Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girl goes MIA doing the world-yacht thing

• 11-06-2010 2:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭

Yep. Not the first girl to do this. We've heard of a few already, like Jessica Watson, or Laura Dekker.

But now Abby Sunderland, age 16, has gone missing while she was trying to cross the Indian Ocean when she was caught up in terrible conditions. She's so far been out at sea since January.

http://gizmodo.com/5560505/16+year+old-world+circling-solo-sailor-lost-at-sea

I'm not sure I'll ever understand how parents let their kids do this but it is pretty amazing all the same just how far they get with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

The thread title is misleading. I thought she went all like, english-asian galang-a-lang-a-lang rapper mad ass on the world-yacht thing. Innit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

*Pun relating to semen*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Dunno what to say about this really.
    On one side you can say that it was terribly irresponsible of parents to let such a young person do such a thing.
    On the other side, if you look at human history even a couple of hundred yeards ago, people were considered adults at this stage and often had families at that age. Maybe when the urge is there, and they have reached a late teen age, then let them do it and accomplish?
    Or maybe bubblewrap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

The time for finger-pointing will come, at the moment lets just hope she is found alive and well.

I've been out at sea since I was 16 too. Though that's more of a methaphor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Women...:rolleyes:

I've been out at sea since I was 16 too. Though that's more of a methaphor.

Crystal or spirits? Either way, respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,357 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

"WHOA WHOA WHOA!!!! You're not sailing solo around the world in a yacht dressed like THAT!!!!"

m@cc@ wrote: »
    Crystal or spirits? Either way, respect.

Either / either / both / happy daze!

MrStuffins wrote: »
    "WHOA WHOA WHOA!!!! You're not sailing solo around the world in a yacht dressed like THAT!!!!"

"That life jacket is far too revealing - take it off", said responsible parent No.1.

She just updated her Facebook:

"Like OMG!! Like, all these Isreali soldier guys just like, came down from a Helicopter and like, totally took over my boat"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

These attempts are becoming a right pain in the arse. That Jessica Watson was the biggest farce in a long time. Every bloody channel was covering her return and the footy was delayed cause it took her literally hours to get to shore.

The novelty wore off a long time ago. You're a kid and your rich parents bought you a boat. Congratulations, now f*ck off.

Ban all future attempts I say.

Xavi6 wrote: »

Or just ban the future. Then there will be no more problems. Sorted.

I completely disagree with Xavi!

With an attitude like that, people like Christopher Columbus would've never set sail and we would never have discovered America!!.................

............... wait, i completely agree with Xavi!

With an attitude like that, people like Christopher Columbus would've never set sail and we would never have discovered America!!.................

Or just ban the past then too.

At least Columbus was heading off to discover sh*t. We already know what's in the world so these kids should be in school learning their geography from a map, not from the top of 20 metre swells.

Not to mention the complete waste of resources having to go dig them out.

At least Columbus was heading off to discover sh*t. We already know what's in the world so these kids should be in school learning their geography from a map, not from the top of 20 metre swells.

Not to mention the complete waste of resources having to go dig them out.

She's American. Yank Kids learn Geography by watching the news and finding out what country the US have invaded this week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,918 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Shes attempting the world record but after Jessica watson did it, Guinnness dropped the underage category for cirucm0navigating the globe so shes doing this in vain. You now have to be 18 or over to compete for this Record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

At least Columbus was heading off to discover sh*t.

Actually Columbus was seeking a short-cut to the India. In that regard, he fcuked up.

davyjose wrote: »
    Actually Columbus was seeking a short-cut to the India. In that regard, he fcuked up.

He would have been better off inventing the aeroplane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

We already know what's in the world so these kids should be in school learning their geography from a map, not from the top of 20 metre swells.

Totally agree, she's underage.

Still at least she disappeared doing something that she loved, could have been worse, her parents could have ****ed off boozin' to a tapas bar.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

UPDATE: A post on that page OP linked says she is safe.
    http://gizmodo.com/5560505/16+year+old-world+circling-solo-sailor-lost-at-sea

Abbey is safe! This was just posted on her blog:

We have just heard from the Australian Search and Rescue. The plane arrived on the scene moments ago. Wild Eyes is upright but her rigging is down. The weather conditions are abating. Radio communication was made and Abby reports that she is fine!

