Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

• 18-06-2010 6:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭

we should get representitives in as many cities, towns and villages all accross the 26 counties to show the government how stupid this new law really is

there have been a couple of scenarios already put accross, recordng the transaction of buying a spoon in a store and cracking a joke it's to cook up a hit and buying cigarettes that contain the banned substance GBL

a small effort from many could really make a difference here

power to the people!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

i would but im high...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Its better than watching england

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

this country is going backwards, i personally think they want lots of dissatisfied people to emigrate. therefore ff will romp home in 2012, its about time we started fighting fire with fire, :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

charlemont wrote: »
    this country is going backwards, i personally think they want lots of dissatisfied people to emigrate. therefore ff will romp home in 2012, its about time we started fighting fire with fire, :cool:

sure i remember the government saying as they were preparing the €4bn public spends that they were also relying on 200,000 of us feicing off out of the state also to relieve the pressure on the state

the **** admit they ****ed up royally while in the position of power and nobody bats an eye lid cos FG have a power struggle!?!

who remembers cowen on with miriam during the week?? he makes my blood boil!!!!!!!!!

so what are we finally going to do about this new law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Don't you mean "Powder to the People"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭.SONIC.

power to people death to authority!!

hmm kinda makes ya want a communism forum around here!:rolleyes:

Keithm89 wrote: »
    i would but im high...:rolleyes:

sure so are a lot of the nation man

this vid is for you and others

http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?desktop_uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3Dq_qgVn-Op7Q&v=q_qgVn-Op7Q&gl=IE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

No way dude. I need spoons and cigarettes.. don't want to get them banned too! And they'd probably do that before they ever considered rethinking the new law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

Elevator wrote: »
    we should get representitives in as many cities, towns and villages all accross the 26 counties to show the government how stupid this new law really is
    there have been a couple of scenarios already put accross, recordng the transaction of buying a spoon in a store and cracking a joke it's to cook up a hit and buying cigarettes that contain the banned substance GBL

power to the people!!
    imagine,

they want to stop people selling products that can kill kids...

the cheek...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Afaik they actually removed the paraphenalia part of the legislation.

However, it still probably does cover lots more than just headshop drugs. I wonder does it cover the items sold in "health shops" (a lot of their products make explicit claims of psychoactivity)- can anyone enlighten me on this?
    Also i'm certain garden centres will continue to sell plants with obscure psychoactivity. Then you have the obvious shops selling glue/computer duster etc.

If (and i say if) this legislation was to be applied in a fair and unbiased manner, would i be right in saying that it would prove a massive headache for the gardai (as the legislation specifies "guilty untill proven innocent" :eek:)?

Anyway, whatever crazy schemes you have planned will have to wait untill the legislation has passed. Would it not be better to do something before then, such as a more traditional protest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Einstein wrote: »
    imagine,

go back and think about what you said.

Einstein as your usernname? PFFT!

and we'll continue tonsee young people dying fom lots and lots of illegal drugs, cigarettes and alcohol being consumed by minors and adults but that's ok right

dealers are making a small fortune now selling even more types of drugs than they were selling b4 the head stores took over the guts of the trading

how is that really benifiting anyone?? please answer that one question to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

BOOM BANG BING ITS A STICK UP
    HEALTH MINISTER MARY HARNEY
    EAT A DICK UP

the swollen dirty pig .
    these people need a guerilla war like scenario , think about it, they attack our rights, we should make life hard for these right wing sucks,
    i dont even take drugs anyway, i smoke hash ok but rarely drink

they flock to their churchs on a sunday to their well protected pedophile friends and supporters ...:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I have to wash my hair, but you go ahead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

imagine,

Knives? Water? Matches / lighters? Sugar? Anything that can be choked on?

(notice I avoided the "alcohol & tobacco" stance)

right I'm off to get ready for my gig tonight and gigging tomorrow night too

I will however check back here tomorrow arvo and see how we're getting on numbers wise

can those really interested in getting involved in a movement cam ye pm me so we can start getting an idea of where we can hit with some simple exploits of these new laws

power to the people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭fikay

EAT A DICK UP

the swollen dirty pig .
    these people need a guerilla war like scenario , think about it, they attack our rights, we should make life hard for these right wing sucks,
    i dont even take drugs anyway, i smoke hash ok but rarely drink

they flock to their churchs on a sunday to their well protected pedophile friends and supporters ...:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Werd up yo:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I'd rather help you burn down any headshops we come across.

Would you be up for that instead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

imagine,

WON'T SOMEONE THINK OF THE CHILDREN!

Things that kill more children than headshop products;

Swimming pools
    Cars
    Dettol
    Bleach
    Incorrectly installed car seats.

