Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wexford vs Dublin Leinster Football Championship

• 05-06-2010 6:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭

First game for both teams in this years championship. Other than Paddy Byrne and Kieran Kennedy Wexford have a full squad to pick from. Wexford have beaten Cavan and Kildare (reserves) in recent challenge games, but lost to Fermanagh.

This will be my first championship game since 2008 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭mattock

Welcome back Cruiser,

Could this year be the year of the underdog, Possibly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Can't see Wexford doing much against us to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

It will be an interesting game.We don't know the full potential of this new Dublin team yet until we've seen them play in Croke Park in the heat of championship.I think we just have too many quality players to stop the biggest threat which is Wexford full forward line.Lyng is carrying a knock and Mattie Forde is only recently back from a long term injury.

Dublins defense just looks too strong and formidable.We know the Ross O Carroll will start and probably McMahon,Fitzsimons or Paul Conlon.Meanwhile half backs look quite good too.I'm expecting to see Cahill,O Sullivan and Brennan line out.

This leaves midfield with Fennell partnering Magee (I'd imagine) or Ross McConnell.McAulay in the half forwards along with Hubbard and Henry (wouldn't surprise me to see him back in the corner back position either) or possibly Alan Brogan (slightly injured).

Full forward line consisting of Kev McManoman,Bernard Brogan and Conal Keaney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Ah yes, Wexford/Dublin. Reminds me of the time I was laughed at by everyone for my prediction and put a bet on with Cruiserweight that Dublin would beat Wexford by more than 10 points. They ended up winning by 23:D

That wont happen this time, even though this Wexford team is weaker.

Dublin by 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Ah yes, Wexford/Dublin. Reminds me of the time I was laughed at by everyone for my prediction and put a bet on with Cruiserweight that Dublin would beat Wexford by more than 10 points. They ended up winning by 23:D

Waiting for someone to mention that last meeting, turned out that the result of that game was not a true reflection of either teams form, Wexford making the All Ireland semi finals and Dublin well ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Im unsure of what shape Wexford are in. I believe Dublin will win, but you can never be sure !

My preferred Dublin team for the day, injury permitting !

Cluxton

Conlon
    O'Carroll
    O Carroll

Casey
    O Sullivan
    Cahill

Fennell
    McConnell

Henry
    McCauley
    Bonner

A.Brogan
    B.Brogan
    K.McManamon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Het-Field wrote: »
    Im unsure of what shape Wexford are in. I believe Dublin will win, but you can never be sure !

Cluxton

Conlon
    O'Carroll
    O Carroll

Casey
    O Sullivan
    Cahill

Fennell
    McConnell

Henry
    McCauley
    Bonner

A.Brogan
    B.Brogan
    K.McManamon

Good team. And I agree. Wexford will be up for this. Should be a good game. First game of the championship, both teams will be fired up. Would not be surprised to see a Wexford win here.

Interesting to see the line ups later in the week, I am expecting some suprises

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/gilroy-poised-to-put-faith-in-dublin-rookies-2211107.html
    DUBLIN boss Pat Gilroy is expected to include at last three championship debutants -- and possibly give Denis Bastick another new role in defence -- when he announces his team to play Wexford tomorrow.

He has a hamstring injury worry over rising Kilmacud -- and All-Ireland-winning county U-21 -- star Cian O'Sullivan, who had established himself as first-choice centre-back during this year's National League.

O'Sullivan's absence would force a reshuffle on the half-back line and Bastick, who started out in midfield for the county but played full-back last summer, could yet be asked to fill in at wing-back. Philip McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams) and Kevin McManamon (St Judes), both regulars during the National League, are expected to get their first championship starts at corner-back and corner-forward respectively.

And Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala), who won an All-Ireland junior medal two years ago, is also expected to make his championship debut at corner-back after showing good form since the end of the NFL.

Eamon Fennell and Ross McConnell are the obvious choices in midfield and Bernard Brogan and Conal Keaney should start in the full-forward line alongside McManamon.

