Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

There is no such thing as a mini marathon

• 06-06-2010 10:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭

Unless you are talking about the chocolate bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

too soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Either way the waft of Killybegs around the city is gonna be chronic tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Aye...too soon :p

Plus: its only a 10k race, not hard at all:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭wobblyknees

Aye...too soon :p

Plus: its only a 10k race, not hard at all:pac:

I remember when 10k's were my short run of the week in preparation for the actual real live Dublin marathon!

Still too early?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

never understood why it was called a mini marathon its a 10km race nothing else its got nothing to do with a marathon

although i wouldnt want to run 10km, no thanks never, although i do cycle 100 +km regularly just in case you think i'm an armchair critic furthest this year 160km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

and even then theres no such thing, its a fun size snickers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭exaisle

fun size snickers is a thong, isnt it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

They should increase it to 10.5k or thereabouts, so it could be called the Quarter Marathon, and everyone would be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

never understood why it was called a mini marathon its a 10km race nothing else its got nothing to do with a marathon

it makes all the fat bints feel like they've achieved something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

running is stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

There is unless you have Wobblyknees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

It has to be a mini marathon. Women would never make a full Marathon. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

I can't stand the term 'mini marathon' and if you voice your opinion to the masses you get slated for being elitist.
    I'm certainly not elitist but I've run a few marathons and for the word 'marathon' to be used alongside the work 'mini' does an injustice to those who put in the effort to do a real marathon.

The bingo-wings brigade will be out in force munching on cakes and knocking back Bacardi Breezers later making up for the few calories they may have lost in the little fun fun....ha ha, now that's elitist :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

I hate when people call it the womens marathon. Its 10km, dont start mixing it up with 42km . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭altairscreed

you get slated for being elitist.
    Well im not sure what being elitist mean's but i think im one:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Yeah, I'm still waiting on a reply from the organisers to my suggestion that they rename it the womens' 'less than a quarter of a' marathon .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Mini snickers it is

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3125/2671777879_2869620404.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Steodonn

Its a marathon to women :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

I heard they had to stop letting men wearing diving suits enter because they kept winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭Asmodean

Ah christ at least its for a good cause lads. my mam did it a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

10km or 100km....I can't run either anymore. Damn motorbike made me lazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

it's only that short so they'll be home in time to cook the dinner

Saw a tour bus in a garage earlier this morning. Full of women with Mini Marathon t-shirts. All went in for breakfast rolls/crisps/chocolate/coke. Most popped out for a smoke before hopping back on the bus!

It's great that it's for a good cause though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

It's great that it's for a good cause though.

But should you have a penis the charity wants nothing to do with you unless you want to give them money quietly without the public knowing.

If you have a mens mini marathon the organisers would be sued by ever woman going.

Let them have their marathon holding up traffic. Feck they drive so bad anyway they would be holding up traffic anyway.

Berty wrote: »
    But should you have a penis the charity wants nothing to do with you unless you want to give them money quietly without the public knowing.

If you have a mens mini marathon the organisers would be sued by ever woman going.

Let them have their marathon holding up traffic. Feck they drive so bad anyway they would be holding up traffic anyway.

Having carried out extensive research on the subject I can now say, with 100% confidence, that at least 67% of women walk the mini marathon, at a normal pace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

the lady who came first would out run most boardsies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

It was just laughable seeing how seriously these wimmins take their annual walk.

Meanwhile in the real capital they ran a proper race, a full marathon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

So... so much misogyny... I feel faint...

*Collapses*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Haddockman wrote: »
    Meanwhile in the real capital they ran a proper race, a full marathon.

Wow. Cork has it all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭earlyevening

I found it funny looking at a gaggle of women standing outside the Porterhouse on Nassau St. smoking fags in the rain while proudly wearing their "Irish Heart Foundation" t shirts.

I should have taken a photo.

I found it funny looking at a gaggle of women standing outside the Porterhouse on Nassau St. smoking fags in the rain while proudly wearing their "Irish Heart Foundation" t shirts.

