Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

50+ ways to improve TNA

• 26-05-2010 10:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭

Given that Hogan's TNA hasn't exactly set the ratings alight (inc the 0.5 rating during the "war"), what would you do to improve TNA atm??

1. Cut the roster back. There's no need to have a 70+ roster for a 2 hour show that goes out once a week.

Continue if ye want..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

2. Slow build storylines and make us care about one or two in particular, no more of this "lets throw everything at the wall and see what sticks" mentality!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

3. Go live on Thursdays. Start by going live and leave it live for a while (6-12 months), then once you have your audience built, go to Mondays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

4 - Give Scott Hall a ridiculously strong push

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭campo

5.Put the strap on Hardy and push him to the moon its risky as he might go back to the WWE but he seems to like it in TNA so he just might stick around for a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

6. Have The Guns Vs Gen Me for 20 minutes every show.

7. Get Christy Hemme and Lacey Von Erich go nuts with each other.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

8. Use the X Division and Knockouts Division to there full potential with long matches instead of 5 minute scrap matches

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

9. Hire the BWE booking commitee :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

gimmick wrote: »
    6. Have The Guns Vs Gen Me for 20 minutes every show.

7. Get Christy Hemme and Lacey Von Erich go nuts with each other.

:cool:
    With sexy conseqeuences.
    :cool:

Just to get the elephant in the corner out of the way.

10. Fire Vince Russo.

11. Let Jeremy Borash decide everything.

12. get rid of the has beens/relics and push the younger stars like they claimed they were gonna do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

13. Stop being obsessed with "beating" WWE, and carve out another market, WWE is now a kids show, let TNA be something different and let it be something for older fans, and by that I dont mean pushing guys who are 10 years past their prime and trying to relive the WCW glory days. That was then, this is now. TNA has a ludicrously talented roster and isnt doing anything with its own homegrown stars, instead its pushing 50 odd year old men. Have the legends around in mangerial/storyline personas, but keep them out of the ring.

!4. Fire Russo, get Jim Cornette back.MAybe hire Paul Heyman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

9. Hire the BWE booking commitee :pac:

Their ratings would definetly go up. The amount of idea's going we're generating is unbelievable

15. Don't generate a main storyline which involves your competitor's Hall of Fame ring giving you "powers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

16 - Let Lance Storm have veto powers over all booking decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Get rid of Hogan.

Replace with Brooke.

Brother.

Degag wrote: »
    Get rid of Hogan.

Replace with Brooke.

Brother.

eugh, you may as well get the mother instead, although she's got a face like a baked testicle.

krudler wrote: »
    eugh, you may as well get the mother instead, although she's got a face like a baked testicle.

Hulk and Linda feud, featuring Rick shacking up with Linda and spending all the hulkster's money, FTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Degag wrote: »

what? Brooke is a munter

Back on topic please lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

13. Stop being obsessed with "beating" WWE, and carve out another market, WWE is now a kids show, let TNA be something different and let it be something for older fans, and by that

I agree they should do their own thing and let wwe do theirs.

Don't agree wwe is a kids show. Why put Raw on at 9pm on a Monday. This pg is really messing with folks minds. Smackdown has always been pg but it was never complained about till recently? This is off topic but think it should be mentioned.

^ Back on topic PLEASE. Next one to go off topic will get a days ban. If you wish to discuss issues raised in the thread, please start a new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

18. Fire Team 3D

19. Bring in Iron Sheik and put him in a power struggle with Hogan.

20. Stop doing sh!t that makes lists like these necessary!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

21 - Form the ultimate stable with Iron Sheik as leader, with fellow members New Jack, Honky Tonk Man, Jake the Snake and Scott Hall. Money to be made, my friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭glenjamin

22 - Do what it says on the tin and have it Total Nonstop Action Wrestling rather than boring promos that last too long and woeful segments involving Orlando Jordan and 5 minute matches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

23. Get rid of Orlando Jordan, PERIOD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

24. Reign Ken Anderson in because it's obvious that they are telling him he can say what he wants. Like most talent, the man needs direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

25. Stop making excuses as to why your are not growing and address the one that is staring you in the face: Terrible stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

26. Let the MCMG have a decent tag title run

27. Push Samoa Joe

28. Fire The Band

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

29. Change networks.

30. Leave the Impact Zone.

31. Go live(doesn't matter which night)

32. Stop giving away ppv quality matches for free.

33. Put someone in charge. Who's in charge now? Dixie? Hogan? Bischoff? Flair? Russo?

At the moment I might even suggest doing away with PPVs altogether. They probably lose money on them and considering they tend to focus more on TV anyway, then why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

34. Heyman.

flahavaj wrote: »
    34. Heyman.

The same Heyman whose creative vision ran ECW out of business.

He's the last thing TNA need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

The last thing what they need is what they have now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Heyman's creative vision put ECW on the map and revolutionised the North American wrestling.

His sh*tty business sense ran them out of business.

