Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

James Corden and Patrick Stewart spat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Corden is a douche of the highest order. He looks pretty pissed in the video.

Pity Patrick Stewart didn't just ignore him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,030 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

I hate James Corden with a passion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

I came into this thread to write that I hate James Corden with a passion.

beaten to it by a fellow right thinker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 thestoryteller

thought corden was goin to throw a punch :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Waterloo Sunset

It gets worse after that clip ends, Corden flashes his belly to the entire audience, classy*!

*classy here clearly means what a talentless twunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

The English tabloids appear to be supporting Corden, I frickin hate Lowest COmmon Denominator media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭bubbaloo

I watched it and thought the two of them were idiots. To be honest I though Patrick Stewart provoked JC with the "hands in his pocket" remark but then the knob that is James Corden responded with insults, to which PS responded with his failing effort of humour so there are no winners!!
    Vanity is a terrible thing! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

jonas brothers joke was fail.

and i actually like corden, he's funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

I thought Patrick Stewart came out of that a hell of a lot worse than Corden?!! I don't like James Corden at all, he's everywhere and it's annoying but Stewart let himself down a lot more there, I thought he had more class than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

does anyone have an unedited video link?
    i like patrick stewart and dislike james corden

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭not_xanthor

Corden gets my back up for some reason or other, but there's a pair of them in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭sxt

This reminds me of the elton john/ lilly allen incident , which was cringeworth as well .Bright lights, a room full of celebs and alcohol must fuel these kind of situations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭RVD420

Clare Bear wrote: »
    I thought Patrick Stewart came out of that a hell of a lot worse than Corden?!! I don't like James Corden at all, he's everywhere and it's annoying but Stewart let himself down a lot more there, I thought he had more class than that.

+ 1,000,000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

I got a laugh out of Patrick Stewart's Jonas Brothers joke......but not for the right reason! They were both as bad as each other but I never thought Patrick Stewart would ever get caught up in something as trivial as this. Still, it doesn't change the fact that Patrick Stewart is a very fine actor and James Corden (and it would seem Patrick Stewart) is not very funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

Corden gets my back up for some reason or other, but there's a pair of them in it.
    yeah, there is something about James Corden that just comes across that he's trying too hard to be funny.He gets my back up too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭greenie

Never really was a fan of Cordon..first saw him when he did either BBLB or BBBM (forget which one) for a few weeks & thought he was absolutely rubbish. I think he got really lucky with that Gavin & Stacey show..if that wasn't such a hit I don't think we'd be seeing too much of him these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I thought this whole debacle was embarrassing for the two of them. As said above, Stewart really should have known better.

But in the end, it'll all be forgotten by Monday. Stewart will go on with his acting and Cordon will fade into obscurity as people realise that he isn't actually funny or talented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NIBUWqSTp90

Clip is a bit longer than the BBC one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭IsThisIt???

I actually do like Corden but they both came across idiotic in this. Stewart made a dig for no reason and Corden prob should have just shrugged it off, ended up as a car crash award show moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

I'm sure Patrick Stewart feels like this looking back on that incident.........

picard-no-facepalm.jpg

jamescorden.jpg
    this says it all he's a twat and he loves himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

casio4 wrote: »
    jamescorden.jpg
    Really because to me it says that he doesnt take himself seriously, I think you might be looking for thing to complain about, he's taking the piss out of himself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

greenie wrote: »
    Never really was a fan of Cordon..first saw him when he did either BBLB or BBBM (forget which one) for a few weeks & thought he was absolutely rubbish. I think he got really lucky with that Gavin & Stacey show..if that wasn't such a hit I don't think we'd be seeing too much of him these days!

It's lucky that he co-wrote a great show?

Nothing to do with talent at all, no?

jamescorden.jpg

As others said, I think you're just looking for a reason to complain. If he was absolutely ripped and did it, you'd probably say that he was a twat and thinking he was a god by doing the photo.