I should have taken a photo.
    Oh the irony!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

I ran that race today, to raise money for a charity, like most of the women out there. Yeah it's not a marathon, so what? I've run real marathons too. It's a fun run which most women use to make some money for a cause close to their hearts.
    Way to rip the piss out of them for having some compassion and doing something they enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

You could always start your own one and make a ton of cash from the entry tickets by calling it a Mini 100,000 light years, or a Mini Milky Way if you like. You could make it 100,000 millimitres which is 100 metres.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

10K = Mini Marathon. Let them call it what the want so they feel better about themselves. Maybe someday most will try a real marathon. All who have done one already know the fun factor wears off after 20 miles and the agony sets in.

I ran that race today, to raise money for a charity, like most of the women out there. Yeah it's not a marathon, so what? I've run real marathons too. It's a fun run which most women use to make some money for a cause close to their hearts.
    Way to rip the piss out of them for having some compassion and doing something they enjoy.
    Don't call it a marathon then. Call it a fun run for that is what it really is. How dare they belittle the achievemnts of the Greek soldier Pheidippides, a messenger from the Battle of Marathon (the namesake of the race) to Athens.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Don't call it a marathon then. Call it a fun run for that is what it really is. How dare they belittle the achievemnts of the Greek soldier Pheidippides, a messenger from the Battle of Marathon (the namesake of the race) to Athens.
    Yeah, if you don't die at the end of it it's not a real marathon

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

How much money did you lot raise for charity today? I dislike the term mini marathon too but come on. Get a life ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

The participants don't call it that, the organisation behind it does. Slagging off the ladies who take part is stupid and mean spirited. I've run three full marathons, yeah they're tough, but I'm fit and able bodied. Jesus, there were women out there today of all ages with various disabilities slogging their guts out to raise some money for various causes. How dare people belittle them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Bloody Nipples

Yeah, if you don't die at the end of it it's not a real marathon

Just ran Cork today. Still alive. Pheidippides can suck my proverbial I'm way tougher than him.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Just ran Cork today. Still alive. Pheidippides can suck my proverbial I'm way tougher than him.

Doing any more? Galway in August then Dublin in October not including the race series :p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

With user name such as Bloody Nipples I don't think he would mess with you anyway.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Mrmoe wrote: »
    With user name such as Bloody Nipples I don't think he would mess with you anyway.:D

Vaseline. The distance runner's best friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

How about this:

There is no such thing as the Special Olympics

The Olympics is the best of the best of the entirety of humanity, whereas the Special Olympics is a sports contest for those with mental disabilities.

javaboy wrote: »
    Vaseline. The distance runner's best friend.

Reminds me of Gorden Ramsey grilling Jade Goody for using olive oil and tennis shoes during the London Marathon, god rest her soul. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭teddy_303

the 2 x 5,000 metres would be a slightly more exact and a lot less incendery title, me thinks, no?

10,000 metres just does not sound complicated or long winded enough for a ladies race...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

I can't stand the term 'mini marathon' and if you voice your opinion to the masses you get slated for being elitist.
    I'm certainly not elitist but I've run a few marathons and for the word 'marathon' to be used alongside the work 'mini' does an injustice to those who put in the effort to do a real marathon.

The bingo-wings brigade will be out in force munching on cakes and knocking back Bacardi Breezers later making up for the few calories they may have lost in the little fun fun....ha ha, now that's elitist :D

Seriously? I would imagine that real marathon runners wouldn't really give two fcuks to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Drops of Jupiter

OK, so mini marathon might be overstating the case but still...

It's a good cause, it's for charity and it's fun!! No-one is saying that it the sporting event of the year!

Mocking it and making snide comments is just poor form and childish to say the least!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

How about this:

There is no such thing as the Special Olympics

The Olympics is the best of the best of the entirety of humanity, whereas the Special Olympics is a sports contest for those with mental disabilities.

.... or we could call the games for "the best of the best of the entirety of humanity" the Special Olympics and call the one for those with mental disabilities the Not So Special Olympics.

Haha. Very good.