Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Domino Pizza - Drawda

• 08-06-2010 9:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭

Anyone see the guys standing on every corner thoughtout the town advertising any pizza for €10?

A guy in a van with a huge sign also passed me by.

Seen them there the last couple of night's I've been in town for a dvd. Standing in the p*ssing rain!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Onesimus

Yeah I feel sorry for them, they be at it down Dundalk way as well.

Bad management if you ask me, there are better ways of advertising Dominos than putting their employees out to stand for hours doing nothing, and what annoys me even more is they are using foreigners to do their dirty work.

If Dominos are reading this please know that I will NEVER EVER BUY A PIZZA FROM YOU AGAIN!!! you wouldnt give that position to your own children or even your own pet dog.

I'll say it again for a company with plenty of money to advertise on tele,radio and other sources, I'm absolutely shocked at their behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Ah I worked in a certain bar in town years ago and was regularly sent over town to hand out concessions to drum up business. Nothing wrong with having these lads out if they are being paid a fair wage, and is for a small business but for a company with Dominos ad budget having these poor sods out in the pissing rain is an outrage.

That said though regardless of who they are Domino's would be the last number I'd call for a pizza in town and know many who feel the same. SO maybe they are very quiet? and need these guys out to drum up business? The franchise would be locally owned maybe? As in someone pays Domino's a fee to open a Domino's and run it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

The people holding the signs are not thier employees. I seen a young girl, prob about 14 holding a sign at top of peter street, and another dude holding it that i know works in mama mia's take away, the only person who works for them is the guy in the car with the big stupid sign.

It is a disgrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭In_tuition

I wouldn't head there for a pizza myself. No chance.

Anytime I pass by it though there seems to be a few people in it.

On another note and in no relation to the thread, lol, anyone witnessed the guys up in Tesco cleaning the cars?

I got one guy to do mine for €5 (think they offer €8) a few week's back and have to say he done an excellent job. When I was there the other day no one approached me so I didn't bother. Anyone have any experience of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

They are hardly being forced to hold the signs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭bottomdog

Domino Pizza in Drogheda are using humans as poster stands in the centre of town. To my mind it's the most degrading advertising promotion ever. To ask another human being to stand on the corner of West Street with a poster tied around his neck is soul destroying. Fair play to the guys willing to take this job but Dominos should hang their heads for asking anyone to do such a task. I swear I will never ever eat one of their pizzas again.....EVER:confused:

draffodx wrote: »
    It's disgusting , Degrading, despicable, its the lowest marketing stunt ever....shame on Dominos......I will never ever eat there.....

I feel sorry for the poor sap who stands on west street holding the abrakebra sign all day too.

That kind of job should be outlawed, see it in dublin all the time too, they are holding sign for fortune tellers and all other sorts of crap.

In_tuition wrote: »
    I wouldn't head there for a pizza myself. No chance.

Anytime I pass by it though there seems to be a few people in it.

On another note and in no relation to the thread, lol, anyone witnessed the guys up in Tesco cleaning the cars?

I got one guy to do mine for €5 (think they offer €8) a few week's back and have to say he done an excellent job. When I was there the other day no one approached me so I didn't bother. Anyone have any experience of them?

Like you I will never ever eat a Dominos Pizza ever again, Not for FREE, it's degrading to ask people to stand there like that. It's a lifetime boycott for me.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Threads merged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

They advertise a job and someone takes it. Gets paid. What's the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭TopBombing

bottomdog wrote: »
    Domino Pizza in Drogheda are using humans as poster stands in the centre of town. To my mind it's the most degrading advertising promotion ever. To ask another human being to stand on the corner of West Street with a poster tied around his neck is soul destroying. Fair play to the guys willing to take this job but Dominos should hang their heads for asking anyone to do such a task. I swear I will never ever eat one of their pizzas again.....EVER:confused:

It's done by Domino's in Dundalk as well, seen a guy outside the Lisdoo last week with one.

There's not a day you wont walk down Grafton Street & see the same thing though, it's not as if Domino's have invented it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Big Lar

Sounds like a good deal, Is it any size pizza for €10.00 ?

