Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US] 24, Day 8, SERIES FINALE [2 p.m. - 4 p.m.][** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 24-05-2010 2:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭

"After eight seasons and 194 hours, the inventive and suspenseful 24, which has been nominated for 68 Emmys, reaches its historic conclusion."

- The Peace Treaty collapses
    - Taylor sees sense
    - Logan get what he deserved
    - Chloe shoots Jack
    - And Jack Bauer is forced to flee the US

An amazing ending to my favourite TV show ever

Loved the countdown to 00:00:00 at the end:
    http://x62.xanga.com/3bcf804774c34267922529/w213719928.gif

Goodbye 24!!!

How was the Finale? 137 votes

Jack Bauer - You rocked :)
    0% 0 votes
    Very Good Ending
    78% 107 votes
    Good
    10% 14 votes
    Not Great
    5% 8 votes
    DAMMMIT!!!
    5% 8 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

So confused, usually get this from America on a Tuesday evening.

Any indication it might be out a little earlier

( trying not to insinuate where I get the episodes from, but i thnk you get the drift)

Looknig forward to it bigtime, lost was a stopgap for me to get to the real Jack ;)

**Edit***

See you state 1am gmt, from where exactly?
    I was under the impression that sky show it Sunday nights? Are they showing it like they did lost, or if not is it a case to expect it around the web early tuesday morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Yeah I've tried looking online how to watch it at that time but no success :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

TheDoc wrote: »
    Are they showing it like they did lost, or if not is it a case to expect it around the web early tuesday morning?

Sky are not simulcasting it like they did with Lost. Find 24 in all the usual places from tomorrow morning

I'll give it a nosey before work so ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I just know this finale will beat the pants off the Lost one.

Gonna miss Jack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

Should be a good one.

That was absolutely incredible.

That is how a show should sign off.

Great way to end the series with logic, yet leaving the movie open.

Very emotional scenes at the end there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Amazing - im not gonna lie - im in tears here - whoever came up with the end of Jack looking at the drone and the countdown to 00:00:00 is a genius

Perfect

Couldn't agree more.

Loved the countdown clock at the end and Jack's emotional farewell to Chloe

Ron DMC wrote: »
    Couldn't agree more.

Loved the countdown clock at the end and Jack's emotional farewell to Chloe

Yeah, fair play to anyone who didn't manage to shed a few tears in the last part, it was a really well done emotional ending without being forced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭NordicDiver

Perfect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Just finished watching it now. That is how you end a series

Absolute perfection...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

Bring on the 24 movie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

Have to say was a great ending, as someone else already said great to see some logic in the ending. Thought the countdown clock was a good idea alright.
    They should have killed Logan off completely though!

Am I the only one who doesn't want to see a 24 movie??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Just finished watching it there now. Sorry, but I seem to have something in my eye! :o:D

I thought the ending to 'Ashes to Ashes' last Friday was great but this just knocked that right out of the ballpark. I can't comment on the 'Lost' finale as I wasn't a fan but from what I can gather a lot of people, even the hardcore fans, were pretty disappointed by it, it seems. Oh well, as the old Meat Loaf song goes, two out of three ain't bad! ;)

Jack looking up into the camera, "Shut it down!", screen pixelates, countdown clock, fade to black. Now that's how you do an ending!

Thanks for 192 hours of some of the most intense, kickass television we're ever likely to see, Mr. Jack Bauer........ it's been one hell of a ride! :D*

Roll on '24 - The Movie'.

*think I'll add that to my signature for a while as a tribute to the great man and a great show! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

lafors wrote: »
    Am I the only one who doesn't want to see a 24 movie??

I can see your point. However I've noticed that dragging a storyline out to 24 hours often means putting in silly plots to stretch it all out. (Season 1 with amnesia and cougars anyone?)

With the right script imagine what Jack Bauer could achieve where the storyline can be condensed. Bourne, Bond et al would have nothing on him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

That's 2 shows in 2 days that made me cry.

So long, Jack..... End of an era.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 708 ✭✭✭zimovain

Good stuff.

lafors wrote: »
    They should have killed Logan off completely though!

