Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One year driving ban for breaking red light!..

• 20-06-2010 2:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭

Exceptionally ugly bastard warning!.

And not just because he's abusing the right to be ugly, but I'm delighted :D

About time someone tried to put a stop to this practice.

Jeeze, but he's one ugly dude too!.
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

What do the lads in the cycling forum think of this I wonder?

But yeah seriously - cyclists who break red lights are ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

"I couldn't possibly have run the red light. I was cycling in rush-hour traffic and if I ran the red light I would have been squashed by on-coming traffic," he added.

Er...he went through her windscreen,i'd call that squashed!

Yeah,wonder did he look like that before he went through the windscreen too:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Delighted.

Pity he doesn't drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    What do the lads in the cycling forum think of this I wonder?

But yeah seriously - cyclists who break red lights are ridiculous.

/Lets take a wonder over :D

Seriously, its madness at some junctions in this country.

I love cycling, and cycle +/- 40km a day. When I'm stopped at junctions, or pedestrian crossings I get the 'Are you fvcking mad' stare from cyclists whizzing through the red lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Theres a big thread over there already.

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Yeah,wonder did he look like that before he went through the windscreen too:pac:

I wonder could we post his photo in the 'photos which shocked the world' thread!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

That's great news. I can't wait 'til the courts enforce the punishment of "defendent must keep regular blog to serve as warning to others who are thinking of breaking this law."

I don't see why he wasn't given a cycling ban though. As for "highly unusual", I think a more "highly unusual" punishment would be banging his head into a cycle path until he understands the whole Red = Stop Green = Go concept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭short circuit

Its already been posted in the cycling forum
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055945330

I don't think anyone there thinks that the cyclist should go unpunished. But the cycling forum on boards is only a very small subset of all those cycling in Dublin.

I would be surprised if even 5% of people who post in the cycling forum here break traffic lights. Not saying that this represents all cyclists in general.

The punishment for the cyclist should be on par with any motorist who runs a red light and gets into a crash. If someone has any precedence for car drivers and motorcycle drivers getting similar punishment, please post up the link. And let's not argue the fact that no motorist ever breaks lights ... we all see it all the time.

I do think that the punishment for the cyclist should be a bit less harsh than the equivalent punishment for a motorist as chances are, like the guy here, the cyclist has already suffered injuries.

As far as the compensation claims, if both were motorists, the insurance would have paid out for both cars plus any injuries to both drivers. Its time the government either made a bike insurance available for everyone or allow the guy to claim off the motorist insurance or be compensated in some way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

"I have received absolutely no compensation for my accident, and chances are I will never cycle again".

And he shouldn't, he cycled into her. Now she has to use her insurance or be out of pocket fixing her car. He should be forced to pay damages too.

"I spoke to a barrister friend of mine and he says that this is the most ridiculous case he has ever heard of. I'm going to appeal,"

10 years in prison and a former drug addict, I'd say he is more of a client than a friend of this barrister.

Of course he will appeal, I bet he gets free legal aid. If it wasn't free he would leave it.

Why bother appealing anyway, it's a one year ban and he doesn't have a car??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Deserved I think and I hope the woman sues him as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

He cycled through a red light, crashed into a car that had a green light, smashed through her windscreen & got banned from driving a car? They should have locked the pr1ck up

Edit - He doesnt even have a car!! Thats like breaking into someones house, falling down the stairs & then being banned from mass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Robert Pierse, a consultant with Pierse & Fitzgibbon Solicitors in Listowel, has the last laugh in this article:
    He recommended that people read his 1,400 page book on road traffic law in Ireland for reference. "It's cheaper than sleeping pills," he added.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Brilliant! Im sick to death (as a driver) of seeing cyclists breaking red lights/weaving in and out of cars/mounting pavements etc. Its about time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

How can a person on a bike be subject to a driving ban, considering a license is not needed nor is it mechanically propelled?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Moved to Cycling forum. :p

/thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭minister poxbottle

one things for sure he won't break a red light again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

one things for sure he won't break a red light again

But im sure he will break a few mirrors though:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

This is a stupid ruling as if you did this and had no drivers licence, you couldnt get the same punishment which is totally crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

Cyclists are the most agreesive people on the road - it's outrageous.
    The shout abuse at you for getting in their way as they break lights and plough through pedestrian crossings.