Annoying or not, he co-wrote a great sitcom, and he is clearly talented. He keeps getting presenting jobs, because he's talented. You may not like him, you don't have to, but it's obvious he has talent.

He's probably over-exposing himself a little too much (a bit like Jimmy Carr a couple of years ago)And although he may have been a bit off his face, if anyone takes a shot at you on stage, you're naturally going to bite back if you're a comedian, you're more or less bound by your career.

But a twat for doing that photo, he is not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

jamescorden.jpg

Patrick Stewart facepalms in your general direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 jonnyha

I think James Corden is one of the funniest people on tv at the moment. He is extremely talented, witty and self-deprecating. He also does incredible work for charity.

I also enjoyed Patrick Stewart on Extras.

This clip shows that actors need scripts.

how can you say he's very talented? Gavin and Stacey is all he's done well and yes he's got alot of television work at the moment but he wouldn't have had it without Gavin & Stacey.He had a disaster sketch show on BBC3 Horne & Corden, afilm flop (lesbian vampire killers) and he was ridiculed for hosting the Brits.He sneered at winning just 2 Baftas for G&S and berated the award judges for not giving them a 3rd one. Corden and Horne blamed their downfall on overexposure yet he will be even more on the telly with the England single going to number 1 tomorrow with him singing on it and his coca cola ad with Rooney has him on the box 5 times a day during the world cup. The boy got lucky and if he has another incident like the one with Patrick Stewart the media will be quick to turn on him and he knows it.

article-0-09F60E40000005DC-774_468x302.jpg
    he shouldn't have been so in your face, it was rude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 jonnyha

It's all subjective really, isn't it? I have never seen Gavin and Stacey but enjoyed his sketch show with Horne and his panel show with Flintoff and Redknapp. His work with comic relief is just genius, in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

BTW, I notice nothing seems to push a comedians buttons more than if a non-comedian even tries to out-funny them. It's like "Ok Stewart, you're richer than me, you're more famous than me, you're more talented than me and you're better looking than me, but don't try out joke me cos that's all I have".

You could see the genuine hate in Cordons eyes there when Stewart had a gag at his expense. That whole ruse Cordon puts on with his "jolly fatman" persona was totally exposed for the lie it is. Typical comedian behaviour I'm afraid. Many (if not most of them) have anti-social personalities and usually only fall into this career by way of compensation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I know nothing bout Cordon, but if he was being so casual and disrespectful in his hosting of the awards, I dont think it was Stewarts job to call him on it. It certainly was not his sort of audience to start exchanging witty retorts with Cordon either. If he felt that strongly about it, he should have taken Cordon aside during one of the intervals..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I would have thought Patrick Stewart would have been above making distasteful comments about someone's appearance. He was probably drunk or something.

Corden's an ass though, I don't find him funny at all, it amazes me that he's held in high a regard as he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Had to Google James Corden and realised he's that overweight, talentless twat that's always on BBC/C4. Anyone that genuinely thinks this guy is talented seriously doesn't know what they're talking about. Stewart, on the other hand, is a very talented, well respected actor who has managed to stay relevant for the best part of 50 years, gaining worldwide recognition in the meantime. I would guess that Stewart had a few drinks on him, plus he clearly didn't like Corden to begin with (which means he's in the majority).

People like James Corden are the reason why I rarely watch TV these days. Any time his face appears on screen I have to change the channel. I honestly hope his career comes to an end very soon. Personally I'm tired of seeing the fat talentness knob whose whole routine is based around him being a fat chav.

Unfunny, unintelligent and utterly pointless.

*BTW, ealier in the evening Corden made some awkward joke saying he fancied one of the Jonas Brothers. That's what Stewart was referring to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

Ah, that Jonas Brothers crack makes a lot more sense now. From the video I saw it just seems really random.

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Anyone that genuinely thinks this guy is talented seriously doesn't know what they're talking about.