I'm saying give him the book, but keep him far far away from the purse strings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

35. Bring back Daniels and push him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KrazeeEyezKilla

At the moment I might even suggest doing away with PPVs altogether. They probably lose money on them and considering they tend to focus more on TV anyway, then why not?

Getting rid of PPV's is probably too far but they definitely should be cut to about eight a year. I'm not sure what the numbers are now but I remember how the first Angle-Joe match in November 2006 got something like three times the normal buyrate simply because it was huge match that people wanted to see. Better developed storylines and rivalries is what they need. I've been trying to get back into TNA the last few months but it's a complete mess and I can't be bothered following it.
    super-rush wrote: »
    30. Leave the Impact Zone.

I can't believe they're still there. You would think they'd focus on getting away from there before trying to go head to head with Raw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

36. Bring back the 6-sided ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

37. Hire Jim Ross.

+1 on the PPV issue - personally, I'd fall into the 'reduce the number' camp. They're losing money on the bloody things, but past events have shown that a well-developed storyline or must-see match boosts buyrates. So ditch the monthly thing and scale it back to, say, 6 good PPVs a year.

I think this rather overlaps with the suggestion that TNA stop being obsessed with matching/beating the WWE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭mr.mayo

38. Get rid of everybody under 40 except Rob Terry & Orlando Jordan(who will feud over the world title)

39. Bring in every washed up 80's/90's wrestler they can find. Beg the Nasty Boys to come back

40. Implement a new rule which states that each promo must be at least 20 minutes long and involve Ric Flair cutting himself

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

mr.mayo wrote: »
    38. Get rid of everybody under 40 except Rob Terry & Orlando Jordan(who will feud over the world title)

39. Bring in every washed up 80's/90's wrestler they can find. Beg the Nasty Boys to come back

40. Implement a new rule which states that each promo must be at least 20 minutes long and involve Ric Flair cutting himself

41. Transport TNA to the bizzaro universe where all these ideas will work as well their current booking ideas to improve TNA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

42- Sell to WWE and let the experts run the show.............;)

43 - In all seriousness, have someone sit down to evaluate the ratings performance over the past six months of all the on-screen talent (segment by segment). Then compare it to the talent's appearance fee. All of this is doable - even by us if we had 8 hours or so to spare. Use this value for money chart as the primary guide when it comes to making the inevitable cuts.

44 - Bring in Linda as Flair's Valet. So full of win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

45 - get rid of hogan and russo

46 - give desmond wolfe a title run

Giving Wolfe a title run won't fix TNA. It might be something you and many RoH fans would like to see, but it's not something that will fix TNA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭ibFoxer

flahavaj wrote: »
    Heyman's creative vision put ECW on the map and revolutionised the North American wrestling.

His sh*tty business sense ran them out of business.

I'm saying give him the book, but keep him far far away from the purse strings.
    37. Hire Jim Ross.
    45 - get rid of hogan and russo

All of the above PLEASE

47: whittle down the roster until it's a decent size, getting rid of the likes of Flair and Scott Hall (both making absolute disgraces of their respective legacies) Kevin Nash (no explanation needed) and the likes of Orlando Jordan, Suicide, Hernandez, Dudleys, Kyoshi, Magnus, Raven, Rhino etc. Why have most of these guys redshirted? Cut them loose, start again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 DoIMakeUHorny?

I'm going to go on a bit of a rant but bear with me and see if you agree.

Speaking as someone that really liked WCW back when Bischoff was at the helm the first time around, both he and Hogan have been abject failures in TNA and it's not hard to see why.

When Bischoff was in WCW, his main draw was the ability to shock fans with big star signings, creating dream match ups between the WWF's biggest names and WCW's. Hogan Vs Sting, The Outsiders vs The Steiner Brothers, The NWO vs The Four Horsemen, the list goes on.

Can anyone figure out why this strategy doesn't work in TNA in 2010?

Well, to me, there are a few reasons. For one thing, TNA has been a company based around youth and even the more experienced guys like Jeff Jarrett, Sting, Kurt Angle and Christian Cage (before) are all still capable of putting on good, if not stellar matches.

But while Bischoff lured people like Hall and Nash to WCW back when they were in their prime, having Hall and Nash now, along with the Nasty Boys, Val Venis and others that are simply incapable of putting on the fast paced, TNA style matches was in direct opposition to the product that TNA fans were been used to.

Bischoff and Hogan were banking more on names to draw ratings, but that simply hasn't panned out.

Furthermore, fans are growing more disenchanted with the names in the spotlight over the last few months. Nasty Boys versus 3D? Val Venis going over Christopher Daniels? Shannon Moore getting pushed over the entire X Division (and now the tag division)? Rob Van Dam going over AJ Styles after being in the company for such a short time?

The list goes on.

Similarly, Easy E, Ric Flair and Hogan have booked themselves into nearly every feud going on right now in one way or another, giving rise to such momentum crushers as Abyssamania, the de-Jarrettification of Jeff Jarrett, AJ Flair, turning Beer Money in to hired muscle and so help me God, if I see Hogan doing the "RVD" chant one more time...

