Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drinking during the day

• 26-05-2010 10:56am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭

What would you think of someone, who has nothing better to do, if he felt like going to his local on a weekday afternoon for a few pints on his own? I mean I'm not talking about wasters who have made it an art to spend every single day, all day, in the boozer. I'm just talking about people who are between things. For instance, they might have just got let go and their job seeking to date has reaped no benefits. They are bored out of their tree being in the house all day. So within this context, do you think drinking during a day is a bad thing? I'm not talking about a session on your own, just 3 or 4 pints and then off home.

Personally I don't see an issue with it, I don't think it suggests someone is an "alco" in the making. I think it's perfectly fine if people change it up a bit i.e. go to your city centre one day, maybe go the cinema another day, then just a few quiet pints reading a paper in your local on another day.

I think it's much worse just hanging in your gaff 24/7, that's much worse because you're cutting yourself off from what's going on outside your door. So what say ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Just go to the pub already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Cant see any major problem with it.

A few scoops doesnt do any harm once it doesnt become a habit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Look LZ5by5 if you want to go for a pint, just go for a pint - you don't need us to say it's ok. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

As long as it's not a daily thing then I'd see no problem with it. In the past I've often gone into a pub and had a pint while reading a book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Extreme Danger W*nking. Ordering a Guinness and finishing before it's placed in front of you. G'wan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Haha, I am of course talking generally here, I swear I haven't got the itch for a pint. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

i think it is about personal principle.to me,day time = tea/coffee, during/after dinner = wine/beers, night time = whiskey/vodka. oh just realise i am such a principle man :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Have done it myself if I have the free time. Pop into the pub when it's quiet, weekday afternoon, bit of lunch, few pints, read a book.

I'd be more concerned about the people who see a few pints as something that is only to be done in a social setting, pretty much their social life tends to revolve around alcohol before long. Amount of times I've been referred to as an 'alcoholic in the making' for having a few drinks at home on a Friday night, when apparently going out and getting blotto has no effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Sounds great - I'd love to do that once a week and sit with the paper and chill out with no-one annoying me...
    Defo don't see it as a problem..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Perfectly fine. Have done it many a time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

chin_grin wrote: »
    Extreme Danger W*nking. Ordering a Guinness and finishing before it's placed in front of you. G'wan.

But you'd need to be in hefty pecker mode to pull that one off (if you'll pardon the pun)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

There's nothing wrong with going to the pub in the middle of the day, when you're unemployed. There'd be a problem if you were working and getting a skinful at lunchtime. I used to work with someone who used to sink 4 or 5 pints during the lunch-hour, and he would spend the afternoon half-asleep or nuking the toilet, or both.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

personally the pubs a place you go with friends not on your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭scary

i'm about to do it in the next hour or so :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭changes

Fine as a once off or every now and then imo.

But you'd be surprised how hard it is to break if it becomes a particular day every week. Say you pick a wed afternoon to go for 3 or 4 pints. Come next week when your bored in the house you'd find yourself looking forward to wed and before you know it you'd be hammering 8 or 9 pints every wed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

its just your opinion,i can see both sides to the argument here but i cant seem to choose which side of the line i take

I understand where you are coming from in the sense that if someone was going to the pub to go on a seassion on his own, then that's a bit strange to say the least. If you're "out for the night", it should be with friends. However I don't see the problem with a few quiet ones on your own.

drdeadlift wrote: »
    its just your opinion,i can see both sides to the argument here but i cant seem to choose which side of the line i take

well its more then opinion when you arnt working, and the nearist pub is 30 seconds walk. I don't work currently and yes at times id love a pint but I dont submit to it, as i think being in the pub and being unempliyed while claiming benefits is morally wrong.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    I'm not talking about a session on your own, just 3 or 4 pints and then off home.

I would wonder about anyone who wuld say 'just three or four pints on your own', to be honest.

