Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wexford V Galway

• 26-05-2010 8:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭

What's the national perspective on this game? Does anyone think Wexford are capable of causing an upset. 2 weeks ago I had a lot of unfounded optimism that we could do it, now as we get closer to the game that optimism is quickly disappearing.

Both sides seem to have a lot of injury doubts, and I think the Galway panel is more capable of absorbing these than Wexford, although we will have to wait until Saturday to see how genuine some of these doubts are.

I'll be heading down on Saturday, foregoing my Leinster tickets, so hopefully my faith will be repiad and we won't be on the end of the Kilkenny type beating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

Worried For Wexford here...If Galway turn up it could be a total mismatch I'd expect a 10 point win for Galway or something to that extent.But hey at least your county will be somewhat competitive unlike my own.Best of luck in the championship!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Hard to know what to expect since we don't know what sort of a team Galway will have out. There are alot of injury doubts but I really have no idea how serious any of them are, I think it was mostly just knocks and sprains and the like so I'd expect most of them to be fit. Fergal Moore being out for the year is a big blow though, he's alongside Ollie Canning as one of our two best defenders.

Assuming that Galway are somewhere close to full strength, I'd expect us to win this one. Is there much confidence in the Wexford camp though? Do they believe they can win this? That's all important, that belief. Galway aren't unbeatable by any means, and are probably even being a bit overrated after the Cork game, so an upset isn't out of the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Wexford will do well to finish within 5 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

I'm heading down myself. I will be happy if they can put up a good show. Not a chance of winning.

On another note did anyone read Martin Breheny in th Indo yesterday and today stating that Galway have never beaten Wexford in the Championship ?
    I am correct in saying that Galway beat them in 1888 or 1889 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

will1977 wrote: »
    I'm heading down myself. I will be happy if they can put up a good show. Not a chance of winning.

On another note did anyone read Martin Breheny in th Indo yesterday and today stating that Galway have never beaten Wexford in the Championship ?
    I am correct in saying that Galway beat them in 1888 or 1889 ?

The bookies have the handicap at Wexford + 8 pts. Hard to know though Galway could rack up a few goals, still 8 pts is a decent haul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭The Wexican

If we can keep the Galway forwards quite there is a hope, the only question is apart from Gizzy Lyng where our scores are going to come from.

Think we can take some inspiration from Waterford last year who weren't given much hope by anybody in last years quarter against Galway, yet kept things tight at back, whilst managing to keep things ticking over on the scoreboard, so that they were right in it in the closing stages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

If we can keep the Galway forwards quite there is a hope, the only question is apart from Gizzy Lyng where our scores are going to come from.

Think we can take some inspiration from Waterford last year who weren't given much hope by anybody in last years quarter against Galway, yet kept things tight at back, whilst managing to keep things ticking over on the scoreboard, so that they were right in it in the closing stages.

Waterford are a good bit better than Wexford though imo. I reckon Galway will win this fairly handy, especially if their forwards get their running game going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 thehill

What's the national perspective on this game? Does anyone think Wexford are capable of causing an upset. 2 weeks ago I had a lot of unfounded optimism that we could do it, now as we get closer to the game that optimism is quickly disappearing.

Both sides seem to have a lot of injury doubts, and I think the Galway panel is more capable of absorbing these than Wexford, although we will have to wait until Saturday to see how genuine some of these doubts are.

I'll be heading down on Saturday, foregoing my Leinster tickets, so hopefully my faith will be repiad and we won't be on the end of the Kilkenny type beating.

unfounded :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Galway will win this one easily enough. Something between 8-12 points i'd reckon.
    Wexford are a long way off Galways level now, and a few months of Div 2 hurling playing the likes of Kildare and Down won't have helped either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Lads the RTE website has this down as Wexford Park, but I could've sworn it was going ahead in Nowlan Park?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

flahavaj wrote: »
    Lads the RTE website has this down as Wexford Park, but I could've sworn it was going ahead in Nowlan Park?:confused:

Leinster GAA website has it down for Nowlan Park anyway: http://leinster.gaa.ie/fixtures/guinness_seniorhurling.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

As Div 2 winners - Wexford are wound up for this one -

But Willie Doran has dislocated elbow - Richie Kehoe knee ligament - and there are doubts about Paul Roche and PJ Nolan

David Redmond is back from Australia and raring to go .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭cremeegg

i think it will be a tight enough game.. galway will edge it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

Warper wrote: »
    The bookies have the handicap at Wexford + 8 pts. Hard to know though Galway could rack up a few goals, still 8 pts is a decent haul.

While Galway should win this ( they've been backed in from 1/6 to 1/10 in places ) , they may find it tougher going than many anticipate so Wexford + 8 points at Evens might be a bit of value .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

tatoo wrote: »
    While Galway should win this ( they've been backed in from 1/6 to 1/10 in places ) , they may find it tougher going than many anticipate so Wexford + 8 points at Evens might be a bit of value .

