Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jimmys Good News/Bad News Thread

• 21-06-2010 10:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭

Car came with a full 5Zigen exhaust which is too loud and big for my tastes.

Is there a twin exit exhaust available cat back that looks oem and doesnt make too much noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Why a twin exit?

The best of the best is the Mugen Twinloop, buy that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,410 ✭✭✭Tefral

draffodx wrote: »
    The best of the best is the Mugen Twinloop, buy that :)

Draffodx is right!

I Have a Mugen Twinloop on My integra, quieter than standard and gives more torque, what more could ya want from an exhaust...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,664 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Car came with a full 5Zigen exhaust which is too loud and big for my tastes.

Is there a twin exit exhaust available cat back that looks oem and doesnt make too much noise.

What condition is the 5Zigen system ?
    What do you intend doing with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

vectra wrote: »
    What condition is the 5Zigen system ?
    What do you intend doing with it?

The same thing i plan to do with the mugen body kit.

Flog it to whoever will take it

PM me with condition and price.
    Might be interested in the exhaust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

PM me with condition and price.
    Might be interested in the exhaust.
    Wish I had a Da like you! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

throw up some pics of the bodykit, looking for a front end for track myself could be interested. does your 5zigen still have the cat in? i have one myself.

Grahamo999 wrote: »
    Wish I had a Da like you! :D

So do I :pac:

Ill get pics up Friday when i get to the home place. Until then im pretty sure im not allowed sell anything here.

I may just get two large silencers welded into the exhaust.

Ill get pics up Friday when i get to the home place. Until then im pretty sure im not allowed sell anything here.

I may just get two large silencers welded into the exhaust.

not 100% i know in some specialist sections like models stuff can be sold or links to adverts section etc, draffodx would be the man in the know, sure if its a problem send me a pm to keep it off boards, on the 5zigen they are a good exhaust ive the miracle fireball cat back on mine, the only time it really got to me was the drive home from the Nurburgring i was wrecked and the droning at some speeds was a bit annoying, but the noise at crossover is sooooooooo addictive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

God brings back memories. Had a 93 civic vti donkeys years ago. She had 2 exhausts. I forget where i got them that time. Nice car too jimmy the sir is.

Thanks ill officially be collecting it Friday.

@projectgtr
    What work was needed for track work.
    I was thinking wilwood brakes and an oil cooler

projectgtr wrote: »
    draffodx would be the man in the know

Just trying to decide the length of the ban at the minute :D:p

Just keep any advertising or dealing off the threads to keep it from going off topic.

Thanks ill officially be collecting it Friday.

@projectgtr
    What work was needed for track work.
    I was thinking wilwood brakes and an oil cooler

Honestly not alot,
    -i uprated my tyres to toyo R888 medium compund
    -uprated the brake fluid to DOT5 to stop fluid boiling
    -braking up front ive got Carbotech pads on OEM disks and OEM spec pads on the rear, over a full track day at mondello i ran this setup with no brake fade at all. Honestly if i was going for a bigger setup ill be running Prelude calipers with MG disks with ITR pads perfect setup for Civic hatch as ran by a few Time attack lads, plus its a fraction of the cost of a "big brake" setup with OEM quality.
    -Suspension wise, mine is as it came from Japan fully adjustable Tein coilovers with GAB front strut,and a few hard race bushings,though i need camber plates to sort out my front end it feels great but it eats tyres.
    -other than that the usual making sure everything is working as it should

How serious of a track car are you looking for? is it a day to day car that will see a few track days? or is it a dedicated track car?
    draffodx wrote: »
    Just trying to decide the length of the ban at the minute :D:p

Just keep any advertising or dealing off the threads to keep it from going off topic.
    dont worry i dont need to be told twice :D just wasnt 100% sure of the rules in this section

Honestly not alot,
    -i uprated my tyres to toyo R888 medium compund
    -uprated the brake fluid to DOT5 to stop fluid boiling
    -braking up front ive got Carbotech pads on OEM disks and OEM spec pads on the rear, over a full track day at mondello i ran this setup with no brake fade at all. Honestly if i was going for a bigger setup ill be running Prelude calipers with MG disks with ITR pads perfect setup for Civic hatch as ran by a few Time attack lads, plus its a fraction of the cost of a "big brake" set-up with OEM quality.
    -Suspension wise, mine is as it came from Japan fully adjustable Tein coil-overs with GAB front strut,and a few hard race bushings,though i need camber plates to sort out my front end it feels great but it eats tyres.
    -other than that the usual making sure everything is working as it should

How serious of a track car are you looking for? is it a day to day car that will see a few track days? or is it a dedicated track car?

dont worry i dont need to be told twice :D just wasnt 100% sure of the rules in this section
    • Itll be a daily that will see a few track days. Thanks on the heads up on the prelude callipers.
    • I have a cheaper option for an oil cooler as the mocol stuff doesn't look so bad.
    • Then figure out how loud it really is and take whatever action is needed. Silencers + maybe an EVC should shut it up. Bluflame make weld in silencers.
    • TBH ill prob just remove the front splitter on the kit and put it back if i ever sell it, it wont look too OTT at that. This weekend is service and de-tint. Maybe a plastic Jesus and roserie beads for checkpoints and karma
    • Coil-overs are there fook knows what they are or what spring rate. My back hurts just thinking about it (im 28 now getting too old for this). If there two hard it'll need fixing

@draffodx, Thanks this is not meant as a sale thread and no one has been PMed or will be until I figure out what the hell im doing and then itll prob be on adverts.ie.