I did see one get pushed off his bike on stephens green for doing the above the other day, was pretty funny.

I have received absolutely no compensation for my accident, and chances are I will never cycle again".

LOL

Did he compensate the woman for the damage done to her car??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

About fcuking time to be honest! Cyclists want to be a vehicle one moment but as soon as their being a vehicle stops them from continuing on their journey suddenly they change their mind and say "No I am a pedestrian surely, so I can cross this red light because the cross walk says green."

I have nearly been hit twice in the mornings on the way to work by cyclists doing just what I stated above and the next bastard to attempt it will get a swift push/kick off their bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

I spoke to a barrister friend of mine

lol, friend and barrister in the same sentence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

I know that guy.
    Nice fella, likes kittens too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Delighted. One less bitter dickhead on the road.

As ROot said, they want to have their cake and eat it. Everybody else on the road is a gas-guzzling murdering bastid but their lifestyle choice supposedly confers immunity from the rules of the road.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Fare enough there was a cyclist to blame here.. but speaking as a cyclist... I've been envolved in accidents because of motorists who didn't check their mirrors to see i was beside them before they turned across me...

Most motorists don't even indicate until they are tight at the turn they want to take.

Something else should of been done to this guy... I don't understand how he could claim he's been tossed around here. As mentioned before, what's the use of banning a guy from driving, that doesn't drive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Jeeze, but he's one ugly dude too!.

Yeah, I know....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Fare enough there was a cyclist to blame here.. but speaking as a cyclist... I've been envolved in accidents because of motorists who didn't check their mirrors to see i was beside them before they turned across me...

Most motorists don't even indicate until they are tight at the turn they want to take.

Something else should of been done to this guy... I don't understand how he could claim he's been tossed around here. As mentioned before, what's the use of banning a guy from driving, that doesn't drive?

When I see a car barreling up onto the path because of a red light to cross a junction Ill acknowledge the comparison of cars/cyclists. In the meantime however, everyone knows they are the biggest danger to themselves & everyone else on the roads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Is he banned from Cycling now? As a motorist I really hate cyclists, yesterday I came into a narrowish blind turn doing about 75km/h to 80km/h only to encounter two idiot cyclists cycling abreast and there was a car coming against me so I had to stick the car to the road, luckily for the cyclists I had good brakes and was taking it lightly as I had already encountered not two but three abreast cyclists earlier on a slightly wider stretch of road. Had I been going faster I would have had to swerve and crashed into the innocent oncoming car and I'd be in the wrong.

I wish we could ban cycling in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Stinicker wrote: »
    Is he banned from Cycling now? As a motorist I really hate cyclists, yesterday I came into a narrowish blind turn doing about 75km/h to 80km/h only to encounter two idiot cyclists cycling abreast and there was a car coming against me so I had to stick the car to the road, luckily for the cyclists I had good brakes and was taking it handy as I had already encountered not two but three abreast cyclists earlier on a slightly wider stretch of road. Had I been going faster I would have had to swerve and crashed into the innocent oncoming car and I'd be in the wrong.

What was the speed limit on that particular piece of road, out of curiosity?

100kms; I felt I was driving to suit the conditions as its a narrowish road with no hard shoulder and a fine day brought out the numpty cyclists who haven't clue how to cycle properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

I'm a cyclist and i hate other cyclists who go straight through red lights, weave through city traffic etc.

General rule of thumb i follow on the road is that i am never going to win a fight with a 2 ton vehicle so dont start one.

I would actually like to see what happened to this cylist happen more. There should be penalties for those who break the rules of the road. Only way to put manners on a lot of people.

