Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Constant Parties Wrecking my Head!!

• 30-05-2010 9:13pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭

A gaff two doors down is just starting yet another all night party. On a Sunday night. And of course it's the third or fourth being held over the past few weeks.

It's the usual case of "parents are away" and the mice will play. A huge group of young guys, all around leaving cert age, have poured into the place and it's starting to get rowdy.:(

Now, in case any one here think I'm a joyless auld spoilsport, I've done plenty of partying in my day. But at a reasonable time - like a Friday or Sat night and no loud music after 1am. A little consideration for the neighbours wouldn't go astray.:mad:

Anyone else p*ssed off royally by the neighbours partying? Any ideas of how to nip this crap in the bud?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Diall 999 and ask for the coast guard

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Call the garda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Knock on the door. You're not being a grump by asking for a bit of quiet on a work night. Different if it was a weekend maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I live in the country. My neighbours are a herd of cows. Sure they're noisy sometimes,but they shut up after a while. :pac:

Oh i've a Guard living on the other side of me. So no wild parties there either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

It's only 10 O'Clock Grandad

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Call the garda?

Meh...I've done that before. The Gardai don't seem to want to know frankly. They say it's a "local and civil matter" whatever that means. All they might do is call over and tell them to keep the noise down.

Like I said, I've no problem with parties and people having a good time, as long as it doesn't disturb the neighbours, many with small children, all night long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Golf club or baseball bat walk in to house , smash stereo , stare at the biggest one in there and tell them if you hear another sound you'll be back with your mates. It works ;)

*Actually don't do this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Go get some earplugs! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

I used to live in an apartment near enough to ucd and these 18 yr old brats moved in upstairs - complete dicks. The place had just been done up and had wooden floors so you could hear everything. The girls they hung out with were the worst for noise and they were always having counselling sessions on the stairs as one or other would be crying. The lot of them used to play drinking games the whole time and would be chanting "drink, drink, drink" etc. Maddening.
    Also, the most annoying thing about it was that the parties would start at lunchtime so you'd have to listen to them all day. At least at night you can wear earplugs and go asleep.
    I actually wrote a letter to them one day telling them that the girls they hung around with sounded like assholes. I just remembered that - lol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

It's only 10 O'Clock Grandad

Kids are trying to sleep at 10pm. I would go down and beat them. simple as.

It's a local and civil matter, tbh

gsxr1 wrote: »
    Kids are trying to sleep at 10pm. I would go down and beat them. simple as.

Yup there's nothing like a good beating to get the kids to go asleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

It's a thin line though, beating them into unconciousness and having to bring them to the A&E. Took years for me to find the balance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

lol..

had renters next door who refused to turn it down. When I knocked in, the lad came to the door . threw a few FU*Ks at him. told him if he woke up my babies again I would break his neck. Scared the **** outta him. needless to say. There was no more late night parties.

harse . nasty. effective.

we even became friends after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

gsxr1 wrote: »
    lol..

had renters next door who refused to turn it down. When I knocked in, the lad came to the door . threw a few FU*Ks at him. told him if he woke up my babies again I would break his neck. Scared the **** outta him. needless to say. There was no more late night parties.

harse . nasty. effective.

we even became friends after.

You're not Jack Bauer by any chance?:eek:
    http://elbee4.files.wordpress.com/2009/04/jackbauer8.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Now, in case any one here think I'm a joyless auld spoilsport,

Why on earth would we think that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Kazuma

Grass 'em up to the filth :pac:

stovelid wrote: »
    Why on earth would we think that?

*Off topic . You read the sun :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Go down, join the party and ride all the young uns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Kasabian wrote: »
    *Off topic . You read the sun :eek:

When you were 12, you took your animated soft-porn where you could find it, laddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭gollem_1975

Anyone else p*ssed off royally by the neighbours partying? Any ideas of how to nip this. crap in the bud?

yeah might seem a bit excessive but I'd say its got a good chance of working ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Publish the address in AH whenever they're having parties. Probably won't continue much longer.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Just rang the Gardai. They say they are powerless to do anything. WTF!!??:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

orourkeda wrote: »
    no do

I fear he may not be made of the key ingredients to pull it off :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Well, technically it's a matter for the local council. Strangely though, the council offices shut at 5pm on a friday and don't open again until 10am monday so you're sool.
    My auntie had troubles like this before, you need to start logging all the activity and can eventually get them taken to court.

Anything :eek: or just in this instance . Call in the Army or send them a tweet , facebook update or just show them this thread and cry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭TheZ

Ice Hockey Mask, boiler suit and Chainsaw - ring doorbell - start chainsaw
    When the guy opens the door and starts to scream, apologise and say you were looking for your friends' house where there is a fancy dress party

OP , PM me your mobile number , I'll ring you and you take the phone to the door and hand it to the first person you see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭jigglywoo

My alcoholic neighbour a few doors down likes to play music really loud with his front door open.
    The worst of it is he only owns one or two CDs so we're treated to Leona Lewis and Alexandra Burke on repeat all evening and night.
    I really feel like giving him a few new CDs.

jigglywoo wrote: »
    My alcoholic neighbour a few doors down likes to play music really loud with his front door open.
    The worst of it is he only owns one or two CDs so we're treated to Leona Lewis and Alexandra Burke on repeat all evening and night.
    I really feel like giving him a few new CDs.

