Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford vs. Clare Munster Hurling Semi-Final

• 26-05-2010 3:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭

150px-Waterfordnewcrest.jpg vs. 125px-Countyclare-crest.png

Date 07.06.10 (Bank Holiday Monday)

Time 15.00

Venue Semple Stadium, Thurles

Waterford
    1. Clinton Hennessy
    2. Eoin Murphy
    3. Liam Lawlor
    4. Noel Connors
    5. Tony Browne
    6. Michael Brick Walsh
    7. Jamie Nagle
    8. Shane O' Sullivan
    9. Richie Foley
    10. Dan Shanahan
    11. Kevin Moran
    12. Stephen Molumphy
    13. John Mullane
    14. Eoin Kelly
    15. Maurice Shanahan

Star player
    Along with Brick, Mullane and Molumphy, this man has formed the backbone of this team the last few years. Mullane aside, we have a severe lack of players with the ability to score from play, so that makes his accuracy from the frees all that more important. 1-17 against Cork in the league says it all.

The_fake_Eoin_Kelly_display.jpg

Clare team
    1. Donal Touhy
    2. Pat Vaughan
    3. Cian Dillion
    4. Conor Cooney
    5. Brendan Bugler
    6. Diarmuid McMahon
    7. Pat Donnelan
    8. Brian O Connell
    9. Nicky O Connell
    10. Sean Collins
    11. John Conlon
    12. Jonathan Clancy
    13. Fergal Lynch
    14. Darach Honan
    15. Colin Ryan

Why Waterford could win
    • They welcome back one of the best centre backs in the country from injury
    • There's a greater competitiveness for places then there has been in recent years
    • Players like Mullane and Kelly have the ability to punish any side if given the opportunity.
    Why Clare could win
    • Given the circumstances after Mike Mc's departure, Sparrow has done a decent job bringing the squad back together again.
    • Despite recent attempts, Waterford scientists have yet to find a way to clone either Noel Hickey or Padraig Maher.
    • See below
    Last 5 Championship meetings
    2008 Clare 2-26 Waterford 0-23 (Munster 1st round)
    2005 Clare 4-14 Waterford 0-21 (All-Ireland qualifer)
    2004 Waterford 3-21 Clare 1-08 (Munster 1st round)
    2002 Clare 1-16 Waterford 1-13 (All-Ireland SF)
    1998 Clare 2-16 Waterford 0-10 (Munster final replay)

Betting
    Waterford 1/4
    Clare 7/2
    Draw 10/1

Prediction
    Waterford will do enough to win, but Clare will keep within distance for the majority of the game. It won't be pretty though. Waterford by 5.

And no it's not too early for this, it's the only one I'll get to make all summer :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

too soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

KevIRL wrote: »
    too soon

Never too soon. Have teh ticket bought. What beter way to spend a bank holiday Monday than below in thurles, my favourite venue for live sport. The place is magical and has been a good venue for the Deise over the last decade.

We realy shold be winning this one, no disrespect to Clare intended. Delighted that Kelly will be played out the field this Summer. Hes so badly wasted at full forward. The KK match proved that, if he plays as well as in that game this Summer he'll be unstoppable. I'd be surprised to see Eoin McGrath start in teh corner tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭murraymarmalade

that young noel connors is a great bit of stuff in the backline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

flahavaj wrote: »
    Never too soon. Have teh ticket bought. What beter way to spend a bank holiday Monday than below in thurles, my favourite venue for live sport. The place is magical and has been a good venue for the Deise over the last decade.

We realy shold be winning this one, no disrespect to Clare intended. Delighted that Kelly will be played out the field this Summer. Hes so badly wasted at full forward. The KK match proved that, if he plays as well as in that game this Summer he'll be unstoppable. I'd be surprised to see Eoin McGrath start in teh corner tbh.

LOL I'm obviously just winding Daysha up. Cant wait for the day, have my ticket bought since December! I agree we should win this, but also its just the type of game where it would be typical of Waterford to take their eye off the prize and get beat. Right now I'll take an undramatic win with no injuries thanks very much.

Really wish it wasnt on a BH Monday though, one place I'd defo rather be on a BH Monday is at home nursing a hangover watching a recording of the game having had a great Sunday in Thurles :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,466 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

been through a hard year myself and this is like a release from life going to a championship game. good atmosphere etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 deiseash

I agree we should win this, but also its just the type of game where it would be typical of Waterford to take their eye off the prize and get beat.

completely agree... remember this time 2 years ago?!
    Hopefully they'll win it though, they're by far the better team imo

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I forgot this was on bank holiday monday, what a perfect way to recover from a hangover following Corks victory over Kerry in Killarney!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

When the draw was made for the Munster Championship and this tie was drawn out i reckoned Clare had a great chance of beating the Deise. However Clare's poor performances in division 2 and a serious lack of firepower up front makes Waterford the hot favourites. Even though Clare reached the division 2 final in general they were poor in their league games scraping wins against Carlow and Laois so i'd be expecting Waterford to win by 9 points at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

I don't agree with this Bank Holiday Monday lark... I've to work that day! :mad:

Still though, as someone said earlier, a win will do us - it doesn't have to be pretty, or by any sort of big margin - and as long as there are no injuries, we'll be in a good position.

There's no doubt that Waterford should win this, but I'm always nervous about them losing focus and throwing the match away.

How didnt people know months ago that this game was on bank holiday monday ??.

People saying that have to work. Do like anyone else would do and ask for the day off a few weeks in advance.

I actaully think its a good idea for it to be on a bank holiday monday. Feck all happens on bank holiday mondays plus if this game was on the sunday it would clash with the footballers.

One bad omen though when i think of it lol. The Galway footballers played on a saturday last year against donegal in a qulifer and were beaten and then the next day the hurlers played Waterford in the qf and were beaten.

hopefully next weekend is not a repeat of that lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

PTH2009 wrote: »
    People saying that have to work. Do like anyone else would do and ask for the day off a few weeks in advance.

Easy when half of work ask for it off too isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

7/2 bet on Clare isn't that bad. Considering the results of the five previous meetings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

How didnt people know months ago that this game was on bank holiday monday ??.

I actaully think its a good idea for it to be on a bank holiday monday. Feck all happens on bank holiday mondays plus if this game was on the sunday it would clash with the footballers.

One bad omen though when i think of it lol. The Galway footballers played on a saturday last year against donegal in a qulifer and were beaten and then the next day the hurlers played Waterford in the qf and were beaten.

hopefully next weekend is not a repeat of that lol

Game could also have been put on the saturday eve but they decided against that.

Not everyone can get off that easily from work and not everyone is off for a bank holiday.

Do you not think I've thought of that already? I work in a small department and our bank holiday cover is agreed at the start of the year, so that people can plan fortnights off, weekends abroad, etc.

It's not as straightforward as you seem to think. And anyway, why would I take a day off work in order to see a Munster semi-final when I might need to sweet-talk the boss into giving me the 6th of September off instead! :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

fricatus wrote: »
    And anyway, why would I take a day off work in order to see a Munster semi-final when I might need to sweet-talk the boss into giving me the 6th of September off instead! :D

You gotta love the optimism and the comedy factor mixed in for good measure - gotta love it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

As a Clareman I'm sad to say I can see us getting a real thumping next monday. Sparrow is doing a good job but this is a young squad and time is needed to build and gain experience. I'd be very happy if we managed to put it up to Waterford for 50-60 mins, but experience will win out in the end.

How i'd love to be proved wrong...... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭comeraghs

It´s a hard one to call ... Waterford have been very up & down all league & got an awful thumping of KK in a challenge a few weeks ago. Hopefully that helped focus minds .... If we are anything below 100% then we could be in trouble here ... Clare have never had any fear of the Deise & they´ll be out to show Davy up too.

it´s gonna be good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭deccy15

I'll take a stab at the clare team seen as no-one else has!!
    1. Philly Brennan

2. Pat Vaughan
    3. Cian Dillion
    4. James Mcinerney

5. Brendan Bugler
    6. Gerry Quinn (if fit)
    7. Pat Donnelan

8. Brian o Connell
    9. Nicky o Connell

10. John Conlon
    11. Fergal Lynch
    12. Jonathan Clancy

13. Diarmuid McMahon
    14. Darach Honan
    15. Colin Ryan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Cake Man

As a Clareman I'm sad to say I can see us getting a real thumping next monday. Sparrow is doing a good job but this is a young squad and time is needed to build and gain experience. I'd be very happy if we managed to put it up to Waterford for 50-60 mins, but experience will win out in the end.

How i'd love to be proved wrong...... :D

I'm not sure tbh, I think ye will put up more of a fight than that. True, we have more experience and on paper, we probably have the better team but I don't see us hammering ye. I'm just not sure what to expect from ourselves, our league form has been average enough. The first match of every Championship we either come out on fire or just awful and sluggish, one extreme or the other! And it wouldn't surprise me if it is the awful and sluggish Waterford we see on Monday, that's what I fear.

Already people are talking about a Waterford/Cork Munster final. A bit early to start talking about finals we could easily be playing Either Offaly/Dublin/Loais/Galway or Limerick on the saturday in the qulifers and watching the Munster final on tv the next day.

If we are to be defeated next week we would have to play 3 weeks in a row to get to an all ireland semi final.

Worst case sancario (if were beaten and the draw is like this)

Prem Round (Sat 26 June)
    Carlow vs Antrim- Antrim

Phase 1 (Sat 3 July)
    Tipperary vs Antrim- Tipperary
    Wexford vs Loais- Wexford

Phase 2 (Sat 10 July)
    Dublin vs Limerick- Dublin
    Offaly vs Waterford- Waterford
    (even that game could be a hard one to call)

Phase 3 (Sat 17 July)
    Tipperary vs Dublin
    Wexford vs Waterford

If we are to come through phase 3 then its either Galway/Kilkenny or Cork in the Quarter Finals.

Best Case sancairo

Prem Round
    Wexford vs Loais- Wexford

Phase 1
    Wexford vs Tipperary- Tippeary
    Antrim vs Carlow- Antrim

Phase 2
    Dublin vs Galway- Galway
    Waterford vs Limerick- Waterford

Phase 3
    Tipperary vs Galway- Galway
    Antrim vs Waterford- Waterford

Quarter Finals (Sun 25 July)
    Galway vs Clare
    Waterford vs Offaly

Either Kilkenny/Cork in the semi finals if we are to get through

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,194 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I don't follow, do you have Offaly beating Galway in the second scenario? If so thats optimistic in the extreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

I was gonna reply to the above but I didn't want to drag it off topic too much, so I've left my comment on this thread here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭ballykev

This should be the Clare Team

1: Donal Tuohy Best keeper in clare better than calamity Jane Brennan but Breenan will start
    2: Brendan Bugler
    3: Cian Dillion God help us
    4: Domhnall O Donovan
    5: Nicky o Connell
    6: G Quinn will start but shouldnt hasn't played a game all year
    7: Pat Donnellan
    8: Pat Vaughan
    9: Brian O Connell he has to up his game has not played a good game really since lynch retired with a pain in his back from carrying O Connell
    10: J Clancy and give him roving role
    11: John Conlon
    12: Diarmuid McMahon
    13: Darach Honan
    14: Fergal Lynch
    15: Colin Ryan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Is your man Mark Flaherty getting much of a look in for Clare? He was decent enough, is he still even on the panel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭ballykev

Mark flaherty is a good Intermediate club hurler thats it!!

Cake Man wrote: »
    Is your man Mark Flaherty getting much of a look in for Clare? He was decent enough, is he still even on the panel?

Yeah he's still on the panel!! Not been givin much of a chance in the team tbh!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Badly want Clare to win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭pajoguy

According to the Indo today waterford have already given home advantage to cork in the munster final should they beat Clare....

I assume they will come as far as The Gaelic Grounds also!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Clare could nip this one, if ever there was a day to spring a surprise. Waterford seem to already be eyeing up Cork.

buck65 wrote: »
    Clare could nip this one, if ever there was a day to spring a surprise. Waterford seem to already be eyeing up Cork.

Yeah, Waterford would want to watch out for that. It's not like it never happened before.

Cork are falling into the same trap vis-a-vis Limerick, though those lads are less likely to spring a trap for de Ribils...

