Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WHO scandal exposed: Advisors received kickbacks from H1N1 vaccine manufacturers

• 06-06-2010 1:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭

WTF?!

"A stunning new report reveals that top scientists who convinced the World Health Organization (WHO) to declare H1N1 a global pandemic held close financial ties to the drug companies that profited from the sale of those vaccines. This report, published in the British Medical Journal, exposes the hidden ties that drove WHO to declare a pandemic, resulting in billions of dollars in profits for vaccine manufacturers".

http://www.naturalnews.com/028936_WHO_vaccines.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

And you're saying this now?
    Swine flu was so yesterday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

It is understanable why people are cynical about 'scientific' reports these days, there's so many vested interests and the pharmacutical industry is such a huge and powerful one. I take most things with a grain of salt tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

It is not really a surprise and nobody will be prosecuted either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

No real surprise tbh. It's just a pity that at the time, anyone suggesting this was the case was called a lunatic scaremongering idiot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

One could smell a rat long before all this hype.

Once bitten twice shy, it is going to be more difficult for them to pull a fast one next time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Won't get fooled again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

Won't get fooled again.

Of course you will, over and over again.

The pharmaceutical companies are much more powerful than you know

Won't get fooled again.

Won't get fooled again :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭WildBoots

Won't get fooled again.

Sure won't ;)

WildBoots wrote: »

Beat ya to it. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Won't get fooled again.

I got it :)

But it just reminds me of Horatio Caine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

I'd bet those alcohol-gel manufacturers were in on this too*.

*Seriously though, they must be loaded after the whole thing :pac:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

and how much did the Irish government spend on it's stockpile of vaccines?!? there was such a poor uptake that doctors/schools and anywhere that had access to numbers of peoples were scaremongering population into gettin the jab, friends of mine who were pregnant at the time suffered a lot of emotional stress deciding whether or not to get it done, thankfully most had sense but some got the fright of their lives from mis information and got it just incase!!
    there was no point in tryin to convince them not too when thyre thinking the baby or mother are at serious risk.

shocking that this has been confirmed to be a sham, I'm ashamed to be human and ashamed that we have to put up with goverments telling us what to do "for our own good" when everywhere ya look we are being raped/poisoned for the money that big business has created. it will be every man for himself someday soon. this charade shouldn't be let continue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

The human species is a viral infection on this planet, what some do to make a few pound is sickening. Kill the fcukers, and i'm not taking the piss either. Line the cnuts up against a wall and kill them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

tip of the iceberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Elevator wrote: »
    shocking that this has been confirmed to be a sham, I'm ashamed to be human and ashamed that we have to out up wtb goverments telling us what to do "for our own good" when everywhere ya look we are being raped/poisoned for the money that big business has created. it will be every man for himself someday soon. this charade shouldn't be let continue

How has it been confirmed to be a scam?

It says the doctors got kickbacks. Doesnt mean its a scam, it's just as likely to mean the people who were in a position to get paid off the back of it decided to do just that.

Who'da thunk humans were greedy?

Is it not a touch ironic that the people saying the governments , doctors etc were scaremongering are now running around dclaring it all a scam that could lead to the rise of some preventable disease?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

NaturalNews has long been a site mainly keeping to the space of anti-medicine conspiracy theory. It's fairly batsh*t like...

Homeopathy cured the 1918 influenza outbreak

Doctors trying to give you cancer through x-rays, and bury the fact that natural, herbal medicine IS the cure to cancer, diabetes, heart disease and (apparantly) arthritis

This is to name just two. I'm not saying that the pharmaceutical industry isn't rotten to the core, but NaturalNews seems to have a longstanding beef with modern medicine (including vaccinations) in general and has an abvious agenda - to be taken with a strong pinch of salt...

Stekelly wrote: »
    How has it been confirmed to be a scam?

It says the doctors got kickbacks. Doesnt mean its a scam, it's just as likely to mean the people who were in a position to get paid off the back of it decided to do just that.

Who'da thunk humans were greedy?

I think it's pretty obvious that it was blown out of proportion at the time. And both the mainstream media and big-pharma used fear to sell their wares

Yes humans are greedy, but human condition is no defense for this sort of thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭franklyshocked

The source from this post is a pro-alternative medicine website so there's an agenda there to start with.
    The main problem with this story is that its likely to put fear and doubt into the minds of everyone when considering vaccination.
    The problem with this type of thing is already out there. People were refusing to vaccinate with the MMR Jabs a few years back and we saw a huge rise in people getting sick.
    There were some major breakouts in the colleges if memory serves me. And these are scary diseases that need to be vaccinated against.
    Don't like the story, but in general, vaccination saves lives

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    NaturalNews has long been a site mainly keeping to the space of anti-medicine conspiracy theory. It's fairly batsh*t like...

