Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bernard Dunne vs Ricardo Cordoba

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

I'll cherish that night!

Turned a shot of doubters (including myself) into believers!

Some night of boxing! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

just watched it again myself yesterday and wow what a night and what a fight it will be a very long time before the country sees another display like that again for any sport it has to be the fight of the year for the sport world wide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I'll cherish that night!

Turned a shot of doubters (including myself) into believers!

So night of boxing! :D

Into believing what exactly?

I was shown by Dunne tremendous courage and will and passion. Improved strength and stamina. I think physically it was his best shape.

Unfortunately, it never once changed my opinion that the chin and power were never
    there. Too many shaky moments against a very ordinary puncher.

walshb wrote: »
    Into believing what exactly?

I was shown by Dunne tremendous courage and will and passion. Improved strength and stamina. I think physically it was his best shape.

Unfortunately, it never once changed my opinion that the chin and power were never
    there. Too many shaky moments against a very ordinary puncher.

into believing he could win a world title! something you said he would never do! :cool:

Let us not start this "world title" debate.....;)

Thanks for the clarification though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Let us not start this "world title" debate.....;)

Thanks for the clarification though.

Here sham... leave yer debates and the like for threads started by sober non biased boxing fans :p

Since the ins and outs of the fight have been discussed already... where were you the night dunne won the world title? Did ya watch it at home? were u there? catch it the next day?

I watched it at home with family and friends which was class in itself but can only imagine what it was like been there.

joepenguin wrote: »
    Here sham... leave yer debates and the like for threads started by sober non biased boxing fans :p

Since the ins and outs of the fight have been discussed already... where were you the night dunne won the world title? Did ya watch it at home? were u there? catch it the next day?

I watched it at home with family and friends which was class in itself but can only imagine what it was like been there.

from my seat! ;)

I watched it at home. I watched him vs. PK at the Point, and it was there that I witnessed so so many band wagon supporters, not boxing supporters.
    Slating Dunne when he lost. They hadn't the first clue about the sport, the title, the opponent. Not all, but many.

I watched it at home. I watched him vs. PK at the Point, and it was there that I witnessed so so many band wagon supporters, not boxing supporters.
    Slating Dunne when he lost. They hadn't the first clue about the sport, the title, the opponent. Not all, but many.

the O2 takes what? 7000?

you think there are 7000 real boxing fans in Ireland? We get the same 20 here unless there is a "superfight" - of course there was clowns, there always is - thats the sign of a popular "cross over" fighter.

p.s. "Slating Dunne when he lost" - you were only too happy to do it before he lost! ;)

p.p.s. stop the perpetual píssin on chips!

where were you the night dunne won the world title? Did ya watch it at home? were u there? catch it the next day?

Just to clarify that question goes to everybody.

Walsh: A fighters success can almost be gauged by bandwagoners. Certainly from a financial point of view. You know a fighter has made it big when it sparks chats about benn and eubank, tyson vs ali, naz etc. and people tell ya there have been no good fights since then.

Judging from the first post i figured the theme of this thread woulda been "dunne ya ledge"!!! Tis the least he deserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

Point holds 9000-9500 fully seated, its close on 13-14k when the bottom tier is stripped out.

Seriously its great stuff to look back on and i doubt in my generation if i will ever witness such a sporting event in any code, the hype in the weeks leading up to it, the underdog status, the atmosphere in the arena, the dramatic ebbing and flowing from start to finish, the fight was on a knife edge the whole way through and whole thing just climaxed into an orgy of elation, its definately one of those "you had to be there" moments only it lasted for the best part of an hour!

It just goes to underpin how scarce these big events are on this island (in any code) and it will probably be a long time even coming close to in the near future.

