Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who's up for recording another cover at Trackmix?

• 03-06-2010 3:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭

Hey all
    Seems to be lots of new heads on MP so it might be helpful to do another track in the studio.
    We would need drummer, bass, guitarist(s) and vocals and maybe keys.
    And, of course, an easy but good song to cover.
    We would do one day in the studio to track and get a rough mix then I would put the session files online so it could be downloaded and mixed.
    There is no problem if anyone wants to sit in on the session but not play anything.
    The studio has pro drums,cymbals,guitars,amps so you wouldn't need to bring anything unless you want to.
    See myspace.com/trackmixstudio for full gear list
    I would have time to do it in early/mid July.
    It would be great if somebody could take on the job of organizing the musicians etc as I am up to my ears at the moment (Fitz did a great job last time).
    Here is the thread from the last one if you missed it.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055498993
    Michael

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

sounds good.

ill take a few out here again for mixing.

nice one michael :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Aridstarling

I'd be well up for playing something, guitar or bass I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

Call me if you're absolutely desperate for a lead guitarist...like if everyone else loses their hands and arms. And even then I'll probably only manage the into to 'Ohio' by Neil Young. And it'll be sloppy as hell.

Seriously though, cool idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭PMI

Depending on time and day I could be up for an any instrument thing?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Sham Squire

If the date suits I'll volunteer vocals. Are we talking cover or is someone going to submit an original?

It's 'Ohio' by Neil Young, get thee learning! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Valcin

I could offer vocals if Sham Squire can't do it but I'd like to sit in on the session anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Clanket

Would love to sit in on this and have a go at mixing it after.

Also know someone from boards who can play bass and who Im sure would be interested.

Fair play to you Michael.

Al.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,344 ✭✭✭fitz

Would be up for getting involved in this again....guitar or vocal for me.
    Would it necessarily need to be a cover?

I've an original that I'd be happy to have people use as mix practice...I'd get the rest of the band in, so the music/musicians end of it would be sorted immediately, if that's something Mick would be ok with? Of course, it'd mean people would only be sitting in as opposed to taking part in tracking, but it'd also make tracking pretty straightforward with more time spent on mix.

Just an idea, I'm interested in taking part one way or another...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I'm a bass player and I'd be interested in taking part in this... depending on the song choice of course. :pac:

Bit fed up sittin' at home on me todd playing so I'm trying to get out and play with other musicians as much as possible. :)
    My stupid band keeps falling flat on it's arse... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Rockshamrover

Can I recommend a fairly simple song with not to many key changes and maybe some nice keyboard? Oh and straightforward backing vocals?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZxlmTrQ1LjQ&feature=related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Can I recommend a fairly simple song with not to many key changes and maybe some nice keyboard? Oh and straightforward backing vocals?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZxlmTrQ1LjQ&feature=related

Eurghhh... <shivers involuntarily>

I said on a previous thread that there is no good music & no bad music.... and that there's room for everything.

Well, based on this video, let me say... I was talking out of my a*se!

ZV Yoda wrote: »
    Eurghhh... <shivers involuntarily>

I said on a previous thread that there is no good music & no bad music.... and that there's room for everything.

Well, based on this video, let me say... I was talking out of my a*se!

There's an exception to every rule:D

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

Honestly a punk version of Crystal Swing would prolly storm the charts!

----

I only just noticed how much your man looks like a young steve coogan... wild.

MilanPan!c wrote: »

----

Crystal Sting.

You could do it for charity or something worthy like that.

Crystal Sting.

You could do it for charity or something worthy like that.

If you did it like 12XU it'd be a smash!

If only I had the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

----

They are supporting Dickie Rock in the Olympia in October. Perfect time to launch Crystal Sting, maybe get on the bill :D

Savman wrote: »
    They are supporting Dickie Rock in the Olympia in October. Perfect time to launch Crystal Sting, maybe get on the bill :D

Would you be the manager?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Would you be the manager?
    I can't as I don't have any cuban cigars. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭henessjon

im in pretty please

every body knows it i speak spanish

dates in advance pls i play this time !

Savman wrote: »
    I can't as I don't have any cuban cigars. :pac:

I can arrange something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Robin Ball

hey guys,

I can hit a drum or two!! Would love to play.

http://www.robinball.net

Robin Ball wrote: »
    hey guys,

I can hit a drum or two!! Would love to play.

http://www.robinball.net

I think you might be to inexperienced:D

Only joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Robin Ball

:p

I think you might be to inexperienced:D

Only joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭trackmixstudio

Looks like a go then.
    Will somebody volunteer to be "project manager" to organize who is playing what and what song we are doing. I will get a date sorted for july next week.

I don't mind doing the organising again...
    Mick, can you give us a date for this and then I'll pull together the players from who can make it on that date?

As for the song, how about My Hero by the Foos?
    It's pretty straightforward in terms of guitar/bass/vocals and shouldn't trouble a tight rock drummer.

Ahh do something challenging like Wake Up by Arcade Fire or some Bowie or ....

The Abbey Road melody!!!

MP, I think when dealing with a bunch of musicians who haven't rehearsed together it's best to just stick with something simple. I'd love to do an Incubus number, or 3 Libras by A Perfect Circle or something along those lines, but in the interests of getting the tracking done without issue, something a little more straighforward is the way to go...