With Paul Flynn doubtful after a hamstring problem, there could be a big vacancy at centre-forward, especially as it is believed that Dublin will not risk starting Alan Brogan, who has had an injury-disrupted season.

David Henry, who has been converted from a corner-back to a forward this season, should be included in the half-forwards, where Alan Hubbard is also expected to start.

There is increasing speculation in Wexford that manager Jason Ryan will start Matty Forde, despite the fact that he is not long back after an extended lay-off when he had surgery on the back injury that threatened to end his stellar career.

Forde has played in four challenge matches for the county in recent weeks, raising hopes that he may about to make his long-awaited return, but Ryan still has other injury worries.

He is definitely without Ciaran Kennedy and Paddy Byrne, while David Walsh and Ben Brosnan, who has made a name for himself in attack this year, are two with muscle injuries.

Corner-back Niall Murphy is believed to be Wexford's newest worry after injuring his ankle in training last week, but one boost is that Adrian Morrissey and full-back Graham Molloy have both recently returned from long injury lay-offs.

Interesting to see the line ups later in the week, I am expecting some suprises

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/gilroy-poised-to-put-faith-in-dublin-rookies-2211107.html

Why Gilroy would start with Bastick over Cullen or Brennan is beyond me ?

Think this would be the best starting 15 for this game.

Cluxton

McMahon
    O Carroll
    Fitzsimons

Cahill
    O Sullivan
    Brennan

Fennell
    Magee

Henry
    McAulay
    Hubbard

Keaney
    Bernard Brogan
    Kevin McManoman

Subs

1.Conlon
    2.Blaine Kelly
    3.Ross McConnell
    4.Alan Brogan
    5.Mossy Quinn

Probably because he would rate Bastic as a better catcher of the ball and more used to a central position.

Dublin team has been named, a lot of new faces

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2010/0609/dublin_wexford.html
    Dublin manager Pat Gilroy has named a new-look starting line-up for the Leinster SFC clash against Wexford on Sunday.

Five players have been handed Championship debuts for the Metropolitans' Croke Park engagement.

The full-back line has been completely overhauled and includes Mick Fitzsimons, Philly McMahon and Rory O'Carroll.

Niall Corkery and Kevin McManamon will make their Championship debuts in attack.

Gilroy held a press conference in the capital this morning and revealed that his starting 15 was based purely on recent form - shown both in the league and in training.

Indeed only eight of the players who started in last year's All-Ireland SFC quarter-final mauling against Kerry retain their places.

Stephen Cluxton, Denis Bastick, David Henry, Barry Cahill, Ross McConnell, Paul Flynn, Conal Keaney, and Bernard Brogan will feature from the thrown-in of the second match on Croke Park's double-header.

Kevin Bonner, Paul Casey, Ross O'Carroll, Alan Hubbard and Darren Magee were not considered for selection due to injury.

DUBLIN team to face Laois in the Leinster SFC at Croke Park on Sunday, throw-in 4pm:

Stephen Cluxton (Parnell's)
    Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
    Rory O'Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes)
    Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)
    Denis Bastick (Templeogue Synge St)
    Cian O'Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
    Barry Cahill (St Brigid's)
    Eamon Fennell (O'Toole's)
    Ross McConnell (St Oliver Plunkett's/Eoghan Ruadh)
    Niall Corkery (Kilmacucd Crokes)
    David Henry (Raheny)
    Paul Flynn (Fingallians)
    Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St Enda's)
    Bernard Brogan (St Oliver Plunkett's/Eoghan Ruadh)
    Kevin McManamon (St Jude's)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

I see RTÉ reckon we're playing both Wexford and Laois on Sunday! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

It looks a strong enough team and almost the same team that performed so well against Tyrone in the last round of League games. If Lyng and Forde play it should really test the inexperienced Dublin full back line.

Think the Dubs will win by about 3 to 4 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

when did cullen rejoin the squad?team was announced earlier btw.as expected pretty much.