But it's not just the people that are getting the attention, it's who's not as well. The Knockouts Division, which became a ratings boom for TNA in the past, has been decimated by the new regime. Same goes for the X Division, one of the biggest things that TNA had over the WWE. Some would also argue that the Tag Division is in shambles as well. That's a triple threat of ratings trouble for Hogan and Bischoff.

Add to that a litany of underused (or misused) talent from Samoa Joe to Generation Me and it all feels like a recipe for disaster. Instead of strengthening what was working in TNA, they decided to "change" everything, turn the company on its' ear, so to speak. But why? TNA was growing in the ratings every week.

Instead of helping along what worked, adding a big name here and a solid angle there, they decided to ship in a bunch of useless, WWE castoffs who have either disappeared already or are still sucking time away from the real talent in TNA. Why they still have yet to figure out that Orlando Jordan, gimmick or not, is an automatic channel changer is beyond me.

Bischoff should be near breaking point because everything he's done so far, from eliminating the six sided ring to moving the show to the hires and fires have all culminated in negative ratings and ill will from TNA fans. You want to know what can save your job Eric? Undo everything you've done, get the old farts off TV, restock the X Division with some quality ROH talent, hire women who can actually wrestle for the Knockouts Division, do what worked before, improve it, and bring in someone that can put it all together better than Russo...Paul Heyman anyone?

I'm not a WWE mark, I couldn't care less if they went bankrupt tomorrow, their show doesn't interest me in the least but all I want is for something watchable and TNA is putting out a product that I can't bear to tune in to more than 15 minutes.

Part of me wonders if Hogan and Bischoff weren't legacy shopping when they took over the reigns of TNA, thinking that they'd be the ones who "took TNA to the big leagues" and "made them a competitor" or some such nonsense, being the egomaniacs they are.

Regardless, they wanted to come in and put their stamp on the show and they have.

Using the first half hour for nothing but talking? Check. Matches that last no more than three minutes? Check. Pushing old farts ahead of the younger talent? That's a big WCW "Hell Yeah Mutherfocker" on that!

I'm still just amazed that these morons believe that people want to see Orlando Jordan over, say, Samoa Joe. Or that people want to see 20+ interviews per night instead of matches that last five or even *gasp, would someone please think of the children* ten minutes.

You know what would've been great? Seeing RVD vs Wolfe in a match that went fifteen minutes or more, allowing both guys to really shine.

I know, there has to be stories and when they're well executed, they're a great part of the experience, but that's also part of the problem...

Their plot lines last 3 weeks at the most, the booking is entirely random, the "anything can happen" aspect comes off looking more like "we don't know what the f#$*k we're doing".

I'm sick of seeing Hogan at the beginning and ending of EVERY Impact.

You know what brother, I totally get it. You're a legend! You've had a superb career and made yourself a truckload full of cash but now you're old as sh!t! You can't wrestle AT ALL anymore. I don't need you taking 20 minutes at the beginning of the show to tell me how the crowd are "jacked", do RVD's thumb pointing when calling him out and then beating up the entire locker room single handedly. You're ruining Abyss with that ring garbage (I don't care if it was his idea, Chris Park's idea, Russo's idea or yours, it's horrible) and the "Real American" intro music, you, sir, are all over that **** like a bad rash and if the ratings aren't telling Dixie what should be blatantly obvious then hopefully the fans will soon enough:

You are NOT helping TNA, brother!

Hogans name does not equal ratings anymore by any stretch of the imagination, the new generation of fans don't like watching his cronies in any way shape or form and his desire to keep down the TNA originals while subjecting fans to small spurts of mediocre wrestling followed by an hour and a half of complete crap-tacular promos is hurting the product.

TNA had momentum before Hogan/Bischoff and now they have dug themselves a hole that, even if Hogan and Bischoff packed their bags tomorrow, would take years to re-build the isolated fanbase.

There... It's that simple. It's black and white. Both Hogan and Bischoff have failed and they need to be shown the door. So yeah, if this is the sum total of what "making the change" means, then I think it's high time Dixie "makes the change" and gets rid of these two clowns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

One thing why TNA is really struggling is the internet. Bisch is still trying his "Sign the big stars and people will tune in to see who we get tactic" But its not much of a shock if 3 weeks before it happens their are millions of spoilers saying "Buff Bagwell going to TNA" that's one of the main things that stopping TNA being as big a "sucess" as WCW.

Oh and Orlando Jordan and Scott Hall are the only 2 reason to watch TNA since they got rid of Consequences Creed.

There are many TNA threads already. Do not need another.

Merged with the 50+ thread. I was far too hasty locking it. Excellent post with some great points.

The only point I take issue with is this
    Rob Van Dam going over AJ Styles after being in the company for such a short time?

I think this was a good idea to give RVD the belt, but maybe not on free TV. RVD is a good established name, who is something of a interweb darling. He has more name quality than AJ, and is still able to put on entertaining matches. Maybe it just happened a little too quick, but overall, I see no harm in that move.