I understand where you are coming from in the sense that if someone was going to the pub to go on a seassion on his own, then that's a bit strange to say the least. If you're "out for the night", it should be with friends. However I don't see the problem with a few quiet ones on your own.

i do see where your coming from man, I guess if one feels the need to drink, well I kinda savour th emoment till maybe that evening or the weekend.. :)

Tho at times is tempting i avoid that, just like a firiday when the payments come through you see about 20 people smoking out side a pub drinking beer it really anoys me. :mad: yet you dont see them any other stage of the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

I quite enjoy sitting on my own with a pint and a book in a pub. And during the day is the only time to do it because people look at you funny if you are reading a book in the pub at night!
    I haven't done it in aaaaages though. :(

So long as you aren't getting mauldly drunk and staggering out into the streets at 3pm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

chin_grin wrote: »

I beleive that's called suicide w*nking

I would wonder about anyone who wuld say 'just three or four pints on your own', to be honest.

Well it depends on what you are referring to; are you suggesting that people who say 3 or 4 pints on their own will actually stay for more or are you simply suggesting that 3 or 4 pints in itself is too much?
    i do see where your coming from man, I guess if one feels the need to drink, well I kinda savour th emoment till maybe that evening or the weekend.. :)

Tho at times is tempting i avoid that, just like a firiday when the payments come through you see about 20 people smoking out side a pub drinking beer it really anoys me. :mad: yet you dont see them any other stage of the week.

Well, you know yourself that you're not one of those people. I alluded to this in the OP where I distanced what I was about about from the wasters who have made staying in the pub all day an art form.

I know myself that I wouldn't be one of those people, so inthis sense I don't feel guilty about having a few pints one day during the week. Plus, I don't claim benefits because technically, I'm still in Uni until September. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,378 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Drinking during the day to relieve "boredom" is more than likely the sign
    of a dipso.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

walshb wrote: »
    Drinking during the day to relieve "boredom" is more than likely the sign
    of a dipso.

I wouldn't say so. I think it's more of a sign of boredom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

When I first came to Dublin, I fell into the habit of going for a 'few' pints every evening. This consisted of reading the papers and watching the sport, I quickly realised this was becoming an expensive habit. Could have 4 pints each evening regularyl. Nipped that in the bud pronto. I'd still go and read the paper's if i've nothing to do but it's just tea or lemonade instead. I'd rather have a drink with company TBH

Well, you know yourself that you're not one of those people. I alluded to this in the OP where I distanced what I was about about from the wasters who have made staying in the pub all day an art form.

I know myself that I wouldn't be one of those people, so inthis sense I don't feel guilty about having a few pints one day during the week. Plus, I don't claim benefits because technically, I'm still in Uni until September. ;)

True.. well if your technically a student then your sorta aloowed i beleave there is a law for such things :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

What would you think of someone, who has nothing better to do, if he felt like going to his local on a weekday afternoon for a few pints on his own? I mean I'm not talking about wasters who have made it an art to spend every single day, all day, in the boozer. I'm just talking about people who are between things. For instance, they might have just got let go and their job seeking to date has reaped no benefits. They are bored out of their tree being in the house all day. So within this context, do you think drinking during a day is a bad thing? I'm not talking about a session on your own, just 3 or 4 pints and then off home.

Personally I don't see an issue with it, I don't think it suggests someone is an "alco" in the making. I think it's perfectly fine if people change it up a bit i.e. go to your city centre one day, maybe go the cinema another day, then just a few quiet pints reading a paper in your local on another day.

I think it's much worse just hanging in your gaff 24/7, that's much worse because you're cutting yourself off from what's going on outside your door. So what say ye?

Thats how it starts, just one day here and there

then BAM!!!!! you've locked yourself in the jacks with all your mothers perfume

so....goood.....when it touches your lips!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

no issue whatsoever with a few pints by yourself furing the day. it's actually my favourite time to go to the pub - it combines by 2 favourite things: horse racing and drinking! if my mates were with me they'd be wanting to do stupid stuff like 'chatting' - this distracts me from the horses...

during the winter the racing starts like 12-12.30 in the afternoon, i've often come home jarred when it's finished at 4pm ish if i've had a good day - but normallly it's just a few.

as far as i'm concerned if you're not one of these people who can't have one drink without going on the piss, keep yer drinking till the night-time. otherwise, drink any time ya want

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Dear Diary,

Yesterday, my wasterness came to a peak. I couldn't believe it happened myself and I can't understand how I'm writing this now. It all starting when woke up and ...

... After that I was totally wasted, didn't know where I was except I remember this ally-way and this guy, who was selling this white powdery glittery stuff, raped and killed me.

Regards,

Wasterina.

PS: ... and loike yeah this story is lame mainly because I'm totally wasted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

well its more then opinion when you arnt working, and the nearist pub is 30 seconds walk. I don't work currently and yes at times id love a pint but I dont submit to it, as i think being in the pub and being unempliyed while claiming benefits is morally wrong.

moral? who give a flying shtie?

Its money given to you by the state to with as you want,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

drdeadlift wrote: »
    moral? who give a flying shtie?

Its money given to you by the state to with as you want,

i feel a tangent coming on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I've nothing against anyone who does it, but wouldn't be my cup of tea. If i was gonna scoop by myself, i'd do it at home.......trousers round my ankles, buffy the vampire slayer on the tv and soft music in the background, you know, romantic like;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

reallyrose wrote: »
    I quite enjoy sitting on my own with a pint and a book in a pub.

Same here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Do what you like with your free-time LZ5by5. Personally tho I'd prefer use it maybe doing something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I've nothing against anyone who does it, but wouldn't be my cup of tea. If i was gonna scoop by myself, i'd do it at home.......trousers round my ankles, buffy the vampire slayer on the tv and soft music in the background, you know, romantic like;)

Is that you Ronan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

There's been a few of these threads I think. Personally, I think it's really enjoyable to go for a daytime pint every now and then.

Funnily enough I grabbed a (one) pint on the (Dublin) seafront on Sunday afternoon. I had my baby son with me who was asleep. I ordered the drink from outside and didn't go into the pub. Maybe I was being paranoid but I thought the people next to me were looking at me a little funny.

Was laughing to myself and thinking that we live in a culture that lionizes drinking - where people can boast about having 20 pints and falling over (not that I oppose that) and get a pat on the back, but have a beer by yourself or with a baby in the afternoon and you're an alco...

That said, I was probably just being paranoid or my fly was undone or something. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Ive got such an urge to go to easons, buy a book, and hammer 6 pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

not for me. i much prefer to go swimming, cycling or climb a mountain instead.

also i see nothing wrong with someone who likes to go drinking on their own. some people just don't need to be around other people all the time to be stimulated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

The thing is ar people just going to random pubs on their own? Would they have a local that they go to? I do and would be friends with the staff behind the bar so it's not really that strange for me to go for a pint on an odd Tuesday afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Was in Lidl yesterday, they had 6 bottles of 5% German lager for €4.50, how can ya say no to that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Insurgent wrote: »
    The thing is ar people just going to random pubs on their own? Would they have a local that they go to? I do and would be friends with the staff behind the bar so it's not really that strange for me to go for a pint on an odd Tuesday afternoon.

I often prefer a random one if I fancy a daytime pint. Going to your local just means that you end up chatting with somebody - be it barman or clientèle - whereas the pleasure of the daytime pint is gathering your thoughts, watching a game or just watching the world go by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I do it every few months or so especially during the summer. I tend to go to the pub to watch cricket, play the roulette machine, have a few drinks and a pack of bacon fries with every pint :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Thepones

A pint in the afternoon, reading the paper, relaxing.... sometimes it has to be done.

I dont know why people think its strange to have a pint on your own. It is a great way to relax, kill time before meeting people.... or getting a head start on a great day / night on the sauce!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭craggles

See I don't know, if you were unemployed and drinking all day when you could be doing something productive then that's a definite slippery slope to alcoholism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

fair play! :D

Bah ended up going for an hour walk along the Howth Road and around Raheny instead, I think going to the pub at this stage would be a tad unproductive. :P

Good to see though that the majority are cool with the idea anyway. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

PK2008 wrote: »
    Thats how it starts, just one day here and there

then BAM!!!!! you've locked yourself in the jacks with all your mothers perfume

so....goood.....when it touches your lips!!!!!!

And of course, you smell lovely afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

When I'm working nights I'd occasionally come in at 9.30am, have something to eat and a glass of wine then go to bed. I see nothing wrong with drinking at any time, it depends on the circumstances though. I mean if I was to get up after a night sleep and have a glass of wine in the morning, thats a totally different story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Don't see a problem with it myself. Beer garden on a nice day like today with a good book.