Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junior cert:Music

• 17-06-2010 7:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 49

Anybody else doing music next Wednesday??:pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,345 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I am. It's the only JC exam I am doing.
    It seemed like a good idea at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Winnel

Anybody else doing music next Wednesday??:pac:

Yes :( terrified for dictation everything else is fine we have a brilliant teacher .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 coolyourjets

God!!! I hate dictation thats wer im gonna lose most marks:(
    Does anybody know the difference between a hornpipe and a reel because I cant tell them apart:confused:

A hornpipe when you're listening you can move your head side to side ? I don't know how to explain it and a reel you can say 1,2,3,4...

Hornpipes are slower than reels and are strong on the first and third beat (I think)

They have dotted rhythms too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭DylanS09

spurious wrote: »
    I am. It's the only JC exam I am doing.
    It seemed like a good idea at the time.

Aw cool!
    Spurious is doing a JC exam too! Fair play!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 lolzNato

me be doing it :rolleyes: thought i was free today then realised i had to go back in :pac: have a feeling i'll do good,alright in the mocks sooo...

Its really stupid the way the music test is 5 days after the 2nd last test I just wanna get it over nd done wit:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 fifi_finfin

my teacher has this way: if ''humpty dumpty'' fits into the bar easily when you hear the music, its a hornpipe! if you can say'' black and decker'' easily in each bar its a reel!! its a kinda weird way of telling them apart but it actually works!!:)

Thanks:D Did anybody else get a song from glee for their mocks???:rolleyes:

I did! My ears...they bled..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 leekikwang

so annoying that music is not on til wednesday :P i keep thinking on on my summer holz, but im not yet :P

ahh im terrible at distation :(
    the rest is okaay though :) like irish music, jazz, chosen songs(so pointless!!) urm set songs/works... hate those but there easy ...

huh just cnt wait til music is over then holidays :)

any predictions f theor set work...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Kevin!

I'm in a bit of a predicament for the music exam, our teacher was absolutely rubbish.

The revise wise for music is quite good, has all the set songs and features in columns which makes them easy to learn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 darrennick

i dont know one bit of the course! got 41 in the moc by guessin everytin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭padocon

La, La, La...I'm doing Music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

I am not looking forward to this. I have 3 years of work to learn in a few days.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭whistlin_boy

easiest exam ever..................:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Monsieur Folie

Our school has a terrible junior cert music course. We have to do it after school as an extra curricular subject. We never even did a mock in it, so nobody knows what to expect!

Also, we never did a general study. What did you guys do? If anyone has a good one and the spare time to type it up I'd really really appreciate it if someone could send it to me!

Our school has a terrible junior cert music course. We have to do it after school as an extra curricular subject. We never even did a mock in it, so nobody knows what to expect!

Also, we never did a general study. What did you guys do? If anyone has a good one and the spare time to type it up I'd really really appreciate it if someone could send it to me!

I typed mine up ages ago it's here:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=64651119&postcount=19

M&S* wrote: »

Awesome! many thanks. =)

It's okay it might not be the best but it's what I'm using!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,345 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I'm doing my General Study on Abba - the music of my youth.
    I'll write it when I get in there - the way we used to do exams.

spurious wrote: »
    I'm doing my General Study on Abba - the music of my youth.
    I'll write it when I get in there - the way we used to do exams.

I didn't know you could do it on ABBA???
    How does everybody think they done in their practicals?
    I think I done good just made 2 mistakes but I don't think he noticed:D:pac:

I didn't know you could do it on ABBA???

General study can be on anything! Generally teachers have notes on a certain type that they just use!

I'd say I done fairly well hopefully an A or B.

I had a couple of bum notes but my clapping was good.

My guitar playing was okay, but I think I might have messed up the rhythm clapping. I got a really awkward one!

I was hoping someone would do a general study on The Beatles.. That'd be super-easy for me to learn off! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭_rebelkid

wait, was that the theme and variation thing??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 LGKaiid

We did 3 general studies..! the music of danny elfman , Queen , and Arcade Fire.! my music teacher is really good so im not that worried bout this test..! just think you ar nearly at your summer holidays.! i didn study at all for my pre and got 67 .. i also think i did ok in my practical as i didnt make any mistakes and i did the clapping thing right.! dont worry too much about it..! you will all do fine.! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 EmmaBlahh

We did our general study on the Beatles and it's pure easy and I love it! :D
    Really worried about the backing chords and melody writing cos our teacher was always missing..
    The power of Revise Wise :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 AlanL

any predictions for the chosen song or work? i cant be bothered to learn them all for 10 marks but if anyone has any idea, I'll just go with that and hope it comes up :D

We done a full paper in class today! (Yes class :()
    I'm really screwed tbh, I can't remember any of the choice things like what category they come from! :(
    I'll really need to try learn stuff tomorrow!

