Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai shoot scummer in Cork

• 22-05-2010 11:27am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭

Looks Gardai in Cork were busy last night- some scummer walked into a pub brandishing a shotgun. The ERU was on the scene in minutes and after he refused to drop his weapon the officers shot him in the stomach. He's now in critical condition in hospital. Fair play to the boys in blue on this one, it's a good outcome considering there was a pub full of customers- we could easily be reading about a mass murder in Cork last night right now.

Full article http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gardai-shoot-gunman-in-pub-standoff-2190696.html
    ARMED gardai last night dramatically foiled an apparent murder bid after shooting a young man who had threatened staff and customers with a shotgun in a busy pub.

The man – who is in his 20s – was fighting for his life after he was shot by Cork-based members of the Garda Regional Support Unit (RSU).

He was shot after he had repeatedly ignored shouted warnings from RSU officers to drop his firearm and surrender to gardai.

It is the first time RSU officers have been involved in such a shooting, with their only previous armed intervention being the use of a Taser stun gun in Limerick.

The drama unfolded after the armed man walked into the Mo Chuisle Pub on Cork’s Blarney Street at 6.40pm. He was carrying a shotgun and asked for an individual by name. The individual was not on the premises at the time – but the man then proceeded to threaten customers and staff, demanding to know the whereabouts of the named man.

A passerby spotted what had happened and alerted Gurranabraher garda station.

An RSU team was already in the vicinity and they arrived within minutes of the alarm being raised.

Several armed officers entered the pub and demanded that the man drop the shotgun and surrender.

However, the man ignored the orders and turned, apparently sweeping the shotgun towards pub customers.

One garda source said the man’s action was deemed to represent a serious threat to both pub patrons and the RSU officers so he was shot in an effort to incapacitate him.

A number of shots were discharged and the young man was hit at least once in the stomach.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Should have aimed for the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Shot him in the stomach my arse. Bastard had a shotgun, should be headshots all the way. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Expect stupid ****ing time wasting inquiries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Good work. I say the person who did the shootin feels like Dirty Harry :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Taser would have done the trick, 50,000 Volts he won't be going around with a shotgun again ****ing plank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

msg11 wrote: »
    Taser would have done the trick, 50,000 Volts he won't be going around with a shotgun again ****ing plank.

Yeah, are you going to be the one to run up to some lad with a taser while he is waving a shotgun around?

Didn't think so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

FAIL...

The cops shudda shop everyone in Cork.

(Except Dudess and Minidazzler).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭beardo81

They aim for the stomach because its the largest target on a human body. Least thats what they told me in 'Nam.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Sounds like the guards did everything by the book.

When somebody is holding a shotgun, finger on the trigger and in a crowded pud, you don't want to induce electro convulsions, so there goes that tazer idea.

He was shot in the stomach, the gardai aimed for the centre of mass and even then a little lower to reduce chance of death, no trained armed responce police in the world are trained to aim for such a small target as the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Nice one.Fair play to the gardaí.

Although I can imagine how this will now go..

"HE WAS A NICE CHAP! JUST HAD SOME PROBLEMS. HE DIDN'T DESERVE TO BE SHOT!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

SV wrote: »
    Nice one.Fair play to the gardaí.

Although I can imagine how this will now go..

"HE WAS A NICE CHAP! JUST HAD SOME PROBLEMS. HE DIDN'T DESERVE TO BE SHOT, BAI!"

FYP.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

Fair play to the RSU.

Que 10 years of tribunals because some scumbag was shot. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

RATM wrote: »
    He was carrying a shotgun and asked for an individual by name.

Derek from Crystal Swing..... you're wanted in the front bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

What a thread title.

Gardai shoot scummer in Cork.

I laughed. I love boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Teferi wrote: »
    Yeah, are you going to be the one to run up to some lad with a taser while he is waving a shotgun around?

Didn't think so.

Don't take me word for word. The right choice was made by the Gardai. In fairness, I would not have been surprised if he got disarmed from a smack of a shovel to the back of the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Well done to the Gardaí.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

He shouldn't have been there with the gun but there is more to this story.

Apparently the relative (scummer) was still aggrieved over the incident of the tragic death of Anthony Hennessy (41) outside the Mo Chuisle pub in March 2008.
    All the above detail was mentioned on RTE news last night at 9.
    Maybe he felt someone was responsible inside. Who knows?

He shouldn't have done what he did though. That was just madness.

Sounds (at this stage) like the Gardi tried not to shoot at him, in a vital area.
    However no shooting anywhere, is a safe area anyway. Can't blame the Gardi for eventually having to try and stop him.

Post edited due to wrong facts. Corrected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I think another reason for shooting in the stomach was because there would be less chance of the bullet going through the body and injuring one of the innocent people on the scene.

Biggins wrote: »
    Edited Now
    And mine too now. <<

@Stercus, Beard et all. Point taken on the targetting, wasn't really thinking of that.

Firstly, I'm delighted that the Gardaì are (finally) starting to kick ass. Should be a more common approach in my opinion.

I do have one problem though;
    A number of shots were discharged and the young man was hit at least once in the stomach

Erm... I love AGS and all, but... A NUMBER of shots in a busy pub, and only one hit the scumbag? I don't really like the sound of that, to be honest.

The 9 news mentioned one shot was taken by the Gardi.

