Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wine when out for a meal

• 13-06-2010 8:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭shoelaceface

Oh this really winds me up!!! :mad::mad::mad::mad:

I dont drink wine, so why should i be expected to pay for it at a meal!

I was at a function recently with 30+ at the table, during the meal bottles and bottles of wine were being poured, i just had my glass of water. At the end the wine bill was divided up and a tip was added on for the staff. I was hopping mad! There was no considersation for those who were only drinking water. And to add insult to injury the service by the staff was absolutely SHOCKING, they didnt deserve a cent!!!! I usually would tip provided I was satisfied as I once worked as a waitress and at the time appreciated what tips i got, and knew that I only got them when i worked for them!! But thats a different point! The total cost for my glass of tap water and dreadful service was €8.

I'm sure its pretty common so what do you do when the problem of splitting up the wine bill when you dont drink the dam drink arises! Obviously you don't want to come across stingey and make a big scene!

As for wine drinkers who read this. If you are out for a meal drinking wine in a group, please show consideration for those not drinking and leave them out of the bill!!!!!!!!!

so throw your comments please!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Might want to repost this in 'Stingiest thing you've ever seen'. Or maybe one of your friends will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭dezzyd

Who decided to split the wine bill? The wine drinkers should have had consideration for the non-drinkers at the table. I would not expect someone in my company, in this situation, to pay for something they did not have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Jesus. Lighten up and have a drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Bloody Nipples

You're cheap :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭shoelaceface

Confab wrote: »
    Might want to repost this in 'Stingiest thing you've ever seen'. Or maybe one of your friends will.

why? im not stingey!

If someone charged you €8 extra on your shopping bill for items you did not purchase, would you be happy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

I bet you collect pennies off the ground. I've actually never heard such a stingy complaint before.

why? im not stingey!

If someone charged you €8 extra on your shopping bill for items you did not purchase, would you be happy?

I bet you add up how much you owe and subtract it from the subtotal when you're on a date with a girl too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

why? im not stingey!

Ah now seriously! If you're going to go out for a meal with a group of friends or whatever, you should just enjoy it and not be worrying about a few euro here and there! If you can't afford it, then you probably shoudn't go out.

If you feel really hard done by in those situations, just order the steak ... or even just drink the wine!

dvpower wrote: »
    Jesus. Lighten up and have a drink.

i would have but the s**t staff didnt offer any other drinks!! they dropped the food and ran! i usually have vodka with my meal and then I dont have a problem paying the bill!! But it was a choice of water or wine :D

Sheeps wrote: »
    I bet you add up how much you owe and subtract it from the subtotal when you're on a date with a girl too.

i might if i was a lesbian :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Are you one of those people who just order a starter at a communal dinner and then argue loudly about having to split the bill while everybody cringes inside and mentally makes a note never to invite you again?

i usually have vodka with my meal

Ugh... this tells me everything I need to know about you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Why? It's a perfectly reasonable complaint. If the OP doesn't take part in something, the OP shouldn't be expected to pay for it. Drinks are quite expensive, I wouldn't expect someone else to foot my alcohol bill, it's plain rude.
    I bet you collect pennies off the ground. I've actually never heard such a stingy complaint before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

i might if i was a lesbian :eek:
    Mmmmmm... Lesbians.

Ugh... this tells me everything I need to know about you.

you know nothing about me!!!!

go on guess my profile/occupation so :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

OP , you are missing out, a good wine is a real pleasure of life.

galwayrush wrote: »

Too true. Having one now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Keedowah

What did the others say when you raised your concerns when they split the bill?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Have a few bottles next time you're out OP, and you'll be a lot more relaxed when it comes to paying the bill. :)

stovelid wrote: »
    Are you one of those people who just order a starter at a communal dinner and then argue loudly about having to split the bill while everybody cringes inside and mentally makes a note never to invite you again?

no i do not!! but i don't see why someone pays for something they do not receive!

if you were overcharged in a shop would you just walk away and say nothing!! i dont think so!

i would have but the s**t staff didnt offer any other drinks!! they dropped the food and ran! i usually have vodka with my meal and then I dont have a problem paying the bill!! But it was a choice of water or wine :D

Swings and roundabouts. Sometimes you pay a little extra, sometimes you pay a little less. It was only €8.00. why quibble over a few quid.

