Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie car stickers??

• 17-06-2010 11:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭

Well what do ye think? hot or not? Are they a bit tacky or a great way to promote the forum? There certainly seems like enough car owners on here to get an opinion anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭StereoLove

I think Boards.ie car stickers would be class! Deffo a great way to promote the forum!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

well there'd be bad press associated with boards.ie(which is a business really)if someone with one of the stickers on their car drove like a muppet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

"the culprit escaped in a vehicle with broads.ie on it"
    :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

We need catchphrases so.

'My boot's bigger then yours' - on an Octavia

'Headgasket? Going, going, gone!' - on an 8v Punto/K engined Rover/Astra

'Audi A4 - The Ultimate Anti-Sleeper'

'Hairdresser's Car Eh? Grow Up!' - On an MX-5

'I've Got One And So Does Everybody Else!' - on a Golf

'Now With Tractor Sound Effects!' - on a TDI Bora

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Confab wrote: »
    We need catchphrases so.

'My boot's bigger then yours' - on an Octavia

'Headgasket? Going, going, gone!' - on an 8v Punto/K engined Rover/Astra

'Audi A4 - The Ultimate Anti-Sleeper'

'Hairdresser's Car Eh? Grow Up!' - On an MX-5

'I've Got One And So Does Everybody Else!' - on a Golf

'Now With Tractor Sound Effects!' - on a TDI Bora

Can we have a 'Vtec kicked in yo!' one too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

How about a driver side sticker "if you can read this for more than 10 seconds, GET OUT OF THE MIDDLE LANE!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭alibabba

Ali Babba wrote: »
    Well what do ye think? hot or not? Are they a bit tacky or a great way to promote the forum? There certainly seems like enough car owners on here to get an opinion anyway!

Thats my username !

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

alibabba wrote: »
    Thats my username !

:mad:
    haha lol hate that! (I can empathise, given the number of other max powers here)

OT: The stickers would be a great idea. Especially the anti middle lane and/or "faaast lane" hoggers ones.

I'll take one of the headgasket ones for my rover, and any funny one thats suggested for the fiesta!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Michael 09

He clearly uses spaces and capital letters...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭alibabba

Michael 09 wrote: »
    He clearly uses spaces and capital letters...

still :mad:

alibabba wrote: »
    still :mad:

It's ok champ, you're the real alibabba around here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

"Learn to drive Proper! - sponsored by boards.ie"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I'd say a tiny 2 inch square one with the boards face - the O in the boards logo above - would be enough for us to recognise each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭dirtydiesel

nice idea.
    Can see the curiosity thing kick in as two cars pass with the boards stickers and we wonder who we just passed.

Yeah that'd be a pretty cool and discrete sticker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭PaddyFagan

I'd say a tiny 2 inch square one with the boards face - the O in the boards logo above - would be enough for us to recognise each other.

Perhaps with a slightly different tag line - now ye're drivin' :D

Paddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭mp3kid

SV wrote: »
    well there'd be bad press associated with boards.ie(which is a business really)if someone with one of the stickers on their car drove like a muppet.

I want one with "UNKEL" or "ANAN1" on it for that very reason.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

mp3kid wrote: »
    I want one with "UNKEL" or "ANAN1" on it for that very reason.:D
    haha - better make sure that you dont hog the middle lane on the m50 then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

How about a driver side sticker "if you can read this for more than 10 seconds, GET OUT OF THE MIDDLE LANE!".

Already been done

large_moveover.jpg

There is a skangermobile that has one in Mullingar, its twice the size of the pic, BIG white writing on black background. And yes it does read backwards so those who look at it in their mirror its right way around. Eejit

yes please.