I assume they left him with survive with brain damage to have him suffer for all he's done and not give him the easy way out that he wanted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭AntiRip

Excellent, will really really miss 24 more so than LOST. I really do hope something else will come along to fill these massive holes in my tv life :(

There were little touches I loved as well.

For example. if Jack hadn't fought until the very last (ie attacking his would-be killer at the end unsuccessfully), he would have been killed, so it was a nice touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭big_show

Perfect ending, Farewell Jack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

*sniff* there were man tears....dammit!

Excellent ending, been walking round the house all day in a daze, not sure where my life is going now...:D...I mean, I still remember watching season 2 on RTE when it first came out, thinking it was amazing. good times. good bye jack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Good ending,loved how they had Jack on the drone saying goodbye to Chloe. Overall I'd say it was an average season IMO,only really got going after Hassan died,everything after that was like classic 24 but wasn't enough to make up for the first half of the season.

That been said I have really enjoyed it since it went on that good run of episodes and it ended very well. Loved the 3,2,1 countdown at the end. However a part of me really wanted to see him put a bullet into Suverov and then Logan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

:( It's a sad, sad day.

Absolutely loved it, and the ending was quite the tear jerker.

Out of everything though, it was Logan who stole it for me when Taylor said to him that Suvurov would be wanting an explanation for the killing of Hussan.

"Actually he won't be" coupled with a classic Logan expression.

Vintage Charles :D

Can't wait for the movie and gutted there won't be any more series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Fiftysix

That was the most perfect ending to 24. Could not have been better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭BANZAI_RUNNER

Eventhough i was leaning towards Jack "buying the farm" , this ending was way better.
    Will miss it .........................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Amazing.

That's how you end a show Carlton ? Damon ???

The Countdown at the end was legend, I thought the end of S4 was the best , but this caps that.

Perfection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Bye bye Jack! :(

I'm hopin this doesnt mean no Chloe in Europe!

It's gonna stand as one of the best TV shows in history!

I start thinkin at the last minute that the movie was a rumour all along, and that Jack would be killed mid-conversation with Chloe! Thanks feck I was wrong

A bit silly that Taylor comes to her senses in the end, but I spose, she can only lie to herself for so long. No matter what happened in the run up to the signing, the signing itself was the make/break it point.

Still has me guessin now: HOW THE FXCK WILL IT ALL END!??

:(
    Wikipedia wrote:
    At the conclusion of its eighth and final season, 24 became the longest running espionage themed television drama ever, surpassing both Mission: Impossible and The Avengers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Good ending. Not quite as good as the previous few episodes but certainly not a let down by any stretch of the imagination.
    Let's face it Bat-Bauer on the rampage is more enjoyable than Jack re-thinking his options and volunteering to be shot.
    Some niggles aside (e.g. the blind security guard who couldn't see Jack in the back seat of Pillar's SUV even though he was looking right at him) it went out on a high.
    All the Jack/Chloe stuff was excellent. Logan glancing at the window waiting for Jack to shoot Suravov was funny.
    The latter half of the season definitely redeemed the poor first half IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Not the ending I would have expected but excellent all the same. I like how it finished with Jack thanking Chloe for all that she did for him. Superb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 708 ✭✭✭zimovain

24 executive producer Howard Gordon has explained the recent series finale.

Speaking to The Hollywood Reporter, Gordon admitted that he had thought about killing off Jack Bauer (Kiefer Sutherland).

"We certainly considered it," he said. "We considered killing him earlier [in the season] as an off-rhythm thing. But every time we went there and pencilled it out, it didn't feel satisfying. It felt frustrating or it felt affected or something."

Gordon also suggested that although Jack is "cut free" at the end of the show he is also a "nomad".

"He's a man without a country," he continued. "The very country that he has served and obviously sacrificed everything for has basically spit him out again and he is a fugitive. If you look at all of the [season] endings that we've had, to me it was important not to repeat ourselves. I don't think Jack has ever actually left as a fugitive, unwanted and unwelcome on his own shores."
    http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/cult/s9/24/news/a221736/24-showrunner-explains-series-finale.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Jigga

The penultimate episode was class (Great line from Jack at the end: "Tell him the truth - you knowledge of a credible threat on his life") Furious that Jack didn't blast Pillar when he had the chance though.