Four Star were also doing it in Dundalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

Apologies in advance if I am missing the picture, but I don't understand what's wrong in someone making a few quid standing by the road holding the ad / banner? I am assuming people who do it, are doing it because they can't find better / easier / fancier work? I don't see anything wrong with that to be honest. How different is that from handing out leaflets, or delivering ads or free paper door to door?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

(Quick question - don't want to distract from topic too much)

People can do what they like if they're being paid a fair wage for it. But I think it's pretty amateurish of Domino's, especially if it's in bad weather. Anyway, where else in town can you go for a good pizza and are there any local-owned pizza takeaways?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭In_tuition

(Quick question - don't want to distract from topic too much)

People can do what they like if they're being paid a fair wage for it. But I think it's pretty amateurish of Domino's, especially if it's in bad weather. Anyway, where else in town can you go for a good pizza and are there any local-owned pizza takeaways?

Bella Atina (they have a separate take-away part) is by far the best imo. Although they tend to be just a little pricey but the quality is fantastic and unmatched in town.

Sorrento's is also very nice. A 12 inch Margherita is a reasonable €7.50.
    Usually grab myself a Calzone out of there too and it's always delicous.

Mizzoni isn't as nice as other parts of the country. For instance there branch in Maynooth is quite nice. Garlic bread is fantastic but wouldn't go near there the branch in town much.

That's about it. Ignore everywhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭10green bottles

paid yeah.....someones gotta do it..... blah
    at what stage do you see yourself doing it? and dont be flippant, think about it.If that to you is acceptable then you,IMO have no true value on your life:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Jake The Fat Ma

What I wanna know is where do they go to the toilet?

jaysus your a joke a mile:)..............................................

not:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

i dont see the issue with it

id rather do that than clean the jacks somewhere

its handy too, stand there all day, you're essentially getting paid to stand up.
    take a radio/mp3 player/paper/book with you, you;d be sorted

at what stage do you see yourself doing it? and dont be flippant, think about it.If that to you is acceptable then you,IMO have no true value on your life:(

I'm just saying that anyone that does the job is choosing to do it and getting paid for it, their not being held at gun point and forced to do it for free.

Just because it's something you view as degrading doesn't mean these people should be stopped of the opportunity to earn an honest wage if thats what they want to do.

Would you rather they weren't offered the job and were in the dole Q's every month instead?

It would be a great job if ya could stand there holding a sign while munching on free pizza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭kbell

The guy at the bus depot has the best spot as he can sit on the wall...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Onesimus

I dont know about you guys, but I'd hate to be standing around all day doing nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭drogsnookerclub

one of the lads doing it is in my class in college,only a young fella, grand for someone like that i guess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Would you rather they weren't offered the job and were in the dole Q's every month instead?

Likely it's cash in hand and are 1st in the Q to sign on :D

Onesimus wrote: »
    I dont know about you guys, but I'd hate to be standing around all day doing nothing.

id rather it than no job tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Dioza

I think peoples main problem is that Dominos can afford a massive ad campaign (those same people would probably give about the money wasted in such an act :rolleyes:) but choose to bring employment to Dundalk and Drogheda which i don't see a problem with. If someone offered me a job tomorrow counting the blades of grass at the side of the m1 I'd be straight on it! If i had a chance to get some extra cash standing holding a sign, deadly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Dioza wrote: »
    I think peoples main problem is that Dominos can afford a massive ad campaign (those same people would probably give about the money wasted in such an act :rolleyes:) but choose to bring employment to Dundalk and Drogheda which i don't see a problem with. If someone offered me a job tomorrow counting the blades of grass at the side of the m1 I'd be straight on it! If i had a chance to get some extra cash standing holding a sign, deadly!
    No! Everyone should be sitting in an office!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 JaneyJ

Dioza wrote: »

Well said

Agreed, signs are signs. humans are humans, asking a human to be a sign says something about the firm. I wonder would the owner of Drogheda Domino's stand there for a week ....hmmmm? I somehow think not.

Your point highlights exactly why your wrong.........choice, people have it, the owner of Domino's pizza would probably not choose to stand holding a sign but the people that do are obviously doing it by their choice.

Just because you associate it with being degrading doesn't mean others do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

of course he wouldn't, but the people doing this have applied for these jobs and chosen to do them. i don't think they'd take too kindly to the idea of you deciding that they shouldn't be allowed do them.