I really hate the lyrca-brigade - the serious cyclists that cycle two or three-abreast. I actually been told by one that as it's not illegal (assume this is true?) that it's OK, which sums up the attitude of some cyclists perfectly: not a whit of thought to the inconvenience caused - and lack of civility shown - to other road users, just we can get away with it: fuck you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

Stinicker wrote: »
    Is he banned from Cycling now? As a motorist I really hate cyclists, yesterday I came into a narrowish blind turn doing about 75km/h to 80km/h only to encounter two idiot cyclists cycling abreast and there was a car coming against me so I had to stick the car to the road, luckily for the cyclists I had good brakes and was taking it lightly as I had already encountered not two but three abreast cyclists earlier on a slightly wider stretch of road. Had I been going faster I would have had to swerve and crashed into the innocent oncoming car and I'd be in the wrong.

Failing to anticipate hazards?
    Driving too fast for conditions?

" I came into a narrowish blind turn doing about 75km/h to 80km/h " repeat that in court and I think the judge might have something to say!
    In another post you say " its a narrowish road with no hard shoulder " If thats true you had no chance of passing a single cyclist safely if a car was approaching in opposite direction - so what difference if they were 2 abreast. Experienced cyclists won't single out if its too dangerous for a car to pass.

What would hve happened if you came around corner and there was a tractor/horses/children?

Been driving for 28 years myself, (Cycling 35 years) I am no angel on the roads. But have yet, even in the best of weather and on the narrowest country road come close to hitting anything other than another car when it was being driven carelessly. You need to start anticipating conditions methinks...
    Clowns ride bikes sometimes. They also drive apparently. Relax, take a bit more care and you might hang onto your licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Although I did witness a car almost hit a cyclist last week. She was doing an illegal u-turn and came close enough to the cyclist that he was able to bang his fist on her car, which he did.

She was 100% in the wrong but what galled me was her expression as she drove off. She could have killed, or injured, someone - but was laughing about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

He aint that ugly guys. Wouldnt get onto those ugly websites.

Why don't ya marry him so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭NuMarvel

stovelid wrote: »
    I really hate the lyrca-brigade - the serious cyclists that cycle two or three-abreast. I actually been told by one that as it's not illegal (assume this is true?) that it's OK, which sums up the attitude of some cyclists perfectly: not a whit of thought to the inconvenience caused - and lack of civility shown - to other road users, just we can get away with it: fuck you.

Well, this is what the Rules of the Road website has to say about cyclists on the left:

"Make sure you keep to the left. Always look behind and give the proper signal before moving off, changing lanes or making a turn."

So, looks to me that cyclists cycling two/three abreast aren't in full adherence of the RSA's guidance. (And before I'm jumped upon, I'm a cyclist AND a motorist AND a pedestrian, so I've no particular bias, other than towards anyone who endangers other road users.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

Cycling abreast in numbers on country roads doesn't bother me ,I think it's safer for cyclists.

What annoys me is two mates cycling beside each other around dublin ,10 Foot abreast ,stupid cnuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

This is a stupid ruling as if you did this and had no drivers licence, you couldnt get the same punishment which is totally crazy.

Of course you could. They dish out driving bans like confetti in the Children's Courts, to kids who are too young to have a licence. Like with this loon, it lays down a marker for when he does decide to drive. Then he'll get some juicy insurance quotes.
    "Ya can't disqualify me, I don't have a licence" is no defence..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

NuMarvel wrote: »
    Well, this is what the Rules of the Road website has to say about cyclists on the left:

"Make sure you keep to the left. Always look behind and give the proper signal before moving off, changing lanes or making a turn."

So, looks to me that cyclists cycling two/three abreast aren't in full adherence of the RSA's guidance. (And before I'm jumped upon, I'm a cyclist AND a motorist AND a pedestrian, so I've no particular bias, other than towards anyone who endangers other road users.

I am 100% certain that RTA allows 2 abreast " provided they aren't holding up traffic" hence grey area. In some incidents large groups are easier for motorists to overtake when they are two abreast as its a shorter overtake. Don't hear motorists comment on the riders that do single out? Sometimes singling out is taken as an invitation to motorist to overtake on dangerous part of road. Motorists ranting about cyclists, cyclists ranting about motorists aren't doing themselves any credit.
    I have been forced to drive a lot this summer in rural wickow ad haven't noticed tailbacks for any considerable time behind cyclists - where is all this hassle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Hang on - you went into a blind turn at 75 kph, you nearly hit two cyclists who were using the road entirely legally and in accordance with the rules of the road, and they're the ones who should be banned?