Open to suggestions!

fitz wrote: »
    MP, I think when dealing with a bunch of musicians who haven't rehearsed together it's best to just stick with something simple. I'd love to do an Incubus number, or 3 Libras by A Perfect Circle or something along those lines, but in the interests of getting the tracking done without issue, something a little more straighforward is the way to go...

Open to suggestions!

How about

081227479725.jpg

How about Travelling Band by CCR?

Simple and kickass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭iamnothim

hey guys, this sounds like a bit of a laugh, would like to get involved. i do piano, electric piano, hammond and the likes.

hammond and piano in this video... http://blueroom.o2online.ie/LiveAndLoud.aspx?play=86413416001

Simple and kickass!

Sounds like someone is excited - better call the state militia!

Simple and kickass!

Not really a runner unless the forum has a brass section hiding somewhere.

I've got a GM alto sax you can borrow ;)

seriously though, replace it with guitar or something.. I mean if that's all that's stopping ye...

I'm gonna put producer hat on.
    Mick's giving his time and studio up for free.
    It's not a session for mucking around and seeing what works.

It has to be a track that has an arrangement that is replicatable on the day. Everyone tracking needs to come in with the parts on the original record down pat.
    Anything other than that and you're taking the piss with Mick's (and everyone elses) time.

You're really not thinking this through MP. It's not about doing something super-cool, it's about picking something that's achievable in the course of a 7 or 8 hour session with a bunch of musicians that have never met or played together, all the while with questions flying and a little bit of learning going on about the whole process... The point is not to come out with a cool, modern, creative take on a song, it's to give people a chance to work through the process, see how Mick works, learn a bit by watching him, asking questions and taking part. The track is secondary to all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

It has to be a track that has an arrangement that is replicatable on the day. Everyone tracking needs to come in with the parts on the original record down pat.
    Anything other than that and you're taking the piss with Mick's (and everyone elses) time.

You're really not thinking this through MP. It's not about doing something super-cool, it's about picking something that's achievable in the course of a 7 or 8 hour session with a bunch of musicians that have never met or played together, all the while with questions flying and a little bit of learning going on about the whole process... The point is not to come out with a cool, modern, creative take on a song, it's to give people a chance to work through the process, see how Mick works, learn a bit by watching him, asking questions and taking part. The track is secondary to all that.

Yip - spot on. I played drums on the last session with Fitz & the others. It's not about the song - it's about the tracking process. Choose a tune that’s fairly simple to play/sing – preferably something well-known so the other players will likely know it already.

Mick's giving up his studio/time, so you want to be sure you get the work done. The last thing you want is to walk away without getting everything tracked.

On our session, we chose Nickelback's "How you remind me". I don't think any of us were big Nickleback fans :p but we all knew the song. We all knew our parts before the session itself. As a result, we got all instruments/vox tracked in one or two takes each. This meant we had lots of time to ask Mick plenty of questions….a much more productive way to spend time than sitting around waiting for people to nail their takes. ;)

Sorry man, and everyone else, I was just talking about it.

My bad!

Really.

My bad!

Really.

yea go sit in the corner

dont collect 200 and dont pass go

My bad!

Really.

Was pretty much in favour of your idea - we gotta go big or go home! But I see the point in keeping it simple to promote best practice etc.

Do we know the song yet?

Open to suggestions!

Drive would be a good song choice, not too complicated.

I dig it...nice electric solo, lovely acoustic lines...great vocal harmonies...
    What do folk think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

What do folk think?

I'm not a massive incubus fan but this is a good song. I'm up for it, I'll give it a listen later and try pickup the bassline. :)

What do folk think?

drive band name?

does it have accoustic guitar and leccy one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Valcin

Not a big Incubus fan either but I reckon that song would be a good one to do.

Who's bringing the turntable?

"Wiki-wiki-home made bread"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭trackmixstudio

Thanks for taking this on Fitz.
    That incubus track is a bit too acoustic for my liking. I would prefer something with more electric guitar. How about Deftones "change"
    Killer song but fairly straight forward yet still challenging.
    We would need a few layers of guitar and even some synth so we could get more people involved.
    Would be great fun to mix too.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dEKIDQmKbfk&feature=related

I could suffer the incubus one cause it's straightforward enough but I cannot stomach that deftones yoke. How about something classic that everyone can take and that most people would have heard before. Stones, Doors, Van Morrison, you know the stuff I'm talking about. Pub rock covers fare. Just a suggestion.

make a list and vote?

trackmixstudio time & effort so your call

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

Thanks for taking this on Fitz.
    That incubus track is a bit too acoustic for my liking. I would prefer something with more electric guitar. How about Deftones "change"
    Killer song but fairly straight forward yet still challenging.
    We would need a few layers of guitar and even some synth so we could get more people involved.
    Would be great fun to mix too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QqQOI2qH9ug

white lies - a place to hide.

good solid indie track with crunchy guitars, synths and plenty of dynamics. and its not complicated at all.

Hmm, White Lies track is pretty dull I think. Given Mick's background, I think he'd prefer something along the hard rock lines...I'll go back to my original suggestion:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KVKDQgT_b-Y