I'd hate to be out for a meal where I was made to feel guilty over ordering the steak or an extra side because someone is counting the pennies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

hardly worth getting that upset over such a trivial amount imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭ElBarco

Do what I do - drink a boatload of beer. For some reason it always forces the wine drinkers to do some calculations at the end of a night.

no i do not!! but i don't see why someone pays for something they do not receive!

if you were overcharged in a shop would you just walk away and say nothing!! i dont think so!

Part of going out for a dinner in groups is accepting that if the bill is split, you lose out if you don't eat or drink much.

Just one of those things.

If you quibble and insist on separate paying, you look tight and the staff hate you as well so it's a no-win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

You do this when you pay taxes.

bluto63 wrote: »
    Why? It's a perfectly reasonable complaint. If the OP doesn't take part in something, the OP shouldn't be expected to pay for it. Drinks are quite expensive, I wouldn't expect someone else to foot my alcohol bill, it's plain rude.

No, it's not. If it was a large function, it was probably pre-decided. If it wasn't pre-decided she probably could have just said that she wasn't going to pay for wine she didn't drink, and they probably would have adjusted the total.

Either way, it's pathetic to post a thread talking to people who drink wine as if it's some kind of personality trait giving out about about how she didn't drink the wine she paid a whole €8 for. Adding up your bill and how much you ate is just pathetic though, and I hate people who go out for a meal with others and get the calculator out at the end of the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭coleen

we often go out as a group of ladies and we divide the wine bill between the wine drinkers only particulary as the non wine drinker is often the driver and we would think it bad form to take money from a person who has not had the wine

Keedowah wrote: »
    What did the others say when you raised your concerns when they split the bill?

i didnt say anything! :P who ever does! thats why im being targeted for being stingey!! nobody will say it at the table! but they all say it when away from the group!
    <Ollie> wrote: »
    Have a few bottles next time you're out OP, and you'll be a lot more relaxed when it comes to paying the bill. :)

like i already said, i usually have a vodka and coke so that at least when im paying my share, im not footing everyone elses bill, il have got something :D
    galwayrush wrote: »

genuinely cant stand the stuff!! iv tried and tried, but it just doesnt tickle my taste buds :D

No, it's not. If it was a large function, it was probably pre-decided. If it wasn't pre-decided she probably could have just said that she wasn't going to pay for wine she didn't drink, and they probably would have adjusted the total.

Either way, it's pathetic to post a thread talking to people who drink wine as if it's some kind of personality trait giving out about about how she didn't drink the wine she paid a whole €8 for.

ah here, i wasnt the only one! there was about 6 or 7 not drinking it! So i should have said something and made a scene and then caused tension in the group!! yeah that would have really made it a great night!!

looks like you are happy to take money from others to foot your bill then!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

bluto63 wrote: »

I'm sure if he/she said something when the bill came nobody would have objected. Most people drink wine while out anyway; and nobody asks the question when the bill comes - "who had the 16oz steak?" "who drank the most wine?" "who didn't have a starter/dessert?" etc. etc. It's ridiculous. It just embarrassing for everyone involved. Best to stay at home if you're going to get that worked up over it.

coleen wrote: »
    we often go out as a group of ladies and we divide the wine bill between the wine drinkers only particulary as the non wine drinker is often the driver and we would think it bad form to take money from a person who has not had the wine

Sounds like a right old (ebe)neez up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭ElBarco

ah here, i wasnt the only one! there was about 6 or 7 not drinking it! So i should have said something and made a scene and then caused tension in the group!! yeah that would have really made it a great night!!

Do you know what really taught them a lesson? Posting a nasty thread about it on the internet.

Bet they're all sorry now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

i didnt say anything! :P who ever does!

Oh, so you're happy to bitch at people on the interwebz about it, but you won't say a word when it's actually relevant! :confused:

Either way, it's pathetic to post a thread talking to people who drink wine as if it's some kind of personality trait giving out about about how she didn't drink the wine she paid a whole €8 for. Adding up your bill and how much you ate is just pathetic though, and I hate people who go out for a meal with others and get the calculator out at the end of the night.

It's not adding up how much you ate and dividing it, It's simply splitting the wine bill up separately from the food bill. If I asked you for money to pay for my taxi home from a night out I'm sure you'd think differently.

And as the OP said, she wasn't the only one, so consideration must be given

Op needs to change his user name to shoestring. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I agree with the OP. This kind of thing annoys me and I refuse to pay for any alcohol at a meal. People are ok with it.

To anyone saying it's only €8. Get real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Whine when out for a meal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Its called good manners, I've been in the position where after having wine with my dinner some moron points out they had none and therefore should pay less.

