Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forearms on fire after deadlfit

• 21-06-2010 10:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭

I've been deadlifting a lot recently as i'm very close to getting to a 100kg deadlift! The only problem i'm noticing now though is that my forearms feel like they are on fire after just the deadlifts, it really puts a downer on the rest of the workout as my forearms are just to wrecked to do anything else like pullups or bent over rows. I also feel that they are slowing down my deadlift progression as my legs and back feel fine afterwards.

My question is should I stay focusing on the deadlift and strengthen my forearms from that? or should I try and strengthen it by other means such as one arm hangs from chinup bars and farmers walks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

What's your complete routine like?

How good are you at pull ups?

Are you using a mixed grip or a double overhand grip?

How long have you been deadlifting?

Could be a case of just weak grip, but I'd like to know the rest before jumping to that conclusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Newbie_2009

I would recommend that you consult the gym trainers to make sure you know where the fire extinguishers are in the gym in case the fire spreads to the rest of the body.

P.s. Maybe actually dont tell them you are go on fire after the deadlift as having customers on the premise prone to spontaneous combustion would most likely invalidate their fire insurance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Chris89

I would recommend that you consult the gym trainers to make sure you know where the fire extinguishers are in the gym in case the fire spreads to the rest of the body.

P.s. Maybe actually dont tell them you are go on fire after the deadlift as having customers on the premise prone to spontaneous combustion would most likely invalidate their fire insurance

tumbleweed.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

man i thought it was funny!

I agree with colm's comments so answer all them first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭TheSegal

Thanks for the replies, that spontaneous combustion reply was pretty funny! Really should have worded it better.

I'm doing the stronglifts 5x5 program now, I injured my knee pretty bad last year as a result of poor hamstrings in comparison to my quads. I think this was due to trying to increase my kicking strength for football by focusing a lot of time isolating my quads after some retarded advice given at football training. I've been back training since April and have made some great progress with Stronglifts, I started from very small numbers and stuck to 2.5kg extra every session to make sure I wasn't thick and injure myself again in the process.

I'm pretty decent at pull-ups, I usually get up to around 15-16 in the first set and then slowly progress down to about 4-5 in the third and final set.

I've been using a double overhand grip, I was considering changing since my last session.

I've been deadlifting since April so almost 3 months now, i've made good progress, going from a starting weight of 60kg so I should be on 100kg now but i'm still at 95kg for four reps, then 97.5kg for two and then when I get to 100kg my forearms feel like they are about to fall off and I just can't lift it, as I said earlier my back and hamstrings still feel grand in comparison to my forearms. Now that I think about after writing it down, the mixed grip would probably be the best solution for it.

Do you guys think its just down to weak grip after reading through this post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Hi There

I also do strong lifts and a few things that help me with my deadlift

• Mixed grip. Once I get to 100kg I switch to mixed grip and find this helps a lot.
    • Use chalk and not gloves when dead lifting. I usually use golve (I know, wuss :) ) for most of my lifts. However I find glvoe a hinderance for dead lifitng. Chalk on your hands is much better.

Best Regards,

M

Thanks for the fast reply B-Builder, the chalk sounds like a really good idea but would I be better off trying to build up as much grip strength as possible before using it?

Also, do you know where I could buy liquid chalk? My gym doesn't like deadlifts to begin with so i'd say powder chalk would be a definite no!

Hi There

I would try the outdoor shops for liquid chalk.

I bought the chalk ball and bag from here, and I find that with using the bag there is very little mess.

http://www.buykettlebelldublin.com/products/specialproducts

I would keep dead lifting and as I said switch to mixed grip for your heavier sets. On non dead lifting days you could do some farmers walks with heavy dumbells to help improve your grip strength.

Best Regards,

M

Thanks again B-Builder, i'm heading in to the gym again tonight so i'll post the results I get with using a mixed grip. Hopefully i'll finally hit the 100!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

TheSegal wrote: »

Thanks for the fast reply B-Builder, the chalk sounds like a really good idea but would I be better off trying to build up as much grip strength as possible before using it?

