Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moral Dilemma!

• 24-05-2010 9:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭

I was playing in a club foursomes match last week. Myself and my partner ( a juvenile) where playing two other juveniles. Our handicaps are 3 and 4 there's 9 and 11.

Anyway, we are giving 7 shots and after 12 holes, they've played great and are 3 up. On 13 they have a putt for a win from 20 foot, the guy who is not taking the putt touches the putting surface twice to show his partner the line of the putt. Rules of golf say you can't touch the putting surface and in matchplay it's loss of hole. bviously it was an awkward situation as i explained to them what he'd done and the penalty for it.

They accepted it and we moved onto the next hole.Eventually we won on 19th.

now, obviously i feel bad about it and its an unfortunate way to win but as far as i'm concerned the rules are the rules and if i don't enforce them i'm breaking them as well. My partner feels worse about it, and feels we shouldn't have claimed the hole and feels now that we should pull out of the competition and let the other pairing through as they were clearly better than us on the night and that hole swung the tie.

I'm just trying to get opinions from others on what they'd do in such a situation and now??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

I was playing in a club foursomes match last week. Myself and my partner ( a juvenile) where playing two other juveniles. Our handicaps are 3 and 4 there's 9 and 11.

Anyway, we are giving 7 shots and after 12 holes, they've played great and are 3 up. On 13 they have a putt for a win from 20 foot, the guy who is not taking the putt touches the putting surface twice to show his partner the line of the putt. Rules of golf say you can't touch the putting surface and in matchplay it's loss of hole. bviously it was an awkward situation as i explained to them what he'd done and the penalty for it.

now, obviously i feel bad about it and its an unfortunate way to win but as far as i'm concerned the rules are the rules and if i don't enforce them i'm breaking them as well. My partner feels worse about it, and feels we shouldn't have claimed the hole and feels now that we should pull out of the competition and let the other pairing through as they were clearly better than us on the night and that hole swung the tie.

I'm just trying to get opinions from others on what they'd do in such a situation and now??

Rules are rules, the fact that a rule was pointed out to them means the hole has to be deemed a loss regardless.

I fully understand your predicament but to be honest neither juvenile will make that mistake again, and sadly we have all made mistakes in that department over the years.

Forgot to mention the all important, no, I wouldn't let them through, they lost the match playing by the rules of golf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Your right. They should be penalised for their infraction. I too had a moral dilemma at the weekend. Matchplay and my opponent rakes the bunker before he took his shot. I was 4 up at this stage and thought I shouldnt say anything as I thought it was in the bag:rolleyes: lost on 18th. Fact of the matter is I was wrong not only for not telling him of his infraction but I didnt follow the rules either, so you shouldn`t feel guilty for telling your opponents that they broke a rule whether or not they knew it was a rule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 brenlong

In matchplay, as soon as you tee off on the next hole, then you and your opponent are deemed to have settled an agreement on any uncertainty or dispute.

Regardless of what the actual rule was, your opponent had every opportunity to dispute your claim and consult the rules but they agreed with you and moved on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Fore Iron

brenlong wrote: »
    In matchplay, as soon as you tee off on the next hole, then you and your opponent are deemed to have settled an agreement on any uncertainty or dispute.

Regardless of what the actual rule was, your opponent had every opportunity to dispute your claim and consult the rules but they agreed with you and moved on.

You're dead right. The only rule that this doesn't hold for is the fact that players can not agree to waive any rule of golf. Both should be disqualified instead if this occurs. So when you come across a situation like the OP's you really have to uphold the rules, because if you deliberately don't then you are in breach yourself and should be disqualified.

Also, to the OP, the two lads were not better than you because they lost. Remember Matchplay, of all the formats is only partially to do with golfing skill. It is also about being able to hold your nerve when the pressure is on. If the incident rattled them a little, they will be better for it, but the fact that you won instead means you managed to control yourself better over the closing holes, so you deserve to go through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Paulusmaximus

You are all confirming what my feelings and reaction to it are.

As has been said, we have to play by the rules, ignorance of them is not a defence. I'm not doubting or questioning the result of the match.

yes its an unpleasant feeling, but hopefully they will learn from it and become better golfers for it. I'm not even sure how they feel about it now and have probably accepted it and got on with it. My partner is just having doubts about it and feels very bad about it, which i understand and he is probably being a bit hard on himself, as he feels they had been playing better and its an awful way to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

its tuff sh1te,thems the rules........

not a nice way to learn a rule but one sure thing is all 4 of ye and everyone in the club that will hear of it or talk about it now know the rule too ;)

had a similar experience myself once when a guy I played raked part a bunker before playing a shot from it....:confused:

I had no pleasure in telling him he had lost the hole but as stated earlier the onus is on you to claim the hole or you are breaking the rules,
    he took it well anyway and anyone who's plays golf regular enough will understand the system,I take on board the fact it's juveniles involved.