Oh yeah...I've kind of forgotten about this test..:/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 SineadCork

Yea hahaa screwed really.. I only started music this year hahaa and i have to learn the whole course today nd tomoro :L Origianly the plan was to keep it up for the leaving cert but thats not going to hapen.. mabye its just me but i tink its kinda hard.?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 xMeganx

I still dont know how to do the backing chords! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭whistlin_boy

xMeganx wrote: »
    I still dont know how to do the backing chords! :(

Okay, lets see how to explain it. The first thing you should be able to draw is the chord chart. That is simply a three x seven grid. Into it you fill in the tonics (first note) of the chord. So in a scale of D major, into the bottom box you would fill in D, E, F*, G, A, B, C*, D. The next thing to do is to fill in the median (third) note of each chord. The easiest way to do this is to count up a third from the first note and then write out the seven letters of the music alphabet in that key. So the you would then fill out the dominant (fifth) note of the scale. this would leave something like this:

a b c*d e f*g
    f*g a b c*d e
    d e f*g a b c*
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Next you must cross out the the third and seventh notes (they are just too complicated to use) and label the 2nd and 6th notes minor. The next thing to do is to look at the piece of music given. Look at the notes under the first blank. You have to match the notes on the fragment of score as close as possible to the notes in any of the chords. So if the music reads the notes d f* a d c d for the first chord the most common notes are d f* and a so the chord is D major and so on..............;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Blue_Seas

Anyone have any help for Irish Music, the dances?
    For a jig I know it's "butterfly butterfly" but how do I tell a Single Jig and a Hop Jig?
    Then for a Reel it's "cat-er-pill-ar" (to a beat of 2/4 or 4/4) and I know nothing for a hornpipe ._.

Ah well... Last exam anyway but I'd like to do well. Practical went pretty well, messed up a bit on my first piece but otherwise grand and I did sight-reading (waaay easier than clapping back)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭_LilyRose_

jig: 'liverpool liverpool liverpool lou!' as in 1-2-3 4-5-6 and lou is the dotted crotchet at the end....
    hornpipe: you can say 'hump-ty dump-ty' to the rhythm....
    reel: ditto with 'black and decker' super fast

hate dictation too:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 schtroumpf94

Blue_Seas wrote: »
    Anyone have any help for Irish Music, the dances?
    For a jig I know it's "butterfly butterfly" but how do I tell a Single Jig and a Hop Jig?
    Then for a Reel it's "cat-er-pill-ar" (to a beat of 2/4 or 4/4) and I know nothing for a hornpipe ._.

Ah well... Last exam anyway but I'd like to do well. Practical went pretty well, messed up a bit on my first piece but otherwise grand and I did sight-reading (waaay easier than clapping back)

You don't need to know the difference between the jigs - just the word 'jig' will get you the marks. If asked for the time sig, a single jig is 6/8 and a hop jig is 9/8...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭_LilyRose_

im kinda worried about the essay-type Q section D of irish music!...hope harp tradition or song tradition come up:rolleyes:

My practical went really well, I think. I played Minuet & Badinerie by Bach (G8) and Menuet from Suite in a minor by Telemann (G6) on the flute, and though I messed up a couple of bars in the Bach, overall it was fine. On the piano I played Gnossienne 2 by Satie (G3-4) and I Giorni by Einaudi and I think I only made a couple of negligible mistakes. I didn't get to finish I Giorni though cos it was 6 mins long :L I did flute sightreading - it was piss xD I'm hoping for an A overall, because all my other exams went really well, and I think I got mostly As (English and Irish are the only exceptions...)...it really sucks that it's five days after Religion, because right now I am so not in the exam frame of mind -_-'

_LilyRose_ wrote: »
    im kinda worried about the essay-type Q section D of irish music!...hope harp tradition or song tradition come up:rolleyes:

Me too...the one in our mock was piss, basically just having to list and explain the features of Irish music in general. I hope something along those lines comes up this year ^_^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 cork94

We done a full paper in class today! (Yes class :()
    I'm really screwed tbh, I can't remember any of the choice things like what category they come from! :(
    I'll really need to try learn stuff tomorrow!

We had as music class today. I went home after 3 hours! The class wasnt even over then! :eek: Our class was longer than the leaving cert one that was on today too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 philip___

does anybody have any predictions about set works? or set songs?

_LilyRose_ wrote: »

I don't think there'll be a long question on harping because it came up last year I think!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Tweedo

I don't think there'll be a long question on harping because it came up last year I think!

Feck sake thats the only stuff i know! Belfast harp festival and all that crap...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Vivara

LGKaiid wrote: »
    We did 3 general studies..! the music of danny elfman , Queen , and Arcade Fire.! my music teacher is really good so im not that worried bout this test..! just think you ar nearly at your summer holidays.! i didn study at all for my pre and got 67 .. i also think i did ok in my practical as i didnt make any mistakes and i did the clapping thing right.! dont worry too much about it..! you will all do fine.! :D

I did Arcade Fire too. As a matter of interest, what are your three Musical Features? I pretty much did it myself so am wondering if what I did is OK.

Any predictions for Set Songs? I know everyone guessed 'In the Hall of the Mountain King' for the Works.

Ed.

Here's my overview of the set songs
    2007 - Click Go The Sheers, Yesterday, The Verdant Braes Of Skreen

2004 - Click Go The Sheers, The Lord Is My Sheppard, Can't Help Lovin' That Man

2001 - The Lord Is My Sheppard (Asked in detail)

1998 - The Verdant Braes of Skreen (Asked in detail)

1995 - Yesterday (Asked in detail)

It's really hard to tell what will come up cause of the big gap but I'd say Wanderers Night Song, Amhrán na Cuiginne and Evening Prayer are due up seeing as they never have, but I wouldn't leave out Can't Help Lovin' That Man either! Or the others in fact it's just so hard to tell what way it'll go...

Anyone else got any ideas?

AAAGGGHHH!
    Now I regret using the CD's that came with the book as frizbees!:(

DylanS09 wrote: »
    AAAGGGHHH!
    Now I regret using the CD's that came with the book as frizbees!:(

They're crap! What do you want anyways? I've got them burned onto my computer (Yes I have no life)

Haha!
    No it's fine though!
    I've found some crappy amateur versions on youtube!:o If I can't find one I'll let you know!