Homeopathy cured the 1918 influenza outbreak

Doctors trying to give you cancer through x-rays, and bury the fact that natural, herbal medicine IS the cure to cancer, diabetes, heart disease and (apparantly) arthritis

This is to name just two. I'm not saying that the pharmaceutical industry isn't rotten to the core, but NaturalNews seems to have a longstanding beef with modern medicine (including vaccinations) in general and has an abvious agenda - to be taken with a strong pinch of salt...

they most definately don't have all the answers on their site but I would hazard a guess if we hadn't been so quick to industrialise the planet and for the power to end up in the hands of a rotten few then we would all the goodness and cures we could possibly need from the planet.

the length these pharmacuticals will go to just to keep their profits up is scarey, they are the scum of the earth and don't I've a **** about any one of us, they have everything controlled, leaking whatever they want into our lives and nobody can stop them, if the normal joe soap goes about his day telling pure lies and profiting from it he's a fraud yet you have money, religon, borders etc etc and most just buy into them no questions asked.

timeforchange.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Not Surprised.

The source from this post is a pro-alternative medicine website so there's an agenda there to start with

Did you notice the 2 links to respectable sources at the bottom of the page?

http://abcnews.go.com/Health/SwineFlu/swine-flu-pandemic-world-health-organization-scientists-linked/story?id=10829940
    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/06/04/AR2010060403034.html

and here's an article with numerous sources cited - http://en.wikinews.org/wiki/WHO%27s_reaction_to_H1N1_influenced_by_drug_companies,_reports_claim?dpl_id=189935

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

WTF?!

"A stunning new report reveals that top scientists who convinced the World Health Organization (WHO) to declare H1N1 a global pandemic held close financial ties to the drug companies that profited from the sale of those vaccines. This report, published in the British Medical Journal, exposes the hidden ties that drove WHO to declare a pandemic, resulting in billions of dollars in profits for vaccine manufacturers".

zzzzzzzzzz sensational article from a ct site.

Surely you cannot be that blinkered.. I guess if you can't refute the claims then refuting the claimant is next best thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭galwaybabe

Not in the slightest bit surprised at this news. I wouldn't have got that vaccine for love or money! There was no way it could have been safely tested in that length of time.

Surely you cannot be that blinkered.. I guess if you can't refute the claims then refuting the claimant is next best thing

seriously? it's some sensational nonsense piece, that has no credibility. i have zero time or respect for any tripe written in that style, same as i have no time for tabloids. i couldn't even be bothered to read it.

anyway, for conspiracy theorists who pride themselves on their research skills they rely on some pretty poor sources and jump to conclusions pretty quick. a certain number of scientists receiving incentives does not equal made up crisis to make money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

this stuff works both ways. people were scaremongered into avoiding the MMR vaccine by the work of andrew wakefield, who was being paid by firms pushing their own agenda.
    years later, the incidence of measles in kids is higher and finally dr wakefield has been struck off. the lancet have apologised for publishing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

not suprised, plenty of conspiracy theories that they have cures for a lot of diseases too.

seriously? it's some sensational nonsense piece, that has no credibility. i have zero time or respect for any tripe written in that style, same as i have no time for tabloids. i couldn't even be bothered to read it.

Fair enough, I wrongly assumed you were dismissing the actual claim rather than the writing style. Sorry about that. The story is running on numerous other news sites, maybe the OP would have been better to link to one of those rather than a biased website

because of the writing style i don't give much credibility to the claim. if they have to rely on sensationalist nonsense then there's hardly much strength in the story.

galwaybabe wrote: »
    Not in the slightest bit surprised at this news. I wouldn't have got that vaccine for love or money! There was no way it could have been safely tested in that length of time.

http://vaers.hhs.gov/resources/2010H1N1Summary_May07.pdf

Oddly, I found this link on the comments for a youtube video.. 56 confirmed deaths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

A more legitimate website, I never actually got the vaccine now that I think about it.... :D
    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/06/04/AR2010060404608.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Resi12

I'm not surprised, I thought as much. I really think Swine Flu was never as bad as they made out, it was simply the media using fear to get people to generate money into one of the worst economies in decades. Glad I never got that useless vaccine.