on a similar point,playing another day and a guy I was playing was trying to play a shot from under a tree,the tree was 20feet high but was tied down by a big rope and a stake.....

he had relief if he wanted it, he proceeded to f**k up the shot and lose the hole

Should I have told him,would you have told him......
    I know one sisuation is breaking the rules the latter isn't,but I'd leave the conscience in the locker room if I'm serious about winning

I told him after in the bar without rubbing it in, so he knew he had relief the next time,

ignorance playing good golf and not knowing the rules is no excuse for breaking them,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

its tuff sh1te,thems the rules........

not a nice way to learn a rule but one sure thing is all 4 of ye and everyone in the club that will hear of it or talk about it now know the rule too ;)

had a similar experience myself once when a guy I played raked part a bunker before playing a shot from it....:confused:

I had no pleasure in telling him he had lost the hole but as stated earlier the onus is on you to claim the hole or you are breaking the rules,
    he took it well anyway and anyone who's plays golf regular enough will understand the system,I take on board the fact it's juveniles involved.

on a similar point,playing another day and a guy I was playing was trying to play a shot from under a tree,the tree was 20feet high but was tied down by a big rope and a stake.....

he had relief if he wanted it, he proceeded to f**k up the shot and lose the hole

Should I have told him,would you have told him......
    I know one situation is breaking the rules the latter isn't,but I'd leave the conscience in the locker room if I'm serious about winning

I told him after in the bar without rubbing it in, so he knew he had relief the next time,

playing good golf and ignorancenot knowing the rules is no excuse for breaking them.....again tough on a juvenile but fair !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Badger2009

I had something similar in matchplay before. On the 16th green my opponent picked up his ball even though I hadn't said the putt was given. It was only 3 or 4 inches but I said it to him and he wasn't at all happy but agreed, I won it on th 17th!

It slightly took away from the win I have to admit, as if I didn't deserve it or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

I would have just pointed it out to them at the time and not claimed the hole just played on. Had a guy ground his club in a bunker taking a practice swing before and I just told him that's not allowed but let him off cos he didn't know. Only if someone commits a obvious rule breach or if they are a complete $%^ would I call foul.

Some people gets obessive about golf rules but I think alot of common sense is needed in most cases. You should pull out and let them through, its the right thing to do, especially as they are juvies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Badger2009 wrote: »
    I had something similar in matchplay before. On the 16th green my opponent picked up his ball even though I hadn't said the putt was given. It was only 3 or 4 inches but I said it to him and he wasn't at all happy but agreed, I won it on th 17th!

It slightly took away from the win I have to admit, as if I didn't deserve it or something.

Had the exact same scenario last year. Totally took the shine off the win, but rules are rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Daithio9

OMFG this is shocking behaviour and if ye have any sense of decency ye'll withdraw from the competition.

Daithio9 wrote: »
    OMFG this is shocking behaviour and if ye have any sense of decency ye'll withdraw from the competition.

Conno's crown is in serious jeopardy!

f22 wrote: »
    Conno's crown is in serious jeopardy!
    Don't worry Conno's crown is safe, I'm being serious and am on the level.

Daithio9 wrote: »
    Don't worry Conno's crown is safe, I'm being serious and am on the level.

That makes it even worse, rules are rules, you break them and you pay the penalty. It's pretty simple!

The rules aren't important, this a moral dilemma as per the OP's thread title and the only thing for Paul and his poor buddy(who now feels like sh1te) is to concede the match and then hopefully poor Paul and his friend can feel a little bit better about themselves, because we all know that competitive golf is all about making the other person feel good.

It's the problem in golf at our level as far as I'm concerned. Some people like Daithi (no direct offence intended you understand ;) ) insist on an a la carte view of the rules. Some rules are fine, but some a deemed silly and so they don't uphold them. If you saw someone moving the ball to give themselves a better lie from the rough you would have a problem with it but grounding your club in a hazard might be OK because that rule seems a little silly. You just can't play that way.

I pride myself on knowing the rules quite well. It really gets up my nose when I try to lets say drop way back in line with the flag from a lateral water hazard in a match and my opponent says I can't do that or whatever. I feel like saying to them "Go read the fuppin rules before you enter a competition!". I know the rules and know that I can't touch the line of my putt with my putter. Why should someone else potentially win a hole from me by breaking that rule simply because they didn't bother reading it? That makes no sense.

Recently, I was playing a singles match. I was on the green about 35 feet away for birdie. My opponent was just off the green about 25 feet away for par. I needed to win the hole to stay alive. I took out the flag and while I was standing over my putt, I suddenly heard the click of him chipping. I looked up and saw his ball trickling into the hole. I told him to take it out and replace it because he had played out of turn. He got quite shirty and said that he was off the green and so he should play first - perhaps the most common misconception out there. I told him I had the rules with me if he wanted to read them. He grumpily replaced his ball, I putted to 2 feet and he missed his second chip and I won the hole.

