Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I Saw Rolf Harris Today

• 23-05-2010 6:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Well, I think I did anyway.

I came out of WHSmith and whispered to my dad "Did you just see that bloke? He was the spit of Rolf Harries" "Was he?" we turned to see him again, but the beardy man was just walking away around the corner.

Later, we drove past the local Art Gallery, turns out Rolf Harris was in town today as part of an Art Exhibition.

So you know.. maybe just a coincidence, who knows.

Anyway, there was no point in that. What 'famous' (obviously that can be quite subjective) people have you seen/met? Were they like you expected?

For me;
    I went on the London Eye with a band called Liberty X a few years ago, they had a few big songs around the time, and were absolutely great. Michelle Heaton was on our team (it was a TV quiz) and she was so nice, so grounded, it was brilliant.

Met the Chuckle Brothers - they were great

Vincent Nichols, at the time Archbishop of Birmingham, now (sort of - long story) Cardinal of England. He was really nice actually, met him at Alton Castle. Probably not known over there, but he's the 'voice of Catholicism' over here, if you will. The BBC always get him on the news for religious stuff, he did the commentary for Pope John Paul II's funeral

Sold 2 fairy cakes to Peter Barlow from Coronation Street, nice bloke

Met Sean Cannon, of the Dubliners, twice. A massive fan of his anyway, but he was such a lovely bloke - very unassuming, very welcoming.

Probably a few others, but can't recall them at the moment

So, you lot?*

*Neither yourselves, nor my mother, count. Sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I've met a few famous boardsies...

Brendan o Carroll, annoying fecker, but a nice guy when he isn't powdering his nose!

I have nodded hello to a ton of famous people at Oxegen the last few years, but never actually talked to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭antocann

i think i seen my left hand to day , not to sure cos wen i put it in my pocket it was GONE !!!
    almost like it disapered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Padraig Harrington - Lovely Bloke, Was playing golf and he joined in for 3 holes.

Darren Clarke - Total dickhead!

Tiger Woods - €500 Tip to the restaurant staff.

Gabriel Byrne - Nice Bloke but no tip.

Shania twain, Arrived, booked in - left???

Michael Douglas / Catherine zeta - Quiet couple, dont like attention,

Pierce Brosnan - cool as ice, was bond at the time - Loves fishing - one of the house-keeping girls went to his room for turndown on his second day, he had been fishing - not to rush into the room, she knocked, waited, knocked again, waited he slowly walked up behind her and whispered in her ear, in that voice that women seem to love "I dont think hes in" Made her year!

I worked in Mount Juliet for five years by the way, many more but they are the ones that stick out!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'm saying nothing.

...Aaa feck it. Know loads, some are friends. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Gave Brendan O Carroll wrong directions to a gig when i was younger. It was by accident!

Know Barry Mc Guigan kind of.

Bumped into Tommy Tiernan a few years ago. Unfortunately i didn't have a gun on me.

Went to the same school as Jason Byrne.

Hmm these are all comedians nearly,i've just realised. Wierd.

Oh,and i was up in City West for my birthday a few years ago when the Ryder Cup(i think it was) was on-met loads of the golfers and a few celebs. Dennis Taylor was sittin beside us at dinner-he even gave me a hand made birthday card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Saw Alex Higgins in the train station in Cork - he looked very unwell, frail and a lot older than his years. I saw Samantha Morton on the Cork-Dublin train too (wonder was it the same day I saw the two of them) - this was after Minority Report. I met Alex Ferguson in the lobby of a hotel in Manchester and got his autograph for my dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Hugh Laurie laughed at me learning to ride a bike :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

I passed by Dermot Morgan & his family around Stephens Green many years back. Was tempted to scream "I don't believe it" in a Victor Meldrew voice.

A few famous Irish people dropped into a pub I used to work in donkeys years ago, Niall Quinn, Ronnie Drew, Bryan Murray.

Oh yeah, I saw Brendan O'Carroll in Funderland donkeys years ago too, short-arsed little git.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

brummytom wrote: »
    Well, I think I did anyway.

I came out of WHSmith and whispered to my dad "Did you just see that bloke? He was the spit of Rolf Harries" "Was he?" we turned to see him again, but the beardy man was just walking away around the corner.

Later, we drove past the local Art Gallery, turns out Rolf Harris was in town today as part of an Art Exhibition.

So you know.. maybe just a coincidence, who knows.

Did he make that noise that sounds like he's having an orgasm?

I went backstage at a Bat For Lashes gig and got introduced to Natasha Khan, that was pretty cool. Also Republic of Loose came over to London to play a few gigs and me and my brother decided we might as well go see them. Got talking to Mick Pyro before the gig and after while I was in the bathroom the bassist and guitarist ran into a cubicle together to, I assume, 'powder their noses'
    Met Dermot Morgan at the supermarket years back
    My mum's friends with Tommy Bowes mother, had dinner with her and Tommys brother, but alas, Tommy couldn't make it :(
    The bassist from the band Inme, who had a couple of songs years back goes to my college, been in the pub having a few pints with him.
    Also know a couple of djs who've released a few tracks, but don't think I'd call them famous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Met wee Daniel O Donnell outside Croke Park before the All Ireland final in 1992 when Donegal beat Dublin, I was only a youngster then and was well impressed.

Met Charlie McGettigan not long after Rock n Rock Kids (best Eurovision song ever btw).

Almost walked right passed Martin Gore from Depeche Mode as he was browsing around Stephens Green Shopping Centre the day after I was at their concert in Dublin last December, I was in another world and just recognised him at the last moment.

Met Tommy Gemmell and Billy McNeill, former Celtic players from the Lisbon Lions team that won the European Cup in 1968.

Was sitting behind Denis Irwin on a flight to Manchester a few years ago and on the return flight was behind Pauline "Mrs Doyle" McLynn.

David McSavage tried shouting something at me as I walked past one of his street performances in Cork a couple of years ago, I was listening to my ipod at the time and wasnt going to ruin the flow of a good song for a gimp like him so I just kept walking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I met Brendan O'Carroll and co on the Seacat ferry going to Liverpool a few years back and he left two tickets for moi to go see his Mrs Brown show at the Royal Court theatre .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Met wee Daniel O Donnell outside Croke Park before the All Ireland final in 1992 when Donegal beat Dublin, I was only a youngster then and was well impressed.

Oh, he was at my church last year. The woman who used to look after me after school had died from cancer (God rest her), turns out she was Daniel O'Donnell's cousin.

He came over for a few days around the funeral. The looks on the faces of all the old biddys (:eek:) was great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭vibrant

I have seen the man, the legend, Brendan Kilkenny on more than one occasion. Yes, yes... I know you don't believe me. That's why one time, I took a photo! *smug* ;)

You know for €5.00 I can intoduce you to one.
    I've given you a personal royal discount!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

I met Jonny Logan in an airport.

I think I win the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Met Kiefer Sutherland a few years ago in Dublin - best day of my life

Also saw Jack Black in London and Pierce Brosnan in Dub airport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

brummytom wrote: »
    Oh, he was at my church last year. The woman who used to look after me after school had died from cancer (God rest her), turns out she was Daniel O'Donnell's cousin.

He came over for a few days around the funeral. The looks on the faces of all the old biddys (:eek:) was great

Met his sister (or mother, depending who you ask) Margo also. She was/is a singer also apparently, nice woman.

Oh I just remembered, Bono came to my brothers First Communion. He was the Godfather of one of the children

Had a lot of the cast of Buffy, Angel, Star Trek, Star Wars, Firefly/Serenity etc at my second wedding to begin with. (Honestly)

Do I win? Whats the prize?

Biggins wrote: »

Sorry Biggins, but Brummy's already said you can't use yourself as an example.

You'll have to think of another way to earn a few bob :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭vicecreamsundae

man, that brendan o' carroll gets around.

i've met stephen malkmus, -that was pretty cool.
    spencer rice [of kenny vs spenny fame] came into the store i used to work in and he was a dick.
    amanda palmer a bunch of times -she's great for taking time to talk to fans.
    ste-eve, the security guard from jerry springer -though he has his own show now. was in the audience and we had a bit of a slagging match and then he was talking to me after.

when i was in college we used to have bands over who were playing, cook 'em dinner and give em beds to sleep in but im not sure how many of them would be famous by mainstream standards... though Blood Red Shoes have kind of made a name for themselves since.

soap stars and crap pop singers when i worked in UO, but nobody interesting comes to mind.

i wouldn't usually go out of my way to speak to someone famous unless they were pretty special though.

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Sorry Biggins, but Brummy's already said you can't use yourself as an example.

You'll have to think of another way to earn a few bob :pac:

O' gosh and darn!
    Daddy will not be amused one cannot raise the funds for our next polo game. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

Ive met chris pontius a couple of times, he lives/lived in arklow and comes/came to the skatepark here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭hada

I was cycling down a steep hill at full belt some months back, had the earphones in and was completely oblivous to my surroundings.

Anyway out from between two cars suddenly zips this guy in a wheelchair....queue me, screeching to a halt like my life depended on it (it probably did in fact). Managed to stop in time, and not fall off my bike. To which the guy in the wheelchair doesn't even stop and all I get is a 'sorry' in a computer like tone.

So yep, hada nearly killed Stephen Hawking as he was leaving his office for the evening!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

I passed by Dermot Morgan & his family around Stephens Green many years back. Was tempted to scream "I don't believe it" in a Victor Meldrew voice.

I'm calling Shenanigans on this one.

Dermot Morgan died 28th February 1998.

The Father Ted episode featuring Richard Wilson where Ted shouts 'I don't believe it' at him wasn't broadcast until 3rd April 1998.

Unless you cannot tell Richard Wilson and Dermot Morgan apart, it never happened :confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Harpy

Keithm89 wrote: »
    Met Kiefer Sutherland a few years ago in Dublin - best day of my life

Also saw Jack Black in London and Pierce Brosnan in Dub airport

I'm so jealous right now i love that man!!! was that when he was over filimng that documentary with the band he had signed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Harpy wrote: »
    I'm so jealous right now i love that man!!! was that when he was over filimng that documentary with the band he had signed?

Yup - down in Temple Bar - was chattin to him for about 5 minutes and got his autograph - im amazed i didnt faint

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

SkidMark wrote: »
    I'm calling Shenanigans on this one.

Dermot Morgan died 28th February 1998.

The Father Ted episode featuring Richard Wilson where Ted shouts 'I don't believe it' at him wasn't broadcast until 3rd April 1998.

Unless you cannot tell Richard Wilson and Dermot Morgan apart, it never happened :confused::confused::confused:

Or else the "I don't believe it" comment was a mere addition to the story to make it somewhat more entertaining...:D

Had a lot of the cast of Buffy, Angel, Star Trek, Star Wars, Firefly/Serenity etc at my second wedding to begin with. (Honestly)

Slowly but surely we're getting the info out of you. You can't contain yourself ;) How'd you know the cast?

bluto63 wrote: »
    Slowly but surely we're getting the info out of you. You can't contain yourself ;) How'd you know the cast?
    PM'd you. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

PM'd you. ;)

Thats like whispering in public! Pm everyone!

• I met that boyband Busted on a plane once. They were total posers.

Saw Tom Jones at the airport, trying to keep a low profile.

Saw Carson Daly in New York back when he used to present TRL, he looked so stuck up.

I saw Jennifer Lopez in New York a few years ago at a free concert thing and I met her a few weeks ago in London (we have a mutual friend hah), she was lovely and very down to earth.

Met Edith Bowman at a music show recording in London, she was lovely and down to earth as well!

There are loads more but these random ones come to mind right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Heh, I love how Biggins was dying for people to ask "who" in posts such as this:
    I'm saying nothing.

...Aaa feck it. Know loads, some are friends. :p
    And this:
    Until he can contain himself no longer and reveals what he had to say without any prompting:

OT: I saw Seamus Heaney in Dublin last week. I did. :mad:

Worst person I ever came in contact with, was one of the Spice girls - no names, sorry.
    She behaved disgustingly aound others. "I'm a star - make way - look at me attitude"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Marty Morrisey is a good friend of the family.
    So I know an alien celebrity, I think the victor of this thread is moi.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

PM'd you. ;)

me next mee mee me me me

Heh, I love how Biggins was dying for people to ask "who" in posts such as this:

Don't ya know, part of the fun is in the foreplay! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

How the bloody hell did you manage that?!

efla wrote: »
    How the bloody hell did you manage that?!

It seems to be top secret!

I reckon Biggins is some really famous celeb :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

The most recent one I saw was Prince Charles a few weeks ago, I was at an event in Hyde Park in London and he made a surprise appearance. In fact, I managed to get in his way and he had to walk around me... Oops

I was in the audience of the Graham Norton show last week, Graham Norton spoke to us beforehand because one of my friends was in the group for the Red Chair (she didn't go in the chair on the actual show though, which is a shame!) He's really nice! Janet Jackson was on the show with Tyler Perry (who I had never heard of), Marcus Brigstocke, and Eric Idle (didn't get to meet him :( but he performed Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life :))

I served Mark Williams (the guy from the Fast Show, also plays Arthur Weasley in the Harry Potter films) in the shop I work in, just before Christmas

(on that note - last summer I served Devon Murray, the guy who plays Seamus Finnegan in Harry Potter, not sure that counts?)

I'm almost afraid to say it in AH, but... I have also met Bono

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Met a few.. Brian McFadden spilled drink on me at the opening of a niteclub in Drogheda, and I met Kerry at the same thing (she was grand back then)

Also met Natalie Imbruglia and John Rocha at a charity event in Dublin a few years ago

But the best was chatting to Bill & Hilary Clinton for about 5 minutes when they were in Dundalk advocating the peace process.. really top fella he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

vibrant wrote: »
    I have seen the man, the legend, Brendan Kilkenny on more than one occasion. Yes, yes... I know you don't believe me. That's why one time, I took a photo! *smug* ;)

Is that the old 25 bustop?

The accident...:(

Anyway, I was in close proximity to Brendan Gleeson, Jim Broadbent at a premier. I've met Dustin after a show. Ardal O'Hanlon.

Denis Irwin signed my football boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Tell, tell...

I secretly despise you btw.

• Fishie wrote: »
    I was in the audience of the Graham Norton show last week, Graham Norton spoke to us beforehand because one of my friends was in the group for the Red Chair (she didn't go in the chair on the actual show though, which is a shame!) He's really nice!

Can't believe I forgot to mention him. I met him several times at his show, he's hilarious. I never quite understand why people want to be on the red chair though :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

alwaysadub wrote: »
    It seems to be top secret!

I reckon Biggins is some really famous celeb :D

I cant help going through the casts of those shows now.... Is he one of the Baldwins?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Fishie wrote: »

I'm almost afraid to say it in AH, but... I have also met Bono

Ah he's not that small, in fairness to him.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Sure you did, Walter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

I was convinced i saw William Shatner 2-3 months ago in Dublin.
    Passed him on the street and i couldn't help staring.

Anyone know if he was in Ireland recently.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I've worked it out! You did Angel's realistic Irish accent for the flashbacks on the show? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

One of the westlife lads got married in our village, i was in the pub having a pint with a few of the lads and Brian McFadden, Kerry Catona and Louis Walsh sat next to us. One of the lads whispered 'check out the size of her tits!' and Louis heard him and broke his shít laughing.
    Went outside and saw Ronan Keating and the westlife lads, also the weasle Ahern and his daughters

Saw Pierce Brosnan in the same pub on another occasion