Also: "Everyone knows that cyclists are the biggest danger to themselves and everyone else on the roads"? Total road fatalities caused by cyclists in Ireland: zero. Total number of road fatalities in Ireland last year: 241. Claiming that cyclists are the biggest danger on the roads is garbage, and any more than about ten seconds' consideration would have made that clear. I'm sick of being regarded as a law-ignoring menace by people who throw out accusations with no basis and think 70+ is the right speed for blind turns.

I am 100% certain that RTA allows 2 abreast " provided they aren't holding up traffic" hence grey area. In some incidents large groups are easier for motorists to overtake when they are two abreast as its a shorter overtake. Don't hear motorists comment on the riders that do single out? Sometimes singling out is taken as an invitation to motorist to overtake on dangerous part of road. Motorists ranting about cyclists, cyclists ranting about motorists aren't doing themselves any credit.
    I have been forced to drive a lot this summer in rural wickow ad haven't noticed tailbacks for any considerable time behind cyclists - where is all this hassle?

I very regularly find myself in tailbacks behind 2-3 abreast 'Sunday cyclists', blithely chatting away and making no effort to let traffic stuck behind them out.

Nobody is denying that there are dicks on both sides. The key shouldn't be about criticising other people's lifestyle choices, just about showing courtesy to all road users and keeping things flowing as safely and smoothly as possible.

I hate the whataboutery that because idiot motorists causes deaths, it's OK for cyclists to obstruct and irritate other road users because they don't cause deaths. It's the kind of idealogical spite that poisons road relations.

I do think that if we can't have certain traffic offences for cyclists, we need some kind of law that punishes them for breaking lights or wilfully obstructing traffic though. Likewise, motorists should be stamped on from a large height for doing things like parking on cycling lanes or cutting in front of cyclists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭dermo88

I am surprised that a cyclist has an attitude on the roads at 38 years of age. It bears more similarity to my crazy high speed antics at 18 or 19 years of age, and I will openly admit I am not proud of it looking back.

Being roadwise means being aware of your own conduct, but also those of your surroundings.

At 21, I had an accident on Eden Quay, which was entirely my fault. There was no damage to the car or the bike....which was a miracle. I had mild concussion and was treated within 40 minutes, and was on my way home within 2 hours. The driver was upset, but I told him there and then that it was my fault, and asked that the Garda there bear witness to that.

My friends thought I was nuts to admit liability, but here was my view:

"I am alive"
    "He is alive"
    "Nothing is damaged, brakes came on in time, only I went over the handlebars"
    "I looked left, forgot to look right, and accelerated at full pelt, I was a dumb fool"

But, what upset me most was this line, from my mates Dad, who I expected to have better standards:

"But you could have made a fortune on the insurance company"

My reply:

"I have two relatives who are ambulance chasers. I despise that conduct unless it is completely justified. Its not in this case"

"Karma is a bitch.....it can come back to haunt in 10 or 20 years time, and the interest payments are a bit expensive"

At a subsequent family event, one of the ambulance chasers (Aunt by marriage) criticised my stance. But I did'nt have to say anything. A smile and a knowing glance in front of all said a 1,000 words.

If a traffic light or belisha beacon is against a cyclist, don't cycle....dismount and walk the vehicle through, then remount. That qualifies as walking. That was the advice from a Garda. Its bending the law, not breaking it. They will turn a blind eye to jaywalking to an extent, but not breaking a light.

The guy sounds like an utter plank. He's very lucky not to have been more seriously hurt. I read somewhere about a study that found that unattractive people are more likely to recieve harsher penalties in court, I wonder if that had anything to do with the verdict?:D It's not like he's the only person on a bike to ever have gone through a red light and subsequently collided with another vehicle(I've seen it happen myself), yet it's the first time I've heard of this (rather bizarre) punishment being handed out.

