Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

P6 ACCA

• 07-06-2010 4:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭

Did anyone do this exam today. I thought it was very hard - way harder than I expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 lelly63

I did it today - thought it was very hard but no quite the disaster that I was expecting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭mozattack

I should be okay. Its my final ACCA and I passed em all 1st time and some were harder, e.g. the last financial accounting one.

Just I am AITI qualified so ya'd think I would walk the exam but I get its a sign of how hard ACCA are... (in comparison to CPA for example)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Dee1980

I tought it was ok, but not overly confident with it. I found there was very little in the way of computation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 mrfuncle

Yeah I done this one yesterday too,

found it quite difficult aswell, hopefully got through it ok! I found it was more theory based rather than computational based aswell.

Sure its done and dusted now thank god!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭christy c

Thought the compulsory parts were very tricky and the options weren't too bad, still though I'll be lucky to scrape through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 fotc

I'm new to boards but found this thread when I was trying to find any feeback on Monday's P6 paper.

I thought the paper was overly hard and way beyond the standards generally set for this level of exams - and you aren't the first AITI qualified person I've heard of having issues with it which just shows how ridiculous it is!

I am currently talking to my college lecturer trying to put together some kind of formal complaint in advance of the exam board meeting and the beginning of corrections, and I'm trying to do so with help from others who sat the course.

Let me know if this is something anyone on here would add their support to.

On a final note, I contacted the Irish ACCA office looking for the pass rates for the Irish variant P6 but was told that I would not be provided with that information. Does anyone know whether country specific pass rates have ever been published?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 LaylaBlack

Did P6 paper on Monday - to be honest, I felt the paper was a disgrace - I am IATI qualified and I found the going very tough - there were loads of pitfalls and traps - I cannot seriously see how non-ITI students could prepare for this in a 12 week period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 lelly63

Hi fotc,

I would be interested in joining you in the formal complaint. I know my lecturer along with at least one of the other lectures have complained repeatedly to the ACCA about the examiner and her papers.

He has told us that in some of her past suggested solutions (which the markers use when correcting our papers) there have been mistakes - so you could get the answer right and get no marks because it was not what was on the suggested solution or you could get the answer wrong and get marks for it.

The lecturers were told by ACCA that they would receive a copy of the paper and suggested solution on Monday afternoon and would have 24 hours to review both and issue their recommendations to the examining board. But on Monday they were told that they wouldn't be getting the paper & solution but had until the 23rd of June to issue their report.

We had been told that the Irish pass rate was 27% - I dont know if this is only since this examiner started to write the paper or if this is the general standard over the years

27% pass rate is a joke...

LaylaBlack wrote: »
    Did P6 paper on Monday - to be honest, I felt the paper was a disgrace - I am IATI qualified and I found the going very tough - there were loads of pitfalls and traps - I cannot seriously see how non-ITI students could prepare for this in a 12 week period.
    lelly63 wrote: »
    Hi fotc,

I would be interested in joining you in the formal complaint. I know my lecturer along with at least one of the other lectures have complained repeatedly to the ACCA about the examiner and her papers.

He has told us that in some of her past suggested solutions (which the markers use when correcting our papers) there have been mistakes - so you could get the answer right and get no marks because it was not what was on the suggested solution or you could get the answer wrong and get marks for it.

The lecturers were told by ACCA that they would receive a copy of the paper and suggested solution on Monday afternoon and would have 24 hours to review both and issue their recommendations to the examining board. But on Monday they were told that they wouldn't be getting the paper & solution but had until the 23rd of June to issue their report.

We had been told that the Irish pass rate was 27% - I dont know if this is only since this examiner started to write the paper or if this is the general standard over the years
    mozattack wrote: »
    27% pass rate is a joke...

I have been in contact with my lecturer a couple of times since the exam with a view to arranging a formal complaint. He has now viewed the paper and solution and has said that it was a disgrace - a view shared by the lecturers from the main colleges.

A meeting is being arranged for next week so that those who sat P6 can meet and discuss the next steps. If anyone on here is interested in attending - and has not been emailed by their lecturer regarding the meeting - please message me and I will reply in due course with the time and place.