For what its worth for sheer drama, the Rd10 Voronin knockdown in this ****ty stadium gives it a close run for its money. I have never known a crowd as small as 2,500 to create such a comotion at an event, the atmosphere felt like every single person was willing Dunne to stay on his feet, it was dramatic stuff but probably the fact that the crowd was more of a "boxing" hardcore probably made all of the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

I was in a friends house here in Middlesbrough watching the fight with 5 other Irish people on RTÉ's choppy internet stream with a 16'' laptop and me fuelled with alcohol having celebrated Ireland's Grand Slam win in the rugby for the previous few hours.

I had considered flying home just to go to the fight, but due to finances and exams coming up I decided against it. It's something I regret to this day and probably always will :(

I say I've watched the fight back close to 10 times, and it never fails to stir up emotion and pride inside of me.

To sum it all up, 'Dunne ya ledge !'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I was in Australia in a late night internet cafe with headphones on and a naggin of rum poured into a coke bottle infornt of me screaming at the computer monitor so suddenly every 2 or 3 minutes that I had the place emptied except for these three hardcore gamer asian kids by about round 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭keane=cock

i was there. and it was without doubt the best fight i have ever witnessed live. i still get shivers down my spine when i watch it.

everything form cordobas silky movement to the guts bernard showed to the crowd going wild. i dont think i will ever witness another sporting event like it.

you can not take away what that lad achieved that night, for him and the country, you can try to deminish it but you can never take it away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Great night and im proud to say i was there, was really a special night and day for irish sport and especially irish Boxing.. Bernard we salute you! :)

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭whaaames

cowzerp wrote: »
    Great night and im proud to say i was there, was really a special night and day for irish sport and especially irish Boxing.. Bernard we salute you! :)

especially we had won the rugby that day, serious session that night...

whaaames wrote: »
    especially we had won the rugby that day, serious session that night...

this might sound bad but I was hoping Ireland would lose the rugby so Bernard would get more attention. I knew the middle class Dublin West Brit media would focus on the rooogbe

Jeez, if it's not golf it's rugby you're slating;)

As big a win as it was for Dunne, it was nowhere close to the significance
    for the country when Ireland won the Slam. I have to say, of all the Irish
    sporting moments I can recall, that match and the way it ended in Cardiff
    was the most scintillating of all time. Unbelievably brilliant.

both rugby and golf get far too much coverage and that is because the media outlets chase the AB Male demographic so they can get the premium advertisers.

What Dunne did deserved far more coverage - in my opinion.

I agree, the Irish rugby team has been knocking on the door for about 8 years where as to have a fighter from the republic fighting, let alone winning a world boxing title was something special, and not soon forgotten...

P.S on a side note, i never thought Dunne deserved the flak he came in for

The end was unreal from a dramatic point of view, but as far as achievments go it was a 6 nations tournament.

So literally it is open to 6 countries, and not the best six either. Dunne won a world title that at the very least... and this is been harsh, he was 7th best in the world. 5th-7th imo. Make of what you want of the wba title but it is open to a lot more than six nations. Every fighter from across the globe can fight for that title. Maybe its on par with the ebu title but thats it. Boxing is miles ahead of rugby on a global participation level and also in Ireland in terms of where we are at success wise. People talk about the nations as if it's the world cup.
    I dont follow rugby but I do have respect for it as a sport and the nations is an achievment to be proud of but it is more akin to an eu medal than a pro world title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I was never as proud of being Irish as I was that day, a country with a population of about 4 million winning one of the biggest rugby tournaments in the world and one of our boxers winning a world title, it brought more than one tear to my eye.:o

Boxing is my first sport, but nothing IMO came close to what Ireland achieved in the 2009
    Slam. Beating the Welsh at Cardiff, the English, home of rugby, and winning the slam for the first time in 61 years. It got more coverage, and deservedly so.

Hey, some can try to diminish it by saying it's a 6 Nation achievement, but conversely, Dunne beat a man who wasn't even the best in the division, or the true world champ.

I didn't bring it up, but if folks want to nit pick and point out that it was "only a 6 nation," then be prepared for others to nit pick Bernard's win.

