Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Everybody Elses MW2 Ping Gone to Pot in Last Month?!

• 23-05-2010 3:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭

I find the game becoming almost unplayable.In fact Ive gone back to COD4 sometimes as its far better...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭claiva

ytareh wrote: »
    I find the game becoming almost unplayable.In fact Ive gone back to COD4 sometimes as its far better...

What platform you on dude ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

I noticed I was being put in more games with americans and its been very bad. What speeds are you getting through speedtest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

No problems here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Fine here also, generally get to be the host a lot.

It's even grand when I'm on with half Americans in the game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Usually fine for me too, although I do play alot late at night due to my insomnia, however I have a 24mb line so I host alot and good games generally ensue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Yeah mine has gone to **** since I got the addon pack

PS3 w/ UPC 30mb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

have had problems lately but ive found if i knock it off and wait an hour it works again

sierra117x wrote: »
    have had problems lately but ive found if i knock it off and wait an hour it works again
    If this is a UPC issue I'm going to ring up and literally scream down the phone at them until they agree to end my contact early. As I mentioned in the broadband forum lately, what a heap of shite they've turned out to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭shay

Mine's gone to **** too - I'm with Errorcom.

Gonna have to check connection speed later when I get home...

Just checked pings on pingtest and speedtest and everything is fine in that regard yet I CANT GET A SINGLE ****ING GOOD GAME GOING

fuuuuuuuuuuuu.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭baz909

shay wrote: »
    Mine's gone to **** too - I'm with Errorcom QUOTE]

same here

since i got the map pack all my games are laggy .. my ping is 90ms... dunno how to lower this on Errorcom ! but my NAT type is open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

I have 2 playstations and 2 laptops on upc all at the same time and rarely have a problem. I have one playstation wired up the the router and the rest wireless. I've been with upc for 6months now and only had a problem once but it was quickly enough fixed. Its the 15mb one. My ping is quite low I think less than 25. Its odd that if your getting good speeds you cannot connect to games.

Yeah mine is only since I upgraded with the stimulus pack. Can't get into a game with less than a 90ms ping, yet pingtest is showing my ping at less than 20 sometimes. Don't know how it's happening.

Rb wrote: »
    Yeah mine is only since I upgraded with the stimulus pack. Can't get into a game with less than a 90ms ping, yet pingtest is showing my ping at less than 20 sometimes. Don't know how it's happening.
    I just deleted the MW2 game data off my PS3, then ran the disc and updated everything except the ****ty "stimulus" package and it seems to have resolved the ping/lag issues I was having.

Another quality product by IW LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

your ping (although mines always about 50/60ms) when you do that test is to a dublin server so if the host of your game is in England/America that's irrelevant.

more than likely there is no problems and it's certainly not a MW2 problem if anyone has bad ping, serious lack of knowledge in this thread...

Liam O wrote: »
    your ping (although mines always about 50/60ms) when you do that test is to a dublin server so if the host of your game is in England/America that's irrelevant.

more than likely there is no problems and it's certainly not a MW2 problem if anyone has bad ping, serious lack of knowledge in this thread...
    Just pinged a bunch of random EU servers and got 50 or so every time.

See my post above, the minute I got rid of the recently installed pack my games went back to normal, I began hosting again, no lags, no disconnects, nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭ytareh

OP here .Im on PC and dont have Stimulus Package installed .Pings are generally fine on all testing software /sites .Im on UPC 20meg-was afraid to go for free upgrade to 30meg hearing horror stories about it being SLOWER ...This problem has ruined MW2 for me .Having gone Presige I can never see myself going again with the lag Im experiencing.

having the same problem myself recently but its not even just with modern warfare its with anything live related sometimes the mini pictures and videos wont even load on the dashboard . my down speed is 15 megs with 1.5 up ping was at 16 and only slight variations between tests and i have 3 green bars connected on my router there is absolutely no other technology using my broadband and yet still getting 1 red bar in games . worst thing is im connecting to games i know should be ok because other boards members are playing away fine without problems. its on my end somewhere i just dont know where someone ANYONE help me out here:( nat type is open btw

Trilla had the same problem for a while, not sure if it just went away or if he did something about it.
    Send him a pm