This is a stupid law. Drug dealers are selling mephedrone now, importing it via the internet. So people are still doing it, and the government is making nothing from it.

Memo to FF; People will get high or stoned or whatever. The trick is to make some money of it, and make it as safe as possible.

lol, people takin these headshop highs don't have a fcukin clue what it does to the body.

We all know knives kill, choking kills thanks...no need for sarcasm

Tobacco and alcohol have negative effects over prolonged use...nobody's gonna drop dead after having a pint...

Anyone any idea how many kids were treated for suspected cardiac arrest at the LIFE festival last weekend cos of the headshop stuff?

Get your heads out of your rear ends. Most of ye are pished off cos it means you cant get the stuff anymore...

I don't think this government could organise a piss up in James' Gate, but you can't deny that getting rid of headshops is a good thing when it comes to drug taking addiction and progression in this country...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Shulgin

As said previously the garden centers sell all sorts of psychoactive plants, also dunnes, euro2 shops and plenty other places sell 'morning glory' seeds. The day the law comes into effect ring the cops and tell them.

That should get the ball rolling.

lol, people takin these headshop highs don't have a fcukin clue what it does to the body.

Tobacco and alcohol have negative effects over prolonged use...

Anyone any idea how many kids were treated for suspected cardiac arrest at the LIFE festival last weekend cos of the headshop stuff?

Get your heads out of your rear ends. Most of ye are pished off cos it means you cant get the stuff anymore...

I don't think this government could organise a piss up in James' Gate, but you can't deny that getting rid of headshops is a good thing when it comes to drug taking addiction and progression in this country...

It really isn't. The best way to battle addiction is to have these things out in the open. That way, you avoid people buying it because it's rebellious and the "in" thing to do, and it becomes pretty obvious when someone in particular needs help. There is nothing funnier than someone trying to defend a prohibitionist policy from a results point of view, can you give me a single example of prohibition working, ever?

And again, it's not difficult to get, Dublin is still flooded with it. In fact it's even a little cheaper now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

EAT A DICK UP

...you do know this is a criminal justice bill, as in drafted by the Minister for Justice,
    Dermot Ahern?
    vinylmesh wrote: »
    Afaik they actually removed the paraphenalia part of the legislation.

They've also exempted tobacco products, so you'll have to try other avenues to test it out.

I`ll support the banning of headshop (legal highs) when the government legalises cannabis,magic mushrooms,MDMA and LSD, and provides safe means for purchasing said drugs.

People have a right to get high, there is a huge demand, the government should be accomodating this and make it as safe as possible with smart legislation and education.

Headshop drugs, scummy dealers and people being taken away by ambulance at the life festival are all the result of prohibition. Prohibition is the root cause of so many 'drug problems'.

dan719 wrote: »
    It really isn't. The best way to battle addiction is to have these things out in the open. That way, you avoid people buying it because it's rebellious and the "in" thing to do, and it becomes pretty obvious when someone in particular needs help. There is nothing funnier than someone trying to defend a prohibitionist policy from a results point of view, can you give me a single example of prohibition working, ever?

And again, it's not difficult to get, Dublin is still flooded with it. In fact it's even a little cheaper now.
    Listen, i'm all pro legalise canabis and all that stuff...and to be honest I don't really give a toss cos I barely drink let alone do any kinda drugs.
    But how in the hell can you admit that having shops selling stuff thats simply not meant for human consumption, is a good thing..?

Most recreational drugs tend not to do any harm after on hit(ok theres always some cases where they do). Its the prolonged damage and addiction is the issue there...But the sh*t thats been sold from those places was disaster after disaster waiting to happen.

Shulgin wrote: »
    I`ll support the banning of headshop (legal highs) when the government legalises cannabis,magic mushrooms,MDMA and LSD, and provides safe means for purchasing said drugs.

People have a right to get high, there is a huge demand, the government should be accomodating this and make it as safe as possible with smart legislation and education.

Headshop drugs, scummy dealers and people being taken away by ambulance at the life festival are all the result of prohibition.
    I also agree that the likes of mushrooms, LSD etc should be regulated and legalised. They're hallucinogens(sp?), no real long term effects, besides what people do as a result of bein high in the first place.

But ingesting stuff meant for making bubble baths n stuff that can cause immediate damage, poisoning and possible heart failure is simply retarded.

Tobacco and alcohol have negative effects over prolonged use...nobody's gonna drop dead after having a pint...

let's deal with the emboldened statements first, shall we?

- nobody drops dead after a pint, but they'll gladly drink (and be served legally) as many of them as they can, and go home and batter their wife. or children. or stab their mate and say it was due to alcohol causing them to suffer from impaired judgement. Not a single person, ever, has beaten someone up as a result of smoking too many joints, headshop or traditional.