Corkfeen wrote: »
    A more legitimate website, I never actually got the vaccine now that I think about it.... :D
    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/06/04/AR2010060404608.html

that's not particularly damning and very different to the link posted by the op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Heh, back then I said this flu was more in the interest of the pharmacutical companies than the general public.........and the media got to sell their stories. I was called a daft cùnt. :pac:

Though it's a bit of a sour victory, who gets prosecuted over this?

i still rather listen to the WHO (even with a couple of corrupted advisors) than random punters off after hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭fergalr

Elevator wrote: »
    shocking that this has been confirmed to be a sham, I'm ashamed to be human and ashamed that we have to put up with goverments telling us what to do "for our own good" when everywhere ya look we are being raped/poisoned for the money that big business has created. it will be every man for himself someday soon. this charade shouldn't be let continue
    I think it's pretty obvious that it was blown out of proportion at the time. And both the mainstream media and big-pharma used fear to sell their wares
    df1985 wrote: »
    not suprised, plenty of conspiracy theories that they have cures for a lot of diseases too.
    Resi12 wrote: »
    I'm not surprised, I thought as much. I really think Swine Flu was never as bad as they made out, it was simply the media using fear to get people to generate money into one of the worst economies in decades. Glad I never got that useless vaccine.

Right.
    So the whole thing was a grand conspiracy?

Swine flu turned out to have a lower mortality rate than was originally feared. When people were initially very concerned about it (April) it was because it was mainly seen in mexico, and there was little data on the number of people infected vs the total deaths. All that was known was that there were many deaths, and it appears to be spreading fast.

Considering how small the world is these days, if a new virus that causes many deaths (though with unknown mortality rate), and spreads fast, appears, it makes sense to be extremely paranoid about it, until better data is available.

In a short time it became apparent that swine flu wasn't going to have a high mortality rate, at least in developed countries.
    I would agree that at this point, that the media hype machine should have stood down. It didn't. Unfortunately, the medias first concern is sales and readership, not to accurately inform the public.

But please don't be like the villagers in the story of 'the boy who cried wolf' and ignore the cries the next time, and find all your sheep eaten.
    Don't write the whole thing off as a conspiracy - there was an unknown risk at the start, there was a spreading virus, and it makes sense for humanity to take such risks seriously.

People have criticised the pandemic declaration a lot here.
    Its actually quite balanced, and doesn't read like some sort of effort to whip up hype as part of a conspiracy.

Some excerpts of the pandemic declaration itself, which is getting criticised here:
    Globally, we have good reason to believe that this pandemic, at least in its early days, will be of moderate severity. As we know from experience, severity can vary, depending on many factors, from one country to another.
    On present evidence, the overwhelming majority of patients experience mild symptoms and make a rapid and full recovery, often in the absence of any form of medical treatment.
    Worldwide, the number of deaths is small. Each and every one of these deaths is tragic, and we have to brace ourselves to see more. However, we do not expect to see a sudden and dramatic jump in the number of severe or fatal infections.
    Finally, and perhaps of greatest concern, we do not know how this virus will behave under conditions typically found in the developing world. To date, the vast majority of cases have been detected and investigated in comparatively well-off countries.
    Let me underscore two of many reasons for this concern. First, more than 99% of maternal deaths, which are a marker of poor quality care during pregnancy and childbirth, occurs in the developing world.
    Second, around 85% of the burden of chronic diseases is concentrated in low- and middle-income countries.
    Although the pandemic appears to have moderate severity in comparatively well-off countries, it is prudent to anticipate a bleaker picture as the virus spreads to areas with limited resources, poor health care, and a high prevalence of underlying medical problems.
    http://www.who.int/mediacentre/news/statements/2009/h1n1_pandemic_phase6_20090611/en/index.html

Whether it was the best course of action to declare a pandemic or not, its hard to accuse that declaration of being scaremongering or way over the top.

They were mainly worried about the developing world where access to health care is poor, by the time the declared a pandemic.
    (Maybe we don't care about deaths in the developing world, as long as our friends don't die?)

Should the vaccine have been pushed as much as it was? That's certainly debatable - its non trivial to reason about the cost/benefit of a vaccine like that. (eg: How many lives have to be saved before it makes sense spending money on a vaccine? 10000? 100? 1? Whats the risk of administering the vaccine? How many lives will a vaccine save? Hard questions.)

Should the general media hype have been stood down quicker, and the health warnings everywhere removed? I personally think it should. It pisses me off to still see government swine flu warnings everywhere, as it erodes the public trust in such - although the general precautions advised (wash your hands, cover your cough etc) are worth following generally.

Was the whole thing a big conspiracy or a hoax, and hence we should ignore future emerging virus warnings? No, absolutely not. Thats rubbish.

If you don't listen to the scientific consensus next time there's a looming possible pandemic, then, who the hell do you listen to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

that's not particularly damning and very different to the link posted by the op.

I don't personally believe the accusations, however I do think that swine flu was completely blown out of proportion... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

WTF?!

