Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Injured a Garda

• 17-06-2010 11:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

A friend was involved in a traffic accident recently (luckily she's ok now) I was following but about 20 mins behind so the emergency services were already there when I came upon the scene. I pulled over and jumped out of the car. I could see my friend and I started running towards the car, was really legging it (never knew I could run that fast !) A Garda stopped me but I was terrified and desperate to get to my friend (illogical I know) so I gave him a pretty hard time trying to get past him :(

Anyway he was eventually able to restrain me but in the struggle I caught the side of his jaw with my charm bracelet i think and gave him quite a bad cut :eek:

Wasn't thinking straight at the time and ended up going off in the ambulance so never had a chance to apologise. Feel awful. Not sure if I should try track him down and apologise ? - He might run away if he saw me coming.... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Katieoo wrote: »
    Wasn't thinking straight at the time and ended up going off in the ambulance so never had a chance to apologise. Feel awful. Not sure if I should try track him down and apologise ? - He might run away if he saw me coming.... :confused:

Of course you should!!! Go to a Garda station with the date of the accident and get them to search for it. They will tell you the Gardaí present. Then try track him down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

He might run away if he saw me coming.... :confused:

I somehow doubt it.

Niceguyalways is correct. Try and find him and apologise and hope he is very forgiving. What did you expect to do if you got by him? You would only have got in the way of the medics. Unfortunately this kind of thing happens too much. It is especially bad on weekend nights when someone gets assaulted. People with drink on them go mad because their friend is hurt and take it out on the responders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Starburst85

I'd defo try search for him and apologise...it will make his day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

You'd probably also be surprised how forgiving he might be given the situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Katieoo

Thanks nice guy always I'll do that.

I know there was nothing I could have done and would have been in the way. Wasn't thinking that far ahead though just wanted to get to her. I only struggled with him for about two mins. I didn't mean to hurt him. He was also really kind so want to thank him for that too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Katieoo

I'd defo try search for him and apologise...it will make his day :)
    hobochris wrote: »
    You'd probably also be surprised how forgiving he might be given the situation.

Thanks. Hopefully :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Yea def apologise - you'll make his day.
    I'm a big believer of thanking (and the like) any of the emergency services. They do a fantastic, thankless, job. It costs us (the general public) nothing to say thanks, but I know it give a great boost to a lot of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 monkeysox

If you do track him down please come back here and let us know how it went.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Snail30

I agree with everyone - track him down and apologise. Bring a box of Roses and if he is gracious give them to him, if not eat them (and maybe share them with your friend). :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

A friend was involved in a traffic accident recently (luckily she's ok now) I was following but about 20 mins behind so the emergency services were already there when I came upon the scene. I pulled over and jumped out of the car. I could see my friend and I started running towards the car, was really legging it (never knew I could run that fast !) A Garda stopped me but I was terrified and desperate to get to my friend (illogical I know) so I gave him a pretty hard time trying to get past him :(

Anyway he was eventually able to restrain me but in the struggle I caught the side of his jaw with my charm bracelet i think and gave him quite a bad cut :eek:

Am I the only one wondering why the OP was not arrested+charged or dealt with by summons?

By all means you should track him down and say sorry, they must be a very patient/understanding member and deserve your thanks.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,809 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Now that you've seen what you've done in the cold light of day, I think finding out who it was, and issuing a genuine face-to-face apology is the most decent thing you could do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

bravestar wrote: »
    Am I the only one wondering why the OP was not arrested+charged or dealt with by summons?

By all means you should track him down and say sorry, they must be a very patient/understanding member and deserve your thanks.

I'm sorry but why?? It's not like she intentionally hurt the Garda! She was trying to get to her injured friend and probably flailed her arms too much while trying to get passed the Garda and caught his cheek with her bracelet. It's not like she decked him or spit on him/kicked/punched him!!

OP if you find him, fair play to you :)

I'm sorry but why?? It's not like she intentionally hurt the Garda! She was trying to get to her injured friend and probably flailed her arms too much while trying to get passed the Garda and caught his cheek with her bracelet. It's not like she decked him or spit on him/kicked/punched him!!