I think it is important that serious and immediate action is taken here but it must be done collectively and coherently to get our point across. Also, I would urge people to inform others they know who sat the paper of what is being planned.

Sorry to be negative but what's the point?

Also I didnt use a lecturer so who can I complain to?

Sorry to be negative but what's the point?

Also I didnt use a lecturer so who can I complain to?

Firstly, there's every point. Why do we have to just shut up take it?? This isn't some primary school spelling test, this affects careers! There is unanimous agreement - amongst students AND academics - that the exam was grossly unfair so why can't take a stand on the issue? We have every right to contest this with the ACCA.

I wasn't clear enough earlier on the purpose of the meeting. We're not complaining to the lecturer, the lecturer is the one organising the meeting after calling the paper a disgrace. It doesn't matter if you didn't have a lecturer, the purpose of this is getting P6 students together to make a complaint as a body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Man007

Fotc I agree completely I thought the exam was a disgrace

I have no problem with a difficult exam but when so much effort is put in and the exam is unfair it is hard to take.

I don't know how this examiner was even allowed to set this paper as there have been numerous complaints about her previous 2 exams and so I thought this one would be better considering the previous complaints.

There was barely any computaions and none of the core areas were examined.

I would definitely be interested in attending any meetings or signing complaints if you could send me the details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭PabloIndentes

Count me in too, too many minefields in the paper.

Seems she went out of her way to make it as complicated and impractical as possible.

I attended Mel's class in Dublin & theres a meeting next wednesday afaik.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

Fair play to yis for kicking up a fuss, I do think it's generally an overly tough paper. It was the only ACCA paper I failed, and got it (just about!!!) on a resit last December. As I recall this current paper is only the third the new examiner has set, and she does seem to be tougher than the previous examiner.

Just, with regards to people saying they are AITI qualified, is this the qualification where having ACCA exempts you from part 1 of the qualification? I assumed it would be much much more difficult than ACCA!

it's great to see people getting involved, but it's important that we keep momentum up here, and again I urge everyone to inform anyone they know who sat the paper of what our intentions are.

Pablo, I attended Mel's class too, and the heads of the college are asking that the meeting of P6 students happen early next week so that they can attend. Their presence and support is really important as, together with the support of the lecturers from the other main colleges, it further legitimises our appeal to the ACCA.

In the meantime, I will post the venue, date and time the meeting is taking place as soon as I have received notice.

dearg lady,

AITI are the tax exams. ACCA exempts you from Part 1, same way I only have to do 9 ACCA exams to qualify (as I am AITI qualified).

It is unusual to do AITI and then do ACCA exams, more people do it the other way around. AITI are meant to be harder but who knows.

My point was that if someone who is AITI qualified and who has worked in tax solely for nine years struggled, surely the bar has been set too high. The level required for tax in ACCA should be far lower that AITI finals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 MCannon

There have been a lot of complaints about this examiner and her exam papers since she took over in June 2009. I sat her first p6 paper and passed it with a fantastic 53%. There is nothing you can do now about the exam and complaining about the paper will get you no where.

It is up to the fat cats in Glasgow to do something about it.

The funny thing about it is that the previous examiner was fired for giving papers that were too difficult. The new examiner is way worse!!!

MCannon, you're one of the lucky few, but gladly any P6 exam sitters I have encountered do not share your views when it comes to demanding some rights as a student body.

This has gone way beyond one or two agrieved students complaininig to some ACCA exam helpline.

The complaint is a coordinated effort being made by a large, and growing, number of P6 students together with one of the largest tuition providers in the country, as well as a group of the top P6 lecturers in the country, which combined makes up an interest group the body will not be able to ignore.

There are AITI-qualified individuals and college lecturers agreeing that the paper was a disgrace. So why do we have to just accept this??

So yes, there is EVERY point in making a formal complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭santino

Hi There Guys,

I sat P6 last week as well. Thought the options weren't too bad but Q 1 and 2 demanded way too much altogether.

It was my 3rd time taking the paper, the most I've ever had to repeat a paper is once.
    It's the last paper I need to pass before I'm qualified so obviously I'm more than a little ticked off.

