Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EUROVISION betting

• 23-05-2010 1:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭

The first semi takes place on the 25th (tuesday), the second on the 27th (thursday) and the final on Saturday (saturday). Ireland and Niamh Kavangh are best priced 28/1 with VC Bet. In reality Niamh Kavanagh would do well to make it to the final so i'll not be betting on that one.

Azerbaijan are, quite unbelieveably, 6/4 favourites in the antepost book. I'm not too well versed in the politics of Eurovision voting. Maybe it is their turn to win. I've heard the song and i'm not convinced.

Latest Eurovision betting odds can be found here.

In recent years the smart money always comes late and there's a steamer who goes from high odds to being among the favs in the betting. I'm opening this thread in the hope that one of you might have a clue as to who that will be this time around.

In sadder news: Terry Wogan is being replaced by Graham Norton on the Beeb coverage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Verance

In reality Niamh Kavanagh would do well to make it to the final so i'll not be betting on that one.
    Agree, which is why 11/4 for Ireland not to qualify is too big, I've had a nibble...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

Where did you get that price Verance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Kod-box

Azerbaijan will be odds on when the thing airs...their 13/8 now, lump on imo, theyve topped all the online polls for best song etc, should walk it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,943 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

2/1 on pp for ireland not to qualify

just a question

in the these rounds who votes ?

Mezcita wrote: »
    Where did you get that price Verance?
    Bet365, 9/4 with Boyles, and around 3/1 on Betfair.
    Headshot wrote: »
    2/1 on pp for ireland not to qualify

just a question

in the these rounds who votes ?
    Every country, I believe. It's 50% from televoters and 50% an 'expert' panel...

A sad day indeed when I find myself listening to Eurovision songs for research purposes....

That Irish song is pants.

Verance wrote: »
    Bet365, 9/4 with Boyles, and around 3/1 on Betfair.

Every country, I believe. It's 50% from televoters and 50% an 'expert' panel...

cheers Verance

im all over this bet

That Irish song is pants.

link ?

cheers Verance

im all over this bet
    Well if ya like that, for betfair users - Ireland can be layed at 6/4 to finish in top ten IN THE FINAL, bet's a winner if they don't make it! It's never been as profitable to be unpatriotic :D

(Hopefully)

Irish song:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=boJuTFLAyek

Azerbaijan. I totally would.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tIx_vrhq1lU

Azerbaijan are best price 2.6 on Betfair. However you can get 2.75 on little known bookie paf.com. €50 max though. Solid book before anyone wets themselves about betting with a different company than Paddy Power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I predict Azerbaijan and Armenia will not give each other any votes. I wonder could you get a bookie who isn't clued into the political situation to give odds on that.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/8205907.stm

Greece and Cyprus are are guaranteed to give each other 12 points (or whatever the top mark is), happens every year so I doubt if you could get odds on that. If memory serves another two countries who do the same are Romania and Moldova.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Irish song:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=boJuTFLAyek

Azerbaijan. I totally would.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tIx_vrhq1lU

Azerbaijan are best price 2.6 on Betfair. However you can get 2.75 on little known bookie paf.com. €50 max though. Solid book before anyone wets themselves about betting with a different company than Paddy Power.

I like azerbaijan :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭Luap

I'm putting 50 on Azerbaijan and 20 on ireland not to qualify :P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭coughlan08

just after finishing my days study and seen this tread.
    what a laugh,,,god we would do anything for a few pennies.:D

im not sad enough to go listening to all the songs but im still getting on the following sence ye all seem to be:)

Eurovision Song Contest
    Ireland for Eurovision
    2010-05-25 20:00:00
    Ireland to Qualify
    Ireland not to qualify for Eurovision final 2010
    2-1

€35 returns €105

best of luck lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

coughlan08 wrote: »

im not sad enough to go listening to all the songs but im still getting on the following sence ye all seem to be:)

Eurovision Song Contest
    Ireland for Eurovision
    Ireland to Qualify
    2-1

€35 returns €105

best of luck lads

I wouldnt back against us to be honest, its not a bad eurovision song and 10/17 go through.

Many songs will be shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭Luap

If anyones thinking on betting on the Eurovision, there a preview on RTE2 at 8:30.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Drip Drop is the entry from Azerbyjan, marty says they have a good chance of winning and i agree with him, very good song despite the tittle:pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭Juwwi

l found this post on the betfair forum the guy seems to know his stuff.
    in a earlier post he said that in his opinion azerbaijan should be 7/1 and isreal were no hopers.

ok allez, now is the time to step in and bet.

the contest has 2 semi finals(tuesday and thursday) and the final next saturday.

the market to get your punting teeth stuck into is semi final 1 on tuesday night. this is regarded as a very weak semi final. in a sea of mediocrity there is one absolute stand out performer and that is greece...now it is more of a war chant than a song, it is presented in a dramatic way and by far and away the most memorable entry in semi final 1.

3 years ago the finnish monsters lordi came from nowhere to win outright due to a dramatic and memorable performance, should greece get a good late draw in final( the order will not be known until 11pm on Thursday night), then their current outright price of 66/1 could be manna from heaven.

priced between 3/1 and 4/1 with 1/4 1,2,3 generally available, greece are certain to finish in the 3 in semi final 1 and in my book i would make them around 4/7 to win, the lack of neighbours voting in this semi final is a minor negative, however greece will absorb votes from all juries and that will be enough to get them across the line.

by the way VC are offering 1/10 on greece qualifying for the final, the easiest 10% interest you are going to get on your money in all of 2010.

so have a good wedge on greece at 7/2, 4/1 to win semi final 1, put them in each way doubles/trebles with any each way steal horses in the next few days and build yourself a nice multiplier.............also a few bucks each way on greece at 66/1 for the outright 1/4 1234 will give you a good trading position at least come next saturday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭eldrickwoods

Great response lads. That's waht i was hoping for.

had a flutter on Greece to win and also on Ireland not to qualify.