His first chip was magnificent, but I have no sympathy for him because he apparently couldn't be bothered to read the rules of golf before he got into competitive matches. I would not hesitate to correct someone for breaching a rule because I feel it's their business to know the rules if they're in a match. The guy won't do it again either, so in a way I've helped him. What's the difference between my scenario and the OP's? Some will say the touching the line of putt thing is trivial but it still a rule that must be obeyed. So really there is no difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭MasterKZG

Recently, I was playing a singles match. I was on the green about 35 feet away for birdie. My opponent was just off the green about 25 feet away for par. I needed to win the hole to stay alive. I took out the flag and while I was standing over my putt, I suddenly heard the click of him chipping. I looked up and saw his ball trickling into the hole. I told him to take it out and replace it because he had played out of turn. He got quite shirty and said that he was off the green and so he should play first - perhaps the most common misconception out there. I told him I had the rules with me if he wanted to read them. He grumpily replaced his ball, I putted to 2 feet and he missed his second chip and I won the hole.

Fore Iron, where would i find that in the rule book. That incident happened to me recently on the 2nd hole in st.mags and my playing partner got annoyed. He blamed me for his poor performance at the end as he claimed that i was trying to get into his head!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

MasterKZG wrote: »
    Fore Iron, where would i find that in the rule book. That incident happened to me recently on the 2nd hole in st.mags and my playing partner got annoyed. He blamed me for his poor performance at the end as he claimed that i was trying to get into his head!!

http://golf.about.com/cs/rulesofgolf/a/rule10.htm
    • b. During Play of Hole
    After both players have started play of the hole, the ball farther from the hole is played first. If the balls are equidistant from the hole or their positions relative to the hole are not determinable, the ball to be played first should be decided by lot.
    • c. Playing Out of Turn
    If a player plays when his opponent should have played, there is no penalty, but the opponent may immediately require the player to cancel the stroke so made and, in correct order, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

There are a few rules in golf that do baffle me. The putter on the green one being one of them, it does seem pedantic in the extreme.
    But to the OP rules are rules and you followed them correctly and yes If I was your opponents I would be annoyed but at myself not at you for pointing it out.

Out of interest what would have been the original reasoning behind the ruling? I would assume that it was to do with improving the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Webbs wrote: »
    There are a few rules in golf that do baffle me. The putter on the green one being one of them, it does seem pedantic in the extreme.
    But to the OP rules are rules and you followed them correctly and yes If I was your opponents I would be annoyed but at myself not at you for pointing it out.

Out of interest what would have been the original reasoning behind the ruling? I would assume that it was to do with improving the line.

Exactly. Tapping down spike marks or blemishes on the green.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭jimjo

As we are all jumping on the questions bandwagon. This thread has got me thinking, I played recently and was putting close enough to the edge of a bunker on two occasions in the round. In the line of my putt there was rather large pieces of grit on the green, from the splash of bunker shots. I wouldn’t call them actual stones but they were moveable objects so I proceed to clear them out of the way of the putt, obviously touching the putting surface in the process, therefore should I have been penalized?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

Exactly. Tapping down spike marks or blemishes on the green.

But you would be allowed to 'brush' the surface with hand or club is that right? So if I went to a point where I wanted my partner to putt and 'brushed' the surface that would be ok?

you are allowed move/take away loose impediments on the course. Sand and soil is classed as loose impediments when they are on the putting surface so you are allowed move them.

A player may remove loose impediments on the line of their putt as long as they don't press anything down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭AdpRo

Is the rule that you cannot touch the line of your putt or you cannot touch the putting surface?

Weetabix wrote: »
    Is the rule that you cannot touch the line of your putt or you cannot touch the putting surface?

You cannot touch the surface of the putting green with a club (or anything else) to indicate the line of a putt

So there is no problem with you placing your hands on the green when crouching down behind your ball trying to read the line of the putt?

No, once you are not deemed to be testing the surface of the green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

No, once you are not deemed to be testing the surface of the green.

Lots of people think that you cant touch the green at all or roll a ball across the green etc.
    You can do this, but not if you are testing the green/surface or indicating the line of a putt or repairing a spike mark.

I've grounded my club (accidentally in a wet, shallow bunker) during a match and gave up the hole. I actually hit the shot to about 2 feet but them's the rules.

GreeBo wrote: »
    Lots of people think that you cant touch the green at all or roll a ball across the green etc.
    You can do this, but not if you are testing the green/surface or indicating the line of a putt or repairing a spike mark.

I've grounded my club (accidentally in a wet, shallow bunker) during a match and gave up the hole. I actually hit the shot to about 2 feet but them's the rules.

That's interesting. I was playing a friendly round recently with someone, when I got onto the green I marked my ball and just knocked it away with my putter. He said he done the same thing in a comp before and the guy he was playing with pulled him on it and said he had to take a 2 shot penalty. From what you are saying above I would take it that it wasn't a penalty as he wasn't testing the green although I'm not sure how that can be proved, one way of another I won't do it again just to be sure!