Shammy wrote: »
    Trilla had the same problem for a while, not sure if it just went away or if he did something about it.
    Send him a pm

will do man thanks

well lads im all outta options there is absolutely nothing i havent tried im nackered from being up all night trying to sort this before the double xp weekend . problem is as far as i can tell everything is perfect . port is forwarded nat is open my speed is at 15 megs down and 1.5 up still my ping went higher to 23 but is staying steady at that i have a full connection to my router which is exchanging information with my xbox at speeds of 23 megs apparantly despite that being larger than my downspeed . if anyone anywhere has any solution to this problem please help me out . preferabley before the double xp this weekend :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

well lads im all outta options there is absolutely nothing i havent tried im nackered from being up all night trying to sort this before the double xp weekend . problem is as far as i can tell everything is perfect . port is forwarded nat is open my speed is at 15 megs down and 1.5 up still my ping went higher to 23 but is staying steady at that i have a full connection to my router which is exchanging information with my xbox at speeds of 23 megs apparantly despite that being larger than my downspeed . if anyone anywhere has any solution to this problem please help me out . preferabley before the double xp this weekend :(

I would suggest reading up on MW2. It has nothing to do with your NAT, your broadband speed or your pings. Unless you are the host you are at the mercy of somebody else's home broadband connection. Not a server, somebody else's home connection. With all the inherent problems that lie in sub-enterprise grade hardware and bandwidth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Just pinged a bunch of random EU servers and got 50 or so every time.

See my post above, the minute I got rid of the recently installed pack my games went back to normal, I began hosting again, no lags, no disconnects, nothing.

Thats probably because when the Stimulus package came out they basically split the games players into haves and don't haves so depending on how many people online have the map pack or vice versa the other side will have less games available AFAIK...

I would suggest reading up on MW2. It has nothing to do with your NAT, your broadband speed or your pings. Unless you are the host you are at the mercy of somebody else's home broadband connection. Not a server, somebody else's home connection. With all the inherent problems that lie in sub-enterprise grade hardware and bandwidth.

actually if you have a poor downspeed or upload rate you or someone else in your game will suffer. and the problem isnt on the hosting end regardless of who the host may be as ive said in previous posts ive been in games with local friends on similar connections as well as other boards memebers throughout ireland with relativeley good internet connections and despite them having 3/4 bars mine is still red . also if your connection is the better you are chosen as host in the next game . this doesnt happen despite my speeds(check my sig there pretty good speeds) . everything else internet related works fine downloads torrents videos pc games the problem is directly related to xbox live or my xbox . and unfortunately the problem is not an obvious one like port forwarding auto ip addresses or anything else simple

Did you pm Trilla , his problem was xbox live related as well , plus everything else ran fine.

Shammy wrote: »
    Did you pm Trilla , his problem was xbox live related as well , plus everything else ran fine.

i did indeed his problems where related to stuff like his nat kept changing security levels port forwarding and other problems . the thing with mine is its perfect. there are no visible problems . im going to see about swapping out the wireless adapter to the newer dual models see if that helps out at all . i might also try connecting straight to the router despite it telling me i have full connection to it . just to see if i the problem is hardware related . after that the box is going out the window to see if i can hit my car claim some insurance money and buy a playstation :D

actually if you have a poor downspeed or upload rate you or someone else in your game will suffer.

You would work hard to top the 128k upload on a 1mb line with a hosted 12man game.
    and the problem isnt on the hosting end regardless of who the host may be as ive said in previous posts ive been in games with local friends on similar connections as well as other boards memebers throughout ireland with relativeley good internet connections and despite them having 3/4 bars mine is still red

You don't know who was chosen as the host regardless. Unless there connection goes mental. From a UPC home connection to a Eircom home line you might see a tracing route starting at the exchange inside your house, moving over to England, then France, then the Netherlands, then down Eircoms/UPC's preferred pipe to Ireland, then to your friend.

. also if your connection is the better you are chosen as host in the next game . this doesnt happen despite my speeds(check my sig there pretty good speeds) . everything else internet related works fine downloads torrents videos pc games the problem is directly related to xbox live or my xbox . and unfortunately the problem is not an obvious one like port forwarding auto ip addresses or anything else simple

Host choice seemed completely random for me. No rhyme or reason for it.

So lets rule out the obvious answers for your problem.

Nobody else in your house is using wireless when your online? Bandwidth on wireless is actually quite crap, your broadband connection as it stands is about the peak of its ability. And its shared. Couple that with interference and two people on wireless = a quarter of available wireless signal(bout 4mb).

