Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Virgin

• 24-05-2010 3:38pm
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Im going unreg as this is a bit personal for me
    - - - Im a virgin,19,female and Im so aware of this in my society
    I mean, what if it never happens?
    Lads have teased me and persumed im a virgin! I dont even socialise with them and they think they have a god given right to tease me about my personal life. Like, why do guys persume whos a virgin and whos not! It was one comment and has stuck with me to this day. Its upsetting as my love life is dead and look, I know its immature, but why is it making me so anxious and ugly? If guys like virgins or whatever is being claimed these days, why am i being made feel worthless and ugly because of their persumtions? Its not like I announced I was. They just made the judgement.
    Sorry, i know this sounds babyish, but its getting to me :(

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

you do realise thats guys in your age bracket are complete morons most of the time right? never mind what people assume about you, if you're happy being a virgin then so be it, fair play to ya I say, do it when it matters and with someone you want, not because everyone else is doing it and adding to the teen pregnancy stats.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

These guys teased you about being a virgin and you didn't take the opportunity to say something like, "Yeah well, look at the assholes I have to choose from eh?"

Seriously though OP, being a virgin at 19 is not uncommon, and it's not a bad thing. Wait until you find someone who's worth having sex with.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 21,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭entropi

And I'll add to the others here by saying that probably half of those lads are virgins themselves, just too afraid to admit it...

More lads aged between 18-23 are virgins than you think OP, don't despair. It'll happen when it happens, no worries eh:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭skooterblue

Xiney wrote: »
    "Yeah well, look at the assholes I have to choose from eh?"

What a simple but class comeback.

I am not saying you should remain a virgin until you get married but the earlier you become sexually active the more likely you are to get an STI, teen pregnancy, you have all those hormones growing up as a teenager. Then you have to add in this massive complication of sex on top of it.

Dont let anyone pressurise you. Take your time and find someone worth while. If we had a show of hands did we regret who we slept with first I think many of us would say yes (*shudders at the though).

When you find someone be sensible and it will be well worth the wait.

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi guys
    Its just - ive never gotten close with a guy emotionally to do it. They have even made me feel unwanted and like im a back up. But this isnt about that.
    Im just feeling im holding out for a "prince" who doesnt exist to be honest. Do princes exist?
    I want to be with someone who likes or loves me enough to be at least accepting of everything. Im a bit too romantic for my own good. Would you believe girls have even teased me. Someone even sneakily suggested that im ugly because im a virgin, like its a bad thing. I know its not a disasterous thing but my head keeps saying it is. Clearly confubbled! My bestfriend has called me "the virgin mary" on occasion. Even in public. Im so mortified. I dont want to make this seem like a girly dilemma insecure thread. It just gets to me. Sorry if i come across that way. It just seems to be an issue of late when the girls talk about sex and i nod along. Feeling im missing a part of the puzzle is all

• Registered Users Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

OP, I'm a 29 year old guy. When I think back to some of the things I said and did, right up until the first half of my 20's, I curl up inside, cringing with embarrassment! Do not for a second take anything they say to heart. Young guys are for the most part, idiots. Unfortunately you'll have to put up with it until they start hitting the mid-20s! There is nothing wrong in being a virgin at 19. Don't rush into something just because some clowns make idiotic comments. Take your time, and make it special. I did that, and I'm am so glad I waited. I had the opportunity to lose my virginity at a younger age than I did. But I waited, and it was one of the best decisions I ever made! There is nothing quite like sex with someone you love. It's incomparable with just a ride with someone for the sake of it. Wait until you find someone who cares for you, and who you care for. You only get one first time. May as well make it special!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

When people tease you, and it upsets you, you have two options:

1) Come back with some slagging of your own
    2) Tell them that it's not nice of them to tease you like that and that it upsets you. If they are a good friend, they'll stop, and if they don't stop, you've just made the valuable discovery that they are not a good friend.

As for the whole being ugly because you're a virgin thing... that's bull. You do sound like you need a confidence boost though, and confidence is sexy. So join a club, start doing a sport... get good at something that you enjoy. You'll feel better about yourself and you'll instantly be more attractive.

