the gaa,
    see how this goes...

Greece v Argentina
    2010-06-22 19:30:00
    Win-Draw-Win
    Argentina
    4/7

USA v Algeria
    2010-06-23 15:00:00
    Double Chance
    USA And Draw
    2/9

England v Slovenia
    2010-06-23 15:00:00
    Win-Draw-Win
    England
    1/2

€200 returns €576.19

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭bubbleking

Argentina FTW but not by more than 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 591 ✭✭✭matt1958

I'd wait for in play betting too see if anything is missing.. On eurosport Mardonna has said Messi will be starting with Milito and Aguero.. But its their defence that has me worried their first choice aint that great so what will the back-up one be like:eek:..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

this is the supposed line up

Sergio Romero - Nicolas Otamendi, Martin Demichelis, Nicolas Burdisso, Clemente Rodriguez - Juan Sebastian Veron, Mario Bolatti, Maxi Rodriguez - Lionel Messi, Diego Milito, Sergio Aguero

pretty strong stuff there

im thinking of messi to score 2 or more, poor fella has been argentina's best player but just cant get the goals his displays deserve

im not worried about Greece really. they are brutal up front and even thou argentina are dodgy in the back, they'll just blow the greece defence away

plus messi is captain for the day

I've not heard of three players from the probable line-up two of them are defenders RB and LB??? I think you'll need Argentina too score four goals too be sure of the -2 coming in they'll concede a goal.. I think the odds are too hard too pass up goodluck with it.. I'll be just going with a win @ 1.57:D..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Kod-box

Strange that Di Maria isnt on that team, maybe he has a booking picked up like Tevez though.

so iv gone for that -2 and made it into a treble

World Cup 3rd Group Matches Nigeria v South Korea
    22-06-2010 19:30
    Draw No Bet
    South Korea @ 4/6

World Cup 3rd Group Matches USA v Algeria
    23-06-2010 15:00
    Win-Draw-Win
    USA @ 10/11

World Cup 3rd Group Matches Greece v Argentina Money-Back Special
    22-06-2010 19:30
    Alternative Handicap
    Argentina (-2.0) @ 9/2

Treble
    1 line at €50.00 per line
    Total stake for this bet: €50.00
    Potential returns: €875.00

:eek:.. Best of luck with that one Headshot..

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Kod-box wrote: »
    Strange that Di Maria isnt on that team, maybe he has a booking picked up like Tevez though.

He's not been booked at all. He's been poor so far IMHO, very poor surprisingly.

He was alright in the last game i thought, made some good runs and Maradona loves him so im surprised he's not included if thats the proper team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 El_Zigi

matt1958 wrote: »
    I'd wait for in play betting too see if anything is missing.. On eurosport Mardonna has said Messi will be starting with Milito and Aguero.. But its their defence that has me worried their first choice aint that great so what will the back-up one be like:eek:..

I can say this anyway, Burdisso is an excellent CB, far better than that clown Demichelis. Hard to believe Nigeria can win by 1 and go through if Greece lose by any amount. I'll be steering clear of tomorrows games. Too many possibilities for my liking. A few speculative little bets on long shots is what I'll do. As far as short odds are concerned, I'd go with over 2.5 goals in Arg v Gre but I can't combine it with anything else I like to make a solid looking treble. 9/2 on Milito scoring 2 or more looks an OK price if he starts. As the focal point of Argentina's attack/Messi's assists and most importantly the fact he's a class finisher he could bang in a couple no problem.

Stuck 20 on the -2 handicap @ 5.50.
    20 on the AH -1 @ 2.10.
    5 on Milito first scorer and Argentina win 4-1 @ 67.00

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 El_Zigi

Nothing but speculative little bets today for me.

Speculative bet no.1

Double

1 euro on Mexico ht/Uruguay ft (45/1) and S Korea ht/Nigeria ft (35/1)

Odds = 1655/1

no.2

1 euro on Mexico ht/Uruguay ft (45/1) and Nigeria ht/ S Korea ft (25/1)

Odds = 1195/1

I can't lose. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Di Maria is obviously being rested - he is an integral part of this Argie side and is a first-choice starter as is Higuain now. Argentina should win but winning by 3 or more goals, probably not. 3-1 Argie.

