Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carpe diem. Seize the day, boys. Make your lives extraordinary.

• 20-06-2010 8:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭

"Carpe diem. Seize the day, boys. Make your lives extraordinary."

I'am always inspired, and to be honest jealous, of people who have the energy, confidence, balls or call it whatever, to go out in life and follow their dreams.
    From time to time I feel like I never gave things my best shot, or chased my own dreams. Hopefully, at aged 32, I still have time to reach for the stars!

For example here are some of my goals;
    To sail around the world.
    Get a Science Degree.
    Break the habit of wanting to smoke a cigarette when having a pint.
    Get a six pack, abdominal!
    Improve my English spelling and grammar, and general use of the language.
    Learn to speak either French or Spanish.

So boardies, how about ye?
    What are your dreams?
    Have you followed they?
    Have you achieved them, if not why, are you going to?

Or are you still waiting for the right opportunity seize the day?

Inspire me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,453 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Dream
    Backpack around the world.

Why haven't I done it yet.
    Waiting till I got finances sorted

Will I do it?
    Probably not as I've a child now :(

To be fair though I've just replaced an old dream with a new one.

New Dream
    Raise my son to be a Gentleman, and have morales in an ever-changing world where such traits like morales are all too often forgotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

"Carpe diem. Seize the day, boys. Make your lives extraordinary."

Ah sure Robin Williams is a mess these days..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Quazzie wrote: »

New Dream
    Raise my son to be a Gentleman, and have morales in an ever-changing world where such traits like morales are all too often forgotten.

Better than a lot of the shite dreams that some saps have.
    Fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Funkytown

Dream
    make it through tomorrow

status
    TBC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

mikom wrote: »
    Fair play.

That post is neither humorous nor cynical;
    Who are you and what have you done with Mikom?

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Some men dream of what may be. Others stay awake and achieve them.

At 32 you have barely started btw :)

DeV.

That post is neither humorous nor cynical;
    Who are you and what have you done with Mikom?

Sorry for that break in transmission.
    Normal service will now be resumed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

Can't usually remember my dreams, good or bad, but reckon I've achieved a few of them.:D

If you 'carpe-diemed' all the time, it would get boring.

Imagine hah, every day seized

Maybe I can reach 10,000 posts on boards :p

Need inspiration? ehm, can't help you there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Dream: Space Hop in a crowd of 1500 people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Jake LeMotta

I wonder what is it that defines someones motivation?

Why are some people so focused on achieving certain goals and other happy to live a normal life?

I guess it takes all sorts to make the world, and every environment comes to it's own balance.

It'd be a weird world if everyone had the motivation to be president or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

Meh, I'll do it tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

It'd be a weird world if everyone had the motivation to be president or something.

We have entered a weird world where more kids these days aspire to be a celebrity.
    TV is truly fucking us up.

My dreams...
    To win Sanshou European Champioship in December.
    To take up poker again and win the World Championship.
    Maybe write a book someday.
    Become a father.
    Achieve enlightenment.

I wonder what is it that defines someones motivation?

Why are some people so focused on achieving certain goals and other happy to live a normal life?

I guess it takes all sorts to make the world, and every environment comes to it's own balance.

one mans motivation to be CEO is as valid as another mans motivation to make enough to buy food.

its about personal happiness, not wealth or perceived success, the two things are not tied together.

that's why they are called dreams, because the reality of life usually gets in the way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

I have no 'dreams' that i wish to achieve. I just live day to day.

It amuses me that there are people who have 'lists' of things they wish to do in their lives. Setting yourself up for disappointment.

Stop looking for what's over the next horizon and just get on with your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Pete M. wrote: »

Maybe I can reach 10,000 posts on boards :p

It'll only take... (quick calculation)... 320 years at your current rate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

e are people who have 'lists' of things they wish to do in their lives. Setting yourself up for disappointment.

I can't agree with that.
    Did you never have a goal? Lose weight, pass an exam, get a qualification, apply for a promotion?
    Nobody forces you to do these but you can if you wish

If you don't have goals, you're cruising through life, sure aim for something very manageable if you're afraid of disappointment

Good luck to you OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,813 ✭✭✭take everything

mikom wrote: »
    Fair play.

I don't get it.
    I mean there has to be a joke buried in there somewhere ;)

Quazzie wrote: »
    Probably not as I've a child now :(

?

The first is a very ungentlemanly thing to say, he'll have to go to finishing school by the looks of it.

As for Morales, I haven't forgotten, you'll find out all about him here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Evo_Morales

Now there's a man living the dream and he can play a mean tune on the panpipes :)

It amuses me that there are people who have 'lists' of things they wish to do in their lives. Setting yourself up for disappointment.

I'am all for living in the here and now, in fact I try hard to practice it everyday.

However I cant see how setting goals for one's self conflicts with living this way?

what if your goal is not to have goals?

Superbus wrote: »
    It'll only take... (quick calculation)... 320 years at your current rate.

Well you see I only post when I have something to say.
    Perhaps I can pass my user name etc. onto the young fella when I'm about to croak and so on, until maybe my great great grandson hits the magic figure...

Ah to dream.....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

Funkytown wrote: »

You'll find yourself in a strange loop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Quit my job by doing the Dragon Punch on my boss.

It's like trying to divide by zero.

Then you play up front for the England football squad.

Then join Bridgit Fonda on the couch of success!

Congratulations you've made it!

ill get on that couch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭greener greene

Superbus wrote: »
    Dream: Space Hop in a crowd of 1500 people.

I missed that because of fuppin study!! :( how good was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

My dream? Gender transition of course!! :)
    I spent too long being depressed and feeling bad about myself, thinking "if only" and wishing. This year I've decided to stop living a lie and start on the long, hard journey to making that dream a reality.