Also, do you know where I could buy liquid chalk? My gym doesn't like deadlifts to begin with so i'd say powder chalk would be a definite no!

Liquid chalk can be bought in most outdoor stores which supply climbing gear. 53 Degrees north sell good stuff which I use myself.
    Chalk does not affect your grip strength, it just helps with sweaty hands.

The usual advice given in your situation is to use a double overhand grip for your warmups and switched to a mixed grip for your work set. This way your grip gets some work in the warm up. Your grip is probably weak but the deadlift itself will help with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭RealistSpy

Let us klnow if you reach the 100Kg mark :) I love progression :).

PS: Try mix grip no gloves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

I'm unfamiliar with the ins and outs of Stronglifts but if you're going for 100kg x 5 then maybe 95Kg x 4 is too taxing a warm up.

What's your warm up look like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

maybe 95Kg x 4 is too taxing a warm up.
    Yes, from the sounds of the pullups he might be going to failure on all sets. 15-16 pullups first set dropping to 4-5 on the third set is a big drop.

16 pullups is excellent too, I am surprised you have trouble with the grip on the deadlift, are these pullups palms facing away from you? What weight are you?

rubadub wrote: »
    Yes, from the sounds of the pullups he might be going to failure on all sets. 15-16 pullups first set dropping to 4-5 on the third set is a big drop.

Thats what the programme says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

d'Oracle wrote: »
    Thats what the programme says.
    Ah I see that now on the stronglifts site. Even still it seems a large drop off and his idea of failure might be different from other peoples. i.e. his last rep might be a messy struggle to utter failure while other people would say failure is not being able to do a rep with perfect form.

I used to go to a "messy" struggling last rep on chins but my numbers did not drop from 16 to 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Poncherello

I would say that a mixed grip and chalk would help me lift 20Kg more than without on a 5rep max set.
    If u have never used them before you will notice a big difference

To answer your questions first Rubadub, i'm 5'7' and 70kg. I go to failure on the sets, I could probably squeeze out another 1-2 pullups but they would be very messy at the end, I just want to do everything with perfect form anymore as i'm so afraid of injury again! I know the odds of injury with pullups is pretty low but I just want to make sure. I do palms facing away from me for them and chest to bar, they're not kipping pull ups either.

Colm, I'll use your advice with the warmups, would something like 80kgx5, 85x3 and 95x2 be a good warmup do you think? Right now i'm doing 90x5, 92.5x4, 95x3 and (attempt) 97.5x2 before attempting the 100. I've pretty much stuck to the 2.5kg increments for all of my sets for squatting and other lifts.

To answer your questions first Rubadub, i'm 5'7' and 70kg. I go to failure on the sets, I could probably squeeze out another 1-2 pullups but they would be very messy at the end, I just want to do everything with perfect form anymore as i'm so afraid of injury again! I know the odds of injury with pullups is pretty low but I just want to make sure. I do palms facing away from me for them and chest to bar, they're not kipping pull ups either.

Colm, I'll use your advice with the warmups, would something like 80kgx5, 85x3 and 95x2 be a good warmup do you think? Right now i'm doing 90x5, 92.5x4, 95x3 and (attempt) 97.5x2 before attempting the 100. I've pretty much stuck to the 2.5kg increments for all of my sets for squatting and other lifts.

Try starting out with 60kg.
    Your first warm up set it like 10 kilos less than the work set.
    Is this not in the all knowing Belgians e-pamphlet?

I am with the d'Oracle on this start with 50 - 60kg Warm up.

I would also agree.

My dead lifting session looks like this

1 x 3 x 70kg - warm up - double over hand grip
    1 x 3 x 80kg - warm up - double over hand grip
    1 x 3 x 90kg - warm up - double over hand grip
    1 x 2 x 100kg - warm up - double over hand grip
    1 x 1 x 110kg - warm up - mixed grip
    1 x 1 x 115kg - warm up - mixed grip
    2 x 5 x 122.5kg work sets - mixed grip

If anyone has any opinions or constructive critisim on the above, plese feel free to post.

Best Regards,

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

going from a starting weight of 60kg so I should be on 100kg now but i'm still at 95kg for four reps, then 97.5kg for two and then when I get to 100kg my forearms feel like they are about to fall off and I just can't lift it, as I said earlier my back and hamstrings still feel grand in comparison to my forearms. Now that I think about after writing it down, the mixed grip would probably be the best solution for it.

Do you guys think its just down to weak grip after reading through this post?

It's down to being feckin wrecked that's what. Are you attempting 100kg for a single yeah? In that case it should look like this:

60kg x 5
    70kg x 3
    80kg x 2
    90kg x 1
    100kg x 1
    Do a little dance x 1

Warmups are warmups not work sets or max attempts. You do them so you don't get injured on the work sets or top set. If you still feel a little stiff after the 90kg x 1 then take a little break and lift it again. You should feel fresh for the 100kg lift not in any way tired.

And never ever go to failure with a deadlift no matter what Belgian e-marketers tell you :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

b-builder

A lot of warm sets there mate if it was me id go wit the below

1 x 3 x 60kg - warm up - double over hand grip
    1 x 3 x 80kg - warm up - double over hand grip
    1 x 3 x 100kg - warm up - mixed grip
    2 x 5 x 122.5kg work sets - mixed grip

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

hi - I have similar problems doing other back exercies after deadlifting. My forearms do be absolutely knackered.
    Here's my current deadlift routine, I weigh 81.5kg and am 5'11''.

8 x 60
    8 x 100
    6 x 120
    4 x 130
    2 x 140
    6 x 120

Something along those lines. I like to finish with 6 or 8 reps heavy.

Thing is since I started getting better at deadlifting I find it hard to do many pull ups afterwards. If I do pull ups first I can do 3 sets of 12, 10, 8 maybe. But I struggle to do 2 sets if I do deadlifts first! I'd rather get my deadlift stronger so that's why I'm doing them first, don't want to knacker my forearms doing pullups. So I suppose it's a catch 22!

I got my 100, woooo!! I did the following first to warmup, 60kgx3, 80kgx2, 95x2 and then went for it. Got 3 reps of 100!! Probably could have done 1 more but I still have to get used to the mixed grip, feels a good bit different so want to get used to it first. Feels like i'm picking up a knocked shovel, albeit a really heavy one!

I'm going to start doing farmers walks on days i'm not deadlifting aswell to help with my grip strength, the feeling I got from lifting a triple figure weight was amazing!

Thanks to everyone that gave me the advice, no way could I have done it without all the tips I got here over the last few days. I'm goin to start applying it to all my other lifts aswell, hopefully see some big improvements over the next few weeks and months! I read over the stronglifts site in massive detail beforehand and it did mention a lot of it there so in hindsight I should have looked more closely at it.

Nice

Curious how many people use wrist straps? I want to use it but I feel like a woss.

Oh sorry for stealing the thread!

RealistSpy wrote: »
    Nice

Curious how many people use wrist straps? I want to use it but I feel like a woss.

Do yo mean as in wrist supports or lifting straps which wrap around teh bar and help with grip?

Neither for me, I lift raw, no belts, wraps or straps.

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Shane101

Nice

This. I was considering getting some but I don't see many people using them. (Lifting straps for deads etc)

I mean lifting straps. I can't seem to pass 160/165kg without 1 of my hand sliping off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Nice

Have you already tried chalk? I use straps when I'm working back down from a max set because its those reps afterwards that really start to fry my arms. If you're not training for weightlifting then there's nothing wrong with straps, and your grip will still get trained somewhat but not to the same extent.

Thanks I am just training for strength somthing to aid my sprinting.