Bit worried about the anti-Greek feeling in the EU at the minute mind you. don't reckon the Germans will be giving them too much.

now the worst annual televised event suddenly becomes watchable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Pishogue

I'm thinking the opposite i.e. the folks will be sympathetic to Greece - lump on I say, fill your boots on Greece.

greece coming on in a few minutes they are number 13

ugh i forgot that ireland bet
    :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

They aren't on until Thursday night.

lreland are 13/5 in boyles not to qualify about the same as betfair

greece were'nt great :(

Goodness. Singer for Iceland is bigger than the Eyjafjallajokull.

Not so sure about Greece. But then again its the Eurovision so you never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

I think all you unpatriotic heads could be in for a shock.
    Ireland are due a decent result after a dismal few years and now that half the voting is done by a panel of adults instead of all kids texting on their mobiles, we could sneak a Top 5 finish.

Eurovision Song Contest
    Ireland for Eurovision
    Ireland to Qualify
    2-1

€35 returns €105

best of luck lads

im kinda regretting the bet now,ireland prob will and should qualify,
    only time will tell.

im kinda regretting the bet now,ireland prob will and should qualify,
    only time will tell.
    Why, nothing has changed??

i just listened to her interview and she seems very confident and relaxed.
    and the previous poster is kinda right,ireland are due a performance.
    whats being holding ireland back in recent years is the voting and now that they have fixed that there will only be "quality" songs going through rather than that ****e that hasbeing before....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

http://www.attheraces.com/article.aspx?hlid=509073

That guy apparently tipped the last 3 winners. He's tipping Israel atm and reckons Ireland will "breeze" into the final

Hmmm, does he only make one selection, or a few?

point proven,:o

if i get onto live help will they cancel the bet for me???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭finlma

While all the music is ear bleeding rubbish I made a killing a few years ago by lumping on Lordi from Finland a few days before the event. Only time I ever bet on a non-sporting event and I don't think I'd ever go near it again.

Good luck to all

Verance wrote: »
    Hmmm, does he only make one selection, or a few?

He's posting his final selection tomorrow when the draw for the final is made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭eldrickwoods

that attheraces article is pretty thorough alright.

damn it. my Greece bet isn't looking too good by the sounds of it :-)

may be time to jump ship and get on Israel.

fair play NIAMH,,its a very good song and should easily walk to the final.
    dont mind losing my 35 to ya,,,ya better win it now though:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

10 out of 17 to qualify.

11 are odds on on betfair.

ireland is outsider of odds on shots at 1.8 and drifting alarmingly....from 1.25

Does someone know??????????

Very little in lay column

Well Played Niamh, layers were wrong.

Marty blows a fuse and we're in.

fair play NIAMH,,its a very good song and should easily walk to the final.
    dont mind losing my 35 to ya,,,ya better win it now though:p

i knew it fair play,

lost my 35 though:o

Sweden backed as low as 1.06 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Lmao_Man

lads i betted on azerbaijan to win tonight,did they win ?

they were in the top 10,but who came 1st ?

PP still says "pending"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭rorymagory

I backed somebody to win the semifinal on paddypower there.
    Can someone explain what the feck i was betting on! I didn't see no winner announced.
    Ireland were 15 to win tonight and 19 to win on saturday.
    It can't surely mean that if ireland win outright on saturday i get my odds of 15?
    Have I made a little blunder?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Lmao_Man

rory - Im the same,someone please tell me whats going on :(

Who did you bet on ? does it still say pending ? does for me.

rorymagory wrote: »
    I backed somebody to win the semifinal on paddypower there.
    Can someone explain what the feck i was betting on! I didn't see no winner announced.
    Ireland were 15 to win tonight and 19 to win on saturday.
    It can't surely mean that if ireland win outright on saturday i get my odds of 15?
    Have I made a little blunder?:eek:

the semi final winners are'nt announced untill after the final on saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

robbie1977 wrote: »
    the semi final winners are'nt announced untill after the final on saturday night.

Thats a bit weird

Gillington wrote: »
    Thats a bit weird

well its not really,
    it would affect the odds that the country has of winning dramatically,
    i.e the gamblers would know who the countrys are voting for, and sence the songs dont change for the final they could just lump on the winners of the semi final.;)

Its nothing to do with the gamblers though, people wont be swayed in their voting if they know one country did better in the semi's than another country...i think they may even say who won the semi's before the final begins...i.e heres ireland who finished 3rd in the semi finals etc...i could be wrong though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭nuttlys

i've gone absolutely banana's on this - I'd back Niamh to get through to the final and have now lumped it ALL back on her to take it down with a sneaky E/W to try and gain something back if she does well but not well enough.

Bets were (most recent first):
    2010 Outright Winner - Ireland E/W @ 14/1 €36.00E/W
    2010 Outright Winner - Ireland Win @ 14/1 €65.00
    2010 Outright Winner - Ireland Win @ 20/1 €30.00
    Ireland for Eurovision - Ireland Win @ 14/1 €15.00

Total Stake €186 :eek:
    Potential Returns (Win) €2532

Biggest bet I've ever laid outside poker. But between the judges coming back in this year and having a redhead back on stage... i dunno....

Kod-box wrote: »
    i think they may even say who won the semi's before the final begins...

if you think they are going to say it before the finals why not just say it now,there is plenty of time to vote after the song??

I dunno why i just think thats the way its done, maybe ask live help on PP and they will know the craic.