You don't seem too romantic, I think it's perfectly acceptable to want to like or even love the person you sleep with.

i have confidence. My confidence in guys is gone though. But since I can remember, there was a vibe about virginity when I hit secondary school - there was a sell by date.
    Im gonna just say it - I havent gone that far with guys as in - - well you know, I havent done anything other then kissing.
    Regarding this, it feels like a race. Its bad enough some people persume right about my virginity. Never mind minor stuff compared to it. People have laughed when i was 16 nevermind now. Ive tried to ignore it. This niggling feeling.
    I just feel IM backwards sexually. - make sense? Thats how i feel

and my dad has suggested im a lesbian, and then laughs it off. And my mother has said "if your gay, you could talk to us" - Should I be insulted?
    Shouldnt they be delighted im holding back? Or am i an alien?

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

unregging wrote: »
    and my dad has suggested im a lesbian, and then laughs it off. And my mother has said "if your gay, you could talk to us" - Should I be insulted?
    Shouldnt they be delighted im holding back? Or am i an alien?

Thats BS to be honest, most parents would be delighted that their teenage daughter ISNT sleeping around.

• Registered Users Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Contessa Raven

Hi OP,

I think you are focussing too much on what other people think. I know you feel like an alien (I felt that way too :() but you just have to learn to drown out the assholes and idiots and listen to yourself. You know what's right for you deep down.

There are princes out there. I found one! :) I met him in college. I had only ever kissed people before too and we lost our virginities to each other. I was 20, he was 22. It was good. We loved each other and we waited until it was right for us. It can happen but you have to believe it will happen.

Seriously OP it is nothing to be embarrassed about and the people making fun of you are the people who are immature. Not you.

It will happen when it's supposed to. You shouldn't rush something as important to you as this.

CR

Hi OP,

I think you are focussing too much on what other people think. I know you feel like an alien (I felt that way too :() but you just have to learn to drown out the assholes and idiots and listen to yourself. You know what's right for you deep down.

There are princes out there. I found one! :) I met him in college. I had only ever kissed people before too and we lost our virginities to each other. I was 20, he was 22. It was good. We loved each other and we waited until it was right for us. It can happen but you have to believe it will happen.

Seriously OP it is nothing to be embarrassed about and the people making fun of you are the people who are immature. Not you.

It will happen when it's supposed to. You shouldn't rush something as important to you as this.

CR

Thanks.
    But, for some reason, im surrounded by assholes everywhere i look . Even the guys who pose as nice and geniune - are the worst. I dont wanna end up being trashed by guys for the rest of my life :O id love to find a nice guy like you did. Your lucky :)

unregging, I have the exact same problem. Difference is I am 18 and a guy lol. A lot of my friends have talked about what they have done with their girlfriends and when I hear what they say it really puts me down because I feel I am so inexperienced.

I have not been teased over it simply because i change the subject whenever I can. For a while I thought I was the only one my age with this problem but there really are many girls/lads still virgins at our ages.However, If you have a group of friends who have already done it and you the only one who hasnt It is a tough thing to deal with.

Lads have teased me and persumed im a virgin! I dont even socialise with them and they think they have a god given right to tease me about my personal life. Like, why do guys persume whos a virgin and whos not! It was one comment and has stuck with me to this day. Its upsetting as my love life is dead and look, I know its immature, but why is it making me so anxious and ugly? If guys like virgins or whatever is being claimed these days, why am i being made feel worthless and ugly because of their persumtions? Its not like I announced I was. They just made the judgement.

OP i would'nt take any notice of the comments from those idiots, id say there is a good chance they are virgins themselfs but of course they have this macho attitude they have to put on and live up too around friends and maybe see you as a easy target. You're only 19yrs for god sake and still have plenty of time so relax and enjoy your youth and stop worrying yourself. I'm sure when you meet a boy you will know when the time is right and don't let them or anyone else put pressure on you either, you will only live to regret this later in life if you just go sleep with joe bloggs for the sake of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Don't mind "society" - believe me, there are far more 19-year-old virgins in this world than your peers, popular culture etc would have you believe. FAR more. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭Funky Kingston

Hi OP , this is not babyish at all .