You can plug directly into the UPC modem ignoring the router all together. It should give you a very quick indicator of the actual issue. If wireless is the issue and you don't want to run cables you could try a alternative.

firstly im not sure how to "multi quote"??? your message like you did with mine so sorry if its hard to follow. also sorry if i come across as condescending or being a di*k i know your just trying to help :)

You would work hard to top the 128k upload on a 1mb line with a hosted 12man game.

its a 2 meg line that they sell me but the actual speed is at 1.5 average although it does vary (peaks at 2 during the night but drops to 1 during the day usually) but between 5 and 1 its always at 1.5

You don't know who was chosen as the host regardless. Unless there connection goes mental. From a UPC home connection to a Eircom home line you might see a tracing route starting at the exchange inside your house, moving over to England, then France, then the Netherlands, then down Eircoms/UPC's preferred pipe to Ireland, then to your friend.

you can see the host at the begining of each game by bringing up the scoreboard straight away . the host is the only one with green bars everyone else is red as their still connecting. one thing i should note is that this is a recent problem up untill a few weeks ago i had zero problems . then one night it went for a while . and again another . and the last few its just been un playable . moving on . i dont see why poeple with the same isp the same speeds or both in my local area (some only about 100 yards away) would have no bother playing with a host that i can barely connect too . even if the trace line is going all the way to new zealand if they can connect no bother why cant i ?

Host choice seemed completely random for me. No rhyme or reason for it.

one of the most recent updates applied configured the game so that it would put players in more local based games which ive found it has been doing . in the event that you and your friends are thrown into an overseas game majority rules takes effect . ie more players in ireland host is in ireland . more in france/england then host is french or english . rarely get french players myself

So lets rule out the obvious answers for your problem.

Nobody else in your house is using wireless when your online? Bandwidth on wireless is actually quite crap, your broadband connection as it stands is about the peak of its ability. And its shared. Couple that with interference and two people on wireless = a quarter of available wireless signal(bout 4mb).

actually ive already been shown by my router that it can transfer data in the house far faster than my broadband speed . ie moving files from one computer to another computer . it showed me connection speeds of 20 plus for my xbox although why my xbox was transfering 20+ megs a second i couldnt tell you. in answer to your first question no its not shared im the only one that uses it in the house as im the only one paying for it . no one else has or needs wireless capabilities

You can plug directly into the UPC modem ignoring the router all together. It should give you a very quick indicator of the actual issue. If wireless is the issue and you don't want to run cables you could try a alternative

quick retard moment from me :D ive been refering to the wireless modem they gave me as the router this entire time . apologies for that

You should have two devices. The NTL cable modem plugged into a wireless router.

To rule out issues you could first plug a ethernet cable into the ports at the back of the wireless router and your xbox/pc.

Then if you still experience the issue you can ignore the wireless router all together and plug the xbox/pc directly into the modem.

This would allow you to first rule out your wireless as the issue and place the possible blame on NTL and the router. By plugging directly into the modem you leave the only possible problem as the NTL connection itself. Once the cause of the problem is identified you can begin to consider your options.

You should have two devices. The NTL cable modem plugged into a wireless router.

To rule out issues you could first plug a ethernet cable into the ports at the back of the wireless router and your xbox/pc.

Then if you still experience the issue you can ignore the wireless router all together and plug the xbox/pc directly into the modem.

This would allow you to first rule out your wireless as the issue and place the possible blame on NTL and the router. By plugging directly into the modem you leave the only possible problem as the NTL connection itself. Once the cause of the problem is identified you can begin to consider your options.

well i stripped the box of every cable and accesory today cleaned it all as best i could plugged it back in and it worked . dont ask me what the problem was because i couldnt tell you . i can only assume that some wire somewhere was connected enough to function but not enough to function well . most likely the wireless adaptor . that or like trilla my poblem simply went away on its own . either way its fixed its back and i can go back to sucking at the game . cuddlesworth i appreciate the help man

gone again . without making any changes . worked fine today . came back on tonyt and didnt work again. giving up

Its possible your getting interference from another wireless network. Change the channel that your wireless is using.

thats a good idea i'll try that tonight . that would explain why its on and off . and i know most of my neighbours have broadband(may have borrowed theirs while i was switchin ISP a few months back :p)

EDIT: wouldnt that show up when its displaying connection status to the modem though ? and my other wireless stuff works i turned the laptop on straight away when i turned the xbox off and as usual it worked fine

Lads,

Your assistance please.

I spent a good ten f'n minutes last night trying to get a game in "team deathmatch express"... the irony of that selection was not lost on me.

I have a 3 meg deal with Errorcom.

I used speedtest.net to see what I was actually getting.

Download speed = 2.62.
    Upload = 0.32
    Ping = 73.

Every game I have approximately 2 bars beside my name.

I should also say that the Internet connection is going straight into the back of the XBOX, so no possible loss of signal from wireless.

Is there something I can do, or should I be arming up with my trusty Scar-H, RPG, flash grenades and semtex and heading down to Stephen's Green to have a chat with my ISP? :mad:

Lads,

Your assistance please.

I spent a good ten f'n minutes last night trying to get a game in "team deathmatch express"... the irony of that selection was not lost on me.