Tristram wrote: »
    when did cullen rejoin the squad?team was announced earlier btw.as expected pretty much.

He came back in the weeks after the injury which was supposed to keep him out for the season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

DUBLIN (SFC v Wexford)
    Stephen Cluxton (Parnell’s)
    Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
    Rory O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes)
    Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)
    Denis Bastick (Templeogue Synge St)
    Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
    Barry Cahill (St Brigid’s)
    Eamon Fennell (O’Toole’s)
    Ross McConnell (St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh)
    Niall Corkery (Kilmacud Crokes)
    David Henry (Raheny)
    Paul Flynn (Fingallians)
    Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
    Bernard Brogan (St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh)
    Kevin McManamon (St Jude’s)

Is McCauley injured or something? I thought on league form he earned his place in the starting line up.

He came back in the weeks after the injury which was supposed to keep him out for the season.

was he not supposed to have surgery on his back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Marse wrote: »
    Is McCauley injured or something? I thought on league form he earned his place in the starting line up.

Not as far as I know. He kind of fell out of favour towards the end of the league campaign with Gilroy preferring to use him as an impact sub. I'd much prefer to see him in midfield ahead of Ross McConnell though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

The Dublin team isn't very good. Where is Griffin?

Orizio wrote: »
    The Dublin team isn't very good. Where is Griffin?

Tore his cruciate in the league and is out for the rest of the year. Alan Brogan has also been out injured and wont last the 70, which is why he's on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

That Dublin team looks weak on paper, but that could be mainly because a few of them are fairly new to this level and the team has a bit of an unfamiliar look to it.

But I think Gilroy is right to shake things up and get rid of some of the dead wood, there's only so many chances any player can be given until he becomes surplus to requirements.

As much as it doesn't look a great Dublin team, I'd expect them to win on Sunday for the simple reason that Wexford probably won't be good enough to beat them. Even if Dublin aren't at their best (and they probably won't be) they should still have enough in the tank to see off Wexford. If Meath beat Laois, and I'm sure they will, then they will be a much bigger test.

think people are wrong about thir team.stronger than last year in my opinion.we will find out over the summer!

The only reason im holding out hope for this team is on the basis of some of the league performances.Having a proper fullback and a very talented center-half is a relief. I cant believe that it is five years since Paddy Christie left, and we have had no fewer then four different incumbents of the full-back position in the championship.

McManamon is a strong forward, who is good on the turn. He could be a bit of a suprise package !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Dublin Red Hand

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kDJrEh91GwE - Sean Boylan on the new Dubs, Meath and Sam.

Wexford team named

http://wexford.gaa.ie/
    The Wexford team to play Dublin in the quarter-final of the 2010 Leinster Football championship has two debutants and sees the long overdue return of the Kilanerin man, Matty Forde who missed the whole of last year and the league campaign this year though injury.

Joey Wadding (St. Fintan’s) and Daithí Waters (St. Martin’s) start the championship for the first time at corner back and mid-field respectfully.

The team shows a familiar look with David Murphy, this year taking the Captain’s role, lining out at centre back with Red Barry at centre forward and PJ Banville at full forward.

A lot will be expected from Ciarán Lyng and Matty Forde on the corners as Wexford aim to overthrow Dublin in their own back Garden.

The throw-in for this game is at 4pm. in Croke Park.

Loch Garman Abú:

Wexford SF: 1. Anthony Masterson, 2. Joey Wadding, 3. Graeme Molloy, 4. Brian Malone, 5. Colm Morris, 6. David Murphy (Capt.) 7.Aindreas Doyle, 8. Daithí Waters, 9. Eric Bradley, 10. Shane Roche, 11. Redmond Bary, 12. Adrian Flynn, 13. Ciarán Lyng, 14. PJ Banville, 15. Matty Forde

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Good to see Mattie and Red Barry in there, with those tow in the forwrd line Wexford should make a game of it.