The guy that are teasing you and making you feel bad are not worth your thoughts. They sound like idiots that most women DO NOT want .

When you meet the right person you will know and it will be fantastic. You will see how important a good partner is and how silly these boys are . Other posters are right .... these guys are acting macho , any decent guy would not need to prove himself like that .

Take your time , there is no rush :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Hey relax,

I'm 29 and still have a mate or two who are virgins. You are only 19 and you haven't met the right guy its not big deal at all. Yes, your prince charming is definitely out there, but I can assure you he is not the drunken horny guy.

Don't rush into this decision, there is absolutely nothing wrong with you what so ever, tbh I recon there is something wrong with your dad, unless he is saying that in a really sick sense of humor.

It sounds to me like you want a man, not a boy and unfortunately at that age, most guys are boys.

Hey OP,
    First off fair play for not just sleeping around cause other people expect you to and try not to feel ashamed for sticking to your morals/values etc. im in a similiar situation and Im a 21 year old guy and worse still Iv never even been Kissed (Shock, GASP). Im not butt ugly either and it wasnt even a choice I made I was just never in the right situation or whatever. Also Im not ashamed (Im also a hopeless romantic) but at the same time I would never tell anyone and my friends have no idea.

Anyway I just think you have to be happy in yourself and just not care what others think.

Besides we are so much more superior than those amoral valueless sluts and prostitutes sleeping around with everyone they see. :P

Besides we are so much more superior than those amoral valueless sluts and prostitutes sleeping around with everyone they see.

while i agree that the op should wait for the right person, and those guys are idiots (im 26 female, had my first kiss at 20, and lost my virginity at the grand old age of 22). I don't think the above attitude is healthy(wether meant as sarcasm or not). There is nothing wrong/slutty about men/women who chose to have one night stands or whatever as long as they're playing safe. Sex is a natural urge, and there is nothing "amoral" or wrong about having sex. Having sex does not make you "valueless". While yes its admirable to wait to find the right person to lose your virginity to, sex is not necessarily some "big life changing experience" to be put on a pedistal, it a primal (and intimate, bonding experience) urge, and theres nothing amoral, or wrong about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I want to be with someone who likes or loves me enough to be at least accepting of everything. Im a bit too romantic for my own good. Would you believe girls have even teased me. Someone even sneakily suggested that im ugly because im a virgin, like its a bad thing. I know its not a disasterous thing but my head keeps saying it is. Clearly confubbled! My bestfriend has called me "the virgin mary" on occasion. Even in public.

OP, you need to surround yourself with better people. These "friends" of yours are humiliating you, in public no less, and think nothing of using such a personal issue to embarass you. They are not your friends at all, how are you supposed to build your confidence when you are around such thoughtless idiots?

As for you parents, that's shocking behaviour. Sounds like the kind of parents who would think nothing of a 13 year old having a boyfriend, never mind a 19 year old. Jesus my heart goes out to you for being surrounded with such morons, even in your own home.

I'm in the same boat as you OP. I'm 20 and have only ever kissed a girl and tbh it doesn't bother me in the slightest. At this time in my life i dont want to be in a relationship and i dont want to just sleep with anybody and seem that I have become desperate. I too get the " it's ok if your gay" off my parents but i just laugh it joke about it. I know myself that the time comes when the time comes and no matter what my friends say or think bothers me in the slightest. The best thing you can do is just put it to the back of mind and live life and soon the prince will come strolling into life in the blink of an eye. So just be strong and confident and dont give a damn what people think you.

