Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Muggings down because headshops close

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Seen that two days ago in a report somewhere.
    I reserve judgement as to if that is the case.

Who did the checking? Honest question.

MUGGINGS have dropped by 500% in parts of Dublin's north-inner city since the recent closure of head shops. When the stores, which sold a range of legal highs were still in operation, drug addicts were targeting passers-by in early-morning attacks.

Drugs gangs operating out of the flats in St Mary's Mansions and Liberty House in Dublin 1 are now selling these drugs to addicts.

What a brilliant piece of legislation.. It moved the problem whilst at the same time putting gangs back in control. Eejits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I know. It's much safer in Berlin and head shops are legal. Wait... that's not what I meant...

... hang on...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The implication that the muggers have just decided to knock the robbing on the head because the head shops are gone doesn't exactly sit well with the picture of crazed, enslaved addicts that the article paints, does it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Oh ****. We better start a petition on boards to encourage street muggings so to get them back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

greetings wrote: »
    Oh ****. We better start a petition on boards to encourage street muggings so to get them back.

I'll do my part and mug a couple of people tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

What a crock of bullshít...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

Herald wrote:
    MUGGINGS have dropped by 500% in parts of Dublin's north-inner city since the recent closure of head shops.

Am I being thick here? How can something drop by 500%, without going in the negative? Are there some sort of reverse muggings going on now, whereby junkies approach people and give them wallets and phones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I'd imagine muggings and burglaries are going to rocket as people return to the illegal dealers and need larger sums of money than they did for their fix at the headshops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Horse_box

Muggings may be down but MDMA has literally flooded the country since the closure of the headshops. The illegal drug dealers are only delighted ! Gang warfare ahoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The only mug is anybody believing that propaganda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

SoulTrader wrote: »
    Am I being thick here? How can something drop by 500%, without going in the negative? Are there some sort of reverse muggings going on now, whereby junkies approach people and give them wallets and phones?

Duh! Obviously the muggers have been going around giving the money back to their victims after coming out of their legal-drug-fuelled-haze.

News just in, the world IS flat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Yeah because all the drug addicts had hard working jobs when head shops were not around. Then when head shops opened they quit their jobs and mugged people to fund their habits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

PROPAGANDA to make the sheep believe...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Horse_box wrote: »
    Muggings may be down but MDMA has literally flooded the country since the closure of the headshops. The illegal drug dealers are only delighted ! Gang warfare ahoy!

Hm, don't think that's genuine mdma !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Such bullshít. you cant get addicted to those products.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Ahern must be wetting himself with excitement at the news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

When I read the thread title, I thought it was about a guy called Muggins, who was feeling down because the headshops were closed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Maybe customers coming out of the shops were being mugged for their drugs ?

Whats the story with the shops anyway. I thought they were supposed to have found new drugs which havent been banned yet ?
    but MDMA has literally flooded the country since the closure of the headshops.

Is it actually MDMA though ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

That got me too.

I think it's saying that the rate increased by 500% when the head shops opened up, and has now sunk back down to it's previous level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

I think it's saying that the rate increased by 500% when the head shops opened up, and has now sunk back down to it's previous level.

Should we believe a news report by people who cant manage basic maths ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I am 500% cynical about this article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

I love the way the heading says "Muggings 'drop by 500%" but when you read the article we see that the actual stats were that muggings had risen by 500% recently...

but nowhere in the article does it back it self up by saying where the figures have actually reduced..

and doing the maths i can't figure out how you can have a reduction of 500% for something like mugging.....

in my book if there's 1000 muggings a 500% decrese means 5000 less muggings... ie -4000 muggings so....:o:o:o:o:o:o maybe i'm not doing that right but anyways..

good to see the great journalistic skills of our reporters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

The Turbine used to be so above Sindo stuff like this.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Has it? Literally?
    Hm, don't think that's genuine mdma !
    ^^This.
    K-9 wrote: »
    The Turbine used to be so above Sindo stuff like this.
    True. It's gone to fuck in the last while. Becoming more tabloid-like by the week.

Mike 1972 wrote: »

Is it actually MDMA though ?

It definitely is. Check out Pillreports.com . It shows the marquis test results of all pills containing MDMA in the country.

Manufacturers/dealers obviously knew once the mephedrone supply dried up, mdma would be in demand. There hasn't been this much mdma in the country since 07/08

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Has it? Literally?

