Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most hated jobs.............

• 09-06-2010 10:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭

Hey there again was just finished power washing the calf house which is a job i totally detest, dirty, wet, smelly, horrible job:mad::mad:. Which farm jobs do ye hate the most?????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

covering the silage pit when i had a pit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

putting the agitator in and discovering the tank needed more water ..again..off with agitator, on with tank and off again (back in the 1 tractors days) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

cleaning the inplate cooler and cleaning out the drinkers before the cattle go out yucky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,841 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Spraying with a knapsack. Does my head in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

leg wax wrote: »

Fecking hated covering the pit... thankfully also dont have one any more :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

+1. Feckin horrible job and it always seemed to be raining when we did it!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Looking for tools that somone else has borrowed without telling me, especially spanners!:(

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 cowbox

Stripping the silage pit in the winter is nearly a worse job!!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Shearing.

taking cleanings out of a cow after a week :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

TB testing.....

picking stones

Thats a good one. Completely forgot that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

taking dead and badly decomposed lambs from a ewe

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

snowman707 wrote: »
    taking dead and badly decomposed lambs from a ewe
    Same here...Only with calves instead of lambs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 barbersfort

starting to tidy the corner of a field by digging up some stones and rubbish ...
    and then discovering there's a lot more stones and the beginnings of a rubbish dump that doesn't seem to end....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭poor farmer

covering or strripping silage pit
    but thinking about not having to draw in round bales keeps me going

taking lumps of **** off a cows tail to discover MAGGOTS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Belongamick

Rounding out Limousin cattle - pure mad. Theres always 1 who thinks he is at the grand national - ears back and run through electric fence, barbed wire, hedges, will even try to climb block walls. What lula's of cattle they can be!!

what about when you are spreading slurry and the spout keeps on getting blocked and you have no one else to blame for not takeing out that pre calver mineral bucket which you knew was going to fall into the pit and the agitator made **** of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭yessam

Thank God I don't have any trouble with the department but I dread a department inspection. I would pick stones. turn turf, dip sheep, cut briars, put dopey calves sucking mad cows or put sheep trough a foot bath backways instead of having these inspectors coming around the place looking for fault. Am I alone on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭John_F

starting to tidy the corner of a field by digging up some stones and rubbish ...
    and then discovering there's a lot more stones and the beginnings of a rubbish dump that doesn't seem to end....

chalk it down, picking stones beats the band though and rolling back the plastic that's holding a pile of water while thinking of saving a few hundred euro for next year, you'd wonder is it worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

Anything to do with cattle having sore hooves, or trying to sort out calves who won't suck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭tvo

dagging sheep

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

cleaning gravel out of the vac tank on a hot day

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

We had a cow put out her calf bed earlier in the year...had to help the vet as she was too small to get the bed back in fully..
    Don't ever want to go there again :(

had a white head bull years ago that had really big horns after he was skulled a crust grew over where the horns where and maggots grew underneath i still retch thinking about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭haybob

I'd give you than and raise you cleaing the slurry tank or dehorning calves

QUOTE=Belongamick;66336099]Rounding out Limousin cattle - pure mad. Theres always 1 who thinks he is at the grand national - ears back and run through electric fence, barbed wire, hedges, will even try to climb block walls. What lula's of cattle they can be!![/QUOTE]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Belongamick

'had a white head bull years ago that had really big horns after he was skulled a crust grew over where the horns where and maggots grew underneath i still retch thinking about it'

I have found myself getting caught out with all of the nasty stuff mentioned earlier but this bates Bannagher! I've never hear of this one and can only imagine the hum, puss, maggots and gunge oozing out of this!!
    Enough to put man and dog off grub and pints for a week.!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

We had a bullock years ago that had maggots around his head too. We got the vet to have a look at him.

Turned out that the guy that had him before us had tied baling twine around his head to stop the bleeding after skulling him. The poor devil had grown away and the twine cut deep into his head. You couldnt see any of the twine it had gone in that deep.