Clare team announced after training this evening.....

1. Donal Touhy

2. Pat Vaughan
    3. Cian Dillion
    4. Conor Cooney

5. Brendan Bugler
    6. Diarmuid McMahon
    7. Pat Donnelan

8. Brian O Connell
    9. Nicky O Connell

10. Sean Collins
    11. John Conlon
    12. Jonathan Clancy

13. Fergal Lynch
    14. Darach Honan
    15. Colin Ryan

OP edited to include confirmed teams.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 483 ✭✭tom thum

most of the waterford fans are of the opinion that any kind of win will do. surely, they should have bigger expections if they hope to be challenging for the liam mccarthy??

tom thum wrote: »
    most of the waterford fans are of the opinion that any kind of win will do. surely, they should have bigger expections if they hope to be challenging for the liam mccarthy??

The day we go into any Munster C'ship game expecting a heavy win is the day we'll once again fail to deliver. Anyway even the most biased of Waterford fans should realise that at the moment Kilkenny, Cork, Tipp and Galway are the 4 teams out in front right now. All we have to do is make sure we get the victory tomorrow and prove in the Munster final that we've still got the ability to win senior titles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

Don't see Clare winning.

Beaten by the Deise in both codes.

Looking forward to this now, I always love the first day out in the championship. Though going down to Thurles of a Monday will be.....strange.

Yeah , Thurles on a Monday is a strange feeling , but throw a few pints down the gullet and start soaking up the athmosphere and you will soon forget what day of the week it is - works form me!!!
    Looking forward to recovering from my hangover tonight on a bar stool watching the match tomorrow!!

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Yeah , Thurles on a Monday is a strange feeling , but throw a few pints down the gullet and start soaking up the athmosphere and you will soon forget what day of the week it is - works form me!!!
    Looking forward to recovering from my hangover tonight on a bar stool watching the match tomorrow!!

Hope the weather's not too wet anyway, nothing like Thurles on a nice sunny afternoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭2manyconditions

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I forgot this was on bank holiday monday, what a perfect way to recover from a hangover following Corks victory over Kerry in Killarney!!

Thanks for spoiling that for me. I was going to watch it on the rte player without knowing the final score.

(go on the banner!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Thanks for spoiling that for me. I was going to watch it on the rte player without knowing the final score.

(go on the banner!!!)

In case you're serious, that was posted by ShamboBuc on May 27th.

An Citeog wrote: »
    In case you're serious, that was posted by ShamboBuc on May 27th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

flahavaj wrote: »

This post quoting ShamboBuc's post from before the Kerry/Cork match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭2manyconditions

Oh ya didn't see that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

I have a sneaky feeling Clare could go very close. After all it has been a weekend full of upsets.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Browney7 wrote: »
    I have a sneaky feeling Clare could go very close. After all it has been a weekend full of upsets.

Yea but weekends over now, tiz weekdays! :pac:

My usual illogical optimism has us winning this nicely but I do think they'll be a part where Clare really get going and cause a scare. Think we should pull through though! Well I really hope.. :o

I know it's early days, but if anybody can help me get me a stream for this one I'll be eternally grateful :)

Daysha wrote: »
    I know it's early days, but if anybody can help me get me a stream for this one I'll be eternally grateful :)

Try myp2p.eu. They cover a range of sports and i see the GAA on the list of sports been shown live Saturday and yesterday so the hurling should defintley be shown today. I know there's another 1 but i must get the proper website address for it,i'll post that when i get the address.

Here's another stream, http://www.ustream.tv/channel/rto-live-tv. I was just looking up the myp2p website and no GAA is advertised of today yet but closer to the match time it could be advertised. Just go into the website and click on live sport or other and hopefully it'll come up for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 mountcarmel

Get yourself down to The Kezar on Stanyan Daysha!!! Many a good Sunday morning was spent in that fine establishment!! Oh, and order the full Irish at half time, keep you awake for the second half!

Deise abú

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Eating the sausage sambos and looking out at the rain and hoping Clare can acquit themselves today. While I think it's a building process under Sparrow a hiding to nothing would not be good. I think Waterford are going to win but I'm going as it's good to keep the faith.

MY 5000th post :D