Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Face Moisturiser For Men?

• 10-06-2010 12:35AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭

Alright lads?

Now that the somewhat hot days are upon us, the skin on my face has returned to it's annual habit of getting very flaky, mainly around the eyebrows.

I'm just wondering, can any of you recommened a good, and preferably reasonable priced, moisturizer that would stop the flaking, and give me nicer, smoother looking skin?

Thanks lads :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

I started using Nivea for men rehydrating one when the heat started up, made a good difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭therokerroar

I started using Nivea for men rehydrating one when the heat started up, made a good difference.

Is that this one mate?:

NiveaForMenRehydratingMoisturiserNormalToDrySkin.jpg

It's only around €7 too, that seems like a very good option :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

I dont like nivea myself and tried l'oreal which was around the same.

I have settled on Clinique which is a bit pricier.I use an exfoliating scrub,toner and moisturoiser.The exfoliator and toner you use once a week and it takes off the dead skin and toner closes the pores and moisturoiser well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

I use this one below:
    001005.gif

Have always found it great, though its a little expensive (around €12 iirc)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

I use King of Shaves SPF24. Started using it about five years ago and I really like it so stuck with it. I think it was because I saw it win the grooming awards in Men's Health or other similar magazine. Good moisturiser with decent sun protection and just found it nice and compatable with my very fair and very sensitive skin!! You can find it in Boots and it's about €10 a bottle but you can usually avail of the 3 for 2 offer so that offsets the cost a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Thanks for the input guys. I've recently converted back to the blue Bics and they rip my neck to shreds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭jonas7

Galvasean wrote: »
    Thanks for the input guys. I've recently converted back to the blue Bics and they rip my neck to shreds.
    Blue bics? :eek: why would you do that to yourself? you might aswell open the kitchen drawer and use the potato peeler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

jonas7 wrote: »
    Blue bics? :eek: why would you do that to yourself? you might aswell open the kitchen drawer and use the potato peeler

Because I had been using one of those Babyliss i-trimmer yokes (as I like to leave aittle bit of stubble behind), but I've had it two years so the blades are getting blunt so its not working as well as it did. So I bought one of these for €100 and it can't shave worth a BLEEP! Seriously, I was shaving for over half an hour and at best it was still very patchy. Since I had to go to work and couldn't very well go in with patches of stubble I went for plan B - bic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

Johnsons baby moisturising cream, its like 2.50 and tis fookin quality stuff altogether

Galvasean wrote: »

:D LOL -Matt Talbot springs to mind.

Could not resist.

Harvey Norman had a special deal on philips rechargeables for around a tenner and they work fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I'd definitely get a face scrub as well as a moisturiser if you're quite flakey.

As others have stated the L'Oreal and Nivea products are both very good.

And King of Shaves do really good range for shaving.

But if you are on an economy drive use your girlfriends as women always buy the good stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Mr Cawley

may i direct Mr Clinique towards a gentleLADIES thread.

cleanse, tone

too far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Mr Cawley wrote: »

cleanse, tone

too far

I would definitely disagree with that statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

cleanse, tone

too far

Yeah, keep using soap and lynx, you real mans man you.

krudler wrote: »
    Yeah, keep using soap and lynx, you real mans man you.

dont be harsh.

i expect he has a mangroomer

mangroomer.jpg

They never come with the extended handle.

is there need to tone, exfoliate etc???

((it makes you feel better about youself? you delicate flower????))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Afterhours is that way dude

>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭schween

I tried the Aldi moisturiser when there was a big fuss about it not so long back. It's the best one I've tried so far.

nah -blackheads and spots does it for me

let people who want to be spotty and have blemishes have them but it dont want them.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭terlywerly

My OH uses the Molton Brown mens range (after I bought him his own - sick of him robbing my girly smelling one :D).
    If you're looking for something good though I'd try Dermalogica, that's what I'm using now and its brilliant. Also a lot of their moisturisers have SPF in them, so time saving too!

terlywerly wrote: »
    My OH uses the Molton Brown mens range (after I bought him his own - sick of him robbing my girly smelling one :D).
    If you're looking for something good though I'd try Dermalogica, that's what I'm using now and its brilliant. Also a lot of their moisturisers have SPF in them, so time saving too!

So you keep the best for yourself and buy smelly over non perfumed.

Not nice at all. ;)

WHATS SPF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

proper stuff for sensitive skin

E45_Moisturising_Lotion_200ml.jpg

CDfm wrote: »
    So you keep the best for yourself and buy smelly over non perfumed.

Not nice at all. ;)

WHATS SPF

Haha exactly, but seriously they are both very good
    The SPF of a sunscreen is a laboratory measure of the effectiveness of sunscreen — the higher the SPF, the more protection a sunscreen offers against UV-B (the ultraviolet radiation that causes sunburn).
    courtesy of Wikipedia

For men translate ultra violet radiation to be hot sunlight :):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

terlywerly wrote: »
    Thing about that is, although Dermalogica have excellent products, they tend to be pretty damn expensive and the OP is looking to cheaper, but effective options:)

I used the one pictured below before I became vegetarian (it has glycerin in it so now avoid it) but it worked really well, and is cheap enough to boot:

Kind-to-Skin-Replenishing-Rich-Moisturiser_lrg_v2_lrg.jpg

I think guys look at the cheap option and I wouldnt with cooking oil. I found myself that a product like clinique will last longer but you need to buy clever too and look for testers and samples when buying. I learned that by being sent in to buy for the gorlfriend who assesses performance based on freebies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭cheekyass

My BF has quite dry skin too, he reckons drinking more water helps....it doesn't! I bought him 'Simple' face wash and moisturizer..... it seems to work better then his 'drink more water' theory :rolleyes:

no,i much prefer getting spots, blackheads and having layers of dead skin encrusting my face, an oul bar of shoap under the arms and I'm set to go for a night at the village social, the beors wont know what hit them when they get a whiff of my masculinity.

cheekyass wrote: »
    My BF has quite dry skin too, he reckons drinking more water helps....it doesn't! I bought him 'Simple' face wash and moisturizer..... it seems to work better then his 'drink more water' theory :rolleyes:

Drinking more water does help your skin though.

beors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭schween

beor = woman

no,i much prefer getting spots, blackheads and having layers of dead skin encrusting my face, an oul bar of shoap under the arms and I'm set to go for a night at the village social, the beors wont know what hit them when they get a whiff of my masculinity.

it was insenitive of me to assume that not everyone would have a crusty, smelly face should they not tone/exfoliate.

be there the need, i withdraw my seemingly personal attack.

go on the culchies!!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭Wade in the Sea

cleanse, tone

too far

Cleanse isn't that just another word for wash. And I have no idea what toning yourself is. Is it a change of mood perhaps?

partly, it is how the poster feel about his skin and his feelings after bathing in milk followed by feminine beauty regime

I dont exfoliate because its a "beauty regime" I do it because I get really dry skin especially around my eyebrows, if its a choice between a "feminine" cleaning thing or having flakes of dry skin stuck to my eyebrows I know what I'd rather.

As a woman, I can definitely say it is not attractive to see a guy with flakes of skin on his eyebrows. Some guys really seem to have a hang up about anything involving the word moisturiser. You take care of your teeth by brushing them, you have showers to clean your body, why not take the time to take care of your face as well? In fairness, everybody sees your face... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

My sentiment exactly, the benefits of not looking and feeling like a not looking like a flapjack far outweigh listening to the gimps who think youre ghey for putting anything near your face that isnt a raw bar of soap

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

My sentiment exactly, the benefits of not looking and feeling like a not looking like a flapjack far outweigh listening to the gimps who think youre ghey for putting anything near your face that isnt a raw bar of soap

/puts down flapjack

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Is there actually ANY difference between male/female moisturiser?

Unless your skin is actually flaking or something I think anyone (male or female) is being conned using moisturiser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Lola92

Try this stuff :
    iso-urea.jpg

Got it for my bf who has really bad flaky dry skin esp. after shaving! He finds it great, can be used just for face or all over body. It's expensive enough at about €17 but you get a huge bottle for the money you pay.

If you want to try it out most pharmacies will have a tester! :)

Is there actually ANY difference between male/female moisturiser?

Unless your skin is actually flaking or something I think anyone (male or female) is being conned using moisturiser

nope, skin is skin, I use some of my missus's stuff sometimes,and likewise, Nivea is Nivea, just because its marketed "for men" doesnt make you any more masculine for using it, take razor blades, a man could easily use a female razor on his face, its just sharp metal, but a guy would never put a Venus anywhere near him cos he might catch the ghey off it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,301 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

If I ever get a dry patch of skin, good old vaseline(tiny amount) last thing at night and bobs your uncle. Tried various exes moisturiser before and found they made it worse. Must be allergic to some of the gunk contained in it. Face washing wise I usually just use plain water. Skin is naturally acidic and so are the bugs that live on it so it never made much sense to me to use alkaline soap. Even ph neutral stuff would through off the skin I'd imagine. Ditto with shampoo. Id use very little and try to avoid it getting on the scalp.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

wouldn't go there, sodium lauryl sulphate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭eigrod

e45 day cream was excellent for me but has become impossible to get. Each chemist shop I ask have no idea why it's not being supplied any more.

I use Nivea with Jojoba oil now and it's quite good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭bureau2009

I strongly recommend Aqueous Cream for use as a moisturiser. Aqueous Cream is simply plain, unbranded moisturiser. You can buy a big tub for about Euro 4.20 and it lasts for months. My chemist recommended it to me because all the dermatologists prescriptions he sees include it.

My top tip: It's BRILLIANT for shaving. Rub some over your face when you get up, go off and have your cornflakes and then shave. It makes shaving painless and helps avoid cuts and nicks big time.

Let me know how YOU find it guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

aqeous cream contains sodium lauryl sulphate ,which is a car degreaser .I use it myself on my leg because I have issues but I'd never put it on my face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I use this one below:
    001005.gif

Have always found it great, though its a little expensive (around €12 iirc)

I like that stuff its very refreashing and smells nice to :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

By far & above the best I've found is this..

SOS_survivalcream.jpg

It's made from naturally sourced ingredients & is fairly heavy duty.. it's even good for insect bites!

Tis pricey though... a less expensive second would be...

homepage_hero.jpg

It's got SPF 15 too, which is handy in this kind of weather.

Oh, and to anyone who thinks cleansing & toning is for de wimminz, you might wanna try a heavy duty moisturiser for your hands as I hear that dragging your knuckles along the ground can be brutal on the skin. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 731 ✭✭✭inmyday

cocoa-butter.jpg

excellent moisturiser. and smells a little like chocolate, so the lady in your life may like it too