OP if you find him, fair play to you :)

Here's your answer...
    A Garda stopped me but I was terrified and desperate to get to my friend (illogical I know) so I gave him a pretty hard time trying to get past him :(

If I drive like a maniac because a friend has been injured and as a result of it, lose control and injure a pedestrian/cyclist/lollipop lady/man, is it not my fault? Should I not have to account for my actions?

If the OP had of injured one of the paramedic's attending to their injured friend while trying to get to them would your view be the same?

The Garda who got injured put up with this because he knew the type of things that could happen when he signed up. Fair play to him for being so understadning. That does not mean that when things like this do happen Gardai should take them lying down.

Eventually able to restrain me... side of his jaw... quite a bad cut... Sec 3 assault... ah but sure he's only an aul peeler, he'll be grand. Typical...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭ivabiggon

ah now! <mod snip> don't be trying to make this into some thing it's not.. the woman is trying to do the right thing, thank god for discretion and sensibility, which is two of the most important thing the gardaí in this country have at their disposal in policing here.
    what are yo looking for... for the woman to be peppered sprayed into submission and shackled and paraded in front of the media in overalls, like in the states...:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

She should apologize face to face. Also bring him a gift, a St Michael's medal and chain would be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭mm.ie

Finnbar01 wrote: »
    She should apologize face to face. Also bring him a gift, a St Michael's medal and chain would be nice.

No. Gardaí only like St. Rapheal or St. Paul Medals. A miraculous medal or a piece of Padre Pio's garments would be better appreciated. You should use blue wool instead of a chain. :)

Maybe he's not Catholic, let alone religious.

A box of sweets will be appreciated by him & his colleagues (who are also doing thankless work). ...or in this weather, a box of ice-pops would go down a treat - it's unlikely that the government invested heavily in air-conditioning while they were lining their pockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

ivabiggon wrote: »
    ah now brownstar! don't be trying to make this into some thing it's not.. the woman is trying to do the right thing, thank god for discretion and sensibility, which is two of the most important thing the gardaí in this country have at their disposal in policing here.
    what are yo looking for... for the woman to be peppered sprayed into submission and shackled and paraded in front of the media in overalls, like in the states...:cool:

guards, teachers, nurses get spat upon or bitten or get treated like **** and a lot of people seem to think thats okay.
    i can't believe she wasn't arrested for assaulting a police officer.

She wasn't arrested, because Guards tend to be sensible, understanding people.

I know this flies in the face of General Public Perception (TM) but there you have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cojomo2

Fuinseog wrote: »
    guards, teachers, nurses get spat upon or bitten or get treated like **** and a lot of people seem to think thats okay.

Intentional. OP Situation = accident.:rolleyes:

Zulu wrote: »
    Maybe he's not Catholic, let alone religious.

A box of sweets will be appreciated by him & his colleagues (who are also doing thankless work). ...or in this weather, a box of ice-pops would go down a treat - it's unlikely that the government invested heavily in air-conditioning while they were lining their pockets.

Maybe so but after all St Michael is the patron saint of AGS and it's the thought that counts. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

Maybe so but after all St Michael is the patron saint of AGS and it's the thought that counts. :)

thought it was saint jude?!

da__flash wrote: »
    thought it was saint jude?!

Nope, he's the patron saint of lost causes and cases dispaired of.

Mind you some of the cases the garda deal with would require some divine intervention! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Fuinseog wrote: »

If she wasn't being malicious and abusive, arrest would have been a massive over-reaction imho.. You'd have to be fairly hard-hearted to arrest someone whose friend is being repaired by the side of the road.
    Anyway, he could always find out who she was by running a check on the car she left behind..summons might be in the post :D

Maybe I'm alone, but that seems a tad cheesy to me. I'd agree with the idea of some sweets or icepops. Something practical.

Why does it seem cheesy to you? Maybe you would prefer to bring along some donuts?

Probably, yeah. At least you know they'll be ate. If this guy cares enough about a St. Michael's medal, chances are he already has one.

If he doesn't, then you're just giving him a gift that he doesn't want. It'd be like someone giving me a bible. I'm not religious and don't care about it, so i'll feign interest, and throw it to one side. It'd be a waste.

At least if you get him something edible, or even a voucher for a takeaway or something, you know it'll get use and he'll enjoy it (unless he's on some mad diet or something, but even then he can put it to one side and use it later). Even a clothing voucher could be useful.