I have a few concerns about the defence and midfield on the Wexford team, especially when it comes to winning the ball in the middle third. Although looking at the line up, I would expect Flynn to drop back around the half back line/midfield, with one of the full forward line dropping out to the half forward line leaving two inside. We will wait and see anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

That's a very strong full forward line, and if Wexford can get enough ball in to those three they could cause alot of problems for an inexperienced Dublin fullback line. The aim should be quick ball in to those 3 at every oppportunity. If they can do that, they could certainly make a game of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Just found out i cant get down for this game feckin ragin, does anyone know if its on the box or is it all world cup shíte on?

GAAman wrote: »
    Just found out i cant get down for this game feckin ragin, does anyone know if its on the box or is it all world cup shíte on?

It's on TV3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭targus

Cluxton

Conlon
    O'Carroll
    O Carroll

Casey
    O Sullivan
    Cahill

Fennell
    McConnell

Henry
    McCauley
    Bonner

A.Brogan
    B.Brogan
    K.McManamon

It has been well publicised Ross o Carroll is injured..Casey hasnt featured in the league at all apart from a brief spell as a stop gap full back.Bonner the same, how you would pick Bonner ahead of Flynn is beyond me.you clearly dont know your football.he has been one of Dublin's best players in recent times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

An Citeog wrote: »
    It's on TV3.

Many thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

TV3 have all the Dublin matches. Hopefully you'll get down to see the others.

targus wrote: »
    It has been well publicised Ross o Carroll is injured..Casey hasnt featured in the league at all apart from a brief spell as a stop gap full back.Bonner the same, how you would pick Bonner ahead of Flynn is beyond me.you clearly dont know your football.he has been one of Dublin's best players in recent times.

Bonner is as close to Paul Galvin as Dublin has. Dont get me wrong, he is a more limited all round player, however, his ability to sweep up breaking ball is second to none. He is also able to play at Full-Foward which would allow for the withdrawal of Bernard Brogan to the half forwards if needs-be. Although it was enforced against Kildare, Brogan was shown to be very deadly at Half-Forward

I was under the impression that O Carroll was to be back within four weeks of the 3rd of May when the injury was first publicised, otherwise I never would have put him in the line up.

Wrong, Casey was playing at Right-Half in the game against Tyrone, his spell in full-back was in the O Byrne Cup. The only reason for the absence is the injury which came to my attention after I composed the above team

Leaving for the airport now, really looking forward to this, no pressure and nothing to lose ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Is this on today lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Meath v Laois at 2pm and Dublin v Wexford at 4pm, both in Croke Park. It is definitely on today. A big day it will be. Likely to be a few of us meeting afterwards too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Flukey wrote: »
    Meath v Laois at 2pm and Dublin v Wexford at 4pm, both in Croke Park. It is definitely on today. A big day it will be. Likely to be a few of us meeting afterwards too.

Thanks Flukey,looking forward to it now. I can kiss goodbye to my leaving cert tomorrow so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Come on da yella-bellies !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Oh God, what a hilarious iPad demonstration, with plenty of close-ups.

FFS, is it not bad enough that we have to put up with adverts 5 or 6 times during the course of the coverage of the match AND pay them a licence fee...

Now they are working advertising into the actual programme itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Oh God, what a hilarious iPad demonstration, with plenty of close-ups.

FFS, is it not bad enough that we have to put up with adverts 5 or 6 times during the course of the coverage of the match AND pay them a licence fee...

Now they are working advertising into the actual programme itself.

TV3 don't get the licence fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Great to see Matty back at his best !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Matty bang in form today.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Slim Charles

Another wide for the Dubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,241 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Gwan de Yellow Bellies beasts of men:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭mattock

Wexford 0-7 Dublin 0-2, the dubs are pure sh1te, the leinster championship is there for the taking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭DancingQueen:)

Dreadful first half for the Dubs, Wexford are running circles around them!

Lovely point

Dublin look a bit lead footed, over trained?