Poor Louis , he hasn't been the same since Stephen died and found out Ronan isn't gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Kasabian wrote: »
    OP , PM me your mobile number , I'll ring you and you take the phone to the door and hand it to the first person you see

So he loses out on sleep,and he gets his mobile nicked. Great plan! :pac:

alwaysadub wrote: »
    So he loses out on sleep,and he gets his mobile nicked. Great plan! :pac:

I wanted to tell them about the thread so they could logon and see what the suggestions are to quiten them down . Might distract them long enough for the OP to fall asleep , poor fella must be wrecked .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 xhappyx

Not much you can do mate - just put in earplugs and mow the lawn at 9am to pay them back!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Considering it's more than likely pissing off your neighbors as well, I'd get up at around 7-8 since the vast majority of people would be up around then. Get an airhorn, go into their garden and blow the **** out that airhorn and **** with their hungover heads.

Then send them one of them freaky ransom type letters where the words are spelt with individual cut-out letters saying something like "You keep me up with your music, I'll wake you up with a airhorn"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Anyone else p*ssed off royally by the neighbours partying?
    Can't stand my neighbours... screeching kids, faulty alarms, tirelessly barking dogs, taking two hours to mow the lawn and they're never bloody finished building extensions or doing some other renovation crap... parties are thankfully very rare, but they make up for it the rest of the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I used to live beside a bunch of students when I started my first job many moons ago. They'd come in from the pub & start playing guitars, bongos, tamourines & sing from midnight till around 4 or 5 am.

It really affected my sleep & I was constantly waking up late & going into work tired & grumpy. Rang the Garda a few times & in fairness they did call around to them, but as soon as they'd leave, I'd hear them all whispering for a bit, then stifling their laughs, then 10 mins later, the music would start back up.

So, I decided to change tactics - for 2 weeks, I'd get up in the morning for work, position the stereo speakers to face the wall that divided the houses & put the same CD on repeat at full blast. I got copies of the most enoying songs I could find & play a different one, over & over again until I got home from work, 10 hours later.

Eventually one of them called around to ask if I could keep the music down during the day, to which I replied, "only if you keep it down after midnight".

Never had a problem after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I used to live beside a bunch of students when I started my first job many moons ago. They'd come in from the pub & start playing guitars, bongos, tamourines & sing from midnight till around 4 or 5 am.

It really affected my sleep & I was constantly waking up late & going into work tired & grumpy. Rang the Garda a few times & in fairness they did call around to them, but as soon as they'd leave, I'd hear them all whispering for a bit, then stifling their laughs, then 10 mins later, the music would start back up.

So, I decided to change tactics - for 2 weeks, I'd get up in the morning for work, position the stereo speakers to face the wall that divided the houses & put the same CD on repeat at full blast. I got copies of the most enoying songs I could find & play a different one, over & over again until I got home from work, 10 hours later.

Eventually one of them called around to ask if I could keep the music down during the day, to which I replied, "only if you keep it down after midnight".

Well played Sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

brilliant! you're making me want annoying neighbours now just so i could do this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

df1985 wrote: »
    brilliant! you're making me want annoying neighbours now just so i could do this!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Why dont you bring cans and join the party?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 itsmyopinion

I had the displeasure of having to put up with neighbours from hell too when i lived in a house converted into flats
    i worked full time and they seemed to party every sunday night i say party does just screaming your head off count as a party???
    anyway noise pollution is from 11pm so once midnight came i rang local garda station and said it to them held the phone out the door so they could hear the screaming and always found they where very good and came over and had a quiet word with the offenders
    didnt always work as they would be quiet until the next week and then they did the same maybe all the screaming was to do with the lack of brain cells???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭flowerific

The gardai don't call out unless you say you think they are dealing drugs or the party has spilled out onto the street ;)
    Renters ieside me had a party and yelling in the garden etc. Now I'm normally out on a Sat so doesn't bother me but as I was out on Fri was in. So at 4am I had had enough. I set my house burgular alarm off and their guest left 10mins later :D. Nothing worse than an alarm going off over their music.
    Oh yeh and seen as I'm off tomorrow and they are now in bed hungover I have my stereo blaring :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 itsmyopinion

great idea just a shame you have to do that everytime you want them to shut up :-(
    maybe i was lucky was living in rathmines at time and found the local garda very good and replied quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

great idea just a shame you have to do that everytime you want them to shut up :-(
    maybe i was lucky was living in rathmines at time and found the local garda very good and replied quickly

Banned for re-regging again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

A bomb scare might work.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

*turns up music louder* UNF! UNF! UNF! UNF!

Did you tell them about the girl lying half naked out the front?

That usually gets them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭cypharius

Can we stop blaming students in this thread? We have this problem too. Around the time of my Junior-Cert I was driven insane by a group of scum-bags having parties every other night. They had one before the night of the English exam I had oh so painfully been studying for.

I got a D.

Way I see it, what's wrong with Night-clubs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭YouTalkinToMe

holy god biddy.....by the way ur fookin thread is wreckenin my head ....jaysus if dennis hop was here ud fookin know a house party