If it were me in that situation, I'd grab a Just-Eat voucher (assuming they do vouchers? There are plenty of just-eat places in my town) and spend a few euro in a €2 shop on a few different sweets/biscuits or such. He was at a traffic accident, so I'm assuming he's either part of the Traffic Corp or has regular access to a patrol car, so a few packets of sweets to throw in the glove compartment that he can munch on when he's a bit hungry or bored, and a voucher that'll cover a lunch or two for him, seems like it'd be a hell of a lot more useful than the medal. Probably throw in a 'Thank You' card, a sincere apology, and I reckon he'd be more than happy.

That's just my take on it though.

A tad cheesy? It's way beyond a tad. Right up there with a Wee Daniel CD.
    I don't agree with gifts of any description. They can be perceived as being influential. You know.. "She decked a copper but didn't get charged coz she gave him a wibbly wobbly wonder after"

Probably, yeah. At least you know they'll be ate. If this guy cares enough about a St. Michael's medal, chances are he already has one.

If he doesn't, then you're just giving him a gift that he doesn't want. It'd be like someone giving me a bible. I'm not religious and don't care about it, so i'll feign interest, and throw it to one side. It'd be a waste.

At least if you get him something edible, or even a voucher for a takeaway or something, you know it'll get use and he'll enjoy it (unless he's on some mad diet or something, but even then he can put it to one side and use it later). Even a clothing voucher could be useful.

If it were me in that situation, I'd grab a Just-Eat voucher (assuming they do vouchers? There are plenty of just-eat places in my town) and spend a few euro in a €2 shop on a few different sweets/biscuits or such. He was at a traffic accident, so I'm assuming he's either part of the Traffic Corp or has regular access to a patrol car, so a few packets of sweets to throw in the glove compartment that he can munch on when he's a bit hungry or bored, and a voucher that'll cover a lunch or two for him, seems like it'd be a hell of a lot more useful than the medal. Probably throw in a 'Thank You' card, a sincere apology, and I reckon he'd be more than happy.

That's just my take on it though.

Yep, the same old drivel expressing itself as atheist materialism. :rolleyes:
    A tad cheesy? It's way beyond a tad. Right up there with a Wee Daniel CD.
    I don't agree with gifts of any description. They can be perceived as being influential. You know.. "She decked a copper but didn't get charged coz she gave him a wibbly wobbly wonder after"

We buy gifts for people to express our gratitude, you're automatically assuming that the exchange of an apology and gift could lead to corruption. FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Jokes aside , what would the Gardai on this forum accept or like as a gift from a member of the public for , say , helping change a tyre ?

delancey42 wrote: »
    Jokes aside , what would the Gardai on this forum accept or like as a gift from a member of the public for , say , helping change a tyre ?

That is up to the individual. When people help me out, even though it's their job, I like to reward them with a small gift.

Yep, the same old drivel expressing itself as atheist materialism. :rolleyes:

I don't even know what that means. :confused:

Would love to hear from the OP again though, and if she has found/approached the Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭heffomike54

Slightly off topic, but around Christmas time there awhile back I saw a little kid on their way to school with their parents, give a Garda an orange as they were doing freeflow traffic duty, doubt it corrupted him so a box of sweets is hardly a big thing.:D

I don't even know what that means. :confused:

Would love to hear from the OP again though, and if she has found/approached the Garda.

Of course you don't, because all you think of is materialism. I don't see how giving a garda a St Michael's medal would be 'cheesy' or offencesive.

Of course you don't, because all you think of is materialism. I don't se how giving a garda a St Michael's medal would be 'cheesy' or offence.

Because you're giving him a medal that you bought.. A religious one at that. What if he doesn't have a religion? What if he follows another religion?

If I was going to settle on a Medal, I'd get something custom made or contact AGS to see if there's anything AGS-related I can give him.

To a lot of people, religion and medals (respectively) can be a touch subjects. You're Leaving yourself open to offend him and either way, you're giving him something he doesn't want. As I said, surely if he wanted a St Michael's Medal, then he'd have one anyway?

I can only speak for myself, but I still feel a take away voucher and a few packets of sweets would travel much further.