We don't know much else right now. The French fishing vessel that was diverted to her location will be there in a little over 24 hours.
    The blog: http://soloround.blogspot.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Overheal wrote: »
    Girl goes MIA doing the world-yacht thing

Them yacht things are dangerous yokes, what with all the deeleys and bits and bobs and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

never understand why there is always such a negative reaction to these young people sailing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Trashbat

never understand why there is always such a negative reaction to these young people sailing

Sailing is expensive, thus young people who do it are generally assumed to be spoilt rich kids. Any other arguement is a thinly veiled attack on the sickening level of privelege these kids have. I agree with this. At sixteen, a kid should be sent out to get a summer job in a shi**y restaurant or factory and have to learn the value of money, not be allowed sail around the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

These attempts are becoming a right pain in the arse. That Jessica Watson was the biggest farce in a long time. Every bloody channel was covering her return and the footy was delayed cause it took her literally hours to get to shore.

The novelty wore off a long time ago. You're a kid and your rich parents bought you a boat. Congratulations, now f*ck off.

Boooo!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

That Jessica Watson was the biggest farce in a long time. Every bloody channel was covering her return and the footy was delayed cause it took her literally hours to get to shore.
    The real reason for Xavi outrage.

I'm all for it though, it shows young people can achieve great things.
    Like Watson or the 13yo that climbed Everest.

People bítch and whine about being controlled by the government, red tape everywhere, sports and hobbies banned and restricted here all the time, yet we seek to ban things around the world that have little or no concern for us? Mind your own fcuking business I say.

Mind your own fcuking business I say.

A bit difficult when said parties try to drum up as much publicity for it as possible. I personally couldn't give a damn who sails around the world at what age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭fastrac

Panic over she is found according to Sky

m@cc@ wrote: »
    A bit difficult when said parties try to drum up as much publicity for it as possible. I personally couldn't give a damn who sails around the world at what age.

Mind your own business, meaning, don't get involved in trying to make decisions for these people, banning their sport or other.

People bítch and whine about being controlled by the government, red tape everywhere, sports and hobbies banned and restricted here all the time, yet we seek to ban things around the world that have little or no concern for us? Mind your own fcuking business I say.

If they weren't such liabilities then it wouldn't be a problem.

Qantas had to send out an airbus to do a search and the Maritime Safety Authority was looking for her as well. I'm sure these resources, and the money involved in mobilising them, could have been better served elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

fastrac wrote: »
    Panic over she is found according to Sky

Great to hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

I don't see why people take age into account like this. Age means nothing, what needs to be assessed whether she's capable of this is whether she has the mental and physical capacity to undertake such a task. There's 18 year olds who wouldn't be capable and 16 year olds who would be capable, yet I doubt people would be blaming anyone once the 18 year old goes missing.

Fair play to the parents and the girl, I wish her the best of luck and hope shes found well soon.

Qantas had to send out an airbus to do a search and the Maritime Safety Authority was looking for her as well. I'm sure these resources, and the money involved in mobilising them, could have been better served elsewhere.

Everybody can be a liability at some stage, no matter what sport they undertake, maybe we should ban everything just in case we have to "waste resources"... or do you just want to ban things you are not interested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Haha, that's so weak. Basically what Iamxavier said.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,920 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Around the world, schmaround the schmorld - what's the point in going to al that effort just to end back up where you started?

These kids need to start picking up the space-travel slack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,833 ✭✭✭phill106

Though she is safe now, i do fear for her safety.

Lots of Pirates, looking for booty......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

Untold amounts of public money are wasted every bloody weekend in towns all over the country because the Gardai have to spend their time escorting barely dressed, drunken, girl brats who can't remember their names, safely home instead of policing the streets to keep us safe from the binge drinking, looking for a fight, pile of ****e, young lads roaming around looking for the now safely home lycra'd goddesses. I'd sooner public resources were spent on looking for a girl who was actually trying to accomplish something rather than the girl who is a complete waste of gutter space.