There must be some way of blaming FF for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Of course they're gonna push their product. It's a business, it's no more disgusting than any advertisements you see out there. What about Dettol showing images of huge amounts of dirt and bacteria on the babys chair? That's pretty bad scaremongering.
    I'm not condoning it, but don't pick it out like it's a once off event. The whole system is built on scaring people. It's a ****e state of affairs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

ye got me :rolleyes: I suppose the Iraq war was about oil too? ....oh not wait it was which is better to have been shafted and not know about it..or be shafted know about and not be able to in anyway influence any outome or do anything about it? I go with the second one, and let others wreck their heads trying to save the whales world :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

this stuff works both ways. people were scaremongered into avoiding the MMR vaccine by the work of andrew wakefield, who was being paid by firms pushing their own agenda.
    years later, the incidence of measles in kids is higher and finally dr wakefield has been struck off. the lancet have apologised for publishing it.

True. People still believe Wakefield and are awaiting new studies from him. If Big Pharma is as dodgy as the OP suggests, Wakefield is as well, some don't seem to see that.
    fergalr wrote: »
    Right.
    So the whole thing was a grand conspiracy?

Swine flu turned out to have a lower mortality rate than was originally feared. When people were initially very concerned about it (April) it was because it was mainly seen in mexico, and there was little data on the number of people infected vs the total deaths. All that was known was that there were many deaths, and it appears to be spreading fast.

Considering how small the world is these days, if a new virus that causes many deaths (though with unknown mortality rate), and spreads fast, appears, it makes sense to be extremely paranoid about it, until better data is available.

In a short time it became apparent that swine flu wasn't going to have a high mortality rate, at least in developed countries.
    I would agree that at this point, that the media hype machine should have stood down. It didn't. Unfortunately, the medias first concern is sales and readership, not to accurately inform the public.

But please don't be like the villagers in the story of 'the boy who cried wolf' and ignore the cries the next time, and find all your sheep eaten.
    Don't write the whole thing off as a conspiracy - there was an unknown risk at the start, there was a spreading virus, and it makes sense for humanity to take such risks seriously.

People have criticised the pandemic declaration a lot here.
    Its actually quite balanced, and doesn't read like some sort of effort to whip up hype as part of a conspiracy.

Some excerpts of the pandemic declaration itself, which is getting criticised here:

http://www.who.int/mediacentre/news/statements/2009/h1n1_pandemic_phase6_20090611/en/index.html

Whether it was the best course of action to declare a pandemic or not, its hard to accuse that declaration of being scaremongering or way over the top.

They were mainly worried about the developing world where access to health care is poor, by the time the declared a pandemic.
    (Maybe we don't care about deaths in the developing world, as long as our friends don't die?)

Should the vaccine have been pushed as much as it was? That's certainly debatable - its non trivial to reason about the cost/benefit of a vaccine like that. (eg: How many lives have to be saved before it makes sense spending money on a vaccine? 10000? 100? 1? Whats the risk of administering the vaccine? How many lives will a vaccine save? Hard questions.)

Should the general media hype have been stood down quicker, and the health warnings everywhere removed? I personally think it should. It pisses me off to still see government swine flu warnings everywhere, as it erodes the public trust in such - although the general precautions advised (wash your hands, cover your cough etc) are worth following generally.

Was the whole thing a big conspiracy or a hoax, and hence we should ignore future emerging virus warnings? No, absolutely not. Thats rubbish.

If you don't listen to the scientific consensus next time there's a looming possible pandemic, then, who the hell do you listen to?

I'd agree there. I hope it doesn't do damage if a serious virus does hit here. The media who scare mongered about the dangers of the vaccine, will now grab onto this, even though the vaccine was safe.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

No surprise at all over this report findings really, I was one of the very few at work that refused a vacine. To use the words from a Public Enemy tune - ''Don't believe the hype.''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

No surprise at all over this report findings really, I was one of the very few at work that refused a vacine. To use the words from a Public Enemy tune - ''Don't believe the hype.''

a woman that i work with refused to get it because she heard that the government/new world order had put microchips into the vaccine to keep an eye on her. even when i'm in the same room as her i don't want to look at her, i've no idea why anyone else would either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

WTF?!

saying this has and will keep happening for years, hence the swine flu outburst.

Dont thank me whatever you do. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

I can't believe people are surprised about this, can't wait to say 'I told you so' to all the people that berated me for refusing to get the vaccine. And belive me there were alot of them!

Maybe I'll start with the meanies over on this thread who tore me to peices over it :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Criticism of the article here

If there's a group of vested interests more untrustworthy than big pharma, it's the pushers of quack medicine and holistic remedies (many of whom are actually owned by Merck, Pfizer et al.) Natuaralnews.com has lost the benefit of the doubt a long, long time ago, and should not be taken as reliable source for anything. Ever.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

It is understanable why people are cynical about 'scientific' reports these days, there's so many vested interests and the pharmacutical industry is such a huge and powerful one. I take most things with a grain of salt tbh
    You should probably moderate your sodium intake levels.