Thats actually a really good idea.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I reckon that subsribers should only get them. Leave the rest of ye peasants wanting :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

antodeco wrote: »
    I reckon that subsribers should only get them. Leave the rest of ye peasants wanting :cool:

A fool and his money...... :D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

antodeco wrote: »

I reckon only the lads in MO should get them :p

Besides it was already asked could we make some stickers for MO members using the Boards.ie name & logo and it was refused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

draffodx wrote: »
    I reckon only the lads in MO should get them :p

Shure, don't all the people who really matter already know each other on the road ;)

R.O.R wrote: »
    Shure, don't all the people who really matter already know each other on the road ;)

Thats true :D

Besides it was already asked could we make some stickers for MO members using the Boards.ie name & logo and it was refused.

why?

I thought boards would be all for getting free advertising

why?

I thought boards would be all for getting free advertising

See post 3, and lads.. Don't get all cliquey :(

the garage I bought the car from don't get bad press if I drive like a muppet, why would any other business or entity?

likewise I doubt people rand up Scouting Ireland to say anything about my last car.

the garage I bought the car from don't get bad press if I drive like a muppet, why would any other business or entity?

likewise I doubt people rand up Scouting Ireland to say anything about my last car.

Thats different, if loads of cars had boards.ie stickers they would be seen as a group and more likely to be complained about than a car with a garage name on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

"I Surf On Boards.ie" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

mullingar wrote: »
    Already been done

large_moveover.jpg

There is a skangermobile that has one in Mullingar, its twice the size of the pic, BIG white writing on black background. And yes it does read backwards so those who look at it in their mirror its right way around. Eejit
    Nothing to do with me!! honest guv!

That's completely different.
    You're associating yourself with boards.ie by having the sticker there yourself..all of the other stickers are already there and very common.

That's completely different.
    You're associating yourself with boards.ie by having the sticker there yourself..all of the other stickers are already there and very common.

Agreed, 3 muppets were racing on the M7 a few weeks back and when they pulled off at the same exit as me I wasn't at all surprised to see MidnightClub stickers on their cars.

No offence intended to any MC users it's just the perception that's out there now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Why would you want a boards.ie sticker on your car? It's not a dedicated motors forum or club. Motors is just one of the forums on the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I want a boards car sticker. That Is all.

steve06 wrote: »
    Why would you want a boards.ie sticker on your car? It's not a dedicated motors forum or club. Motors is just one of the forums on the site.

same reason you'd want a "scouts.ie" or "whatever.com" or "I like dogs"

ie cos you just want to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I can't even afford to own a car right now... Can I put a sticker on my bike?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭alexmcred

CianRyan wrote: »

of course not all cyclists are menaces on the road:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

CianRyan wrote: »

Should you not have the boards cycling jersey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

'Baby on Board' sign + felt marker = 'Baby on Boards' ...... sorted!

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭dirtydiesel

This tread should become a sticky.

why :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

why :confused:

Doh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Bodhan

I think we should have, "your parking malfunction has been shown on boards.ie" Something we can stick to other peoples car then get a picture :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Stekelly wrote: »
    Should you not have the boards cycling jersey?

NO!
    Lycra free zone, thank you very much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

If a bear xxxx in the woods, would it..... = if a sticker with boards.ie appeared...... how would They know ? :confused:

LOL, there's already a 'muppet driver' sticker on a lot of cars.......

51148132375.jpg

I'll get my coat....
    Onkle wrote: »
    ...3 muppets were racing ...a few weeks back and No offence intended to any.... 3-series...users it's just the perception that's out there now
    ..sorry, couldn't resist, fyp, ......see above....:D

Stekelly wrote: »
    I want a boards car sticker. That Is all.
    And so you should have one !

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Gitb1

galwaytt wrote: »
    If a bear xxxx in the woods, would it..... = if a sticker with boards.ie appeared...... how would They know ? :confused:

LOL, there's already a 'muppet driver' sticker on a lot of cars.......

51148132375.jpg

I'll get my coat....

..sorry, couldn't resist, fyp, ......see above....:D

And so you should have one !

Why the unnecessary BMW slagging??

Gitb1 wrote: »

They were all driving Hondas :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

....lol, lighten up......'twas in jest.........the ol' 316i rebadged as M3 would be a better one, but try as I might, google couldn't find me a 316 badge image..........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

BMW slagging is always necessary.