Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what style do you hate?

• 30-05-2010 1:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭

i hate the 'indy and 'emo' style people, but indy(Mod Edit: Troll bait removed) people i dislike most. omg like skinny tie :rolleyes: skinny jeans :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Same As

Chavs - Tracksuit tucked into socks etc etc :rolleyes:. Enough said!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭gonnaplayrugby

and the best style is jeans or cantos or o'neils with a hoody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Rugby player style. Ha! Take that!

Seriously though, the whole D4 thing. Abercrombie/Ugg boots/lipsy dresses. How boring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

D4 girls - Aberzombies with hair that looks like it's been dragged backwards through a bush and everyone wearing the same pair of Uggs (paid for using Doddy's credit card).

D4 guys - rugby shirts (or polo shirts with popped collars) and tracksuit bottoms just make you look like a douchebag.

Skangers - Tracksuit bottoms tucked into ankle socks just looks retarded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭gonnaplayrugby

lol nd plz tell me wat ur style is kirbs?

Mod Edit: Plz dnt uz txtspk. It's not acceptable in this or anyother forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭miss5

Has to be chav, Their style is awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭muffy

and the best style is jeans or cantos or o'neils with a hoody

I find this "style" utterly tasteless.
    I also dislike the current trend amongst some girls who think it is super hipster to wear large wooly jumpers inside nightclubs and generally look scruffy...I'm all for going out looking casual but this is just trying too hard!

I appreciate when people have their own style and wear what suits them not what all their mates wear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

Poker straight bleached blonde hair, with orange tans. How can you tell them apart? It is like they're trying copy a WAG or someone off Hollyoaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭flag123

hate the scruffy surfer dude look with there curly matted hair, like just doesn't suit an Irish person, issued along with an Americanized accent. Get back to the farmer hat and jeans and watch a GAA match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

training gear - which encompasses tracksuits, canterbury/o'neills/sweatpants/jerseys they are only fit for the gym or when you're doing sporting activities.

bleached or ripped to bits jeans, the mid nineties were 15 years ago.

mini skits, leggings then justifying the ugg boots because "i am cold" ehh we live in ireland don't wear a mini skirt if you're going to bitch about being cold.

footwear for guys that use velcro, why oh why? my nephew is 5 and can tie his own shoes so no one should be wearing footwear that is tightened by velcro.

seriously long V-neck t-shirts on guys, don't mind a normal V-neck but some t-shirts take the absolute piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Since when do "knackers" have an "indy" look?:confused:

I hate the lad D4 style, tbh, it's grand if you're like 10 or 11, but not when you're over 17 years old, at most.

Goth, too, just can't stand the whole drearyness of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

Have to agree with the "dragged through a hedge" look with hair,I just don't see what's nice about it?!
    Usually teamed with leggings/jeggins being worn as trousers,ugh *shudder* or worn with just some massive hoodie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

I get wanting to be comfy but tracksuits/sportswear is for the gym not shopping/being seen in public. Girls who wear GAA tops etc...lord no.

Anyone whoe shops in Jane Norman should be shot :pac:

This style of clothing, it doesn't look good on anybody imo

de5350b364701bded10110798b4f9fefc874fba.pjpg

5361576212d51d8259fe6f1b6a400bf3cc1752e.pjpg

Also the sudden trend of dressing like boys? Wearing what is more than likely your brothers TopMan plaid shirt, a "vintage" t shirt and leggings, somewhat sloppy look with the backcombed hair that looks like you stuck your hand in a plug socket...no thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

Poker straight bleached blonde hair, with orange tans. How can you tell them apart? It is like they're trying copy a WAG or someone off Hollyoaks.

+1. I hate that style, teamed with fake plastic nails and fake eyelashes to finish off the look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

1yellowST_150x350.jpg
    Velour tracksuits:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I hate the look of 'no effort'. No make up, unstraightened hair, boring clothes. Life's too short to look plain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

While I do hate certain clothes, I wouldn't go so far as to say I hate the people wearing them. That's just ridiculous.

I don't likie tracksuits, uggs, etc. The usuals I guess :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭whatlliwear

I loathe those velour tracksuits too & Uggs. They're just so ugly! Ugh!

I also hate those really patterned tights. Ridiculous looking things.

Oh wow :eek: There is far too much going on with that outfit!

I have a confession, I think Uggs look really nice on girls with jeggings or leggings or whatever they're called.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭whatlliwear

Ya some girls can get away with them alright.. But most can't lol.
    And I hate when they get old & look all lob-sided..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

The combat like jeans tucked into socks with white flat sole shoes looks so stupid imo.

Tracksuit bottoms with a strippy polo jumper, complete junkie outfit.

These hats, I saw a guy wearing one in a club last week

TOPMAN+-+OVERSIZED+BEANIE.jpg

Looks like a big sagging tit hanging off the back of your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭littleoulme

OMG MY EYES MY EYES.

Did Rainbow brite become a brunette in her latter years.:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Sapsorrow

i hate the 'indy and 'emo' style people, but indy(normally knackers) people i dislike most. omg like skinny tie :rolleyes: skinny jeans :rolleyes:

Since when are knackers into the indy style? Maybe my idea of indy is different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

Sapsorrow wrote: »
    Since when are knackers into the indy style? Maybe my idea of indy is different.

And mine too...I've never seen knackers dress in indy style.

seanbmc wrote: »
    The combat like jeans tucked into socks with white flat sole shoes looks so stupid imo.

Tracksuit bottoms with a strippy polo jumper, complete junkie outfit.

These hats, I saw a guy wearing one in a club last week

TOPMAN+-+OVERSIZED+BEANIE.jpg

Looks like a big sagging tit hanging off the back of your head.

My crush wears that exact hat all the time and oh my jesus....:o

EDIT: Utter fail on my part, forgot this was "styles you HATE" oh well duck it..he looks great in it :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭OopsyDaisy

storm2811 wrote: »
    Usually teamed with leggings/jeggins being worn as trousers,ugh *shudder*

They're called leggings for a reason! Put a long top on!

...Or better yet, wear trousers!

Cannot STAND seeing women's buttcheeks in leggings, or tights!! Do they not realise?!

Pythia wrote: »
    unstraightened hair

?

Yeah Lia Lia, I didn't get that either...

Although, my hair does tend to start taking over my face when not straightened :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭therealme

NO to girls with jersey on match day????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Lia_lia wrote: »
    ?

Frizzy hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭StinkySocs

Wearing PJ's in public - no way, dudes!

Also I have a big bum and legs so I'm aloud to say this: big girls in skinny jeans, OMG did no one tell them... I can't even pull them up, I don't know how some of them do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

The maternity clothes on women who aren't pregnant :D
    And the belly tops on guys :confused:

caseyann wrote: »
    And the belly tops on guys :confused:

I have never, and hope to never, encounter this...I thought tank tops were bad, but belly tops?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

OopsyDaisy wrote: »
    I have never, and hope to never, encounter this...I thought tank tops were bad, but belly tops?!

Yep a few guys actually wearing them and think they are hot lol.
    It just looks wrong :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

therealme wrote: »
    NO to girls with jersey on match day????????

Yes, it looks horrid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭MsDarcy

I have noticed a new emerging trend ... I have christianed those who follow it "rihanbees" as in rihanna wannabes, in the sense that they all have like that short boy cut with one side shaved and they think they're being edgy and cool but they all look exactly like each other... if that makes any sense lol

Also wannabe hipster types .. to a very certain extent I like the style but some people are a bit ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

baz2009 wrote: »
    Since when do "knackers" have an "indy" look?:confused:

I hate the lad D4 style, tbh, it's grand if you're like 10 or 11, but not when you're over 17 years old, at most.

Goth, too, just can't stand the whole drearyness of it.
    lol I've actually noticed this as well. Indy seems to be the new uniform of skangers. They all wear chequered shirts and those annoying woolly hats now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

MsDarcy wrote: »
    I have noticed a new emerging trend ... I have christianed those who follow it "rihanbees" as in rihanna wannabes, in the sense that they all have like that short boy cut with one side shaved and they think they're being edgy and cool but they all look exactly like each other... if that makes any sense lol

In town one evening with the missus and we pass a gaggle of girls dolled to the nines on the way out, but they were all wearing high heels with them really thick fluffy socks, and short skirts/dresses. It looked ridiculous. All nicely dressed up and then THOSE SOCKS. The gf informed me that Rihanna dressed like that to some awards show or other recently. Sad state of affairs :(

Pythia wrote: »
    Frizzy hair.

Oh right, I thought you meant generally un-straightened hair and was like whaaat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Anything that refers back to the 80s. For people who weren't around in the 80s, and think this style is "cool", they will never know how horrific the 80s actually were fashion-wise, it wasn't cool suits with skinny ties, it was manky patterned jumpers with stone wash jeans and rubbish shoes, topped off with a mullet. Or you've got the trenchcoat with sleeves pulled up look, favoured by AOR soft rockers all across the globe.

Anyway enough about what was then, what is now is a version of the 80s that never really existed. All the designers have gone that way. Even Diesel, that last bastion of decent designs for men, have produced t shirts with neon or studs on them. I mean, why?? And the haircuts - those fluffy on top, parted to the side haircuts are just awful. Fellas sporting this haircut look like they're in boybands from the 80s. Not cool. Skinny jeans on men - that is not a good look, especially if you've got skinny legs (which ironically is the only type that will fit into skinny jeans). My generation fought the flares wars and dammit we're gonna fight back! Us manly big muscley-thighed men have a place too! :-)

Those lurid multi-coloured hi tops. If someone had actually worn them in the 80s, they've had been shot. Wearing a tie over a t shirt. Ties are for shirts. SHIRTS. Same goes for waistcoasts. Unless you have a big beard and are in The Band in the 70s, don't wear a waistcoat over a t shirt.

All Saints (shop) style - that wide neck t shirt look, creased grey dull boring clothes with tight jeans TUCKED IN to boots. WT, and furthermore, F?? Topshop is getting as bad, it used to be reliable for plain decent t shirts and shirts but now you can't get one that a) doesn't have a scoop neck, b) doesn't have some "ironic" logo on it, or c) isn't neon.

I guess I'm just stuck in the 90s!

SugarHigh wrote: »
    lol I've actually noticed this as well. Indy seems to be the new uniform of skangers. They all wear chequered shirts and those annoying woolly hats now.

Since when are they indy clothes?
    Rarely will you see a skanger in a shirt if it's not a night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

skangers are gone mad for the indy thing, theres clubs in town full of them at weekends, and also the polo shirts with all the buttons done up to the top-an english essex boy thing thats creeped in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

camo%20muffin.jpg

muffintop.jpg

I know its not a style, but anyone who goes out in public carrying on with this malarkey should be fined or something. The warmer the weather gets, the more encounters i have with these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Sapsorrow

People who look like they play or are obsessed with rugby especially college jocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

Cannot abide the fake look -ya know the fake hair, fake tan, fake nails, fake eyelashes with fake melons popping out of the 'designer' dress whilst drinking fake bubbly through fake teeth. But only because it all matches the fake personality underneath. Hate matchy matchy :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

Rihanna wannabes, Hayley Williams (the screechy one from Paramore) wannabes, Cheryl Cole wannabes.... ugh I just hate when you walk down Henry St/Grafton St and see groups of girls, one after the other, all the same.

I hate "Topshop style"- super skinny jeans and a massive jumper/checkered shirt with a "random" scorf and dolly shoes. With the backcombed hair and a huge bag. Ok, without the backcombed hair, it's probably an alright outfit- but not when it's being sported by her, her 5 mates and every other girl on Grafton St

I hate hate hate hate when people get liquid eyeliner happy, drives me demented.

Also in no particular order: girls who draw on moles- why? Lads in skinny jeans, them boob hats on either sex, coloured extensions and anything that encourages ugg boots, tracksuit bottoms, hoodies and backcombed hair in the one outfit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Eddie Ere

Everyone to their own. I don't believe/follow a certain "trend", if I like it then I will wear it, regardless whether its indie mixed with chav and a dash of goth. (Not my "style" by the way)

flag123 wrote: »
    Get back to the farmer hat and jeans and watch a GAA match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭secondattempt

SugarHigh wrote: »

Me too, I started to notice it a while ago. Maybe labelling people skangers is a bit harsh in some cases but defo straightened hair, skinny jeans, those check shirts etc. have a "new" following.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭MissMotivated

I'm a bit lost, how does straightened hair and skinny jeans make someone a scanger?:confused: