Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sick of seeing people dealing every morning

• 28-05-2010 11:11am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭

Every morning I get off the train at Tara St. 90% of the time on my two minute walk crossing the bridge towards Liberty hall I see loads of head the balls buying gear. Its nearly every morning! Do the cops not know this! Everyone getting off that train does

On a few occasions I have seen people handing packages from a car window to some fella on the side of the road and speeding off. Then there is a stream of junkies filing up to him.

I know that dealing is rife in town, and everyone could probably name 2-3 places they know of. People will argue that if the cops move them on they will just go somewhere else. I get that - but then again, why make it easy for them. Its every morning!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Thepones wrote: »
    Every morning I get off the train at Tara St. 90% of the time on my two minute walk crossing the bridge towards Liberty hall I see loads of head the balls buying gear. Its nearly every morning! Do the cops not know this! Everyone getting off that train does

On a few occasions I have seen people handing packages from a car window to some fella on the side of the road and speeding off. Then there is a stream of junkies filing up to him.

I know that dealing is rife in town, and everyone could probably name 2-3 places they know of. People will argue that if the cops move them on they will just go somewhere else. I get that - but then again, why make it easy for them. Its every morning!!!

WHICH TOWN?!??!?!
    :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Do the cops not know this!

Too busy knocking over headshops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Make a statement to the gardai about it. They won't know unless their told I'd bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Ruu wrote: »
    WHICH TOWN?!??!?! :eek::eek::eek:

Palookaville.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

WHICH TOWN?!??!?!

I think it's well establised now that any post in AH that refers to a town means Dublin. Skangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

I remember seeing one seedy looking guy walking up, buying something the tackling the dealer to the ground.

I thought, hes robbing the dealer, cool. But no, he was just an undercover gardai arresting him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

WHICH TOWN?!??!?!

The one with Liberty Hall across the road from Tara street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Stark wrote: »
    The one with Liberty Hall across the road from Tara street.

beat me to it!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Kill them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

They always seem to hang around public transport hubs: Tara St, Abbey St and outside Hawkins house. To be fair, I've seen Gardaí descend on these places and pick everybody up on a few occasions, so they are making some effort. If the Gardaí tried to arrest every junkie in Dublin, they wouldn't have time for anything else, unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

WHICH TOWN?!??!?!

Baltinglass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Record everything over the course of a few weeks. Take notes. Video recordings, everything. Play out 'The Wire' in real life. Then come back and talk us through how you got on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

i know its sad these people should be able to buy it in a shop and not off criminals in the street.people should be able to do as they please so long as they dont interfear with anyones free will.abolish petty laws they are a hinderence on the people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Id imagine it would just be a time consuming pointless exercise to just keep moving them on. Not to mention a waste of time and taxpayers money to arrest them only for them to go through the courts and be released again with a conviction they couldnt give two ****s about. serious flaws in the system.

In a way though, we all know where they are e.g the boardwalk from o connell bridge down to liberty hall, and for the most part as a result we can avoid them and turn a blind eye to it rightly or wrongly.If i were to sit on the boardwalk for whatever reason i know to sit at a different place.If they were dotted all over town i might find it more irritating. now if only we could keep the gypsies all in the one bloody place and avoid like the plague.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Was on the bus the other day. Sat down behind three "howaaays" and everyone else is looking a bit cagey. They start discussing something about is it 8 or 9 euro as they scrounge together some change before transferring the pile over to a guy sitting opposite them who gives them pills in return. The three of them quickly down them while he counts up the change, there's a bit of agro because they've left him a euro short but they soon pay up. They all start getting friendly then and the guy turns to one of them and say "ah jaysus, congratulations, how far along are ya?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

Was on the bus the other day. Sat down behind three "howaaays" and everyone else is looking a bit cagey. They start discussing something about is it 8 or 9 euro as they scrounge together some change before transferring the pile over to a guy sitting opposite them who gives them pills in return. The three of them quickly down them while he counts up the change, there's a bit of agro because they've left him a euro short but they soon pay up. They all start getting friendly then and the guy turns to one of them and say "ah jaysus, congratulations, how far along are ya?"

Thats unbelievable, theres something fundamentally wrong with this society, when you see some junkie women off they're face stumbling along the the boardwalk in Dublin with a couple of kids in tow pushing a pram.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

i know its sad these people should be able to buy it in a shop and not off criminals in the street.people should be able to do as they please so long as they dont interfear with anyones free will.abolish petty laws they are a hinderence on the people

Where are they getting the money to buy it?