Only a 6 nation, but beating some of the best teams in the world. Very tough ask and they did it.
    Not to mention beating the world champs, South Africa, at the end of 2009. The actual world champs.

Great day all around, but the Rugby was the cream, and rightly so.
    The next best I can think of was Barry winning at Loftus Road.

For the record, Vintage, I am not a Middle class West Brit either!

baz2009 wrote: »
    I was never as proud of being Irish as I was that day, a country with a population of about 4 million winning one of the biggest rugby tournaments in the world and one of our boxers winning a world title, it brought more than one tear to my eye.:o

"a country with a population of about 4 million winning one of the biggest rugby tournaments in the world" - don't make me laugh!

Tomorrow I am going to go out celebrating winning two coin tosses in a row. There are less than 10 countries in the world that can compete in this sport and considering that 4 of the top 8 countries have populations of less than 6 million highlights what a mickey mouse sport it is.

Roogbee - schmoogbee!! Its as embarrassing as the English celebrating winning the Ashes in Cricket like it was the World Cup or Sligo winning the Connaught championships.

"a country with a population of about 4 million winning one of the biggest rugby tournaments in the world" - don't make me laugh!

Tomorrow I am going to go out celebrating winning two coin tosses in a row. There are less than 10 countries in the world that can compete in this sport and considering that 4 of the top 8 countries have populations of less than 6 million highlights what a mickey mouse sport it is.

Roogbee - schmoogbee!! Its as embarrassing as the English celebrating winning the Ashes in Cricket like it was the World Cup or Sligo winning the Connaught championships.

Again you are letting your guard down. A country the size of Ireland take on the might of the English, the French, the Welsh at their game and come out winners and you see nothing good or have nothing good to say about it. I guess this type of achievement is lost on you. Shame really.

England is the home of the game, population of 50 plus million, France even stronger....
    Then we beat the mighty world champions, SA. It can't get better really.

That slam win was awe inspiring!

As for your Mickey Mouse comment, no need to reply there.

Boxing is my first sport, but nothing IMO came close to what Ireland achieved in the 2009
    Slam. Beating the Welsh at Cardiff, the English, home of rugby, and winning the slam for the first time in 61 years. It got more coverage, and deservedly so.

Hey, some can try to diminish it by saying it's a 6 Nation achievement, but conversely, Dunne beat a man who wasn't even the best in the division, or the true world champ.

I didn't bring it up, but if folks want to nit pick and point out that it was "only a 6 nation," then be prepared for others to nit pick Bernard's win.

Only a 6 nation, but beating some of the best teams in the world. Very tough ask and they did it.
    Not to mention beating the world champs, South Africa, at the end of 2009. The actual world champs.

Great day all around, but the Rugby was the cream, and rightly so.
    The next best I can think of was Barry winning at Loftus Road.

For the record, Vintage, I am not a Middle class West Brit either!

Middle class West Brit!

I am sensing this is more an anti British thing rather than an anti Golf/Rugby thing...

BTW, Bernard himself couldn't praise the achievements of the team enough.
    At least the impact/significance it wasn't lost on Bernard.

Again you are letting your guard down. A country the size of Ireland take on the might of the English, the French, the Welsh at their game and come out winners and you see nothing good or have nothing good to say about it. I guess this type of achievement is lost on you. Shame really.

England is the home of the game, population of 50 plus million, France even stronger....
    Then we beat the mighty world champions, SA. It can't get better really.

That slam win was awe inspiring!

As for your Mickey Mouse comment, no need to reply there.

if you have the same 6 countries playing in a tournie every single year then the odds of you winning it the odd time are pretty decent.

Obviously you have bought into the Blackrock College West Brit medias hype! ;)

I am sensing this is more an anti British thing rather than an anti Golf/Rugby thing...

BTW, Bernard himself couldn't praise the achievements of the team enough.
    At least the impact/significance it wasn't lost on Bernard.

