Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Personal Alarm

• 10-06-2010 10:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭

Hi. I want buy a personal alarm, for security purposes. ie. One of the ones which you carry around, and can set off easily in case of attack.

I was wondering if anyone could advise where such things can be purchased, in Dublin?

Also, does anyone currently carry such an alarm? What make do you use?

All feedback would be much appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭SarahMs

I honestly dont't think i would carry one.... like so many things can happen where it can go off by accident and chances are if you are attacked it wouldnt help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I carry one and was mugged twice, both times it was easily accessible in my handbag/pocket, but I never even thought of it in the moment! :o

However, if it helps, mine is one of the ones that you have to pull a part out of, as opposed to just pressing a button. I always have it with me, and it's never been set off accidentally. It's very easy to use, but you're less likely to have it go off unintentionally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭xoixo

I have one, but my dad bought it for me so couldn't tell you where!

I bring it on nights out sometimes, the pin that you pull to set it off it quite tough and needs a good tug so I'm not too afraid of it going off in my bag - but would be mortifying if it did though :o

And I think it would make a difference in an attack. I know a couple of friends who have escaped either a mugging/attack by screaming at the top of their lungs, kicking, swinging, fighting back like a loonatic and they always say they think it was cos they acted out so much it frightened the person off. And when I first got the alarm I set it off to check it out and my GOD it is loud! Gave me the fright of my life, and I was expecting it! So I think they're worth having, just to hold in your hand when you're walking home at night or whatever. Even just to put your mind at ease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

They were selling them in Marks and Sparks in Dundrum not that long ago so maybe they'd still have them.

Personally I think I'd forget all about it though if I was attacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

I've had one for the past six years... but it was bought for me (by my now husband's cousin who is a member of the London Police) so I don't know where to get one.

It went off accidentally in the tube once, and we didn't know how to turn it off because we'd just gotten it. Luckily I thought of putting the pin back in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 682 ✭✭✭illiop

I have one my dad got me in argos. Iused to have it hanging off the inside of my hand bag. It couldn't be set off too easily but it did happen once. The string on it was quite long and it would often hang outside my bag as happened one day on the bus, when I picked up my it went off like mad. It was quite muffled but tthe whole bus was still staring at me. Very embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

My best friend got one in M&S when she started working nightshifts, it also went off on a bus one day and she was mortified :o I've heard them go off outside in the middle of the day before and no one ever paid any attention, so honestly I don't know if it's worth getting....like someone already said, screaming and fighting back is probably the best bet.

I've always liked Dylan Moran's advice too....put your hand in your pocket and push your keys through your fingers, so if you do have to hit them you'll do serious damage! I know he meant it as a joke, but I think it's great advice!

jokettle wrote: »
    My best friend got one in M&S when she started working nightshifts, it also went off on a bus one day and she was mortified :o I've heard them go off outside in the middle of the day before and no one ever paid any attention, so honestly I don't know if it's worth getting....like someone already said, screaming and fighting back is probably the best bet.

I've always liked Dylan Moran's advice too....put your hand in your pocket and push your keys through your fingers, so if you do have to hit them you'll do serious damage! I know he meant it as a joke, but I think it's great advice!

I lived in a bad part of Montreal for a year* and I did this.

I also wore steel-capped boots instead of normal winter boots, and was generally hyper aware of my surroundings.

*after I moved out I found out the guy living above us got busted for being a crack dealer. Also, there was a drive by in February of that year at the bus stop before mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Sabbath Lily

I stayed for a week or so in rented accommodation in Montreal, Xiney, and it sounds a bit like what you described - would be mad if we stayed in the same area. :)

To answer the OP's question, I know you can get personal alarms in the SU shop in Trinity. I have no idea if they are any good though. They're small pink yokes, could be pretty flimsy. The girls behind the counter there are pretty sound though, ask them what the alarm is like and they should give you an honest answer. Never carried one myself, though maybe I should consider it now - I just don't know anyone else who carries one! Not like I'm trained in karate or physically capable of fighting someone off though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

My friend always carries a mini tin of hairspray in her bag. Not for her hair though. It's her version of pepper spray. She's never had to use it, but she says if she was ever attacked she'd spray it in the attackers eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

The Student's union in UCD used to give the keyring alarms out for free. They were the ones that you pull to set off. I'd imagine all uni / third level SU's offer them. If you are a student or have student friends track down either the welfare officer or women's officer.

I've had mine for years now but have never brought it out with me, despite living in one of the roughest areas in Dublin and working nights. I think if I ever was attacked I would forget to use it, but since you are already aware of them you'll be more likely to remember it. Let's hope you never do have to use it though :)

I stayed for a week or so in rented accommodation in Montreal, Xiney, and it sounds a bit like what you described - would be mad if we stayed in the same area. :)

chances are if you were only there for a week you were in the red light district (small part of south east downtown) by accident :P

I was out by the projects in north west montreal. Rent was cheap though!

most of the city is grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

Truley wrote: »
    The Student's union in UCD used to give the keyring alarms out for free.
    I think every campus gives them out for free during Women's week as well, but I can't remember when that is...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 feckthepeas

My Dad got me one, I used to keep it in my handbag until the day I stuffed a load of books into my bag in the library and it set the panic button off. So embarrassing. That was the last time it ever came out with me :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭vicecreamsundae

i used to have one, but i've lost it now. got it from students union at college. i also had pepper spray for a while, which i felt even safer with, though i never had occasion to use either, thankfully.

with both items, when walking home alone or in the dark, i kept them in my hand or tucked up my sleeve, which i think is really important. no point rooting around in the bottom of your bag for it when it's too late!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

OH got me an alarm for when I'm out and about.

He says it's more effective to shout "Fire" rather than "Help" as it attracts more attention.

I usually have some form of spray in my bag and I also stick my keys between my fingers.

Don't have earphones in either..you'll be distracted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Citygirl1

Hi ladies

Thanks for all your feedback. I just got the alarm from Marks and Spencer, Liffey Valley. (In case anyone else is looking, they're in the Homeware section).

I'm not exactly sure how much use they would be attracting attention on a dark city night, but if set off at the right moment, I thought it might frighten off an attacker. :o

I suppose it's like car insurance - one of those things you never want to actually get the value from.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

From what I've heard the pitch of the sound that they make is meant to momentarily confuse the attacker.
    It's at a frequency that can cause dizziness....giving you precious time to get away. Can't hurt I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

ive a personal alarm somewhere god knows were tho, never had to use it thank god.

On the subject of the keys in your hand was told by a friend of my mum's whose in the gardai, thats its the worst thing you can do, he said the best thing to do is scream fire and generally make as much noise and commotion as you can, and if you have to fight back aim for there nose as hard as you can and if its a man, punch or knee them in the groin as hard as you can and then run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

As regards the whole sticking your keys between your fingers - it sounds great in theory - but in reality, you'd break all your fingers if you hit the person with any force! :eek:

You're much better to hold them clutched together in one bunch in your fist. So that you'd be hitting the person with all the keys together, but not injuring yourself in the process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Genrikh Yagoda

you'd swear you were living in Somalia, are they really necessary?