I have a 3 meg deal with Errorcom.

I used speedtest.net to see what I was actually getting.

Download speed = 2.62.
    Upload = 0.32
    Ping = 73.

Every game I have approximately 2 bars beside my name.

I should also say that the Internet connection is going straight into the back of the XBOX, so no possible loss of signal from wireless.

Is there something I can do, or should I be arming up with my trusty Scar-H, RPG, flash grenades and semtex and heading down to Stephen's Green to have a chat with my ISP? :mad:

Your ping is too high , not much they can do about it. No harm in ringing them anyway.

Appreciate the reply.

If it isn't their fault, is it something I can fix hardware/software(settings) wise?

Appreciate the reply.

If it isn't their fault, is it something I can fix hardware/software(settings) wise?

Not really , with eircom it really depends on the area you are in , even if you upgrade , your ping may still be high.
    I would suggest moving isp, try and stay away from dsl as you will probably get the same ping from vodafone or any other company that rents the line from eircom.

Others here may be able to give you better advice on your settings to get them better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Im on 7 meg with eircom. My ping is 90 even 100 the last month or two. Few months ago it was 70-80 when i was on 3 meg.
    Switch to UPC if they do it in your area.

thank you kindly gentlemen.

The only other provided in the area is Wi-max, and I don't know if they can provide better. Anyone else know for sure?

thank you kindly gentlemen.

The only other provided in the area is Wi-max, and I don't know if they can provide better. Anyone else know for sure?

been very good things about that . friend of mine is apparantly getting it within the next week if he does ill tell you how its working . apparantly you get what you pay for with wi max

Thanks a mill for that, I would love to jettison Eircom for all the sh*t they put me through.

Was on again last night... takes about 3 mins to find one game, I enter that lobby, the msg "selecting the best host" appears.. counts to 8... then boots me out.

Rinse and repeat for about 8-9 mins in total and then EVENTUALLY get into a game and I have to stay with that lobby or else I have to endure the wait again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭djskip316i

I have the 3meg package with eircom mw2 is showing a 3 bar connection but the lag is just unbareable between 6 and 11pm any suggestons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭LD 50

I've a 3meg connection with eircom. When I'm trying to find a game, mostly FFA it can sometimes go to <140ms, but once I'm in the game, there doesn't seem to be any more lag than normal. I don't have the DLC, so that could be it. But I don't see how it would be causing connection problems.

Well I rang Errorcom last nite - they got me to run a ping test on my laptop thru the "run" option on the startup menu.

Ping to google.ie was 32 :confused: This compared to the ping I got with speedtest.net!?

Still I only ever have 2 bars signal on the machine and like others, have to wait at least 5 mins for a game.

My missus was on the laptop at one stage and I left my xbox looking for a game - 20 mins and still nuffin!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Tommy_NDX

Im having the same problems for about a week now. Usually had 4 bars before that. I've done a few speedtests one after the other with very different results. One would be 50-60 ping, 2.5mb download, 0.3mb upload and the next would be 200+ ping, 0.5mb download, 0.2mb upload.

Those are the best and worst i've gotton with most results landing in between.

Oh and its eircom 3mb wireless on ps3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭darkmark79

Tommy_NDX wrote: »
    Im having the same problems for about a week now. Usually had 4 bars before that. I've done a few speedtests one after the other with very different results. One would be 50-60 ping, 2.5mb download, 0.3mb upload and the next would be 200+ ping, 0.5mb download, 0.2mb upload.

Those are the best and worst i've gotton with most results landing in between.

Oh and its eircom 3mb wireless on ps3.

Jaysus Remi i thought mine was bad and i have o2 mobile bb and my ping is 300+,you should get a house call from a vet cos me thinks eircom are trying to ride ya ever so slightly.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Tommy_NDX

Played a few games last night which weren't too bad, mostly 3 bars so hopefully it keeps gettin better. Never had a problem with eircom but im only with them around 6 months and its in her name so i cant exactly ring up for a few words with them.

I'll forgive them this time.;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭celtic723

My ping is shocking lately. Maybe they're fiddling around with some settings or shizz and making an arse of it? They're usually good at that sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

I gave up playing on Xbox live as my connection was generally crap regardless of how I was connected to the router. The connection got worse and worse after the stimulus package was installed.
    I always hard wired the xbox to the router and nat was open. Even tried connecting directly to the cable modem and still only got two bars on my "live" connection. In the end I gave up through pure frustration.
    UPC 30mb connection.
    I'm going to try the PC version of the game to see if I fare any better connection wise .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Eircom just upgraded a lot of connections. Wonder if it's connected to that...

Had a few problems recently with it.