Lord knows they would be nervous at doing any shooting after a previous high publicised shooting thay had to do some time back.

I doubt they opened fire with many more shots - but we will have to wait and see.

Pauleta wrote: »
    I think another reason for shooting in the stomach was because there would be less chance of the bullet going through the body and injuring one of the innocent people on the scene.

Doesn't work like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

FAIL...

The cops shudda shot everyone in Cork.

fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

msg11 wrote: »

You want to taser someone who has their finger on the trigger of a shotgun? Madness What the first thing that happens when some is shocked? It would have resulted in the shotgun being discharged. Not a good result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Should have nuked the entire site from orbit. It's the only way to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

FAIL...

I wonder has Dudess ever thought "only if you were the only man left in Cork?" :D
    genericguy wrote: »
    fyp

Weird, like half the people in Cork want me dead, everyone else wants me alive! :D I should be Taoiseach! :D

TBH, sounds like a good shooting, nothing suspect about it. For those saying it should have been headshots, get real, the fella hadn't shot anyone yet. For those saying Tasers, get real, the shock from a taser will close your fist, if his finger is on the trigger someone could have been seriously injured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    What a thread title.

Gardai shoot scummer in Cork.

I laughed. I love boards.

Isn't it better than:

Gardai shoot heroin in Cork.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

FAIL...

What's that now boi?? :pac:

...For those saying it should have been headshots, get real, the fella hadn't shot anyone yet. For those saying Tasers, get real, the shock from a taser will close your fist, if his finger is on the trigger someone could have been seriously injured.
    I agree.

For the record, if one really wanted to stop him IF he showed he was going to shoot, a shot to the neck is usually taken by a trained sniper (had one been available).
    Such an accurate shot will cut ALL the nerves (and spinal cord) leading to and from the brain and "lock" the persons body in the hold they are in when the shot is taken.
    Standard Gardi wouldn't have probably been capable of this.

(The Israelis are masters at this and have used this technique a number of times to take out suicide bombers.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Didn't think so.

Ignorance is bliss eh?

You're confusing taser with a stun gun. Tasers fire small darts connected to an electronic supply, they can fire darts up to distances of 5-10 yards, considering the size of the average pub I'd say they were well in range to use it.

Well done to the RSU anyway shooting the nutter once he refused to drop the gun, we need more Gardai with backbones.

RMD wrote: »
    Ignorance is bliss eh?

You'd probably bring a knife to a gunfight.

I agree.

For the record, if one really wanted to stop him IF he showed he was going to shoot, a shot to the neck is usually taken by a trained sniper (had one been available).
    Such an accurate shot will cut ALL the nerves (and spinal cord) leading to and from the brain and "lock" the persons body in the hold they are in when the shot is taken.
    Standard Gardi wouldn't have probably been capable of this.

(The Israelis are masters at this and have used this technique a number of times to take out suicide bombers.)

Seriously?..

It goes against anything I've been trained in and would (to be) to be terribly flawed.

You'd probably bring a knife to a gunfight.

I would, if you were within 7 meters then by the time you draw your weapon, cock, take aim and fire, I have you on the ground bleeding. Never underestimate the damage a knife can do, and how quickly it can do it!

But carry that 7 metre cage around would be such a drag.

I would, if you were within 7 meters then by the time you draw your weapon, cock, take aim and fire, I have you on the ground bleeding. Never underestimate the damage a knife can do, and how quickly it can do it - by someone from Cark!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Put a cork in it mate.

Nice shooting by the gardai, should be more of it.

I'm sure you could do similar...Mr Ballymun! :D

Heard from a buddy who works in the hospital, apparently quite a clean wound just with a fair bit of blood.

Seriously?..

It goes against anything I've been trained in and would (to be) to be terribly flawed.

Aye. Its not a common technique and takes only the best of the best to do it but its indeed done.
    Its a measure of last resort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

A number of shots were discharged and the young man was hit at least once in the stomach.

Where did the other shots go? Are the ERU capable of hitting a man-sized target with one shot? I understand that pistol accuracy is terrible beyond a hundred feet, but if they were able to hit him on a non-lethal area then they should be able to do it with one shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I especially love how nobody has yet bothered to raise the matter of the Shotgun. Where did he get it? Guns are ILLEGAL in Ireland! Didnt he get the memo?

Overheal wrote: »
    I especially love how nobody has yet bothered to raise the matter of the Shotgun. Where did he get it? Guns are ILLEGAL in Ireland! Didnt he get the memo?
    Is that sarcasm? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Eh? Shotguns aren't illegal. What are you talking about?

Shotguns are perfectly legal if you have a place to shoot it. But I see what you are trying to do.

Farmers alone under certain circumstances can gain access to one.

Confab wrote: »
    Where did the other shots go?

I was wondering that too tbh.

Farmers alone under certain circumstances can gain access to one.

Not true. As long as you have access to land on which to shoot, you can get one.

O' I know others can get one.
    I just said farmers alone (for example) can get one - so they are not illegal completely.
    I'm not saying only farmers can get them. :)

O' I know others can get one.
    I just said farmers alone (for example) can get one - so they are not illegal completely.
    I'm not saying only farmers can get them. :)

Whoopsie. Took it to mean only farmers! :D

Nay bother. ;)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

If he didn't bother drawing his cock he might have time to shoot you though.