Also, I want to find a new dream. As much as I want it more than anything else in the world, I'm not going to be naive enough to think that a vagina is going to make life wonderful and I'll be happy until I die. One of the best things I've read someone say about gender transition is from Madeline Wyndzen: "Perhaps the answer is that transitioning does not make me happy. Transitioning is what makes it possible for me to find happiness. And I'm still searching and I'm still growing."
    So I want to make my dream come true and then set out to find new dreams, new goals, and new happiness that I could never have before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Well yeah, I agree, and that's the pretty much my philosophy of life... but at the same time, it's not setting yourself up for disappointment if you set yourself a few realistic things you'd like to achieve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I'am always inspired, and to be honest jealous, of people who have the energy, confidence, balls or call it whatever, to go out in life and follow their dreams.
    From time to time I feel like I never gave things my best shot, or chased my own dreams. Hopefully, at aged 32, I still have time to reach for the stars!

If it makes you feel any better, I know someone who is 70+ who is doing his PHD.
    Most dreams are still achievable so long as you are not dead or enfeebled.

That said - not all dreams are achievable.

Every choice closes a door, every dream you pursue means that another ten must be forsaken; that is the price of living life.
    You will never read every book, see every movie, love every woman, see every land that you wish you could, and sometimes people fall between two stools, refusing to chase a dream because they want to wait for the opportunities to do others as well, and then never do any of them.

Choose the dream that is the most important, as well as achievable, research it well, then go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

That's a great plan if you want to wake up on your fiftieth birthday and start crying.

You can lose a lot of time by doing nothing.

If you can spare a couple of minutes give a listen to John O'Donohue on the subject of the death bed, maybe it might give you that push you need to go and live your dreams, it certainly left an impression on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

My dream is pretty simple. To stand up for what I believe in always, to play an important part in furthering those beliefs, to always try to do the right thing, and to leave this world a better place when I leave it. As for how exactly I intend to do that, that is up for negotiation, and seeing where life takes me.

I don't think my dream is my own per sé, but there is another author behind it, much yet to be revealed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I want to make some sort of scientific contribution/discovery/development which will result in real, concrete improvements in the field of medicine and medical science.

Jakkass wrote: »
    I don't think my dream is my own per sé, but there is another author behind it, much yet to be revealed.

What do you mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

Links234 wrote: »
    What do you mean?

This is what I mean. Not to take the thread completely off-topic that is.

If you can spare a couple of minutes give a listen to John O'Donohue on the subject of the death bed, maybe it might give you that push you need to go and live your dreams, it certainly left an impression on me.

Takes a while but he finishes on such a strong message... Where did ya come across that video?

Jakkass wrote: »
    This is what I mean. Not to take the thread completely off-topic that is.

Oh I see. I try not to talk about religion anyway, me and god aren't on the best of terms, so lets leave it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

I had a dream that I could star in a porno AND play senior county hurling for Wexford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

I'm not interested in dreams. I want to live in the real world and make the best of my life in it. I'm not going to waste my life hankering after things I'll probably never have. I'm too busy with the things I've got already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Why can't your dream be something achieveable? I always had attainable goals that were large, but not impossible, and I've achieved all of them to date, so I just keep setting myself bigger and better goals.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Someone once told me that life wasnt measured by the number of breaths you take but by the number taken away.

I've pretty much lived that since then.

Saying you dont want to try because you might be disappointed is a cowardly way to live. I've gone bankrupt in my time and you know what.... its actually not all that terrible. I've smashed my body up big style and it hurt like nothing you can imagine but it got better and I found out things about myself in doing it. So, while I dont recommend it, its nothing to be worried about. So what if you "fail".... provided you arent taking risks which will impact others (like wife/kids) then dont be afraid of failing.

DeV.

2004 the company I started and was CEO of closed its doors. I wrote this:
    Will Code For Food

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

DeVore wrote: »
    Saying you dont want to try because you might be disappointed is a cowardly way to live.
    I wouldn't advocate that at all, but I would say, if there are certain major things you wish to achieve and there is no guarantee you'll achieve them, have a plan B. Go for it and be positive and do your best, believe in yourself etc, and you'll be in with a good shot, but there is the possibility it might not work out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Dreams are like rainbows.

Only idiots chase them.

nummnutts wrote: »
    Dreams are like rainbows.

Only idiots chase them.

That's stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

I fell sorry for anyone who thinks chasing a dream is pointless.

What I wanted 10 years ago is allot different to what I want now. Still, my list is/was.

Have a son.
    Own/Ride a motorbike.
    Get a Tattoo.
    Win a big poker tourney

I'm halfway there.....
    Which is a nice way of saying I'm half done. :)

Takes a while but he finishes on such a strong message... Where did ya come across that video?

John O'Donohue and his stories, were suggested reading for helping to conquering fear on a public speaking course I attended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Links234 wrote: »
    My dream? Gender transition of course!! :)
    I spent too long being depressed and feeling bad about myself, thinking "if only" and wishing. This year I've decided to stop living a lie and start on the long, hard journey to making that dream a reality.

Also, I want to find a new dream. As much as I want it more than anything else in the world, I'm not going to be naive enough to think that a vagina is going to make life wonderful and I'll be happy until I die. One of the best things I've read someone say about gender transition is from Madeline Wyndzen: "Perhaps the answer is that transitioning does not make me happy. Transitioning is what makes it possible for me to find happiness. And I'm still searching and I'm still growing."
    So I want to make my dream come true and then set out to find new dreams, new goals, and new happiness that I could never have before.

Well done, that takes some real balls.