Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you buy these underwear?

• 13-06-2010 12:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/world/2010/0611/1224272267831.html
    Joe Arpaio shrugs it all off – including allegations about contacts with neo-Nazi white supremacists. LARA MARLOWE reports from Phoenix
    WHAT KIND of law enforcement officer boasts of using “the world’s only female chain gang” to bury dead indigents? Of housing convicts in furnace temperatures next to the city dump? Of feeding his prisoners 20-cent meals and forcing them to write home on postcards bearing his picture?
    Joe Arpaio is the rogue sheriff of Maricopa County, the largest in Arizona, encompassing the state capital, Phoenix.
    He has been elected five times since 1993. Two weeks ago, he decided not to stand for governor because he is involved in a dispute with his own board of supervisors, two of whom he has had arrested. He did not want to give the board the satisfaction of replacing him.
    Arpaio says the federal government is investigating him “for alleged civil rights violations, abuse of power, all that. Do you think I’m worried? Why would you be worried if you did nothing wrong?”
    Meanwhile, the sheriff remains the most prominent figure in Arizona’s crusade to rid itself of undocumented Mexicans.
    If he had entered the gubernatorial race, he might well have won. Candidates from all over the country seek Arpaio’s endorsement. . . .
    I mention the Jesuit priest who a few days ago quoted Matthew 25 to me, about helping the poor, hungry, sick and imprisoned.
    Arpaio is a Catholic who has refused to transport female prisoners to the abortion clinic, but he doesn’t like me bringing religion into our discussion.
    “I think there’s something in the Bible that says you should obey the laws too,” he snarls

Was reading the Irish Times today and came across this refreshing little article about a lovable old ragamuffin :P. I actually think this guyhas some good ideas. He treats criminals as they should be treated - like criminals. No televisions or mobiles or any other cushy treatment that you would get in Irish prisons anyway. Just 140 dgrees of heat and a view of the local dump. lol the voters clearly like him anyway, having voted him into office 5 times.He's even sticking it to the Obama administration lol.

I don't know, I like his style and think it would be good to see the Irish prison service being able to treat criminals like proper criminals without the Irish Penal Reform Trust or ECHR jumping down their throats. I mean we spend over €200,000 per year per prisoner in Portlaoise and an average of €83,000 elsewhere -
    The average cost of keeping a prisoner there is more than €200,000 per year.
    (http://archives.tcm.ie/businesspost/2004/01/11/story877427047.asp) - to ensure that few of their rights are violated etc. IMO, it wouldn't be a bad idea to feed the prisoners '20 cent' meals like the Sheriff in the Article. God knows how much we could save . ..

Opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

There is nothing like that on the label of my panties OP.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

tl;dr :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

I'd need a week off work to read all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

tl;dr :o

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,970 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I'd wear them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

I'd wear them!

finally someone who agrees with me.
    What does tl;dr mean by the way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Rothmans wrote: »

Mean's I've the attention span of a Golf fish..

finally someone who agrees with me.

It means, Too long didn't read.:pac:

• Moderators Posts: 8,751 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Since I now know what it means I'ma use it!

tl;dr.

And no I wouldn't buy them.

Mean's I've the attention span of a Golf fish..
    It means, Too long didn't read.:pac:

lol. just read the intro and ye'll get the gist of it:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

No idea what this is about so I'll quote from the Simpsons.

"I hope he tells us to burn our pants; these things are drivin' me nuts!"

lol. just read the intro and ye'll get the gist of it:p

So the underwear is Pink!:pac:

Why didn't you say so?:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

That guy is an inhumane brute - don't care what the prisoners did, there's no need to go down to their level. A prison environment can be harsh without that kinda sh1t being resorted to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

TL;DR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KrazeeEyezKilla

The moment I see the Tea Party being mentioned it's time to give up reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

no, those boxers are far to big for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,225 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

As it was so long, I just scanned over it, but the bottom line seems to me that, if you buy some y-fronts, you get a free Mexican strapped to your leg. Is that right, or have I missed something?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭cheekyass

I have to admit I agree with the OP - It tough but prison is not supposed to be a walk in the park. Its supposed to be hard and unpleasant. I especially agree with keeping a tight budget

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

tl;dr :o

Has the internet really reduced attention spans to that little? One newspaper article is too long? Would people need a year off to read the whole paper? :D

I'm now awaiting the elliptical responses....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,225 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Has the internet really reduced attention spans to that little? One newspaper article is too long? Would people need a year off to read the whole paper? :D

I'm now awaiting the elliptical responses....:D

So much news coming at us from all directions, and so little fuckin time to take it all in:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭l3m0n5

Is it just me or does any one else have Boss Hogg's voice from Dukes Of Hazard rolling around there head when they read the quotes from this guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Would you wear these?
    Scourge of the undocumented - Sheriff Joe Arpaio of Maricopa County, Arizona, forces male prisoners to wear pink underwear and boasts of his female chain gang whom he uses to bury dead homeless people. He sells the above version of the shorts to finance his "posse" who chase undocumented immigrants.
    Photograph: Lara Marlowe

/dusts hands

I think he has the right idea.

In fact, I'd welcome him to Àn Garda Sìochàna.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

He seems like a brute,no problem with the pants but the conditions he keeps the prisoners in seems a bit harsh tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭evolutionqy7

mmm let me think...

no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

Ye do realise that no matter how many times ye post tl;dr, its not going to get shorter???

Unless the OP edits it that is . . .

Ye do realise that no matter how many times ye post tl;dr, its not going to get shorter???

Unless the OP edits it that is . . .
    Fine, I'll cut all but the first paragraph out if it'll make yiz happy :P

cheekyass wrote: »
    prison is not supposed to be a walk in the park. Its supposed to be hard and unpleasant.
    Agreed, but it doesn't have to be like something out of China either. Pretty scary stuff for the Land of the Free...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Tail Wagger

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/world/2010/0611/1224272267831.html

Was reading the Irish Times today and came across this refreshing little article about a lovable old ragamuffin :P. I actually think this guyhas some good ideas. He treats criminals as they should be treated - like criminals. No televisions or mobiles or any other cushy treatment that you would get in Irish prisons anyway. Just 140 dgrees of heat and a view of the local dump. lol the voters clearly like him anyway, having voted him into office 5 times.He's even sticking it to the Obama administration lol.

I don't know, I like his style and think it would be good to see the Irish prison service being able to treat criminals like proper criminals without the Irish Penal Reform Trust or ECHR jumping down their throats. I mean we spend over €200,000 per year per prisoner in Portlaoise and an average of €83,000 elsewhere - (http://archives.tcm.ie/businesspost/2004/01/11/story877427047.asp) - to ensure that few of their rights are violated etc. IMO, it wouldn't be a bad idea to feed the prisoners '20 cent' meals like the Sheriff in the Article. God knows how much we could save . ..

Opinions?

Zzzzzzzzzzz, yup,Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz, ack, scratch Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz!

Dudess wrote: »
    Agreed, but it doesn't have to be like something out of China either. Pretty scary stuff for the Land of the Free...

I see where you're coming from Dudess, but, is not the point of prison to suspend most civil and constitutional rights. As the Sheriff points out, prison is meant to be ''punishment'', not necessarily rehabilitation.

Fine, I'll cut all but the first paragraph out if it'll make yiz happy :P

I'm not complaining, i read it. I'm complaining that so many people posted tl;dr after it.!!!

lol well hopefully more people will read it now:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Diabhal_Glas

Where can I order those boxers online?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Land of the Free eh??

Well then why does it have the most people incarcarated per capita on the planet
    #1 America
    #71 China

Prison is big business in most cases, but Joe aint in the Prison Business he's in the Punishin Criminals business

His repeat offender stats speak for themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭minister poxbottle

Underware is the work of the devil :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭minister poxbottle

Dudess wrote: »
    That guy is an inhumane brute - don't care what the prisoners did, there's no need to go down to their level. A prison environment can be harsh without that kinda sh1t being resorted to.