Stekelly wrote: »
    Where are they getting the money to buy it?
    does it really matter once you give someone money it is theres to keep regardless if they work, dole whatever they should be free to spend there money on whatever they like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

The other day I was taking 62 Spanish kids on a tour to Dublinia (I'm an English teacher, not some kind of super paedophile). We got off the bus at Wood Quay and as we were walking up to Christchurch passed two junkies dealing.

Their reaction was pretty funny, I heard one ask the other 'what should we do?' and the guy selling just tells him its fine and starts saying hello to all the kids as they're filing past him and being generally overly nice saying things like 'great day were having' and 'lovely afternoon for a walk.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭tiocimarla

Thomas street is the worst for it. Any time i walk that way i get a swarm of little junky scrotes circling me askin "are ye looking" which I always reply "do I look like a skinny little F==kin junky, Now f==k off away from me ye bo==ox.

I think they are best off ignored as it will never change im afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

does it really matter once you give someone money it is theres to keep regardless if they work, dole whatever they should be free to spend there money on whatever they like

I think you missed the point there bub, hes suggesting that most of the money these people use to buy drugs is gained illicitly, i.e. through stealing and mugging, therefore, these peoples habits do interfere with other peoples lives, and your argument is about as useless as a eunuch at a sperm bank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

What? Set up legal enterprises selling products to deny criminals finance and increase employment? Sure that would never happen......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

There is something really wrong when people can deal openly in the middle of the day without even trying to hide it.

Every time I visit Dublin I see people dealing, Wood Quay, Marlboro St, Tara street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Dohnny Jepp

The Gardai do generally know about this going on but it instead of busting them they try to use them to follow the line back and catch the guys who are running it all.
    Or so I've been told!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

carlop wrote: »
    (I'm an English teacher, not some kind of super paedophile)'

Sure what the hell do you expect to happen to all these junkies if the Gardai catch them? They feck them in jail for a bit and then they come back out again to do the same, all the meanwhile costing us thousands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

The other day I was taking 62 Spanish kids on a tour to Dublinia (I'm an English teacher, not some kind of super paedophile). We got off the bus at Wood Quay....

Hahahahahaha, brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭pawrick

I used to live off Talbot street so would pass these guys a lot.

Certain days of the week in particular you see groups of people out side the spar on Marlborough St. trading drugs, arguing etc. also further along that street there are some dealers near a car park. it's all very much in the open and you'd have to be blind not to see it going on. The guards from store street station walk by them a lot during the day and go over for a chat to keep an eye on things, but they leave them alone unless they are causing too much hassle with passers by.

There used to be an ally beside my office also around there and they used to shoot up there. Once we saw the guards come down it to find a guy laying on the ground while a girl helped him inject. The guards stood there talking to them and then moved off leaving them to continue. (ally was blocked off since)

If they guards did do anything what would it be? It's a waste of money and time to bring them in as there's no where to put them and most of these people are in pretty much hopeless situations where going to prison for a few weeks is probably an improvement on living on the street/some dodge bed sit.

Another spot is O'Connell street, beside the corner of the Abbey Street - there is a news stand there where some of the addicts hang out and beg for money from passers by and generally shout at each other before going back to Marlborough St. to buy. They are right beside where the tourist buses stop which must look great for them. If you are going to hide the problem in back streets at least do it properly.

and while I'm in ranting mode :) I was speaking with a cafe owner last week who has a place off Talbot street and he said he's noticed that the numbers of people hanging around the street has increased since the local head shops closed, in his personal opinion the head shops were good for his business, not sure if that just meant moving the problem further away or that the street drug dealers were just around less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭pawrick

The other day I was taking 62 Spanish kids on a tour to Dublinia (I'm an English teacher, not some kind of super paedophile). We got off the bus at Wood Quay and as we were walking up to Christchurch passed two junkies dealing.

Their reaction was pretty funny, I heard one ask the other 'what should we do?' and the guy selling just tells him its fine and starts saying hello to all the kids as they're filing past him and being generally overly nice saying things like 'great day were having' and 'lovely afternoon for a walk.'

ha - this reminds me of a "date" I went on with an Italian girl, she told me where to meet her and guess what she was leading a group of about 20 Italian students for the day!!!! ffs. We managed to get rid of them for an hour by telling them to buy gifts for their family except for one tosser called Giuseppe who wouldn't feck off. Spent the hour with her in the park and this guy giving me daggers looks.

If someone has taking drugs the garda have to bring them to the hospital first and waste money and time, meanwhile the doctors and nurses get an awfull time from people like this not to mention the people in A&E waiting for real treatment feeling intimidated.