Ogh btw the car i bought is there
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=66558529&postcount=2216

Just seeing what level of reaction it gets so i know how much i need to tone it down.

is it wrong to abuse the skanger thread? :D

Car is being picked up friday.

Just seeing what level of reaction it gets so i know how much i need to tone it down.

Thats a nice civic lad. I am way to old for cars like that!!. I cant believe you posted it in the skangermobiles thread and then buy it:):). I always thought you were a fellow in you fourties judging by your posts!!!!

SARASON wrote: »
    Thats a nice civic lad. I am way to old for cars like that!!. I cant believe you posted it in the skangermobiles thread and then buy it:):). I always thought you were a fellow in you fourties judging by your posts!!!!

No i bought it first then posted it. :D How else are you going to get an opion on what bits need removing so Garda checkpoints dont ruin your day.

Im 28 now going on 40 though.

No i bought it first then posted it. :D How else are you going to get an opion on what bits need removing so Garda checkpoints dont ruin your day.

Im 28 now going on 40 though.

Ah ha good thinking. I wouldnt be gone on the lexus lights but a nice motor otherwise. Best of luck with her;).

almost 5.5k for a 97 :confused:

whats so special about it to bring the cost to that.

almost 5.5k for a 97 :confused:

whats so special about it to bring the cost to that.

Cant discuss what i paid for it but it wasn't 5.5k

You should bring it to the dyno day on Saturday!

Not an option im afraid.

Car is staying where in Clare till i move house. Iv already had a car broken into where i live near a not so good are of Tallagth which can only be described as way to lively at night. (2 days after moving in)

Plus i have just bought a factory rear bumper and factory rear lights and want to do the usual bits and bobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

It'll look perfect with the standard lights, good buy

B00MSTICK wrote: »
    It'll look perfect with the standard lights, good buy

Itll look fine with just a little tone down.

Minor delay want cleared Friday so itll be the end of the month before i actually get near it. Brother is collecting it today hopefully.

• Bought std back bumper
    • Also std rear lights.
    Bumper will be decided on when tints and lights removed.

Small update after a load of messing about i should have the car back the first week of October.

Now with

-standard lghts
    -Standard front and rear bumper
    -Side skirts removed.

Bits bought:
    -Decat
    -Set of defis
    -moats deamon ecu
    -Large brake disks front an rear (grooved)
    -spare chippable ecu

Pending bits:
    -Thermostat switch (fan switch)
    -A service
    -Kill switch + alarm
    -Prelude callipers front (to fit disks)
    -Vems wideband gauge
    -Copy of chrome to map ecu
    -Oil cooler and sandwich plate
    -An exhaust bung to quieten the exhaust

Considering stripping the rear of the car at the moment along with sound deadening and fitting a false floor and carbon cheets.

nice, looking forward to pics, where did you get the prelude calipers? A re you selling any of the older parts?

I picked up a spoon street for my EK, you should have a look at them they are a great exhaust very subtle low down and nice noise when you want it, plus they look almost OEM

Spoon_Sports_Street_Type.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,754 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

nice, looking forward to pics, where did you get the prelude calipers? A re you selling any of the older parts?

I picked up a spoon street for my EK, you should have a look at them they are a great exhaust very subtle low down and nice noise when you want it, plus they look almost OEM

http://site.icbmotorsport.com/New2/Spoon_Sports_Street_Type.jpg

So you've bought two then? :pac:

How much did you pick the one for the EK up as compared to the one you bought for my car?

I can vouch for the Spoon Street Type OP, it's a great sounding exhaust, it's quiet until around 3.5k revs and then it really screams, but you'll love hearing it!

Also, OP, that ad on Carzone is still up? Your list of stuff looks sweet though, have you thought about suspension struts and tie bars...? I've got 2 Strut Braces (Front and Rear) and 2 Tie Bars (Front and Rear) and the difference they make is ridiculous after putting them on.

Here's pics of the two Tie Bars.

img0823k.jpg
    This is the front one, yes that's a smoke box beside it, the bar is so low the smoke box won't fit under it!

img0774ne.jpg

Thanks im just going to get an exhaust bung for now as a quick fix, after Christmas i may look at changing the exhaust itself.

How much did you pick the one for the EK up as compared to the one you bought for my car?