Its more an "anti following the sports that the middle class media outlets constantly push over and above the ones that the ordinary people on the street are actually interested in until the lemmings that they are actually start supporting it themselves" thing then rather than an "anti British" thing.

if you have the same 6 countries playing in a tournie every single year then the odds of you winning it the odd time are pretty decent.

Tell that to ****ing Italy....

It is never ever easy. 61 years is a hell of a long time.

Problem is that when we started to win the triple crown, another big thing, it wasn't appreciated any more. "Oh, it's only the triple crown." Yet, we had to bloody wait over 20 years to get that back. We got ever so cocky and complacent.

It's never easy to get one over on the English in any sport, so I will
    always be chuffed and treasure each of those wins. Same with the Welsh, and especially
    at their main sport

Its more an "anti following the sports that the middle class media outlets constantly push over and above the ones that the ordinary people on the street are actually interested in until the lemmings that they are actually start supporting it themselves" thing then rather than an "anti British" thing.

So you are a soccer hooligan. Hey, I can live with the West Brit Jibe, much more appealing than a soccer hooligan:)

BTW, as much attention as Rugby, golf or cricket get, it's a ****ing spit in the ocean compared to soccer and GAA
    here in Ireland.....

I'd love to meet these "ordinary people" you speak of.

So you are a soccer hooligan. Hey, I can live with the West Brit Jibe, much more appealing than a soccer hooligan:)

BTW, as much attention as Rugby, golf or cricket get, it's a ****ing spit in the ocean compared to soccer and GAA
    here in Ireland.....

I'd love to meet these "ordinary people" you speak of.

Bren "Bernard Bashing West Brit Arse Lap Dog" Walsh - thats about right! ;)

Why should cricket ever even get a mention in any Irish paper? Do you know anyone that plays cricket (actually you probably do! ;) ) - if you don't think that there is a West Brit bias then you are either naive or stoopid! All the west Brits that I went to Uni with were into roogbee, F1 and golf - none of the guys I grew up with were into roogbee, F1 or golf - go figure!

Granted since I left Ireland there has been an explosion in the level of interest in roogbee even amongst guys I grew up with but I put a significant amount of that down to the fact that the D4 monkeys in the media (RTE and the main national broadsheets) are into roogbee and pushed it offa de back of the "Heino Cup"

Bren "Bernard Bashing West Brit Arse Lap Dog" Walsh - thats about right! ;)

Why should cricket ever even get a mention in any Irish paper? Do you know anyone that plays cricket (actually you probably do! ;) ) - if you don't think that there is a West Brit bias then you are either naive or stoopid! All the west Brits that I went to Uni with were into roogbee, F1 and golf - none of the guys I grew up with were into roogbee, F1 or golf - go figure!

Granted since I left Ireland there has been an explosion in the level of interest in roogbee even amongst guys I grew up with but I put a significant amount of that down to the fact that the D4 monkeys in the media (RTE and the main national broadsheets) are into roogbee and pushed it offa de back of the "Heino Cup"

It sounds like all your mates were hooligans, sounds!

For the record, the most English of all sports is soccer, isn't soccer the "ordinary mans" sport here in
    Ireland, along with GAA?

C'mon, it's a wee bit lame of you to try and claim that if you enjoy Rugby and Golf/cricket it
    makes you "not the ordinary person" or "west brit."

BTW, never a fan of cricket, far too boring.

Also, I was into F1 years before the fad took off here. I was a major fan in the mid to late
    80s and early 90s.

You will get band wagon supporters in all sports, and even boxing. I was at the O2
    in September

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Only a west brit would be comfortable with the branding 'west brit'

BTW Bernard Dunne was the best boxer I've ever seen.

T-K-O wrote: »

BTW Bernard Dunne was the best boxer I've ever seen.

You need to get out more.

On a side note, I am betting that "most" of those who brand others "west brit" are the same folks who
    spend most of their year watching and raving and obsessing about English soccer. Morons!