Yes, it's raining mitzis!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭spartan1

I saw a mug today and I mugged them, was easy really , as for getting addicted to these things , most of our country is addicted to coffee, gimme a break like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Yes, it's raining mitzis!
    /heads outside :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

In fact, I am literally 500% cynical about this article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

ya say that but still my plants addicted to snow, how will i feed it now ? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I would love to see someone unbiased do a cost/benefit analysis of Headshops. I wonder how much money in VAT we lost by closing them down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭JJ

Lies, damn lies and statistics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Drugs gangs operating out of the flats in St Mary's Mansions and Liberty House in Dublin 1 are now selling these drugs to addicts

Yes, I find it 500% believable that people are going to St. Mary's Mansions to feed their 'smoke' and 'bath salts' habits...

roll-fucking-eyes

In other news: I gave up drinking beer a few weeks ago, and in the meantime, muggings in Dublin have dropped 500%! Coincidence? I think not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Wagon wrote: »
    Such bullshít. you cant get addicted to those products.

You most certainly can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

kraggy wrote: »
    You most certainly can.

Well that's convinced me...

FruitLover wrote: »
    Well that's convinced me...

There have been numerous cases of people not being able to stop doing mephedrone. I myself liked it a little bit too much and could possibly see how people could become addicted, if not physically then mentally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

You know why I think its bullsh!t?

Well,the 500% thing,

But also that they never reveal their source. Leading me to believe its not an official source like Comissioner Gordon or Batman.

Probably some old lady that likes to stick her nose into people's business and 'investigate' things while spouting inaccuracies.
    "It's just come to our attention and we are investigating how they got their hands on them. There is a huge market for these legal highs – we have had serious problems with muggings as a result of these head shops and we want to ensure a thriving black market does not now develop," said a source.

Several head shops that were located in the north-inner city were covered by Store Street garda station.

Four weeks ago, legislation was introduced banning a range of legal highs sold at these stores, leading to the closure of two-thirds of Ireland's 102 head shops.

"The rate of mugging in the Store Street garda district as a direct result of people looking for money to buy head shop products had gotten entirely out of control," said the source.
    If you had a reliable source you'd say who it was. If it was the police, its not like we can't be saying "...Police Investigators said."

Tribune using straw-men....Tribune using straw-men ♪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Pills or pure stuff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Before I get accused of being one of the anti-headshop nutters, I will point out that I am familiar with some of the products, if you know what I mean.

However, I know of at least 2 people who ended up in the psych unit as a result of not being able to stop taking one of the powders.

I've seen it. It does happen.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I wonder how many people will read that, believe it and go out in dublin and get mugged. Probably alot.

Pills or pure stuff?

Both

Pure crystal is turning up in decent quantities, in Dublin anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Before I get accused of being one of the anti-headshop nutters, I will point out that I am familiar with some of the products, if you know what I mean.

However, I know of at least 2 people who ended up in the psych unit as a result of not being able to stop taking one of the powders.

This would lead me to think that addiction is the problem, rather than the substance themsevles. I know of people who lost families and jobs because of addictions to substances that are still legal. It does happen. Where's the ban hammer?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

What I find humerouse is that when talking to a friend of mine who worked in a headshop they said Guards are some of their biggest customers as they get checked for the illgeal stuff through tests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

I don't believe this statistic one bit. Thomas street had become liveable again when the headshops were open. From what I could see the drug dealers business was down sharply and I noticed most of their normal customers buying from the headshop instead. It was much more pleasant to walk around without noticing continuous dealing on the street.

Now because of a few middle class parents getting upset, I get to walk home through the crowds of drug dealers who are back making money. I'm sure these middle class kids will still be buying their substances, this time off the street. Nice one Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭blubloblu

Correlation does not imply causation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

blubloblu wrote: »
    Correlation does not imply causation.
    Causality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Wow, Fair enough. I tried quite a few products but never found myself wanting to go back for more. Never tried the powders. Were they like a cocaine substitute?

I still don't believe that article for a second and if anything, the black market will open up hugely as a result of it. "down by 500%" me hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭AKA pat sheen

Wagon wrote: »
    I still don't believe that article for a second and if anything, the black market will open up hugely as a result of it. "down by 500%" me hole.

At 20-30 euros a gram I would say it probably did contribute to street crime especially among younger users. People who developed a tolerance to mephedrone were railing huge lines of the stuff. Sh1t costs pittance to make, so every gram sold was daylight robbery although I don't think they were counting that.:)

Other related news http://www.herald.ie/national-news/500000-bzp-pills-seized-by-gardai-in-year-since-ban-2210729.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 BUGS_DRUNNY

From the herald article: "Earlier this month, the Government outlawed a large number of substances that were being sold in head shops.
    Three truckloads of legal highs were seized by gardai who raided 102 stores. "

When was this?

"Raided"? Is this when they came and collected the substances the had just made illegal the day before to be taken away and destoyed?