Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

World Cup Draft Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,577 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I just knew Frisbee would pick him. :(

Now I have a headache over 2 guys but I will have my pick up soon so don't worry eagle eye. ;)

It was a very tough one for me, was between three players and spent my entire shift in Work thinking about the pro's and con's and Rooney pipped it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Voltwad wrote: »
    I can just see him arguing with Howard Webb for sending him off having put Ronaldo in a figure four leg lock.

Can you imagine how much of a diver Flair would be. :pac:

Imagine Jimmy Magee "Young Richard Flair, the dirtiest player in the game.":pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,065 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Still think the 24 hour limit is too long, doubt this will be done before the world cup starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

There are 2 players i literally can't believe haven't been picked yet

titan18 wrote: »
    Still think the 24 hour limit is too long, doubt this will be done before the world cup starts.

12 probably would have been better alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

12 once we settle into things i'd say - once the first round is out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I wouldn't be in favour of 12 hours, especially in the summer. I'm a night owl so If I pick at 3am and someone isn't online until the following day when they get home from work, they are screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Just wondering about the order guys - I know the second round starts with the last person to pick in the first; but does the third round start with the last person who picked in the second (i.e. me)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Just wondering about the order guys - I know the second round starts with the last person to pick in the first; but does the third round start with the last person who picked in the second (i.e. me)?
    Correctamundo

Quick question on the rules:
    With regards to assessing someone else’s team, you should take into account their performance at international level as well as their league form in the run up to the tournament.

Do we just take into account their league form this season?

I'd go with around 6 and stop the clock at night at like 1 and restart it at 8.If people see that they might be up in the morning the night before, they can leave a proxy pick with someone who'd be around.

I'd have no problem aswell with giving my number or email address to people next to me in the draft as that would make it run smoother.

I don't know if I'm the only one who thinks it should be done before the world cup starts, if I am, then ignore the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I'd go with around 6 and stop the clock at night at like 1 and restart it at 8.If people see that they might be up in the morning the night before, they can leave a proxy pick with someone who'd be around.

I'd have no problem aswell with giving my number or email address to people next to me in the draft as that would make it run smoother.

I don't know if I'm the only one who thinks it should be done before the world cup starts, if I am, then ignore the above.

Why the hurry to have it finished before the WC?

If the PW draft is anything to go by you'll want it to drag out as long as possible.

flahavaj wrote: »
    Why the hurry to have it finished before the WC?

If the PW draft is anything to go by you'll want it to drag out as long as possible.

Exactly.

24 hours is grand really, we don't need it done by the WC. Infact having it run during the WC could lead to some interesting picks if a relative unknown is having a good tournament.

Frisbee wrote: »
    Exactly.

24 hours is grand really, we don't need it done by the WC. Infact having it run during the WC could lead to some interesting picks if a relative unknown is having a good tournament.

That's kinda why I think it should be done before the start.Lets say if someone comes OTC at 12 and there's the matches then at 1.30,4 and 8.30, with a 24 hour clock, that person could run the clock through all those matches, and then pick someone who's played the best in those matches that is still available.

Or let's say how some players have been taken already with a good chance that they'll be out of the group during the Group stages.If someone is out after the first 2 matches, you're not going to take them, whereas you might have before the tournament as you like the player or fancied the country for an upset.

I don't mind if we continue on as it is anyway, so if I'm the only one with a slight problem with it, let's continue on and have fun.I've been involved in a few of these types of games and they're always good craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,024 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

That's kinda why I think it should be done before the start.Lets say if someone comes OTC at 12 and there's the matches then at 1.30,4 and 8.30, with a 24 hour clock, that person could run the clock through all those matches, and then pick someone who's played the best in those matches that is still available.

Or let's say how some players have been taken already with a good chance that they'll be out of the group during the Group stages.If someone is out after the first 2 matches, you're not going to take them, whereas you might have before the tournament as you like the player or fancied the country for an upset.

I don't mind if we continue on as it is anyway, so if I'm the only one with a slight problem with it, let's continue on and have fun.I've been involved in a few of these types of games and they're always good craic.

LOL, not a hope of having this finished by the start of the tournament, might get finished by the end if we go really well!!

I'll have my pick up shortly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

No chance of this being done within a week. If the goal is to hurry it along we'd be better off naming a day, say Monday, and requesting all participants be on at a specific time and just try to plough through as many picks as possible. Even then there's no guarantee it would work as some are living in different parts of the world.

Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    LOL, not a hope of having this finished by the start of the tournament, might get finished by the end if we go really well!!

I'll have my pick up shortly

Ya, I suppose.I think it's possible though to have it finished by the time each team has played 1 game, and definately by each team's 2nd game is over.I do a 32 team NFL one and this year we had the first 220 picks done in 17 days, so I think it's possible to go faster here as there should be a shorter turn around between each team's pick.

Pick made.

Cypher Sounds was supposed to be next but he is after pulling out so I guess Xavi is up next?

Maybe we could change the thread title to show that there is a space available?

Good idea

Also I know Xavi is on his holliers so I wouldn't expect a pick too soon.

Pick made.

Cypher Sounds was supposed to be next but he is after pulling out so I guess Xavi is up next?

Where's The Flah when you need him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,784 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

if there is a space left i would like to get in on this?

redzerdrog wrote: »
    if there is a space left i would like to get in on this?
    Yeah of course mate. Welcome :)

So redzerdrog is up next then?

Aye.

Redzer, it's courtesy to PM the next player after you've picked. So PM Xavi once you're done please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,784 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

pick made. hadnt a lot of time to think about it be happy with my choice!!

redzerdrog wrote: »
    pick made. hadnt a lot of time to think about it be happy with my choice!!

4 Spaniards in the first 8 picks, thats some going!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

No sign of Xavi yet, you were saying that he is on holidays Frisbee, does he know that it starts before Monday, because that was the initial idea I got from it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,115 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Also a few things im curious about... say you draft an injury prone player, id assume this doesent count against him when it comes to playoff matches against apponents as the other poster cant just say a well even if he might be able to tear my defender to shreds / easily handel my attacker the fact that he is injured so often counts against him can they?

also i saw it mentioned that both International for and the players form building up to the tournament in league football are to be considerd when judging a player... thus even if a player is quality will they not be judged as so if they have had a sh!te year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

So is the 24 hours thing being upheld? Because if so Xavi's are up :(

curry-muff wrote: »
    So is the 24 hours thing being upheld? Because if so Xavi's are up :(
    I'd be inclined to wait for him. Just for the first round.