+1 Galway are ravaged by injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Wexford team is as follows:

1. N. Carton, 2. L. Prendergast, 3. K. Rossiter, 4. C. Kenny, 5. R. Kehoe, 6. D. Stamp, 7. M. Travers, 8. H. Kehoe, 9. C. Farrell, 10. M. Jacob, 11. E. Quigley, 12. D. Lyng, (capt) 13. R. Jacob, 14. S. Banville, 15. P. Atkinson

Good to see Kehoe back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭yellowbear

Does anyone remember 2004 when Wexford beat Kilkenny in a half empty Croke Park when nobody expected them to come close? You never know what could happen on Saturday. Saying that I wouldnt expect it to happen!

yellowbear wrote: »
    Does anyone remember 2004 when Wexford beat Kilkenny in a half empty Croke Park when nobody expected them to come close? You never know what could happen on Saturday. Saying that I wouldnt expect it to happen!

kraggy wrote: »

Oi, I'm the only one around here who is allowed to talk absolute bollocks about my team and their ****tiness, leave the 'cute hoor' crap to the experts. :mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Kraggy is only following in your footsteps bai ;)

callinan
    joyce
    kav
    canning
    barry
    tony og
    collins
    farragher
    burke
    harte
    donnellan
    smith
    hayes
    canning
    gantly

Yeah thats a Galway team simply demicated by injuries alright, suprised they even managed to find 15 hurlers to turn up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭The Wexican

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Stevecw wrote: »
    Galway will win this one easily enough. Something between 8-12 points i'd reckon.
    Wexford are a long way off Galways level now, and a few months of Div 2 hurling playing the likes of Kildare and Down won't have helped either.

That's one reason why I'd be confident of a Galway win. Wexford have had no sort of preparation for this, as a few months of division 2 hurling will have done nothing for them.

kraggy wrote: »

It seems reports of an injury-hit squad were a bit exaggerated.

Fergal Moore is an awful loss though, and I believe he's out for the whole year.

All things considered, a Galway v Kilkenny Leinster final does seem likely. And I hope those words don't come back to bite me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭deccy15

Just got a quote from PaddyPower of 28/1 for Joe Canning to outscore Wexford!!:D Will Faragher be assuming many of the free taking duties?? If not then it could well happen!! Wexford were every bit as poor as Clare in div 2 this year!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

If Galway lose to Wexford we have no chance of winning an All-Ireland in the next 5 years.

I really want us to improve on the League Title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

Orizio wrote: »
    Yeah thats a Galway team simply demicated by injuries alright, suprised they even managed to find 15 hurlers to turn up...

For those of us who haven't been paying attention to the news out of galway, there was a training session last week canceled with 21 of 33 requiring some form of treatment. From Tuesdays Connacht Sentinel

Defenders Ollie Canning (ankle), Donal Barry (dead leg), Conor Dervan (dislocated thumb and hip), midfielder Ger Farragher (dead leg), and attackers Niall Healy (ankle) and Richie Cummins (calf) will all undergo fitness tests at this evening’s training session at Kenny Park.

Already ruled out of the Wexford clash is Portumna centre-half forward Kevin Hayes with a hamstring injury.

Five of those who are to be put through their paces were unable to take part in the senior panel’s trial game last Saturday – part of Galway Hurling’s successful open day – while the other, Niall Healy, was forced to withdraw from the action with his injury.

Add Moore to this and we're lucky that as many of the injuries have cleared up.

antoobrien wrote: »
    For those of us who haven't been paying attention to the news out of galway, there was a training session last week canceled with 21 of 33 requiring some form of treatment. From Tuesdays Connacht Sentinel

Add Moore to this and we're lucky that as many of the injuries have cleared up.

:rolleyes: :pac:

McIntyre/Galway were taking the piss last week, stop suggesting otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭cremeegg

anyone heading down tomo... ill be there... expecting a close enough game.. i think if we can get on top of wex early we should not have too much trouble..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

cremeegg wrote: »
    anyone heading down tomo... ill be there... expecting a close enough game.. i think if we can get on top of wex early we should not have too much trouble..
    I'm going meself. Weather not looking good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

I'll be there also, tis a grand day down here apart from a few menacing clouds and the odd shower. Hopefully they'll stay away for the match.

Hoping for a good contest but can't see it happening myself. Galway by 9.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Oi, I'm the only one around here who is allowed to talk absolute bollocks about my team and their ****tiness, leave the 'cute hoor' crap to the experts. :mad:

You're not a cute hoor, you're just consistently pessimistic for the sake of an internet gimmick.;)

flahavaj wrote: »
    You're not a cute hoor, you're just consistently pessimistic for the sake of an internet gimmick.;)

Exactly Flahavaj - did ye Galwegians hear that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

I have a feeling that WX can do this... they are capable of beating a big gun almost every other year - they are overdue a big game now. WX are a Championship team, always have. forget DV2 hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭mickeypat

anyone got a link for this game ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

wrong thread sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Undertow

How much are tix for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Joyce Country

mickeypat wrote: »
    anyone got a link for this game ?

listening to online radio currently. out abroad so rte.ie wont let me watch via their website :mad:

Try justintv.

Intense game but very poor quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

it is a very poor game and where is the wexford forwards every time the ball goes up the field galway are making dirt of them wexford backs are doing ok but all in all wexford are giving away stupid frees the way wexford are playing they deserve to loose
    if galway were getting all the missed scores they would be way in front
    harry kehoe of wexford is having a very good game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭murraymarmalade

poor game,loads of frees,no skill............ boring:(

fingers crossed for the second half.......wexford in need of an early goal to put some life into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

my god what a save!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

df1985 wrote: »
    my god what a save!!

brilliant....wexford on the comeback......its livened up

4 points in it and Galway down to 14 men, come on Wexford

Then Galway get another goal :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Galway showing their class and pulling away with this match

Fantastic Lyng will probably be suspended for the next game :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

another siht game for wexford 11 point loss its a joke wexford only turned up for 10 or 15 min in the second half and its only going to be the same in the championship hammered by who ever they meet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Great stuff for Galway :)

Final score and a few words on what happened in the second half? Was at a club match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Final score and a few words on what happened in the second half? Was at a club match.

2-22- 1-14. Competitive until the 60th minute then Wexford wilted and did not put up the scores, despite a man advantage. 3 players sent off, 1 for Galway in the 50th minute and 2 Wexford lads late on.

Galway were poor IMO, Offaly will put it up to them I think