I seriously doubt James Corden received awards and nominations aplenty for both his solo and co-writing work and lots of TV work because he "isn't talented." I'm fairly sure "I know what I'm talking about" and I find him quite entertaining.

I'm fairly sure "I know what I'm talking about"

LOL :pac: Hate to break it to you mate, but you have woeful taste. The fact that you buy into all the BAFTA/BBC awards bullsh!t says it all.

"Oh, he's up for an award so that means he's great"

I can't take you seriously now. Go back to watching Big Brothers Big Mouth and Lesbian Vampire Killers.

LOL :pac: Hate to break it to you mate, but you have woeful taste. The fact that you buy into all the BAFTA/BBC awards bullsh!t says it all.

"Oh, he's up for an award so that means he's great"

I can't take you seriously now. Go back to watching Big Brothers Big Mouth and Lesbian Vampire Killers.

Actually I think BB is sh!te, and I've never watched LVP because it looks muck.,I just hate militant internet posters who judge everyone elses taste if not to theirs. I never said his awards automatically meant he was talented, I should have been more clear, I meant that there can't be that many people out there who "don't have a clue what they're talking about". And whilst I'm not a fan of all his work, some of it isn't that bad. Oh and yes, the fact that I like one entertainer defines my entire taste across all spectrums, moron. Now, back under the bridge ye go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Patrick Stewart is a legend. I felt sorry for him there. I don't know who that other lad is, never heard of him in my life. While he's well within his limits to throw a rebuttal back at Stewart's comments - they way he did it just came across as *******.

dlofnep wrote: »
    Patrick Stewart is a legend. I felt sorry for him there.

While he's well within his limits to throw a rebuttal back at Stewart's comments - they way he did it just came across as *******.

Yeah I agree, I thought it was all fair game until Corden started getting in Stewarts face, that really seemed more confrontational and slightly aggressive than anything else.

Stewart would have done himself better not trying to exchange quips, and just ignoring it I think.

Actually I think BB is sh!te, and I've never watched LVP because it looks muck.,I just hate militant internet posters who judge everyone elses taste if not to theirs. I never said his awards automatically meant he was talented, I should have been more clear, I meant that there can't be that many people out there who "don't have a clue what they're talking about". And whilst I'm not a fan of all his work, some of it isn't that bad. Oh and yes, the fact that I like one entertainer defines my entire taste across all spectrums, moron. Now, back under the bridge ye go.

You're here defending him saying he is talented but you agree two of the biggest roles in his woeful career are sh!te? Anything he writes ends up on BBC 3. What do you like? Gavin and Stacy? League of their own? The English world cup song? Should I go on?

You really need to get out more.

Yeah I agree, I thought it was all fair game until Corden started getting in Stewarts face, that really seemed more confrontational and slightly aggressive than anything else.

Typical chav, some man he is doing that to a 70 year old man half his size. I wonder would he have done the same if it was Gordon Ramsay?

You're here defending him saying he is talented but you agree two of the biggest roles in his woeful career are sh!te? Anything he writes ends up on BBC 3. What do you like? Gavin and Stacy? League of their own? The English world cup song? Should I go on?

You really need to get out more.

Listen buddy, I've no problem debating this James Corden issue with you, but if you're going to report my posts for being insulting to you and then insult me, do yourself a favour and cop on please, its slightly hypocritical.

I've seen him on League of Their Own, and I think he's quite a funny presenter and also on James Cordens Football Live, he provokes pretty funny banter between the guests. I've never gotten into Gavin and Stacey (seen a couple of episodes here and there), and I haven't even heard the World Cup song (in fact I dread listening to it). And his writing is pretty good, I'm not saying for one second he's the calibur of Linehan. But he's not the worst writer in the world, he did a pretty good writing job in G&S (from what I've seen) as I've somewhat enjoyed the ones I've seen.
    Typical chav, some man he is doing that to a 70 year old man half his size. I wonder would he have done the same if it was Gordon Ramsay?