You think "Well whilst were dissecting the bill, hows about that steak you had?"
    But you say "Well I suppose thats fair." Because you know the correct way to act in social situations, something your kicking yourself for as evidently not everyone does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

i didnt say anything! :P who ever does! thats why im being targeted for being stingey!! nobody will say it at the table! but they all say it when away from the group!

You're right too, when I'm out I quite like it when people pay for my wine.

like i already said, i usually have a vodka and coke so that at least when im paying my share, im not footing everyone elses bill, il have got something :D

When you're out, never, ever ask a waiter/waitress for exotic cocktails like vodka, chances are they'll never have heard of it and you'll just end up embarrassing yourself.
    And never get up and walk over to the manager or waiting staff if the service is poor, you'll create a health and safety issue, a friend or a friends wrk colleague did it once and he died from part of the room falling on him.

You had a very luck escape, maybe next time you'll think twice before attending one of these functions.

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    I agree with the OP. This kind of thing annoys me and I refuse to pay for any alcohol at a meal. People are ok with it.

To anyone saying it's only €8. Get real.

And if you don't have a starter or a desert do you subtract that from the bill, or is it just an alcohol thing?

dvpower wrote: »
    And if you don't have a starter or a desert do you subtract that from the bill, or is it just an alcohol thing?

You are getting very defensive about this. You usually drown yourself with wine at a meal do you?

Its called good manners, I've been in the position where after having wine with my dinner some moron points out they had none and therefore should pay less.

You think "Well whilst were dissecting the bill, hows about that steak you had?"
    But you say "Well I suppose thats fair." Because you know the correct way to act in social situations, something your kicking yourself for as evidently not everyone does.

What if only one person drinks and they drink a lot? Should everyone pay for this person? Hell no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 formula

Jesus Christ I've never heard of such a stingy miser before. OP probably spent the meal sweating about the bill, choosing the cheapest item on the menu.

"No starter please. I'll have half a carrot for my main course. No dessert thanks."

Lighten up ffs.

If a group are in a pub and there is the driver drinking water. Should the driver be included in the round? After all they are in the group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Just go for a meal on your own in the future, problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

No, I'm sorry. I get where the OP is coming from. I'm a non-drinker and will always pay my fair share (and often more when it comes to the tip) but to expect people in your group to pay for your drink who aren't drinking is just plain bad manners.

At a lot of dinners, it doesn't come down to people having a glass or two with their meal. Nobody would probably object to splitting that. But I've been in groups where people are splitting up to three bottles between two on many occasions and the wine isn't cheap. To turn around and ask someone not drinking to help pay for that is pretty cheeky IMO.

And to all those people who are saying that if the OP can't afford it she shouldn't go out- grow up, will ye? Would you honestly prefer a good friend not to come out for a meal because they can't afford to subsidise your drinking? Seriously? Because that to me is equally scabby.

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    You are getting very defensive about this. You usually drown yourself with wine at a meal do you?

How did you know?:eek:

Millicent wrote: »
    Would you honestly prefer a good friend not to come out for a meal because they can't afford to subsidise your drinking?

Absolutely.

I do pay it because i wouldnt make a scene or cause embarrasment to anyone at a table!

There is a recession and purse strings have to be tightened! None of you know my financial status, but yet most of you are calling me stingey!

My point is that the drinks bill is usually always seperate to the meal. I have no problem splitting a meal bill. I dont watch what people are ordering! I dont mind as long as I am getting something for what im paying. But i just think that when the drinks bill is on a seperate receipt and it is OBVIOUS that some are not drinking anything its only fair to exclude them from the drinks bill!

Obviously if food and drink are on the same receipt then theres not a lot can be done unless someone whips out a calculator which would be awful!! :P :P

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I usually check before the meal if everyone planning on splitting the bill at the end of the night. It saves any surprise/indignation at the end. I'd probably have a glass of wine, but never a starter and I don't eat steak when eating out but I don't mind splitting the bill evenly if it's all prearranged.
    If I was a bit short of money, I might say, when the evening out is being arranged, 'Listen, I'm a little short of cash so do you mind if I just pay for what I've eaten at the end of the night because I won't be having that much but would still like to be able to go out and enjoy the company of my friends. If that looks like it may be a problem I don't mind sitting this one out though, and we can arrange something else later.'

But generally I'm grand splitting the bill. I do have wine, but never a starter so I think it evens out in the end. :)