-people suffer ill health through misuse of drugs, rather than the use of them. how many of those kids you mentioned at the festival drank a slab of dutch gold to wash down their drugs? excercising cop on is a must for people who want to take any substance, food included. and tobacco is the only substance in the world that will definitely cause harm if used as recommended by its manufacturers and sellers.

-forgetting about the festivals - how many people go into A and E with symptoms relating to alcohol abuse vs. drug use? I challenge you to find any casualty room, any night, anywhere in ireland where greater than 50% of the attendees are not drunk.

now on to the govt. what exactly have they done to reduce drug addiction in this country? nothing. fook all. zilch. banning drugs does not in any way, shape or form reduce there sell, let alone prevent it. and this action by the government in particular was aimed at nothing other than the appeasement of the mouldy oul cnuts on whose votes they can depend in the next general election.

think about it - thousands march and petition each year for the legalisation of a substance which is less harmful than any legal intoxicant. The legalisation (regulation) of this substance would essentially eliminate the drug trade, as the users of the other main drugs they sell tend to die. all these protests are done to no avail.

then a gang of old people protest against being means tested for medical cards, irrespective of whether or not they can comfortably afford their own medical treatment, and that shower of fatties caves immediately to save their support.

But ingesting stuff meant for making bubble baths n stuff that can cause immediate damage, poisoning and possible heart failure is simply retarded.
    The government banned Mephedrone (Bath salts), which was relatively safe (only one confirmed death of a guy who injected it , and who had heart disease anyway).

Along came whack and it is a lot worse. The government is to blame here.

Bath salts, whack, legal highs etc are all only around because of prohibition.

When the loophole is finally gone with this new bill its back to the dealers to take our chances,or simply order from the ten a penny online headshops. Our government doesn`t give a hoot about our health.

genericguy wrote: »
    let's deal with the emboldened statements first, shall we?

- nobody drops dead after a pint, but they'll gladly drink (and be served legally) as many of them as they can, and go home and batter their wife. or children. or stab their mate and say it was due to alcohol causing them to suffer from impaired judgement. Not a single person, ever, has beaten someone up as a result of smoking too many joints, headshop or traditional.

-people suffer ill health through misuse of drugs, rather than the use of them. how many of those kids you mentioned at the festival drank a slab of dutch gold to wash down their drugs? excercising cop on is a must for people who want to take any substance, food included. and tobacco is the only substance in the world that will definitely cause harm if used as recommended by its manufacturers and sellers.

-forgetting about the festivals - how many people go into A and E with symptoms relating to alcohol abuse vs. drug use? I challenge you to find any casualty room, any night, anywhere in ireland where greater than 50% of the attendees are not drunk.
    now on to the govt. what exactly have they done to reduce drug addiction in this country? nothing. fook all. zilch. banning drugs does not in any way, shape or form reduce there sell, let alone prevent it. and this action by the government in particular was aimed at nothing other than the appeasement of the mouldy oul cnuts on whose votes they can depend in the next general election.

think about it - thousands march and petition each year for the legalisation of a substance which is less harmful than any legal intoxicant. The legalisation (regulation) of this substance would essentially eliminate the drug trade, as the users of the other main drugs they sell tend to die. all these protests are done to no avail.

then a gang of old people protest against being means tested for medical cards, irrespective of whether or not they can comfortably afford their own medical treatment, and that shower of fatties caves immediately to save their support.

change your fcuking username. might i suggest blindstein?
    Ok, I'll go with your bold statements the wy you did mine.

-Not a single person, ever, has beaten someone up as a result of smoking too many joints, headshop or traditional
    No, but they've died. That's worse. Presents a more immediate danger.

-how many of those kids you mentioned at the festival drank a slab of dutch gold to wash down their drugs?
    Probably all of them. The alcohol debate will never go away. I'm not saying thats not an issue and I agree with you that it is.

-I challenge you to find any casualty room, any night, anywhere in ireland where greater than 50% of the attendees are not drunk.
    Again, I agree with you, I'm not saying thats not the case.

-now on to the govt
    They're a joke. They put my family out of business because of the way they handled things in the last few years.

-change your fcuking username
    Try having a conversation about differing opinions without insulting me. It makes you look like a child.

What you've failed to see from my posts, is that I agree about all the other kinda issues regards to drugs...and alcohol abuse and all that stuff associated with it.

But my issue is solely with the headshop produce, and nothing else.
    The stuff is more dangerous, has more of an immediate detremental effect.
    We have enough problems with illegal drugs, there's no need to have something new like headshops adding to the equation.