Amazing how irresponsible some people can be. :mad:

i seem to have plenty of gross stories , :D we where ringing a bull and he broke the halter and jumped up and landed with the upright bar of the crush through his middle:eek: had to run a mile to get our digger to lift him off and straight to the factory it was yuck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 sony.ap

not bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭metalwood

Clipping Sheep

whelan1 wrote: »
    i seem to have plenty of gross stories , :D we where ringing a bull and he broke the halter and jumped up and landed with the upright bar of the crush through his middle:eek: had to run a mile to get our digger to lift him off and straight to the factory it was yuck
    worst jobs whelan not stories, i have only seen 1 bull being ringed and would not like to be doing it .

sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Most of the jobs mentioned here are easy compared to jobs long ago. Thinning turnips and beet, making grass cocks and wines of hay. Footing turf, weeding beet, pulling beet, the list goes on. Farming today is a lot easier than it used to be.

I still foot turf ;) And it is a pain in the arse lower back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭vcsggl

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Most of the jobs mentioned here are easy compared to jobs long ago. Thinning turnips and beet, making grass cocks and wines of hay. Footing turf, weeding beet, pulling beet, the list goes on. Farming today is a lot easier than it used to be.

You're right there Sam! Anybody remember pulling flax? Even worse - taking flax out of the flax hole after it had been steeped - soaking wet, covered in black mud and the most awful smell!

I don't suppose anybody even grows flax now and if they do I'm sure they don't pull it by hand.

Those were the good old days!!!

George

pulling wild oats - i hated that with a passion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

Rounding out Limousin cattle - pure mad. Theres always 1 who thinks he is at the grand national - ears back and run through electric fence, barbed wire, hedges, will even try to climb block walls. What lula's of cattle they can be!!

We bought a few recently in Skibbereen Mart.. suckers from Cape Clear no less. Mad isn't the word.

maidhc wrote: »
    We bought a few recently in Skibbereen Mart.. suckers from Cape Clear no less. Mad isn't the word.
    i often wondered why do people buy these mental cattle that come in to the ring is it a challenge for them;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

whelan1 wrote: »
    i often wondered why do people buy these mental cattle that come in to the ring is it a challenge for them;)

In our case the particular individual who bought them won't be handling them... I felt like having a good cry when I saw them.

Once had a Limousin bullock who disappeared for 3 days after jumping a wall, cut a swathe through all the fences in the farm before clearing a gate at the far corner 3/4 of a mile away.

maidhc wrote: »
    In our case the particular individual who bought them won't be handling them... I felt like having a good cry when I saw them.

Once had a Limousin bullock who disappeared for 3 days after jumping a wall, cut a swathe through all the fences in the farm before clearing a gate at the far corner 3/4 of a mile away.

Years ago we were on a blitz to clean up ragworth...
    Hours of gathering them once they were cut....when you're at it a while there is a real smell of your hands that's hard to wash off...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

bbam wrote: »
    Hours of gathering them once they were cut....when you're at it a while there is a real smell of your hands that's hard to wash off...

You should wear glooves! Posinonous to the human liver - learned that here on this site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

bbam wrote: »

pakalasa is right. Apparently if you spend a day pulling ragwaort, you have a measurable increase in the level of liver enzymes in your blood in the evening (because of damage done to liver cells). Very few people seem to know the risk that is involved.

What you are smelling, bbam, are the pyrrizolidine alkaloids that do the damage, and can be absorbed through the skin.

I am sure a day's worth won't do significant long-term damage but it's worth knowing.

LC.

pakalasa wrote: »
    You should wear glooves! Posinonous to the human liver - learned that here on this site.

Thanks...
    Obviously we were freaky kids... :rolleyes:
    We liked nothing better than the smell of DDT when it was shaken onto calves years ago... in a small pokey shed as well..

doing anything with a downer cow drives me mad - have one this evening when we where meant to go out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭iano93

Fecking hated covering the pit... thankfully also dont have one any more :D
    +1 ur always wrecked after d day nd den tryin ta get plastic n it wit all worms nd ****e n it!:eek: Rollin out d clean 1 z grand but de dirty ones are cat nd den gettin covered in sh1te and stagnant dirty smelly water wen tyres are bein fuged up at ya from all directions!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Cleaning up a ewe or lamb with maggots is rotton especially when they have cut the sheep.