Nothing like coming in and finding a tin a roses with your name on it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭ivabiggon

bravestar wrote: »
    Nothing like coming in and finding a tin a roses with your name on it :D

jesus: a tin of roses wouldn't even make up the stairs to our mess hall in the fire station i work in... either with your name on it or not???:confused:

you gaurds must be very honest....

Would a bottle of spirits be acceptable or might that be inappropriate ( can't think why ).
    BTW I should add that a sister of a friend of mine got helped out of some bad car trouble recently - she knows the Guards name and station but is unsure what gift to get him - she reckons a tray of donuts could be misinterpreted as a p1ss - take ?

ivabiggon wrote: »
    jesus: a tin of roses wouldn't even make up the stairs to our mess hall in the fire station i work in... either with your name on it or not???:confused:

you gaurds must be very honest....

We just like looking after our figures... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

I would have no problem accepting a SMALL gift once the good deed is done (dont forget Gardaí dont have to change tyres but we alway get caught with doing it).

If would have to be small and not re occurring. IE yes for changing a tyre....no for cautioning a person for an offence where you could possible meet that same person again for the same offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭1922

i got 2 boxes of cakes once for changing a tyre

cakes were dropped in when i wasn't there....needless to say i saw very little cake :(

Would ye Gardaì prefer the gift be dropped into the station addressed to you (in a package of some sort so no one else goes near it) or would ye prefer a face-to-face exchange?

I always felt it'd be nicer to thank a Garda in person, but if such a situation ever arose, I dunno if meeting the Garda in person would make them feel uncomfortable or awkward?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I always felt it'd be nicer to thank a Garda in person

I have always wanted to thank a Garda for a good deed and understanding approach taken 2 years ago when they could of gone by the book and quiet rightly thrown it at me.

Still would love to meet him and just say thanks but all I know is that he used to drive a 3dr Land Rover Freelander commercial and I came into contact on the M7 on the 10th of March 2008 outside Kildare (a Garda was kille dthe same day on the same road at citywest). If anyone knows who this could be I'd love to contact that person.

Sorry for going off topic

I would have no problem accepting a SMALL gift once the good deed is done (dont forget Gardaí dont have to change tyres but we alway get caught with doing it).

If would have to be small and not re occurring. IE yes for changing a tyre....no for cautioning a person for an offence where you could possible meet that same person again for the same offence.

When I said car trouble I should have made clear it was a tech problem - couldn't get her automatic out of park ?!! " guards came along ,the observer apparently didn't know how to drive even but the driver managed to sort her out grand.
    I reckon a bottle of whiskey never goes astray

We buy gifts for people to express our gratitude, you're automatically assuming that the exchange of an apology and gift could lead to corruption. FFS.
    Not at all. Read my post again. It may lead to the perception of corruption. Gardai should never accept gifts, no matter how well-intentioned.

I've been 20 years in the job without knowing that. I'd have been fairly confused if someone had given me one of them medals.

I did the tyre-change for a yankee lady one time and she insisted on giving a tip. There was a charity box in the public office, so I pointed her to that.
    Accepting a gift is unprofessional. I won't do it, and I have no respect for anyone who will, jokes aside...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Whitewater-AGS

RT66 wrote: »
    I did the tyre-change for a yankee lady one time and she insisted on giving a tip. There was a charity box in the public office, so I pointed her to that.
    Accepting a gift is unprofessional. I won't do it, and I have no respect for anyone who will, jokes aside...

Aw give it over would ya, only last month I had a box of Ferrero Rocher & a thank you card handed into me for contacting and returning an Iphone to its owner.

Was a nice gesture and hardly makes me unprofessional lad:rolleyes:

Aw give it over would ya, only last month I had a box of Ferrero Rocher & a thank you card handed into me for contacting and returning an Iphone to its owner.

Was a nice gesture and hardly makes me unprofessional lad:rolleyes:

Agreed 100%. Hardly makes us like the lads in "The Shield" :D

My friends sister dropped off a big Black Forest Gateaux to the station today - the guard who helped her was out but was on duty . Apparently the lad on the desk said '' ah sure , I'll save him a piece ''

Tut tut - they wouldn't even wait for him to cut it :D