I'm looking at this double odds 3.00

Argentina AH -1 @ 2.00
    Germany @ 1.50

I can see Argentina's "second" string winning by more than one goal no bother especially with Messi, Aguero and Milito in attack and Germany along with Argentina been the most impressive attacking teams in the world cup so far. Germany even with 10 men against a strong Serbia defence they should of won the game if not at the least got a point out of it it was just one those "great":D football days.. I was thinking of just going with straight wins but from the reading ive done i think the AH in Argentina match is worth the punt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Argentina -1 AH has gone down to 2.00 on PP, gone for it anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Gone for two accums today:

2.50 on:

Greece v Argentina
    Nigeria v South Korea Draw
    South Africa v France
    Mexico v Uruguay

Returns: 105

And because I can't make up my mind:

5 on:

Greece v Argentina
    Nigeria v South Korea
    South Africa v France
    Mexico v Uruguay

Returns: 215

D Milito @ 7/1
    To Score 2 or More Goals
    Greece v Argentina
    €5

D Milito to score in 90 minutes and Argentina to win the match @ 9/5
    Wincast
    Greece v Argentina
    €20.00

Still have one accumulator left. Uruguay did their bit. Part II is Argentina to win now.

Teams for Argentina v Greece:

Greece: Alexandros Tzorvas; Loukas Vyntra, Vangelis Moras, Sotiris Kyrgiakos, Vassilis Torosidis, Alexandros Tziolis, Avraam Papadopoulos, Socratis Papastathopoulos, Giorgos Samaras, Giorgos Karagounis, Kostas Katsouranis.

Argentina: Sergio Romero, Martin Demichelis, Clemente Rodriguez, Nicolas Burdisso, Mario Bolatti, Juan Sebastian Veron, Maxi Rodriguez, Nicolas Otamendi, Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero, Diego Milito.

No Masherano or Huiguain

enhanced specials

Messi to score anytime and Argentina to win 6/4

Messi and Milito to both score against Greece 7/2

i like the 7/2 one myself

No Heinze either hmmm

Argentina have made seven changes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I've gone with Milito to score anytime @ 11/8. Also Argentina to win 2-0 @ 11/2. Both B365.

gone for Argentina -1.5 @ 2.46

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

gone for a 40euro double on korea and argentina -1

Also threw 300 on argentina to win @ 1/2 - greece couldnt beat galway united

• Registered Users Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Superfint

Finally off work, back to betting, gone for the following:

Greece v Argentina - Argentina -2 @ 10/3 -E4.50
    Argentina -1 @ 13/10 -E5.00
    Argentina - Argentina (HT/FT) 6/5 - E5.00

Backed a few MOTM & 2 or more goals, Messi, Aguero, Milito, just 20cents each for the craic!:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Went for argentina to win to nil at 7/5.

Took me ten minutes to explain to your one behind the counter that the bet wasn't argentina to win 2-0.

Is anyone else nervous for their handi-caps??:( i am..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭akkadian

baraca wrote: »
    Went for argentina to win to nil at 7/5.

Took me ten minutes to explain to your one behind the counter that the bet wasn't argentina to win 2-0.
    Maybe Greece could nick it. Samoras looks to me like he's on e. Really!

Need an Argentina goal in this to open up the game. Their best option looks like a corner at the moment. I hate these defensive games. Ruins otherwise potentially entertaining games.

D Milito @ 7/1
    To Score 2 or More Goals
    Greece v Argentina
    €5

D Milito to score in 90 minutes and Argentina to win the match @ 9/5
    Wincast
    Greece v Argentina
    €20.00

Still have one accumulator left. Uruguay did their bit. Part II is Argentina to win now.

Ugh.. not looking good so far. Not had a chance as of yet :(

the sooner greece are out of this competition 11 men behind the ball, man marking messi

**** them

Why didn't i take my own advice ffs:mad:.. I'm never doing a football bet more then €30 anytime i go over that i always feckin lose.. Still when they cant go through they will sit back and defend

I think I'll be down to my last 50 after this. Do not believe Milito will score.

Seriously though, fair play to anyone who is positive for this tourney. Been an absolute shocker for me.

PLZ get one more..

Come on one more goal Argentina and i'll walk away from today even. Only reason i'm in the plus figures since this WC began is thanks to 2 big GAA wins inbetween.

**** off Milito

You can't blame Milito.. The midfield couldnt supply the ammo for him..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

nice one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

2-0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭greeno

Get in!

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭ForzaKid

yesssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

You can't blame Milito.. The midfield couldnt supply the ammo for him..

Yeah I know. Just venting out.

Went big on single bets for Fabiano, Forlan, RVP and Villa to score in the first round.. has proved costly. Betting on scraps ever since then. Milito was the first big bet(for me anyway) I have made since then.

.. and now Palermo comes on to score to rub salt in the wounds :pac:

Everybody seems to be winning except for me *sigh*

Ah wait forgot i did the AH:p..

doesnt matter now thank you Argentina hold on now..i never thought it would be that close too the wire for that too come in.. fcuk me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

well done lads - greece got everything they deserved

Hola Dinero, Adios Greece yis boring fúcks.