-Not a single person, ever, has beaten someone up as a result of smoking too many joints, headshop or traditional

Have you a link to a single conclusive case where someone was killed (as in a coroner said the cause of death was) b a headshop product? In particular, the so called smokeables? (Smoke, Bonzai, Sokotsu and so on)

dan719 wrote: »
    Have you a link to a single conclusive case where someone was killed (as in a coroner said the cause of death was) b a headshop product? In particular, the so called smokeables? (Smoke, Bonzai, Sokotsu and so on)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/scotland/edinburgh_and_east/8482711.stm

that took me all of 8 seconds...

Nobody has died from cannabinoids in Ireland, ever.
    Is it even possible?

Shulgin wrote: »
    Nobody has died from cannabinoids in Ireland, ever.
    Is it even possible?
    I dunno, but people have died from legal highs. Thats the point I'm raising is all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Once you are over 18, not intoxicated and not being forced to take it. I couldn't care if you drink bleach tbh. Your body your life do what you want with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Aids By Google

I dunno, but people have died from legal highs. Thats the point I'm raising is all...

Indeed they have. Alcohol being one of the worst , followed by tobacco.

lol, but not after taking it for the first time..

man you fcukers really are out to get me lol

Mephedrone is stimulant. Stimulants can kill people with underlying heart problems, they will never be completely safe.

Considering the Kilos and Kilos of mephedrone that have been consumed over the last few years and the very very few deaths as a result, the risks from mephedrone would seem to be an par with other stimulants. Pretty low when used responsibly.

lol, but not after taking it for the first time..

man you fcukers really are out to get me lol

They have. They abused it though. Not smoking btw but alcohol

You did say legal highs btw..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

Ban them... all they do is attract crime the wrong type of People.

[citation needed]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

power to the people!!

GET A HAIRCUT YOU HIPPY

alex73 wrote: »
    Ban them... all they do is attract crime the wrong type of People.

LOL

Yeah OK.

Versus illegal drugs?

LOL

They have. They abused it though. Not smoking btw but alcohol

You did say legal highs btw..

*sigh* Ok pedantic Pete, I said Legal Highs, but we're talking about the headshop stuff...

*wonders how he can become part of the AH clique*

LOL

Yeah OK.

Versus illegal drugs?

LOL

Ilegal drugs are already banned, (and I can choose to keep clear of them)

I don't want headshops opening all over the place. All they do is attract junkies, wasters (basically scum)

genericguy wrote: »
    [citation needed]
    ?

*sigh* Ok pedantic Pete, I said Legal Highs, but we're talking about the headshop stuff...

Headshops can't sell anything.

I'm confused!

*wonders how he can become part of the AH clique*

no cliques here, just well adjusted people, who for the most part form ideas to the solution of societal problems through a process of rational enquiry, rather than adopting a joe duffy-esque alarmist stance on the simplest of issues.

see the issue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

There was a lad on Newstalk a few weeks ago. I cant find the pod cast.

But he was a doctor in A&E in limrick.

He says(HIS WORDS NOT MINE) that there was a steep rise in people coming in with serious problems in relation to the bathsalts and other stuff stamped "not fit for human consumtion" they where ingesting from the headshops. It was in relation to them closing for a while then reopening. He also says that the stats that so called experts gather are not accurate to what they see in the real world.

Before ya all jump on me. Just passin on what a frontline professional said.

Now.. Im off to get fecked up on a bottle of vodka.:p

dont even quote me as I got a weeks ban for disagreeing with the majority the last time round.

gsxr1 wrote: »
    There was a lad on Newstalk a few weeks ago. I cant find the pod cast.

But he was a doctor in A&E in limrick.

He says(HIS WORDS NOT MINE) that there was a steep rise in people coming in with serious problems in relation to the bathsalts and other stuff stamped "not fit for human consumtion" they where ingesting from the headshops. It was in relation to them closing for a while then reopening. He also says that the stats that so called experts gather are not accurate to what they see in the real world.

Before ya all jump on me. Just passin on what a frontline professional said.

Now.. Im off to get fecked up on a bottle of vodka.:p

dont even quote me as I got a weeks ban for disagreeing with the majority the last time round.

Totally agree. These shops have been making hundreds of thousands of Euros in the last year. Very profitable, that they were selling was not regulated, and from Personal experience I have already seen 5 people with permanent liver damage from the substances they ingested from the shops. That God government has seen sense. Its no Nanny state, we need to stop the sale of these substances.

alex73 wrote: »
    from Personal experience I have already seen 5 people with permanent liver damage from the substances they ingested from the shops..

Liver damage?

Are you sure it wasn`t bottles of jack or slabs of beer used to wash down the legal highs that caused the liver trouble?

What headshop products caused this?