Yeah the rule says you have to be testing the green, I had the same thing happen to me in a fourball when I marked my partners ball and rolled it over to his bag (without even looking at it)
    The other lads tried to say it was a penalty...

Peter Alis at the weekend made a similiar mistake on air. He pointed out that if a player knocks off a single leaf taking a practice swing he is done for improving his lie. In fact you are not unless you actually are trying to improve your lie. Again hard to "prove" but if you are flailing away like a windmill you are probably guilty :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

Fore Iron wrote: »
    Recently, I was playing a singles match. I was on the green about 35 feet away for birdie. My opponent was just off the green about 25 feet away for par. I needed to win the hole to stay alive. I took out the flag and while I was standing over my putt, I suddenly heard the click of him chipping. I looked up and saw his ball trickling into the hole. I told him to take it out and replace it because he had played out of turn.

Out of curiosity, and no offence intended, had he shanked it across the green into a bunker would you have asked him to replay it ? I know the rules give you the option but you know what I mean.

By the way you're dead right about it being the most commonly misunderstood rule.

I fully accept the rules must be adhered to but there's also an arguable case for "in certain instances only" considering the spirit of the rule or at least, in an internal club competition, what your fellow members might think of you. Interclub is obviously different, some a$$holes are looking for a reason to claim holes from the get go in that !!

I'm not suggesting random blatant rule breaking but a little bit of common sense surely can be applied. eg had the op not said anything would any real harm have been done ? Ok, you can argue that the 2 juniors have been educated but its something to ponder IMO.

Certainly if someone pulled me up for a rule breach I would accept it but if it was for something very trivial (in fairness touching the green is probably a step too far) I would probably concede the match and tell him if he wants it that badly he can have it. Alternatively I would never have pulled up someone for a trivial breach - that might make me in breach but it would never be shown that I knew what they did.

Russman wrote: »
    Out of curiosity, and no offence intended, had he shanked it across the green into a bunker would you have asked him to replay it ? I know the rules give you the option but you know what I mean.
    Obviously no one would. The rules states that you have the right to ask them to replay, you are not obligated to exercise this right.
    I fully accept the rules must be adhered to but there's also an arguable case for "in certain instances only" considering the spirit of the rule or at least, in an internal club competition, what your fellow members might think of you.
    If you get to choose when to apply them and when not to then they are hardly rules?
    I'm not suggesting random blatant rule breaking but a little bit of common sense surely can be applied. eg had the op not said anything would any real harm have been done ?
    Whats common sense to you might not be to the next you guy you play in a match, then what do you do? Whose sense of "common sense" do you use? Why not just use the one thats provided to all golfers? Sure some of them seem nonsensical, but until they change, they are the rules.
    that might make me in breach but it would never be shown that I knew what they did.
    That sounds a lot like "if no one catches me Im not breaking the rules..." tbh

By the way you're dead right about it being the most commonly misunderstood rule.

I fully accept the rules must be adhered to but there's also an arguable case for "in certain instances only" considering the spirit of the rule or at least, in an internal club competition, what your fellow members might think of you. Interclub is obviously different, some a$$holes are looking for a reason to claim holes from the get go in that !!

I'm not suggesting random blatant rule breaking but a little bit of common sense surely can be applied. eg had the op not said anything would any real harm have been done ? Ok, you can argue that the 2 juniors have been educated but its something to ponder IMO.

Certainly if someone pulled me up for a rule breach I would accept it but if it was for something very trivial (in fairness touching the green is probably a step too far) I would probably concede the match and tell him if he wants it that badly he can have it. Alternatively I would never have pulled up someone for a trivial breach - that might make me in breach but it would never be shown that I knew what they did.

The bunker question is an emphatic NO!! I would have advised him that he played out of turn but that I was not availing of my option to have him replay it. He would be in the bunker playing for bogey!! Again, he put himself at a disadvantage for not knowing the rules. In that case, I will use my better knowledge to my advantage.

I know the touching the green thing seems trivial, but if you say "Sure let common sense prevail" then you start an unstoppable argument. What if you let him away with it and on the next hole he accidentally picks up his ball marker absent mindedly without first replacing the ball, realises his mistake and replaces it immediately. When you challenge him, he says "Not to worry, I know exactly where it was before. And sure we already agreed on the last hole that some rules don't really count." Or he brushes sand off the fringe, or pulls out a long thick blade of grass that was just behind his ball, or taps in from a foot without taking out the flag first, etc, etc. Once you agree to waive a rule, no matter how trivial, you firstly break the rules yourself in doing so, and secondly bring a large element of complete guesswork into play as to what rules warrant being followed and which don't.

Isn't it so much easier to simply expect everyone, including yourself, to follow what it says in the tiny little book of rules published by the R&A? And when you get into interclub, you will be kicking yourself when you lose a match for not doing something correctly and being pulled up on it by your opponents, and all because you never bothered to read the rules first?