Hey guys thanks for your comments
    Its hard. Especially when girls in my group are going on and on about what they did last night. - My parents are brill. I guess they were joking. But theyre not morons :)
    I mean, its hard because guys actually go as far to exclude me. Now, i dont know if its my personality but i know ive done nothing to offend any of them so- -
    Its difficult, especially when you cant do a thing right with guys. I mean, my ex dumped me within a wk to get with my slutty friend.
    Fact is, its one extreme to the other from my group of peers- girls who sleep around, then me - no balance - I think im good enough and deserve to be treated well instead of my personal choices being thrown in my face. Its a sad reflection on my peers. And its hard to see past them. i have been feeling theres something wrong with me, my personality, my looks etc

my friend whos 19 didnt loose her virginity until this year. Her ex was always pressurising her to have sex but she said no because she wasnt ready. as a result he dumped her, but she now has a new bf for 6 months and is having sex with him because she was ready and knew he wasnt using her for sex and was willing to wait. She said its the best decision shes ever made. Theres more virgins our age out there than you think, and im sure youl be glad you waited aswell than if you sleep with some randomer.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭lillywhite1

I agree with most of the comments and you are doing the right thing. Though you should remember that it is not easy to do that and you need to be a strong character but your posts suggest that you are and I am sure you will find your prince out there some day.

just wanted to say that i was a virgin until i was 21 i felt a lot of pressure to loose it with some random guy i did have a boyfriend and when i told him he ran a mile and i was heart broken
    however a few months later i met my current partner we are now together 11 years and expecting our first baby and im so glad i waited and that he has been my only sexual partner
    we have the best relationship ever and love each other more and more each day i know how hard it is not to make a big deal out of it but please dont as when the one comes along it really wont matter if your a virgin or not it will just feel so right and a real man will respect you all the more for having morals
    also you have to learn to be happy on your own for any relationship to work and be strong so enjoy going out with your girlies, having a laugh and a boogie and if you do feel ugly then do something about it go get a hair cut it does wonders and a bit of fake tan always perks me up show them what their missing and what they cant have after all you want a man and not some idiot boy who will probably end up with an std or getting one of their one night stands pregnant your worth more than that xxx

just wanted to say that i was a virgin until i was 21 i felt a lot of pressure to loose it with some random guy i did have a boyfriend and when i told him he ran a mile and i was heart broken
    however a few months later i met my current partner we are now together 11 years and expecting our first baby and im so glad i waited

Congrats on your baby :)

OP, I was one of those idiotic guys that threw away his virginity when I was only 15. I regret this always, despite being fairly chuffed with myself at the time. Several more trysts later and I'm now very regretful.

One of my best friends, however, is still a virgin. He's 21 years old, and is an incredibly normal guy. We're incredibly close as friends and he had a hard time telling me this, as he thought I would think less of him. In fact the opposite is true; I think more of him for it! He has had more respect for himself than most people, including me.

OP, when the time and person is right, you will make love for the first time. Until then, be proud of who you are and of what you do. Don't let the bastards wear you down and don't let anyone make you afraid of anything!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

Hey people, I posted here earlier as unregistered but i thought i'd sign in for this.

I am in the exact same situation as 'unregging' is and I really did think that I was the only one with this problem, It still seems that I am the only one that hasnt got someone in life:mad::mad: plus everyone thinkin ur gay doesnt help either.

I have read all the replies and they have really made me feel better about myself now it has been a while since I have felt like that:eek:. I just wanted to thank you for that it really has helped.

Sorry for hijacking your post 'unregging' :(:(

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭GirlOfGlass

One of my boyfriends mates was a virgin until a few weeks ago.

As said, a few weeks ago at another friends party he(19) lost his virginity in circumstances that were unfair to other people and himself.
    Long story short, he left three girls very upset and regretted it all the next morning.
    He's had to learn the hard way, I hope you can learn from this and not rush into anything just for the sake of losing it.

Playing with emotions can be a dangerous game and people can end up torn apart.
    Take it easy, don't worry about it.
    It'll happened eventually with the right person. No point in regretting your first time.

well, yes it is quite common.. I am a 19 year old guy. I've had a couple of opportunites but i didnt want to I didnt feel an emcional attraction. i suppose Im waiting for the princess.. ive had those comments from parents too but tht's part of it I suppose.. i am surprised so many people at this age have not lost it like me.. There is no doubt the right moment will have to come for all of us..