On a side note, I am betting that "most" of those who brand others "west brit" are the same folks who
    spend most of their year watching and raving and obsessing about English soccer. Morons!

I'd say I was at more Leisnter games than anyone here :D

By the way when am I getting that MOD status ?

I'd say I was at more Leisnter games than anyone here :D

By the way when am I getting that MOD status ?

A fellow "west brit," nice one. I am not alone.

or worse - living in England! :rolleyes:

A fellow "west brit," nice one. I am not alone.

A west brit? absolutely not. Sports fanatic, yes.

You will get band wagon supporters in all sports, and even boxing. I was at the O2
    in September

Thats very true, very true...the amount of my mates who were all of a sudden boxing guru's when Bernard won the title...so annoying

A west brit? absolutely not. Sports fanatic, yes.

Yeah, but don't you know that if Golf or Rugby or Cricket, or any sport seen as
    British, NOT including the most British of all (Soccer), is in your list, you are west brit to some. You just cannot escape it

Yeah, but don't you know that if Golf or Rugby or Cricket, or any sport seen as
    British, NOT including the most British of all (Soccer), is in your list, you are west brit to some. You just cannot escape it

Wasn't bother reading the entire thread - but that's ridiculous. In saying that, how anyone can be a fan of rounders in a chefs outfit is beyond me.

or worse - living in England! :rolleyes:

Nothing at all wrong with that, but I suppose if you are living there, making friends, making a living and doing well, whilst also being anti English, then you would be a moron. Not that you are anti English, just anti West Brit!

Wasn't bother reading the entire thread - but that's ridiculous. In saying that, how anyone can be a fan of rounders in a chefs outfit is beyond me.

Cricket is where I will draw the line. Can't get enthused at all. But, a hell of a lot of the worlds population love and specialise in it.

Is that like how could a billion flies be wrong?

I am picturing The Lost Boys?

only because the East Brits got somehow brainwashed into it.

it actually reminds me of roogbee. granted roogbee is a much better sport but only a couple of colonised countries play it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I play rugby, golf and I follow soccer like a religion, and I'm certainly not a West Brit.
    No, I'm not wealthy, either, I'm an "ordinary" teenager from an "ordinary" family.

Just happens that my mother and father have been catering in golf clubs for over 20 years and I grew up on a golf course, so I was hardly not going to play it, in fairness.
    As for the rugby, I am built like a rugby player, it's what I'm good at. I hate Leinster rugby. Munster have always been and will always be my team, I don't like what Dublin rugby is, I love what Munster rugby is, it's a "working-class"(hate that term) game down there.

VK, are you taking the piss or is your head actually that far up your arse?

baz2009 wrote: »
    I play rugby, golf and I follow soccer like a religion, and I'm certainly not a West Brit.
    No, I'm not wealthy, either, I'm an "ordinary" teenager from an "ordinary" family.

Just happens that my mother and father have been catering in golf clubs for over 20 years and I grew up on a golf course, so I was hardly not going to play it, in fairness.
    As for the rugby, I am built like a rugby player, it's what I'm good at. I hate Leinster rugby. Munster have always been and will always be my team, I don't like what Dublin rugby is, I love what Munster rugby is, it's a "working-class"(hate that term) game down there.

VK, are you taking the piss or is your head actually that far up your arse?

Why would you hate Leinster rugby? That's a bit harsh a word, don't you think?

You know, many say that most of the Munster fans are band wagon supporters.
    It all began when Munster beat the All Blacks many years ago.

Working class my arse. It's a game, and it's the same game that
    is played right across Leinster. I know many who play it and they are
    normal every day lads.

Jeez, Leinster and Munster are both Provinces on this island, I for one will
    support both. Please don't tell me you're one of these lads who would cheer
    against Leinster at any time?

only because the East Brits got somehow brainwashed into it.

it actually reminds me of roogbee. granted roogbee is a much better sport but only a couple of colonised countries play it.
    Vintage, I think you should bow out now.