Last episode was bit disappointing and nowhere near as good as the last few episodes which were unreal. Pity he didn't take out Suvarov and Logan. Also, I can't understand how the President was so corrupted by Logan (agreeing to let Jack be killed :eek:!) It was obvious she wasn't going to sign the treaty, don't know why it took so long to drag that out.

Latest news on 24 movie i could find here:
    http://moviesblog.mtv.com/2010/05/25/24-finale-leads-to-24-movie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

I really enjoyed it and loved his conversation with chloe.

The countdown was excellent too.

I'm glad Taylor changed her mind at the end but it was seriously out of character in the first place.

I've 2 questions. I've never heard Jack say at the start of an episode "events occur in real time" Why now?

What was so incriminating in that recording, it was just jack talking about the conspiracy with no evidence?? Where did the recording of Logen's conversation go?

It was a good episode but the previous ones were excellent imo. If there wasn't a movie on the way I'd say they would have gone out a bit more for it.

Overall It's been a sad 2 days with 2 of my favourite shows that I have basically lived with ending.

See ya in the Cinema Jack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

tok9 wrote: »
    I've never heard Jack say at the start of an episode "events occur in real time" Why now?
    IIRC he used to say it in season one and/or other earlier seasons. He definitely used to say it before at some point.
    Perhaps it was a call-back to season one as the finale approached?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭SB-08

Amazing final - loved it. I don't recall ever being on the edge of my seat watching anything, whethe rit be a TV show or a film as I was in the last 10 minutes. I was DREADING Jack being killed for nothing and would've been furious had that happened. The ending was pure perfection in every way. Better than the Lost ending most definatly, but I did love that too. Loved both but let's be honest - Jack Shepard is not and never will be a match for the mightly Jack Bauer.:D

Can't wait for the film, and hopefully sequels now. There are so many possibilities. If done right it could easily give Bond a run for it's money, especially considering how appuling Quantum was.;)

SB-08 wrote: »

Can't wait for the film, and hopefully sequels now. There are so many possibilities. If done right it could easily give Bond a run for it's money, especially considering how appuling Quantum was.;)

And considering Bond films might not be made anytime soon or maybe ever again, it has a market there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,726 ✭✭✭✭noodler

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Good ending. Not quite as good as the previous few episodes but certainly not a let down by any stretch of the imagination.
    Let's face it Bat-Bauer on the rampage is more enjoyable than Jack re-thinking his options and volunteering to be shot.
    Some niggles aside (e.g. the blind security guard who couldn't see Jack in the back seat of Pillar's SUV even though he was looking right at him) it went out on a high.
    All the Jack/Chloe stuff was excellent. Logan glancing at the window waiting for Jack to shoot Suravov was funny.
    The latter half of the season definitely redeemed the poor first half IMO.
    Jigga wrote: »
    The penultimate episode was class (Great line from Jack at the end: "Tell him the truth - you knowledge of a credible threat on his life") Furious that Jack didn't blast Pillar when he had the chance though.

Last episode was bit disappointing and nowhere near as good as the last few episodes which were unreal. Pity he didn't take out Suvarov and Logan. Also, I can't understand how the President was so corrupted by Logan (agreeing to let Jack be killed :eek:!) It was obvious she wasn't going to sign the treaty, don't know why it took so long to drag that out.

Latest news on 24 movie i could find here:
    http://moviesblog.mtv.com/2010/05/25/24-finale-leads-to-24-movie/

I was also a little disappointed with the final episode compared to the second-last one.

Taylor threatening war on the IRK and Logan killing Pillar were OTT for me.

I think they kind of chickened out with not killing him (movies could have been prequels) but ah well.

Not as good as the last few episodes but I doubt any ending would have satisfied me.

The only other show I got emotional seeing the ending was the Shield, its an accumulation of years of following and character bonds.

I thought it was a fantastic ending, ment more to me then lost was this week, and for me 24 definitely won the battle of the finales.

It was shot so well and so moving. I had expected a little more anger on his part, only 16 hours ago he was going to LA to live his life with his family and it was all taken away from him, and when Taylor said ow everyone would come after him, I was expecting a bit of bad ass Jack.