IMHO, not following the rules is simply lazy. People will disguise it as "using common sense" or "playing within the spirit of the rules" or whatever. They simply don't want to take time out of their day and sit and do something so boring as to read up. Why should I suffer for having taken the time to do so myself? Personally, I find it much easier to just read something and stick to that. No thinking required. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭MasterKZG

I like to think that Fore golf has a point regarding to reading up the rules and educating yourself. Penalising other players for not knowing the rules or breaking them can only be a good thing by educating them. Then you can spread the gospel yourself to others. This can only be a good thing.:)

Will be reading up the rule book this week to freshen up the mind.

On the bunker issue, how much can we deem if one is testing the bunkers ie walking around the bunkers for a fair bit, pushing the feet down fairly heavily and moving onto another spot...is this testing the lie???:mad::mad: Could i put them on the spot and penalise them???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Peter Alis at the weekend made a similiar mistake on air. He pointed out that if a player knocks off a single leaf taking a practice swing he is done for improving his lie. In fact you are not unless you actually are trying to improve your lie. Again hard to "prove" but if you are flailing away like a windmill you are probably guilty :)

Was that comment in relation to leaves on the ground or leaves on the tree?

If you clip a tree and debrie falls, that is deemed illegal and a penalty ensues.

I got stung in the all ireland foursomes, waiting for my shot i was taking some practice swings trying to judge my backswing, during one of the practices, some leaves fell from the tree. I was pulled up by my oponnents partner ( who was staring as if waiting) .

I called a referee to make the call and I was penalised. I wouldnt mind normally, jsut your man was a dick about it, we went on to lose the game on the 18th and now I dont take practice swings near trees.

There no ruling that states you can remove, pickup and knock aside any debry lying around the ball, once outside of a bunker.

In a bunker you cannot remove any debry, as I also found out from a consortium of players and consultants during a barton cup. I was expected to intentionally launch my club into a rock behind my ball : /

TheDoc wrote: »
    Was that comment in relation to leaves on the ground or leaves on the tree?

If you clip a tree and debrie falls, that is deemed illegal and a penalty ensues.

I got stung in the all ireland foursomes, waiting for my shot i was taking some practice swings trying to judge my backswing, during one of the practices, some leaves fell from the tree. I was pulled up by my oponnents partner ( who was staring as if waiting) .

I called a referee to make the call and I was penalised. I wouldnt mind normally, jsut your man was a dick about it, we went on to lose the game on the 18th and now I dont take practice swings near trees.
    /

I'm going to go out here on a limb and say that the gui official may have been wrong. In the decisions book I'm sure it says that you are only penalized if you enhance your lie. If for instance the tree has thousands of leaves and one falls as you practise a back swing but there is no way that you've improved your lie then there is no penalty.
    Maybe in your case some leaves has constituted an improved lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭GorHugh

Just a quick question ..

If you playing a comp against a somebody new to compitions and they are unsure of a rule and they ask you your opinion on the rule , Would you answer the question posed by your opponent or what would you do ??

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Advice on the rules is not considered giving "advice" in the same way as saying that "you should take an extra club into that wind" is giving advice.
    If someone is in a predicament I will outline the rule/options available to them (assuming I know). What they then decide to do is their concern.

GorHugh wrote: »
    Just a quick question ..

If you playing a comp against a somebody new to compitions and they are unsure of a rule and they ask you your opinion on the rule , Would you answer the question posed by your opponent or what would you do ??

Answer the question honestly. If someone is willing to learn and you know something that can help them you should give them honest advice. Even if it was an interclub match or an all ireland final, if someone wants clarification, or help or understanding you should give it.

I'm going to go out here on a limb and say that the gui official may have been wrong. In the decisions book I'm sure it says that you are only penalized if you enhance your lie. If for instance the tree has thousands of leaves and one falls as you practise a back swing but there is no way that you've improved your lie then there is no penalty.
    Maybe in your case some leaves has constituted an improved lie.

I agree that it depends... sometimes you'll see guys watching intently to see that a greenfly isn't knocked off a leaf before your stroke.

Decision 13-2/22: Knocking Down Leaves with Practice Swing

Question:
    A player's ball lies near a tree or bush. The player takes a practice swing near his ball and knocks down leaves in the area of his intended swing. Is this a breach of Rule 13-2?

Answer:
    The answer depends on whether the area of the intended swing is improved. In some cases, the knocking down of a number of leaves would not improve the area of the intended swing as the player still has to swing through a number of remaining leaves when making his stroke. In such circumstances, there would be no breach of the Rules. In other cases, the knocking down of one leaf might
    improve the area of the intended swing, in which case there would be a breach of Rule 13-2. If a player has improved the area of his intended swing by knocking down a leaf or a number of leaves, he cannot avoid penalty under Rule 13-2 by subsequently changing the area of his swing when he actually makes the stroke.