EDIT: Just found a link to the study on another thread in AH, how fortuitous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Serves him right. Act like a muppet on a push bike and you will be punished somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

unknown13 wrote: »
    Serves him right. Act like a muppet on a push bike and you will be punished somehow.

Couldn't agree more. Its about time that cyclists have to start putting licence plates on all bikes by law and/or have some form of 3rd party insurance. They take the piss because the insurance companies are too quick to pay out. I drove into work friday morning and got to a red light. Garda car sitting right beside now. 8 cyclists come to the lights and only 2 actually wait for the lights to go green. Garda did nothing and by law they are supposed to issue them with the same sort of penalty that anyone in a mechanically propelled vehicle may recieve.

Oh by the way I work in insurance.
    If anyone does what your man did and you hit them you can actually take an action of tort against them for the damage to your car. So don't let it rest. Anything happens call the Garda straight away and get any witnesses to give them a statement when they arrive. Don't claim off your insurance it wasn't your fault. They're to quick to claim off you so make sure you claim off them and maybe then cyclists around might start to cop on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'm praying for the day when we pass a law that those c**ts on corpo rentabikes who use the path as their own personal motorway are declared fair game for pedestrians.

Outside Pearse street dart station, I saw one prize bollix in a business suit actually start tinkling the little rentabell on his rentabike at the large number of pedestrians on the path who were making his cycling impossible. Oh to be allowed by law to lamp these utter sh*tehawks :)

Bambi wrote: »
    I'm praying for the day when we pass a law that those c**ts on corpo rentabikes who use the path as their own personal motorway are declared fair game for pedestrians.

Outside Pearse street dart station, I saw one prize bollix in a business suit actually start tinkling the little rentabell on his rentabike at the large number of pedestrians on the path who were making his cycling impossible. Oh to be allowed by law to lamp these utter sh*tehawks :)

Clue:

Stealthily insert umbrella or stick in spokes.

Leave scene of crime quickly.

Stand around the corner laughing.

Clue:

And record the faceplant for youtube!.

Failing to anticipate hazards?
    Driving too fast for conditions?

" I came into a narrowish blind turn doing about 75km/h to 80km/h " repeat that in court and I think the judge might have something to say!
    In another post you say " its a narrowish road with no hard shoulder " If thats true you had no chance of passing a single cyclist safely if a car was approaching in opposite direction - so what difference if they were 2 abreast. Experienced cyclists won't single out if its too dangerous for a car to pass.

What would hve happened if you came around corner and there was a tractor/horses/children?

Been driving for 28 years myself, (Cycling 35 years) I am no angel on the roads. But have yet, even in the best of weather and on the narrowest country road come close to hitting anything other than another car when it was being driven carelessly. You need to start anticipating conditions methinks...
    Clowns ride bikes sometimes. They also drive apparently. Relax, take a bit more care and you might hang onto your licence.

Don't you dare to judge or criticise my driving, any driver who would driven this turn would be happy to drive around it much faster as its sight line allows you to see whats in front of you but oncoming traffic can appear very quickly especially when the oncoming car is doing 110km/h.

Cyclists who cycle two+ abreast on any stretch of road deserve to be flattened if you ask me; you don't see too many car drivers out for a leisurely drive thinking, ya know what lets drive toghether.

There is judgement and their nannyish driving, it is not practical to take every slightly less than perfect turn at very low speed because their is some stupid brain-dead cyclist there cycling three abreast.

I can't beleive anyone can condone cyclists cycling two abreast especially a driver himself. Look at it this way, I decide to overtake going into a turn and I go under an oncoming lorry and am killed, the lorry driver is then destroyed and racked with guilt knowing he killed another person, the lorry driver is then told he failed to anticipate etc. What sort of crap would this be me as the hypothetical overtaker in the turn was wrong and caused the whole mess not the lorry driver. Similarly cyclists cycling two or three abreast are causing trouble and should get no protection from the law when they cause an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

Bambi wrote: »

I think I'm in love..... :p
    Clue:

Pure genius. you looking for a partner in crime?:cool: