Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dennis Hopper dies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Poor guy - loved him in Speed and 24

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'm amazed with the drugs he's been through, he made it this far.
    He was one hell of a character.
    You should read about his time on the film "Apocalypse Now".
    Mad stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

The great actor has passed away at 74 after a long battle with prostate cancer.
    Best known for his great portrayal of villains in movies, he will be sorely missed.
    May he rest in peace.

Here is one of my favourite scenes of all time. Masterclass acting from Hopper. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Jaysus, RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Seems almost prophetic...

RIP

Stee wrote: »
    Jaysus, RIP
    No, Dennis Hopper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

A genuine legend. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭crow_eat_crow

What a character. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

What is it with celebs always dying at the same time as another one?!

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Biggins wrote: »
    I'm amazed with the drugs he's been through, he made it this far.
    He was one hell of a character.
    You should read about his time on the film "Apocalypse Now".
    Mad stuff.
    go on.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Legend. RIP

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

He was on his way out for a while having contracted cancer. He was a fantastic actor. :(
    RIP Dennis.
    I think there'll be a bit of a furore over his will from some news reports I remember reading.

go on.......
    Time enough, not the time and place. :)
    Its well recorded in film history on the intern anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Cookie33

wow just looked at a list of his films/tv shows he did on imdb.. 202!! wow that's really good going

RIP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

They deaths come in threes.

Gary Coleman
    Dennis Hopper...

...anyone know what twink is at tonight?

Time enough, not the time and place. :)
    Its well recorded in film history on the intern anyway.

The stuff that went on on the set of that film is hollywood legend now.
    It's some career and past he's had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Testing, testing, 1, 2 1, 2.

Two Italian plumbers have been arrested in connection with his death.

The stuff that went on on the set of that film is hollywood legend now.
    It's some career and past he's had.
    Absolutely.
    I would have loved to read his autobiography.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

That's the first celebrity death in a long while that is actually a great loss.

They're showing Blue Velvet in the Stillorgan cinema next month. Will definitely have to go see it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

RIP :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

He was a contemporary of James Dean, was he not? What a man, what a career. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

For 24 fans; 'Collapse the corridor immediately!!!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Jimmyboss

Very sad, but jaysus, he packed so much into his time here, just read the article in 'Uncut'
    about The Last Movie, he really put the boat out..... RIP Dennis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Fúck that shít :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I will always remember him most for Easy Rider :( and of course Blue velvet and many, many other classics.

So sad, his death was a long time coming, so I am glad he's released from his pain.

The loss of a true legend following the death of another true legend Ronnie James Dio.

Sad days.... RIP Dennis Hopper.

We will never see your likes again.

My favourite would be easy rider. He was fantastic in True Romance also. The scene with Christopher Walken was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Dennis Hopper RIP

However, celebrities always seem to die in threes. Wonder who's next?

We're told his family was by his side when he passed.

Hopper had recently been suffering from prostate cancer and going through a difficult divorce from his wife Patricia.

Hopper is best known for starring in the 1969 classic "Easy Rider."

http://www.tmz.com/2010/05/29/dennis-hopper-dies-dead-easy-rider/

Nice that he had his family with him when he went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

One of my fav actors ever. Watching Easy Rider now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭spongeman

A good actor

RIP

One of my fav actors ever. Watching Easy Rider now

I'm going to watch it shortly too and True Romance and Cool hand Luke and any other DH films in the house!

Have cracked open a beer.....drinking to Dennis Hopper !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Well this sucks,an absolute icon and one of the last true legends of the cinema.

For a good insight of his madness check out this.

There is a good portion of it decicated to a movie he filmed in Australia and the antics he got up to,fecking legend.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭murrayp4

Awwww shít, I really liked Hopper. Didn't know he was ill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

I'm going to watch it shortly too and True Romance and Cool hand Luke and any other DH films in the house!

Wow...forgot he was in Cool Hand Luke. One more to re-watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

great actor RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

gonna have to drink to him later. RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

R.I.P. easy rider

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

RIP Dennis. Great actor. One of my favourite films is True Romance even though he only played a small role in it he did an amazing job.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

A life well lived, no regrets that man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Aids By Google

Was always a fan of DH. Just got me a copy of True Romance to watch later.

As Jazzy would say. RIP in Peace.

Where were ya when you saw influential films by him?

I saw Easy Rider in my youth no doubt in a free gaff probably late 80's.

Blue Velvet I saw in the then Fairview Cinema, I'd reckon early 90's. Having just dropped heard the song Lucy in the sky with diamonds...:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

RoadKillTs wrote: »
    RIP Dennis. Great actor. One of my favourite films is True Romance even though he only played a small role in it he did an amazing job.

When asked for my favourite fiml scene that's always first to mind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

A brilliant, intense and truly gifted actor... One of the wildest of the wild men of Hollywood excess and a huge loss to the acting world...

R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

He was a great actor back in the day.
    and man did he love his Coke.

Dibs on snorting his ashes...

Celebs die in threes right?
    Who's next?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Wazdakka wrote: »
    Celebs die in threes right?
    Who's next?

Michael Bay, hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Absolutely.
    I would have loved to read his autobiography.

You know you can still read it after he's died :)

Can't remember him in Cool Hand Luke (or I didn't recognise him)...who'd he play?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭jpfahy

Frank Booth still scares the bejaysus outta me