Obviously no one would. The rules states that you have the right to ask them to replay, you are not obligated to exercise this right.QUOTE]

Exactly, so on a "moral" argument you'd be using the rule book to beat them rather than you golf. Like that Annika incident a few years ago in the Solheim.

IQUOTE]f you get to choose when to apply them and when not to then they are hardly rules?
    Whats common sense to you might not be to the next you guy you play in a match, then what do you do? Whose sense of "common sense" do you use? Why not just use the one thats provided to all golfers? Sure some of them seem nonsensical, but until they change, they are the rules.QUOTE]

Not disputing for a minute that the rules are not the rules, I'm simply suggesting there are some circumstances where saying nothing is in the better interest of everyone, obviously not in something important eg interclub, but I'd rather say nothing about someone, say, knocking a leaf off a tree, than get a name for being a bit of a ba$tard in my own club where i've to see the other members all the time. In our club I was put into the final of a matchplay event after losing the semi final after it transpired that my opponent played off the wrong handicap - I had no idea about it, until I was told he was DQ'd two days later. The guy still hasn't spoken to me after about 5 years, and tried to portray me as someone who couldn't win on the course and had to resort to the rule book - its situations like that I'm talking about, slightly different I agree but its a general point (I ended up ensuring i missed a few putts in the final). Is winning a voucher worth the hassle if a rules dispute arises are bad feeling is all thats left ?

{QUOTE]That sounds a lot like "if no one catches me Im not breaking the rules..." tbh

And no, thats not what I mean at all, its not soccer we're playing ;)

The bunker question is an emphatic NO!! I would have advised him that he played out of turn but that I was not availing of my option to have him replay it. He would be in the bunker playing for bogey!! Again, he put himself at a disadvantage for not knowing the rules. In that case, I will use my better knowledge to my advantage.

I know the touching the green thing seems trivial, but if you say "Sure let common sense prevail" then you start an unstoppable argument. What if you let him away with it and on the next hole he accidentally picks up his ball marker absent mindedly without first replacing the ball, realises his mistake and replaces it immediately. When you challenge him, he says "Not to worry, I know exactly where it was before. And sure we already agreed on the last hole that some rules don't really count." Or he brushes sand off the fringe, or pulls out a long thick blade of grass that was just behind his ball, or taps in from a foot without taking out the flag first, etc, etc. Once you agree to waive a rule, no matter how trivial, you firstly break the rules yourself in doing so, and secondly bring a large element of complete guesswork into play as to what rules warrant being followed and which don't.

Isn't it so much easier to simply expect everyone, including yourself, to follow what it says in the tiny little book of rules published by the R&A? And when you get into interclub, you will be kicking yourself when you lose a match for not doing something correctly and being pulled up on it by your opponents, and all because you never bothered to read the rules first?

IMHO, not following the rules is simply lazy. People will disguise it as "using common sense" or "playing within the spirit of the rules" or whatever. They simply don't want to take time out of their day and sit and do something so boring as to read up. Why should I suffer for having taken the time to do so myself? Personally, I find it much easier to just read something and stick to that. No thinking required. :)

Some might view using your better knowledge to your advantage as a little unsporting :) , granted within the rules. Beat him with your golf, not the rule book.

I'm not suggesting we let things snowball as described above, simply that saying nothing can be, in some cases, a better option.

Of course, in an ideal world every amateur golfer would know the rules (as I do myself) but its simply not going to be the case.

Some might view using your better knowledge to your advantage as a little unsporting :) , granted within the rules. Beat him with your golf, not the rule book.

I'm not suggesting we let things snowball as described above, simply that saying nothing can be, in some cases, a better option.

Of course, in an ideal world every amateur golfer would know the rules (as I do myself) but its simply not going to be the case.

You're completely right of course; not every amateur golfer will know the rules. But my point is that it is mainly because those that don't know them don't make any effort to learn them. I fail to see why I or anyone else should be more leniant and ignore our own knowledge of the rules when you see a breach, just because the guy you're playing never read the book.

I expect that a lot of people would take a strict application of the rules to be "un-sporting". And I understand entirely where you're coming from. But I don't agree with your comment about beating them with golf and not the rulebook. Firstly, because rulebook is golf. And golf is the rulebook. There is no point in trying to play on a level basis if you or I decide ourselves what rules apply and what ones don't.

Secondly, I would hope that no one takes my application of the rules as gamesmanship. I consider myself a very pleasant person to play against. I never ever get upset about losing and always feel I can learn something from it. I am always happy to give praise following a good shot and would never intentionally do anything that would deliberately put someone off their game. If you beat me, you'll get a hearty handshake and a pat on the back.

I absolutely hate people who try to use mind games. Perhaps people who read this thread and think sticking to the rules is being an arse are confusing it with gamesmanship instead??

However, if you do something wrong or illegal and I pull you up on it, and you end up losing you're concentration, then that is your own issue. Why should I avoid sticking to the rules in order to be sure I don't upset you?