I can vouch for the Spoon Street Type OP, it's a great sounding exhaust, it's quiet until around 3.5k revs and then it really screams, but you'll love hearing it!

Also, OP, that ad on Carzone is still up? Your list of stuff looks sweet though, have you thought about suspension struts and tie bars...? I've got 2 Strut Braces (Front and Rear) and 2 Tie Bars (Front and Rear) and the difference they make is ridiculous after putting them on.

Here's pics of the two Tie Bars.

This is the front one, yes that's a smoke box beside it, the bar is so low the smoke box won't fit under it!

The ad is still up he just hasn't taken it down. I think he has other cars sold that are still up two.

Chassis bracing is something id like to do but id probably poly bush the car first. Will see how i get along with the car as a daily driver for a few months before continuing the spend.

I bought it for the EG but things dont look good, the EG might have to go :mad: So the Spoon will be staying, must check to see if it mates up with my 5zigen mid pipe. Did you get yours back on??

Starying slightly O/T gents, take it to PM :)

done ;) 2 infractions in one thread :D

UPDATE:

Car is out of panel beaters.

Contacted insurance company today. Declared all mods and waiting for a quote or refusal or a demand for an engineers report. (explaining exhaust mods, intended brake mods, coilovers) Was a pain in the balls.

In the event they refuse me im in trouble as i don't want to loose my no claims bonus for this year and my policy expires next February.

If it goes well im on the road this weekend, if it goes badly im on the lookout for a Carina diesel for 5 months.

Lets see how travellers treat a 28 year old in a blackilsted modified car.

Ogh and never list your car as an Ek4 Sir as its not in there system.:eek:

UPDATE:

Engineers Report required, not a big deal, just one more thing that will take me an age to sort. :D

Small win
    Sorted!

One more update:

Car was assessed, its not a death trap which is nice :D

Next problem is getting an NCT and replacing the tyres as there not E rated

@all of the above thanks for the comments.

How much did the engineers report cost if you dont mind me asking?

And also which insurance company is it with? (Sorry if you've stated that already)

I paid 150 due to the car being in Clare and difficult for me to get to. (i live in Dublin)

I know someone in Kildare who does them for 80 Euro

Sorry iv not been the most responsive on this thread.

I do plan to eventually sell off bits yes but i cant talk about that here as its against forum rules and i like not being banned

I also plan to eventually replace the back box but there too much to do first and a car sitting for what will likely be 4 months is annoying to say the least.

NEWS:

Now need an NCT to get the engineers report in writing.

To get an NCT i need to replace the tyres. While im replacing the tyres i might as well get the alloys tidied and powder coated.

Does a car need to be taxed for the NCT and anyone know a breaker with 4 good OEM honda steelies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

I paid 150 due to the car being in Clare and difficult for me to get to. (i live in Dublin)

I know someone in Kildare who does them for 80 Euro

Sorry iv not been the most responsive on this thread.

I do plan to eventually sell off bits yes but i cant talk about that here as its against forum rules and i like not being banned

I also plan to eventually replace the back box but there too much to do first and a car sitting for what will likely be 4 months is annoying to say the least.

Who did the engineers report for you in Clare?I'm based in Limerick and might need one soon

Ill report this post as it may be considered advertising. But this was the guy who did the report for me. Please read the above post as im not through the read tape yet.

Quin & Associates Ltd St Anthony Hse Park rd Limerick (061)415679

Ah there was plenty of people looking for who done the report so I know ya ain't pimping the business. The car looks great man! When'll you have her on the road?

I need an NCT to get an engineers report and an Engineers report to get insurance.

Hopefully November depending on test and how quick i can get sorted with tyres and test. Not too easy when im on the opposite side of the country to the car:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,754 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Get rid of that grill and she's gorgeous tbh :D

Who owns the EK9 in the background ;) :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

cronin_j wrote: »
    Draffodx is right!

I Have a Mugen Twinloop on My integra, quieter than standard and gives more torque, what more could ya want from an exhaust...

ah hondas, fighting for every drop of torgue :D.

i would say best aspect of mugen as its silent when needed. ;)

Get rid of that grill and she's gorgeous tbh :D

Who owns the EK9 in the background ;) :P

Maybe down the line. ill get rid of the grill but i like the sleeper look. It will be badged as a 1.4 anyway.

The EK9 is my little brothers and is a lovely clean example.

looks well bro i like the sleeper idea, have you 2 different headlights? on standard and one EK9??:confused: or is it just the camera?

Unless my brother has been a cheeky git and swapped one of his i doubt it. Though one of the lights needs tidying so its probably the camera.

I have now begun to describe the car as the money pit. (Cheap run-around my ****)

After allot of issues i didnt expect its finally ready for NCT this saturday. If it doent pass i will be drinking heavily for a week. :D

I also have a bought myself a very very nice surprise for Christmas.

A turbo!? :D