I add my support to anything ye are thinking of doing, as someone mentioned, it's not just an exam, its affecting careers also.

Will someone keep me updated on this and the outcome?
    I'm from Limerick so going to a meeting in Dublin might be hard for me but if there was one held in limerick/cork I'd be the first one there.

Thanks...power to the people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

dearg lady,

AITI are the tax exams. ACCA exempts you from Part 1, same way I only have to do 9 ACCA exams to qualify (as I am AITI qualified).

It is unusual to do AITI and then do ACCA exams, more people do it the other way around. AITI are meant to be harder but who knows.

My point was that if someone who is AITI qualified and who has worked in tax solely for nine years struggled, surely the bar has been set too high. The level required for tax in ACCA should be far lower that AITI finals.

Thanks mozattack, that's what I thought, I'm just so stunned that it is in fact the case!

Hi Santino,

a meeting is also being arranged in Cork, so I will give you notice of when and where this is taking place as soon as I know myself.

Also, be sure to let anyone else you know who sat the paper aware of the meeting.

a meeting is taking place for P6 exam sitters at 2 locations:

Dublin - Independent Colleges building at 6.30pm on Thursday June 24th

Cork - Independent Colleges building at 6.30pm on Monday June 28th

These meetings are open to ALL P6 exam sitters, not just people who attended Independent Colleges. The college is providing venues for everyone to attend.

As I have said previously on this thread, tell anybody you know who also sat the exam and who would like to take part.

We have been treated really poorly by the ACCA here so it is important that we take a stand on the issue as a body. If we fail to so this treatment will no doubt continue into the future.

Hi Fotc,

Where is that meeting taking place in Cork?
    Is it in the Metropole Hotel?

Yes, the Cork meeting is in the Metropole.

Maps for both venues:

http://www.independentcolleges.ie/about_us/location.html?menuStates=100

I couldn't make it to the meeting during the week what was the outcome

I didn't make it either, my aunt died last week. Any updates on the outcome/meeting?

Got 42% guys. I don't know how to feel. Bitterly disappointed.
    How did ye get on?

Just posted in the other thread, got 35, second one to fail and lowest ever. Think that examiner is taking the p*ss

How's it goin lads got a 36 which was also my worst ever.

Before this only failed one and still got 47. Got P3 so not too bad don't think gonna bother sitting tax again exam will be just as unfair

Gonna switch to P4 instead

Sorry to hear about those who failed this, i certainly know how ya'll feel.
    Got 50% in P6 this morning after failing it with 49% in December.
    So am certainly a lucky boy & chuffed to bits :)

Hope everyone else was as lucky as me.

Just P2 to do now and have to decide where to do it now.

P

p.s.
    Examiner is a f****n weapon of the highest order!!!!
    I would strongly advise to steer clear as the past papers are no help & the examiner is completely unpredictable. Plus she adds unnecessary complexity to all exams making things so so difficult before ya even get into all the detail with the question, which is the minutia from the course that the lecturers havent got time to go through.

I would attribute absolutely no fault to the lecturers & would like to thank Mel for all the work he put in with the class.
    Its a 14 week part time course, yet she's expecting a near tax specialist.
    Mad that the ACCA P6 is the only closed book tax exam at this level!!

Is it worth getting them checked do ye think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭onehorse

Just saw Independent Colleges are offering a P6 Retakers course with Mel Kilkenny

santino wrote: »
    Is it worth getting them checked do ye think?

No point whatsoever the recheck fee is a money making scam by acca.

I asked to get one rechecked before cause failed by couple of percent I have really bad handwriting so would have liked to see the paper.

I paid the 80 quid or whatever it is to get a recheck and got a letter saying we have rechecked your paper and you still failed.

I asked could I not see my paper and was told no ha ha what a waste of time

I heard that myself and was going to query it when I got 49 in December, but a few people said it was a waste of money so didnt bother.

Sat it this time and got 50, so game on :)

Best of luck to anyone getting a recheck.

There was one person on the forum who was thinking of a recheck after getting 50 tho as he / she was disappointed with the result

Pls remember it can go both ways and 50 is the same as 99 as far as Im concerned, both say pass on the email / piece of paper :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 agon86

Man007 got 36
    Cristy C got 35

and I GOT 34 :(

nice!

gonna switch to P5, even though BPP college offers free re-takers class (PASS guarantee). :(

agon86 wrote: »
    Man007 got 36
    Cristy C got 35

and I GOT 34 :(

nice!

gonna switch to P5, even though BPP college offers free re-takers class (PASS guarantee). :(

Thinking of switching as well, was looking at the BPP site i think they only offer a 15% resit discount? Are you sure they offer a free class?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 agon86

christy c wrote: »
    Thinking of switching as well, was looking at the BPP site i think they only offer a 15% resit discount? Are you sure they offer a free class?

YES. there is a PASS GUARANTEE scheme.
    You may take re-takers class FOC subject to T&Cs of course. The main conditions are: - your attendance must be 85+% [my attendance was 100% ;)]
    - you must do & submit any homework given by the lecturer [Tim Galvin never gave us any homework, he did actually, but we just discussed the answers in class :rolleyes:]

I think i am eligible for that, but i wouldnt bother to have the nightmare again. :)

Hi all, I am the OP on this thread so said I will update all.

I got 55% anyway so happy enough to have passed it at least. Saying that I am AITI qualified so surely should pass? Also 55% is a ****e enough mark, my lowest of the 10 ACCA exams I did (I am qualified now)

They were tough exams but managed to pass em all first time without attending lectures so they can't be too hard I suppose. Best of luck :o

Hi all, I am the OP on this thread so said I will update all.

I got 55% anyway so happy enough to have passed it at least. Saying that I am AITI qualified so surely should pass? Also 55% is a ****e enough mark, my lowest of the 10 ACCA exams I did (I am qualified now)

They were tough exams but managed to pass em all first time without attending lectures so they can't be too hard I suppose. Best of luck :o

I'm sure most on here would say that they actually ARE quite hard so achieving first time passes on all is no mean feat mozattack and one which shouldn't be belittled (if not for your own sake at least for everyone elses!).

I was also lucky enough to pass and finish but I would like to say to those on here who didn't that there was so much backlash after June from all of the P6 lecturers that there will inevitably be a review of how this paper is currently structured. Hopefully, if this is the case, it will be communicated in some way to exam-takers via lecturers (or other means), otherwise exam halls will be half-empty on December 6th.

Hey Guys,

We're back where we started. Monday week's the big day.
    How are ye all feeling?

santino wrote: »
    Hey Guys,

We're back where we started. Monday week's the big day.
    How are ye all feeling?

Hopefully that examiner will have eased up a bit, think I am better prepared than last time but Monday week will tell.

Do you think you will find the 8% you need Santino?

I've put in alot of work (went back to do a class as well to refresh myself) so hopefully. I'm only getting the Friday before hand off to study so this weekend is crucial.

We just want a fair exam (they have been seriously lacking of late), it's up to ourselves after that I suppose.

Are you getting much time off Christy C?

Good luck everyone.

Hope it was fairer this time round.

Cant say I miss it, but was an interesting subject, pity about the actual exam.

Fingers crossed.

P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭greenketchup

Well what did everyone think? not as bad as last one i think...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Lavisa

I think the exam was alot fairer this time round, so just hoping i wont be repeating again!!

Damn it why did I not try it again ha ha

The general consesus is that it was easier this time around. Apparently she was under pressure to ease up a bit as the pass rate was pathetic.

Think I might have got it this time around but time will tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Lavisa

Yeah i think she was under a lot of pressure, loads of people were put off doing P6 cos its so hard to pass, but hopefully this time we get through! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 dookiecookie

fotc wrote: »
    On a final note, I contacted the Irish ACCA office looking for the pass rates for the Irish variant P6 but was told that I would not be provided with that information. Does anyone know whether country specific pass rates have ever been published?

Hi
    Our lecture told us that June 10 pass rate was 32% and that the person who scored 2nd in ireland only got 62%!!