A while ago, I knocked an approach shot into a water hazard, not a lateral one. But I got my head confused and was about to drop within 2 club lengths of the point of entry when my opponent said "Eh, I don't think you can do that." I was delighted that he told me because I realised I wasn't really concentrating enough and he prevented me from breaching a rule. To be honest if he never said anything I would probably have been worse off, because I would have been playing through trees to the green. Instead I went back 80 yards or so and hit a wedge and a two putt to lose anyway! I fail to see why I should have been annoyed at that!?

I want to learn more about this game that I don't already know. if you don't tell me what I am doing wrong then you are robbing me of the chance to learn - rules, course management and how to keep my head when I'm caught off guard. Why should I prefer you to do that? Unless I'm just plain lazy...... :D

You're completely right of course; not every amateur golfer will know the rules. But my point is that it is mainly because those that don't know them don't make any effort to learn them. I fail to see why I or anyone else should be more leniant and ignore our own knowledge of the rules when you see a breach, just because the guy you're playing never read the book.

I expect that a lot of people would take a strict application of the rules to be "un-sporting". And I understand entirely where you're coming from. But I don't agree with your comment about beating them with golf and not the rulebook. Firstly, because rulebook is golf. And golf is the rulebook. There is no point in trying to play on a level basis if you or I decide ourselves what rules apply and what ones don't.

Secondly, I would hope that no one takes my application of the rules as gamesmanship. I consider myself a very pleasant person to play against. I never ever get upset about losing and always feel I can learn something from it. I am always happy to give praise following a good shot and would never intentionally do anything that would deliberately put someone off their game. If you beat me, you'll get a hearty handshake and a pat on the back.

I absolutely hate people who try to use mind games. Perhaps people who read this thread and think sticking to the rules is being an arse are confusing it with gamesmanship instead??

However, if you do something wrong or illegal and I pull you up on it, and you end up losing you're concentration, then that is your own issue. Why should I avoid sticking to the rules in order to be sure I don't upset you?

A while ago, I knocked an approach shot into a water hazard, not a lateral one. But I got my head confused and was about to drop within 2 club lengths of the point of entry when my opponent said "Eh, I don't think you can do that." I was delighted that he told me because I realised I wasn't really concentrating enough and he prevented me from breaching a rule. To be honest if he never said anything I would probably have been worse off, because I would have been playing through trees to the green. Instead I went back 80 yards or so and hit a wedge and a two putt to lose anyway! I fail to see why I should have been annoyed at that!?

I want to learn more about this game that I don't already know. if you don't tell me what I am doing wrong then you are robbing me of the chance to learn - rules, course management and how to keep my head when I'm caught off guard. Why should I prefer you to do that? Unless I'm just plain lazy...... :D

Absolutely, I'm not trying to paint you in a bad light at all, don't get me wrong. I wouldn't take strict application of the rules as gamesmanship, I'm all for the rules and their strict application, my point is that there will be some instances where its more hassle than its worth to point something out to someone. Rightly or wrongly, some people will take it as gamesmanship though, depending on the particular rule being enforced. Yes, the rules are all sacrosanct, but take your average club member - half them know nothing about the rules, they don't try to cheat, but I'd say a lot of "average" club players inadvertantly break many rules on a regular basis and never know. I'm not saying its right, just that it happens.

For arguments sake, if I'm playing a internal match against a fellow club member and he knocks a leaf off a tree, possibly he doesn't even know he's done it, I'd be very reluctant to point it out to him and penalise him and I probably wouldn't, maybe in the bar after I'd quietly explain it. Something like grounding a club in a bunker, of course I'd point it out. Its just my own personal opinion that its not worth potentially falling out with someone over something as trivial as the first example or having the remainder of the match played in stony silence. Obviously the rules are black and white and in reality they should be but sometimes, in my opinion, its best to say nothing. Maybe thats me abdicating my responsibility as an experienced golfer and exposing them to a penalty against someone else further down the line, I don't know, as I said in my first post its something to ponder.

The water hazard example you give above is a perfect instance of how it should work (and I would definitely always point out to someone anything that I thought might help them avoid breaking a rule) but i would (respectfully) suggest that if he'd waited and let you play and then penalised you, you'd feel differently about him ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

The rules are the rules and you should know them. There are no rules that you can intentionally ignore because you don't think they are important.

When you play golf you have "signed" up to upholding the rules as in a lot of instances it may be only yourself who knows that you have broken them.

Who is to blame when a rule is broken? It's the player's fault.

It's not a case of whether you gain any advantage. You break a rule then you pay the penalty.

I recently played the wrong ball in a competition and immediately called it. Nobody else in the fourball knew or would have known. I then found my real ball and played it and had to accept the penalty even though it could be argued that I gained very little if anything from playing the first ball.......We lost the competition by one shot because of my mistake. But tough titty......I broke the rules and nowhere does it give you the discretion to decide to ignore a rule.

i would (respectfully) suggest that if he'd waited and let you play and then penalised you, you'd feel differently about him ?

I see where you're coming from now. What you say above is probably correct. I would be annoyed that he sat there like a spring waiting to pounce when he saw what I was about to do. I generally avoid that possibility by letting the other player know what I'm intending before I take my relief or whatever although with the water hazard example I didn't even do that. I would probably call watching someone about to break a rule and saying nothing gamesmanship too to be honest.

Maybe we're getting away from the OP's original post. By the time you see that the other side has touched the line of putt it is too late to warn them about it. If I had known my singles opponent was about to chip on I would have stopped him and told him to wait. But despite all that, if I don't see what is about to happen until it is too late, I will still pull them up on it afterwards.

I even had a match where the other guys ball was in fluffy grass just by the waters edge but inside the hazard line. I reminded him before he played that he could not ground his club. It was kind of instinctive, but to be quite honest I thought about it afterwards and realise I probably shouldn't have done that. A line has to be drawn somewhere. If a guy hits a ball and then can't find it, then drops another ball where the first one probably ended up or something silly like that then of course I'll stop him and say "Sorry mate, you can't do that, back to the tee with you" or whatever. I won't sit and wait knowing that he's about to play a wrong ball or whatever and say nothing, but you shouldn't be coaching either. Really, I should have let the guy play out of the hazard and watch to see if he grounds his club. If he does, I'll call the penalty. In a way, I actually am waiting to see if he breaks the rule, but I can't be sure he is actually going to, so I must wait and see. Maybe you can see the difference there?

If an a breach is obviously about to happen I'll stop them and tell them. If I can't be sure if it will happen I'll assume he knows the rules and see what occurs. Would you consider that unfair?

edit: addition

One odd one that I've never personally seen but would still agree with, and it is really controversial!!! In matchplay, your opponent tees his ball forward of the tee markers. You actually know that he is about to be in breach of the rules, but the penalty, if you want to call it that, is actually at your discretion. You have the choice to either let him away with it or require the stroke to be replayed. I would wait and see where his tee shot ends up first before I make my decision. If it down the middle of the fairway, he'll have to replay it. If it's in the woods, I'll say nothing! (Yes, yes, I know a lot of people are staring at the screen with open mouths just now thinking - "He's totally contradicted himself here!) My logic is this: Firstly, I am not trying to get into the other guys head. I am simply using my options under the rules (as distinctly different from a fixed, unwaivable penalty) to my advantage. I am very careful to tee the ball up in the right place. If someone waited till after I hit the ball to tell me I broke the rule and they have elected to have me replay the stroke I would have absolutely no problem with it at all. I would only be annoyed with myself for having allowed them the choice.

In strokeplay however, I would immediately stop the person and advise them that their ball is outside the teeing ground. I wouldn't let someone walk themselves into a fixed penalty, but I will happily allow someone give me a choice as to what to do next. If someone didn't tell me in strokeplay until after I hit the ball I would be livid. :)

If you think about it, the matchplay rule could only be written in that particular way because the R&A expect people to use the rule to their advantage. Since it says you can elect to have the opponent replay the stroke, they must assume that you knew it was outside the teeing ground to begin with but did not immediately tell them. Makes sense to me!! :)

Wow, this is such a brillinat thread! It's actually maing me think about my own strategy in ways I never have before!:D

I can now sum up what I do: In matchplay it's me (or us) against them. I won't deliberately let them walk themsleves into a stroke penalty or loss of a hole but I generally will let them give me the choice of what action to take as a result of a breach. It is a head to head after all.

In strokeplay it is everyone against the course. I would never deliberately let someone walk themselves into a penalty. Since it's about who plays the course better not who plays each other better, I would take no satisfaction from beating them by letting them take more strokes than me through penalties I saw coming from a mile away.

Thanks OP! I have a clear strategy now!! ;):p

There no ruling that states you can remove, pickup and knock aside any debry lying around the ball, once outside of a bunker.
    Im not sure what you mean here?
    In a bunker you cannot remove any debry, as I also found out from a consortium of players and consultants during a barton cup. I was expected to intentionally launch my club into a rock behind my ball : /

Depending on the local rules you may or may not remove stones from bunkers.
    For example in my club you can remove stones, and I agree with it for exactly your reasons above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

@ OP.

I personally wouldn't have penalised the players in question but certainly would have told them about it after and the penalty involved. Rules are rules of course but there aren't too many players who know every single one of them. This game is all about teaching and learning and most importantly ettiquitte and i think in the spirit of the game and considering that they were only juviniles, you could have let them off.

I had a similar situation when golfing in a society with a lady who was only starting playing. She was in a greenside bunker and grounded the club inside it. I saw no reason to penalise her for it but just told her the rule afterwards.

To be honest, the only way we learn most of the rules is to fall foul of one of them along the way. You don't really study the rule book before you take up the game and then go out and play.
    Pull someone on a broken rule. A huge part of the game revolves around self-regulation and although they were young, they will have learned the hard way that when you break a rule, you take the penalty and move on.