Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speed Camera on M50 northbound

• 02-06-2010 5:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭

Just came home on the M50 NB and noticed new road markings for a permanent speed camera on the two auxiliary lanes going towards the M1 NB & SB.

Does anyone know if the camera has being installed & is active yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,755 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Well I haven't gotten a letter in the post yet, so I doubt it :P

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

drove by it this morning but didnt see the box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

Well I haven't gotten a letter in the post yet, so I doubt it :P

You better change your address quick so;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

I travel that bit of road every week so thanks for the heads up. Is it far from where the road splits between NB and SB?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

shedweller wrote: »
    I travel that bit of road every week so thanks for the heads up. Is it far from where the road splits between NB and SB?

it's right after the last VMS, where the old one used to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭911s

Just noticed those white lines this afternoon, check speedo - hit brakes - check mirror for flash!!. Don't think the lines were there yesterday. Looked across from opposite carriageway this evening but couldn't see 'grey box'. Are the lines in the 80 section or
    the 60 section?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

911s wrote: »
    Just noticed those white lines this afternoon, check speedo - hit brakes - check mirror for flash!!. Don't think the lines were there yesterday. Looked across from opposite carriageway this evening but couldn't see 'grey box'. Are the lines in the 80 section or
    the 60 section?

it's 100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭mumblin deaf ro

Between which junctions is it located?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Between which junctions is it located?

It's after the Ballymun on ramp, before the slip road for the M1 starts.

It's actually across all 4 lanes. Noticed it last night on my way home, but it was too busy to start looking around for the camera.

During rush hour you are lucky to be doing 100km/h at that stage. Thankfully it's still in the 100km/h zone. It's not too far away from where it changes to 80.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

So much for them going into accident zones rather than money making areas :mad:

To be fair, it's around the area where a lot of lane changing will be going on, so it's not the worst place for it to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

R.O.R wrote: »
    To be fair, it's around the area where a lot of lane changing will be going on, so it's not the worst place for it to be.
    Yeah, but it's a speed camera, not a miscellaneous careless driving camera. As we all know, speed is the only cause of accidents on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭I.S.T.

It's actually across all 4 lanes. Noticed it last night on my way home, but it was too busy to start looking around for the camera.

During rush hour you are lucky to be doing 100km/h at that stage. Thankfully it's still in the 100km/h zone. It's not too far away from where it changes to 80.

That sounds like the location where the fixed camera used to be. They removed it during the upgrade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭I.S.T.

It should only be placed there if accident statistics (based on the volume of traffic and number of accidents at the location) suggest it would improve safety.

I agree, but.........

I have already had a number of near misses around that area because of people not reading signs and then trying to dive in to the lane they want at the last second. Getting everyone down to a lower speed at that point means it's easier to concentrate on the traffic around and you have more chance to react before some 40ft artic comes in to the side of your car.

There has so far been 1 death further on up the road on slip towards the port tunnel. I haven't seen any reports, but I passed the truck lying on it's side and I suspect he was travelling too fast for the curve.

There has been at least one other collision in that area too since the junction was changed - I remember being held up for about 45 mins between Ballymun and the M1 north as all traffic had to go around a collision.

I'm not saying speed was definately the cause, but based on personal experience it can't hurt having the camera there. Just need to remember for journeys outside of rush hour, when it is quite safe to be going faster than the posted limit.

godtabh wrote: »
    drove by it this morning but didnt see the box
    Absurdum wrote: »
    it's right after the last VMS, where the old one used to be
    That sounds like the location where the fixed camera used to be. They removed it during the upgrade.
    Absurdum wrote: »
    it's 100

So just to summarize,

The markings are down on the four lanes, the markings are between Ballymun and the M1, the Camera when in place will be in the same position as the old camera just after the last VMS sign, and it's in the 100k zone.

There has so far been 1 death further on up the road on slip towards the port tunnel. I haven't seen any reports, but I passed the truck lying on it's side and I suspect he was travelling too fast for the curve.

I heard the driver had a heart attack, wondering if anyone else heard this?? If this is true then it was not a speed issue.
    There has been at least one other collision in that area too since the junction was changed - I remember being held up for about 45 mins between Ballymun and the M1 north as all traffic had to go around a collision.

The cause of most accidents at this point of the motorway will be driver awareness and not speed I've already lost count of how many time I've seen a driver cut across 5 lanes in the space of a few hundred meters, as per below,

5lanesin200m.jpg

IMO this will be the cause of most accident at this junction.

Just need to remember for journeys outside of rush hour, when it is quite safe to be going faster than the posted limit.

celticbest wrote: »
    5lanesin200m.jpg

IMO this will be the cause of most accident at this junction.

Without a doubt, but at least if everyone is doing less than 100kmph at that stage you'll have longer to react and take evasive action.

The speed camera will be at the 100km/h section not at the 80km/h section, therefore alot of people will still be travelling at 100km/h around this section, I know the speed limit on the bend is 60km/h.

If you have drivers cutting across 5 lanes of traffic no matter what speed somebody is travelling at an accident is bound to happen every now and again because of stupid driving.

We need the Guards to enforce the ROTR on motorways.

More often than not it is bad driving and not speed that is the cause of most motorway accidents.

If more drivers read road signage and moved into the correct lane at the appropriate time, while using one of the most important things you learnt when you started driving, 'mirror, signal, mirror, manoeuvre' there would be a hell of a lot less accidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,155 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

If more drivers read road signage and moved into the correct lane at the appropriate time, while using one of the most important things you learnt when you started driving, 'mirror, signal, mirror, manoeuvre' there would be a hell of a lot less accidents.

From the driving I've seen recently it's manoeuvre.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

Any on the southbound? Done some 'lively' driving recently

congo_90 wrote: »

I haven't seen any but I only normally travel as far as Ballymount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

congo_90 wrote: »

None last night anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

Anyone know if a camera is up yet? I didnt see any yet.

axer wrote: »
    Anyone know if a camera is up yet? I didnt see any yet.

It was not in place last night, I'm keeping an eye out for it each evening on my way home from work, at least it is on the 100km/h stretch before the reduced limits for junction 3 (M1/N32).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 bistrita

passed two times in the last days (Wednesday and Friday) on both directions but failed to see any camera on the side or on top of the overhead signage bridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Passed this part of the M50 northbound twice and havent seen any cameras

Just wondering if anybody knows if the camera's have been installed yet??

Didn't see anything this morning anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

*thread vamp, sorry mods*

Does anybody know if the camera is up and running? I fairly ploughed into the lines just before the turnoff for the M1/Airport at just below 70mph. I didn't notice my speed because I was watching some driver do some crazy sh*t in front of me. I should have been more careful, no excuses if the points are coming for me but since I don't drive the road all that often I figured I might as well ask in here. A quick glance behind me says no *crosses fingers*

*thread vamp, sorry mods*

Does anybody know if the camera is up and running? I fairly ploughed into the lines just before the turnoff for the M1/Airport at just below 70mph. I didn't notice my speed because I was watching some driver do some crazy sh*t in front of me. I should have been more careful, no excuses if the points are coming for me but since I don't drive the road all that often I figured I might as well ask in here. A quick glance behind me says no *crosses fingers*

Still no sign of any camera on my way home yesterday evening so I think you should be alright this time....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Thanks for that, first time I've been on the M50 in about a year and I'd be rightly ticked off to get points & a notice over it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭unknownlegend

Folks, anyone know if this camera is installed and up and running yet? Very rarely use the m50 and just wondering if it's going to cost me 3e or 83e...
    A few other cars were going faster than me, all D reg as well, perhaps that's just wishful thinking though :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,414 ✭✭✭markpb

A few other cars were going faster than me, all D reg as well, perhaps that's just wishful thinking though :-)

D reg cars are extremely rare on a motorway around Dublin all right - you should be safe assuming they're all state cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Well it wasn't up last weekend........

Wasnt up this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭VinnyTGM

Does anyone know if this camera is up and running yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭GTE

There is one somewhere on the M1 from Belfast as well. Seems to be new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

bbk wrote: »
    There is one somewhere on the M1 from Belfast as well. Seems to be new.

That one has been there years !

Feck, Ive missed that a few times :S

Well it wasn't working two weeks ago today someone came barreling past me and stood on the brakes after the markings, there was no flash for him/her.

With any luck 130 didnt trip it so.

VinnyTGM wrote: »
    Does anyone know if this camera is up and running yet?
    Not as of 2am last night anyway.

With any luck 130 didnt trip it so.

As per your speedo ? then no chance.

Either that or sat nav speedo. I was actually running a test to see how off the main speedo was when I was reminded of the recent thread about it. Long journey :p

For the life of me I cant remember the results lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭VinnyTGM

axer wrote: »
    Not as of 2am last night anyway.
    I should be grand so, I went past this morning at 6am, a tad over the limit.

Anyone else notice the new speed camera road markings just before Junction 5 Blanchardstown SB ??

Mentioned over in the commuting forum. They said there were two small camera's but never mentioned markings on the road. I therefore took that to mean they were traffic flow camera's.

It wouldn't surprise me if they put in more markings further south going southbound as there were none on the south section up until now and two northbound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

I seen workers working around the speed camera site approaching Firhouse this morning, which would suggest it's going live shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭mondeo

hobochris wrote: »
    I seen workers working around the speed camera site approaching Firhouse this morning, which would suggest it's going live shortly.

I just passed it and there's no camera erected as far as I can see..