Nicely put.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

I agree. If people want to make good use of resources in this country how about spending it on water safety education for Irish people, or teaching them how to climb a hill! Seriously you wouldn't believe the time and effort (and I don't just mean monetary) that goes into every call out for mountain rescue, so much of the time it's because some eejit decides to climb a mountain in runners and a tshirt and panics or gets lost.

Then there is water safety, every time there is an accident the public calls out for signs and warnings, but you can't signpost every hazardous water feature in the country. People need to know how to read water and make judgments for themselves. Safety and rescue resources are expensive but vital, with better education the number of silly preventible accidents could be vastly reduced, making the most of resources when they are really needed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Right...

Pro's:
    * She becomes VERY highly skilled in a field of something.
    * She away from drugs, drink and over hormone filled boys.
    * She's away from the media (over)hype influence of Lohan, Cyrus, Spears, Hilton...
    * She learns to dedicate great effort into a single field and not be "head in the clouds" or topsy-turvy like/dislike mood depending on whatever day it is!
    * She sets a strong example for all girls that they don't need a man to set their own standards.
    * She sets an example for any teenager girl/boy that if done right, ones aims can be tried for with proper prior training.
    * She shows that she doesn't have to be a "sheep" and follow the dumb flock in regards also giving into peer pressure with drink, drugs, sex, clothes, commercialism marketing (iphone, ipad... etc).
    * She doesn't have to hang around and listen to all the begrudgers and moaners.
    * She might fail at times but she can learn to backtrack and learn from mistakes.

Cons:
    * She might not be safe at all times.
    * She might be filled with false hope?
    * She might fail!
    * She might make a fatal mistake.

I'm sure there is lots more to either side.
    To be honest, I say fair play to her and if she is that determined to make something of herself and is single minded to a task, all the better later for the rest of her country if she eventually moved that same type of dedication (that we can she she is clearly capable of) towards politics, health care, law enforcement, etc.
    At the very least, others might see that such clear dedication is possible and also try to achieve better in their fields just as much. With such thinking, the world would be a far batter off place, a bit quicker I suspect.

You go girl!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,920 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Biggins wrote: »
    Right...

Pro's and cons

A well-balanced post, sums up both arguments nicely.

I reckon I'd be both proud and afraid if my kid was doing something like this, assuming he/she made a proper stab at it and didn't go drowning or calling the coast guards after five minutes in the water.

Everybody can be a liability at some stage, no matter what sport they undertake, maybe we should ban everything just in case we have to "waste resources"... or do you just want to ban things you are not interested?

Whether I have an interest or not makes no difference, I simply don't agree with 16 year olds sailing around the world on their tobler.

I find it a bit dismaying to see people commending the parents for supporting this kind of thing. As a legal guardian it's extremely irresponsible to allow a child partake in something where the risks are so high, yet they're being praised.

But sure that's just my opinion.

Absolute tripe. You can not justify a less worthy waste of resources with more worthy waste of resources.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

Whether I have an interest or not makes no difference, I simply don't agree with 16 year olds sailing around the world on their tobler.

I find it a bit dismaying to see people commending the parents for supporting this kind of thing. As a legal guardian it's extremely irresponsible to allow a child partake in something where the risks are so high, yet they're being praised.

But sure that's just my opinion.

I'm not disagreeing with you, but do you feel the same about parents who allow their children to work on fishing boats, or on farms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Trashbat wrote: »
    Sailing is expensive, thus young people who do it are generally assumed to be spoilt rich kids. Any other arguement is a thinly veiled attack on the sickening level of privelege these kids have. I agree with this. At sixteen, a kid should be sent out to get a summer job in a shi**y restaurant or factory and have to learn the value of money, not be allowed sail around the world.
    well **** it, aren't rich people allowed to have fun too? and you're assuming she doesn't know the value of money. anyway, if everyone did the same ****, the world would be extremely boring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

Abby Sunderland. More like Abby's underwater. :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Teutorix wrote: »
    Abby Sunderland. More like Abby's underwater. :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

You should get rid of all those smileys because that is not funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

You should get rid of all those smileys because that is not funny.
    :(