The guys with the posters are all out in force today in Dundalk, Dominos guy across the road from Pizza Hut, Four Star guy outside Dominos, (it's war :p) and another couple of lads scattered here and there across the town.

on the debate i think,........ ok if you sign up to be an advert and you know what you are getting into then thats "maybe" ok.
    but if you sign up to Dominos as a "shop assistant" & your suddenly told to go hold up a sign @ the square in Dundalk or west st. Drogheda then the pi** is being taken.
    and leave the contract blah out of it,who will read a 20 page contract thats offering 7.70 ph.

but if you sign up to Dominos as a "shop assistant" & your suddenly told to go hold up a sign @ the square in Dundalk or west st. Drogheda then the pi** is being taken. and leave the contract blah out of it,who will read a 20 page contract thats offering 7.70 ph.

Are you sure they are doing this, or are you wondering if this is happening?

I wouldn't have thought they would do something like that, but would be curious to know. There's plenty of unemployed people out there who wouldn't mind standing out there holding a sign, rain or shine - work is work, and in most cases it's better than not working, imho!
    if you sign up to be an advert and you know what you are getting into then thats "maybe" ok.

Judge much? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭padz

why didnt dominos take a leaf out of hunky dorys book and pay some fit gals a decent wage to go around wearing the boards or to hand out leaflets wearing skimpy tshirts,...the property agents should do this, any house any size 10e

positron wrote: »
    Judge much? :D
    Nahh! But i see you do!!

padz wrote: »
    why didnt dominos take a leaf out of hunky dorys book and pay some fit gals a decent wage to go around wearing the boards or to hand out leaflets wearing skimpy tshirts,...the property agents should do this, any house any size 10e

fit gals..........

in drogheda? :eek:

Nahh! But i see you do!!

Good one! :D

Is see there is a company in the USA that pays people to have permenant tattoos tattoed onto their foreheads........It's not Domino Pizza:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Dioza

Thats 3 stops i have in the US now,

Sperm bank,
    Blood bank,
    Tattoo shop,
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

Is see there is a company in the USA that pays people to have permenant tattoos tattoed onto their foreheads........It's not Domino Pizza:D

Some online casino place...

http://www.deseretnews.com/article/1,5143,600145187,00.html

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭highlandseoghan

The country is in resseccion. Domino's are giving these people a job who would other wise not have work. The manager was out holding the signs too. Everyone out holding signs is over 18. Where is the problem.

Is it not better to see companies trying to generate employment in these bad times.

I would rather hold a sign and get paid for it than sit at home on the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭SOCOM

I think your all wrong, Dominos is part of a monstrous multi national with more money than Bill Gates, it's as if they came up a deliberately mean and degrading job for the poor feckless unemployed. They don't need people standing on the streets advertising, last year Dominos publicly admitted the recession was an absolute windfall for them! Same reason four star and pizza hut opened up in Dundalk within months of their comment, although how people can afford to pay ten and twenty euro for baked dough with some chopped veggies on top I don't know, whole thing seems scandalous!!!

RANT OVER!! Thanks for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭thenightrider

Whats peoples problum they get paid dont they id take a job doing that as im out of work ive done worse jobs then standing out in the rain holding a sign

when working in the airport as a used to fix the sh1t trucks that sucked the sh1t of the planes had to get shots all the time as planes from diffent contries could have different stuff in there sh1t

I have also worked out side in the rain working a lot harder then standing there holding a sign id take that job any day over a lot of the jobs i have done

everyone says"i would take that job"
    "yeah i would do it,rather than been on the dole"
    right:)
    I will ring yee all soon:pac:
    Where did you do this
    When and with who
    boo whoo
    LIARS

everyone says"i would take that job"
    "yeah i would do it,rather than been on the dole"
    right:)
    I will ring yee all soon:pac:
    Where did you do this
    When and with who
    boo whoo
    LIARS

Irrelevant. The people that do this are not being held at gunpoint. Refer to my earlier post in this thread. I myself would not do it but plenty definitely would as can be seen by the people that are out holding the signs.

SOCOM wrote: »
    I think your all wrong, Dominos is part of a monstrous multi national with more money than Bill Gates, it's as if they came up a deliberately mean and degrading job for the poor feckless unemployed. They don't need people standing on the streets advertising, last year Dominos publicly admitted the recession was an absolute windfall for them! Same reason four star and pizza hut opened up in Dundalk within months of their comment, although how people can afford to pay ten and twenty euro for baked dough with some chopped veggies on top I don't know, whole thing seems scandalous!!!

RANT OVER!! Thanks for that

OKay, you do realise that they are a franchise? Dominos get paid by the franchisee - that's a given. The shop still needs to generate as much as possible to cover this fee and their own overheads.

Before you rant either think about it or look it up!!