Inhumane you say if it was a family member of your's that was raped and murdered i bet you'd want their ****ing ass fried. so quit with your in humane bollix :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

Inhumane you say if it was a family member of your's that was raped and murdered i bet you'd want their ****ing ass fried. so quit with your in humane bollix :mad:

Well that's different,people like that deserve what they get but if someone's in there for stealing a car or something then they don't deserve to be treated this way imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

tl;wahadi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

There is nothing like that on the label of my panties OP.:confused:

Unless you've put on a huge amount of weight Sharpy I'd love to know how it could possibly fit.

tl;dr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I mean we spend over €200,000 per year per prisoner in Portlaoise and an average of €83,000 elsewhere
    Portlaoise is where most of the 'RA heads are housed.
    You realize that by the time you read the "tl;dr" replies, you probably have already read the article?
    I see where you're coming from Dudess, but, is not the point of prison to suspend most civil and constitutional rights..
    No. I do however agree prison should be 24/7 boredom, with an hour in the yard per day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Would you wear these?

Would you wear this underwear?

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

I have heard of him before, and i agree 100%. Bring chain gangs to the streets of our cities to clean them up, and aid urban renewal. Have them paint walls, plant trees anything rather then sit in cell all day watching satellite television eating hobnobs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,941 ✭✭✭20Cent

Saw a documentary about this Arpaio guy. The money he saves seems to go out in lawsuits anyway due to his treatment of prisoners. They were even filmed beating up a paraplegic prisoner. He promotes himself as being tough on crime to get himself reelected but seems to be a bit of a sadist. Most of the prisoners in his jail were on remand or awaiting trial for non violent offenses, being treated like dirt. Would make prisoners worse when they get out not better.

the_syco wrote: »
    You realize that by the time you read the "tl;dr" replies, you probably have already read the article?

I did read it???:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Actually the article didn't mention a prison,he houses illegal immigrants in tents beside a dump,most of them mexicans. So when posters are talking about criminals,best warn your Irish relations and friends who are illegal in the states not to visit Arizona.
    I'd have no problem btw if the prisoners were in fact criminals,but they just seem to be people looking for a new life,just like the undocumented Irish over there.

Inhumane you say if it was a family member of your's that was raped and murdered i bet you'd want their ****ing ass fried.
    Well a family member of mine wasn't raped and murdered, and most people thankfully don't have a family member who was raped and murdered, and laws/punishments are supposed to be decided by rational, unbiased people.
    quit with your inhumane bollix :mad:
    LOL

20Cent wrote: »
    Saw a documentary about this Arpaio guy. The money he saves seems to go out in lawsuits anyway due to his treatment of prisoners. They were even filmed beating up a paraplegic prisoner. He promotes himself as being tough on crime to get himself reelected but seems to be a bit of a sadist. Most of the prisoners in his jail were on remand or awaiting trial for non violent offenses, being treated like dirt. Would make prisoners worse when they get out not better.
    Yeah, seems like he's just looking for any excuse to be a bully. People who are truly appalled by violent crime surely wouldn't resort to it themselves, even if they might talk about what they'd do?

Heard the man being interviewed on Matt Cooper - seems like an odious prick (Joe, not Matt).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

20Cent wrote: »

And most of his tough treatment is forked out on minor criminals and those in for non-payment of bills and fines....The man is a rabble rousing scumbag.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,637 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

No televisions or mobiles or any other cushy treatment that you would get in Irish prisons anyway. Just 140 dgrees of heat and a view of the local dump.

I've often thought that prisoners should be kept in no better conditions than military personnel. If law-abiding types have to suffer living in tents (I've had over 400 in one tent) in 130 degree heat, going to the toilet in a hole dug in the ground and with no internet or TV, then why should non-law-abiding types be automatically entitled to luxuries?
    Well then why does it have the most people incarcarated per capita on the planet

American police actually are capable of catching criminals.

NTM