I agree, getting in Patricks face and as close to him as he did was too much considering the age etc of Patrick, but the back and forth "slagging" was fine. And no he probably wouldn't have done it to Gordon Ramsay, who would!

Listen buddy, I've no problem debating this James Corden issue with you, but if you're going to report my posts for being insulting to you and then insult me, do yourself a favour and cop on please, its slightly hypocritical.

OK, that's not really an issue with you as much as it is with some of the mods here. I've been banned before for calling someone an "idiot" when I really shouldn't have been and a couple of posters quickly came to my defence, I wasn't just being a prick. Again, nothing to do with you, I just don't agree with the way mods run this place sometimes. Sorry for reporting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

This thread better get back on topic ASAP. This is not the place to discuss what you think of how mods run the place and nobody wants to read your petty squabbling. Take it to pm if you want to continue it. How did you even know posts had been reported?

Tone it down, be civil to each and get back on topic. This is my only warning on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭not_xanthor

I'm wondering what Stewart thought he was going to encounter at something called the "Glamour awards".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I'm wondering what Stewart thought he was going to encounter at something called the "Glamour awards".

[Andy has come to see Patrick Stewart in his trailer]
    Patrick Stewart: I'm writing a screenplay and I find the whole process absolutely exhilarating.
    Andy Millman: What's yours about, if you don't mind my asking?
    Patrick Stewart: Well, uh - how best to explain it; you've seen me in "X-Men" ...
    Andy Millman: Yeah.
    Patrick Stewart: The character I am, Professor Charles Xavier, if you remember, he can control things with the power of his mind - can make people do things and see things, so I thought, what if you could do that for real? I mean, not in a comic book world, but in the real world.
    Andy Millman: Oh, all right.
    Patrick Stewart: So in my film, I play a man who controls the world with his mind.
    Andy Millman: Right. Oh, that's interesting.
    Patrick Stewart: Yeah. For instance, I'm walking along, and I see this beautiful girl, and I think I'd like to see her naked, and so all her clothes fall off.
    Andy Millman: All her - clothes fall off?
    Patrick Stewart: Yes, and she's scrabbling around to get them back on again, but even before she can get her knickers on, I've seen everything. Yeah. I've seen it all.
    Andy Millman: [pause] Okay. It's a comedy, is it?
    Patrick Stewart: No. It's about what would happen, you know, if these things were possible.
    Andy Millman: What's the story, though, what's the ...
    Patrick Stewart: Well, I do other stuff; like I'm riding my bike in the park, and this policewoman says "Oi! You can't ride your bike on the grass!" and I go "Oh no?" And her uniform falls off, and she goes "Ahh!" and she's trying to cover up, but I've seen everything anyway. And I get on my bike and I ride off. On the grass.
    Andy Millman: [increasingly uncomfortable] So it's mainly you sort of go around seeing ladies' tits?
    Patrick Stewart: Mainly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

They both looked like a pair of drunk plums imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,867 ✭✭✭Demonique

Oi, he's aint 70 for another month!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭j1974

Clare Bear wrote: »

I dont particularly like either of them but it seemed to me that stewart deserved a punch at least. I'm gonna get slated for this by the gay side, but it happened at the glamour awards or something coz it's written on the stage and podium etc right?. well stewart is gay as Xmas and we all know how the gays love the ARTS and fashion etc and I honestly felt that stewart detested this self confessed, over publicised wannabe playboy comedians whole manner. I rekon he mustve pissed a few people off through the night, before what we saw on the youtube clip and stewart maybe thought, well Im the man to cut him down to size. But c'mon patrick, projecting your own jonas brothers sex fantasies onto an obviously hetero man and passing it off as witty backtalk????? stupid. I'd have nutted stewart right in his baldy head. He's luck danny the ledgend dyer wasnt there, oh yeah!!!! go on moi son!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Sean Bateman

Patrick Stewart isn't gay...what the hell gave you that idea?