Really really happy, after seeing the lost ending I was so worried, but I'm really happy how that came about.

The "smirk" we all wondered what was about from the promo trailer, was absolutely brilliant.

So long Jack...

I'll always remember you, by seeing this at my desk everyday

FIG797.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

Now that was how you end a series !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭pkumohideeile

24 is over? I heard the rumour at the beginning of the season but didn't realise it was going ahead. The Sangala tv movie was ****e, hope they do a better job on a cinema movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

This is one series finale that didn't disappoint.

Looking at the drone while talking to Chloe, immense final scene.

Logan was outstandingly well acted this season, tried to go out like the coward he is.

noodler wrote: »
    Taylor threatening war on the IRK and Logan killing Pillar were OTT for me.

I think they kind of chickened out with not killing him (movies could have been prequels) but ah well.

I genuinely think that the Taylor threatening war was a good move as it was a knee-jerk reaction of desperation that began her realisation of her actions. Logan killing Pillar was a bit odd, but I assume he would have done this as he was still thinking there was a way out for him.

I always said that I wouldn't have minded Jack dying if it made sense, and I'm glad they didn't kill him off as it would have just been "killing Jack for the sake of killing Jack" and a "shock end", but I don't think the writers chickened out at all. If he was ever going to die it would have had to have been saving Chloe or Kim or something along those lines, but even at that, if you're going to kill Jack off, you do it because it fits in, not because its "the end", and considering all he has survived through, it'd need to be more than being taken captive and shot dead.

Also, I don't think the movies could have been prequels as even on a logical basis, you'd know Jack doesn't die the whole way through the prequels. Add to that the difficulties in continuity if you start inserting movies between previous seasons. And if you go for an all out prequel (ie before season 1) Jack is far too old looking now I would think to pull it off.

I think not killing Jack was the best thing they could have done, as the ending made the most sense in the 24 world, his last bit of fight saved him, and he has to disappear.

Sherifu wrote: »
    Logan was outstandingly well acted this season, tried to go out like the coward he is.

And failed, thank God, let's hope he has serious brain damage and suffers for the rest of his life. Least he deserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Logan is scut, loved watching the way he operates though.

Enjoyed the show and its a real shame its finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

tok9 wrote: »
    I've 2 questions. I've never heard Jack say at the start of an episode "events occur in real time" Why now?

I am fairly certain he says it at the start of every season. It was there for a good few of the first episodes of season one and then most season openers but I would say they put it in for the finale in case any non-regular viewers were watching so they knew how the format worked. When it is the end of an entire series people tend to tune in even if they are not fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭pah

loved it. Just waiting for the dvd release to complete the collection. Gonna rewatch from season 1 soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Great ending but i honestly thought that Jack would have done things differently right at the end.

He loves Kim and his Grandchild with all his heart right? He says at the end that they will never be safe so long as the Russians and Americans are looking for him, and asks Chloe to keep an eye on them.

I thought that at that moment he was going to kill himself, i also think thats what Jack would have done to protect his family.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,677 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Great ending, had a feeling they weren't going to turn Jack into an assassin, the type of guy he has been hunting for years.
    Logan was an inspired addition to the story, turning the President into a puppet by degrees, Chloe getting repec' as well, Cole, a vanilla Jack clone though.
    Best thing this season, the execution of Dana Walsh, as brilliant as the execution of Nina back in the day.

The cheapest thing in the season?
    Cheaper than the re-heat of islamic terrorists, again?
    Cheaper than Nuclear threat, again?
    Cheaper than a mole in CTU, again?

It was the fact that we never got to see Jack kill Mikhail Novakovich and a room full of russian agents, and THAT poker through the gut, not fair, not fair at all, it was Predator and Billy at the bridge all over again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,726 ✭✭✭✭noodler

CiDeRmAn wrote: »

It was the fact that we never got to see Jack kill Mikhail Novakovich and a room full of russian agents, and THAT poker through the gut, not fair, not fair at all, it was Predator and Billy at the bridge all over again!

Completely disagree. Thought it was far more effective the way it happened.