What can ye do but pass the problem around. There is not enough money put into youth projects to help people like this from an early age. Where in these parts of town can youths even have a quiet game of football on a pitch even. The government places deprived housing in clusters around the place when the should be placing them in middleclassed estates like everyone else. Once you grow up in poverty and have nothing but poverty around you then these things are gonna happen ten fold. What have they got to lose, some of these people have been really let down by the system while you jump on a train back to your private housed estate and think to yourself why does this happen. Because of very bad planning being the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Insurgent wrote: »
    I think it's well establised now that any post in AH that refers to a town means Dublin. Skangers.

A Dundaaaaaaaawk native referring to other people as skangers? I think we're going to need a bigger pot and kettle.

LoL. Thats what I was thinking ha. Maybe if ye have a Problem then ye should stay in Dundalk mate, everyone there is pure posh :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

saw it happening at newlands cross the other morning....two skangers exchanging money and a small package with this guy in a suv in bewleys hotel car park

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Thepones

Just reading through the comments here and there were 3 "spots" mentioned a few times within 3 min walk of each other. Abbey St, Malborough St and then Liberty Hall. Im off out for lunch now to run the guantlet.

I know what everyone is saying about the guards cant really do much for a variety of (understandable) reasons. But its so blatant! None of us are keeping an eye out for this stuff, its just there everyday. GRRRR!

On the funny side though, one junky came up to me last night and asked me for €2 because "I'M FROM CARLOW AND NEED TO GET SORTED". The Dublin smack culture must be too up-market for him....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭JimsAlterEgo

Thailand had the right idea, they assasinated loads of dealers a few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Sounds more like the cannonball run to me, sometimes it's hard to tell the difference between celebrities and junkies, sure all those rap singers are just failed scumbags.

I hate people complain about Dublin when they work here. If you have a problem then off ye go back to you shanty muckhuts and work there, flippin hell like get a decent county yourselves that isnt just pikeys and unedeucated mucksavages.

For the record. I am a native.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

TheZohan wrote: »
    Baltinglass.

Baltinglass isn't a town, it's a hole in the ground ;)

OP, not sure if you are awar of this, but ranting about it on the internet isn't going do anything. What exactly were you expecting to achieve?

An idea: Ring the gardai? Just a thought...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

tiocimarla wrote: »
    isnt just pikeys

I know they call Dubs West Brits, but like........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,052 ✭✭✭trellheim

Well they do this at Talbot St. because

a: they can shelter under the bridge when it rains.

b: Dealer McDope doesn't have far to go from the DART station, his customers are waiting for him.

c: Nobody really hassles them so they keep going back there.

Now, if we hassled the dealers we might get somewhere.

mikom wrote: »
    I know they call Dubs West Brits, but like........
    If ye say so:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

Jaaaysus Joe, isn't it tewible Joe :rolleyes:

Seriouly though some of you guys need to get out more. If seeing a few junkies on your way to work is your biggest inconvienience then you haven't much to complain about. Just be thankful you don't have any real problems in your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

These scummers shouldn't be forcing the non-mutant population to avoid the Liffey boardwalk - a boardwalk that they paid for!!

Ha ha - that is a good point, Joe would love this stuff. But i wouldnt give him the pleasure!

I see these guys ever day too.I see about 3 deals a day but i only see the Garda giving tickets to people on their mobile phones stuck in traffic or Taxi Drivers.

We witnessed a mugging of a girl 2 weeks ago in the same area. Not only that but we saw were the mugger's were . I went into Pearse street Garda station and told them if they go no , they will get the guys . They told me that they will put the word out as they cant go right now as they are too busy. They took my name and i have heard nothing .
    Then this week a work colligue of mine was mugged in the exact same place.

I always tell my missus that if she gets off the bus on Malborough Street, to cross to the other side of the road. There are always a gang of junkies / scummers there. The buses parked up there block the view from other side of street and you could be penned in.

Have seen girls have their handbags snatched on two seperate occassions in that spot. If your on other side of street your in better sight, and there are a couple of pubs there you could run into if things got hairy (have no idea what the pubs are like, before anyone says its nastier in there than the street :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

I think you missed the point there bub, hes suggesting that most of the money these people use to buy drugs is gained illicitly, i.e. through stealing and mugging, therefore, these peoples habits do interfere with other peoples lives, and your argument is about as useless as a eunuch at a sperm bank

although the eunuch in a sperm bank jibe is funny...the rest of this post is s'hit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

It's threads like this that make me glad I live in the arsehole of no-where!!

i must be the only person that will give them a few bob i hate seeing people strung out they probaly need the money more than i do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭M.J.M.C

Solution: Gas chambers.

Worked for Hitler and the Jews