Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The fish of a lifetime

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 3,455 Mod ✭✭✭✭coolwings

Lovely fish.
    Pity it won't get to spawn and make more like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

coolwings wrote: »
    Lovely fish.
    Pity it won't get to spawn and make more like it.

Yeah, catch and release really has to catch on with salmon anglers. It's going to get to a stage where either the fish or the fishing is seen as more important.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭BoarHunter

well you have to consider that this fish was played for 45 minutes... took a lot of strenght out of him i guess, i don't know if the realease would give him the chance to reach his goal. i am all out for catch and realease but sometimes it might as well be pointless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

BoarHunter wrote: »
    well you have to consider that this fish was played for 45 minutes... took a lot of strenght out of him i guess, i don't know if the realease would give him the chance to reach his goal. i am all out for catch and realease but sometimes it might as well be pointless.

Fair point.

A fish comes to the bank due to muscle cramp if played right. it takes 5-15 minutes, the fish circulation system catches up with muscles and it's right as rain 5 minutes after..

Played wrong on inadequate gear a long fight ensues which plays the fish to exhaustion. They still recover. They do not have fishy heart attacks or anything bad, and merely need a rest while held facing the current that's all, they get energy back from fatty energy reserves over a few hours. Being played out is a flash muscle cramp ideally, or a short term energy depletion otherwise.

It is a shame that just about every big salmon caught in Irish waters seems to be dead 60 seconds later. The big Nore fish was chapped too.
    Nice comment in the report of this one pinpoints it all in a nutshell.
    He would love to go and catch that salmon's mate next!
    Right!
    And where are the next generation of 3-4 sea winter salmon supposed to come from may I ask?

Can you conceive of Irish farmers slaughtering their prize breeding livestock and breeding their new stock from the smallest slowest growing weakest runts instead?

The sooner all specimen size fish are returned under legislation, the better.

A fish comes to the bank due to muscle cramp if played right. it takes 5-15 minutes, the fish circulation system catches up with muscles and it's right as rain 5 minutes after..

Played wrong on inadequate gear a long fight ensues which plays the fish to exhaustion. They still recover. They do not have fishy heart attacks or anything bad, and merely need a rest while held facing the current that's all, they get energy back from fatty energy reserves over a few hours. Being played out is a flash muscle cramp ideally, or a short term energy depletion otherwise.

It is a shame that just about every big salmon caught in Irish waters seems to be dead 60 seconds later. The big Nore fish was chapped too.
    Nice comment in the report of this one pinpoints it all in a nutshell.
    He would love to go and catch that salmon's mate next!
    Right!
    And where are the next generation of 3-4 sea winter salmon supposed to come from may I ask?

Can you conceive of Irish farmers slaughtering their prize breeding livestock and breeding their new stock from the smallest slowest growing weakest runts instead?

The sooner all specimen size fish are returned under legislation, the better.

45 minutes is a very long time. I am not a specialist by any mean but i refer to this. i don't take this as gospel of course but to show you it is not recommended to play a big fish for a long time.

http://www.uky.edu/~agrdanny/flyfish/play.htm

the fish might recover immediately but will he make it all the way to the spawning grounds after ?

just open to discussion here, it's an interesting one BTW

• Registered Users Posts: 689 ✭✭✭stylie

Should a large fish, that is going to be released, take an extremely long period to land then put excessive pressure on the line to break off the fly rather than injure the salmon due to exhaustion. This can be done by pointing your rod tip directly at the fish, taking the line in your hand and giving a sharp tug. This will break the tippet, releasing the salmon.

So torture the fish for a while and then leave a hook and a length of line still in the fish, tis all fine you've had your fun, sure you might tear the jaw in the process, or the gills but you didn't see it go belly up immediately so it will be fine

Sound advice from that website

• Registered Users Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭ironbluedun

that advice about pointing the rod at the fish to break the tippet is the thickest thing i have ever heard........it would be great to see the fish returned especially a 3 sea winter fish like that..... but in fairness it is hard to return such a large fish, a fish of a lifetime....easier said than done..what we need are two salmon licenses one for catch and release and one for catch and kill.. with a substantial cost difference between the two..that might just make salmon anglers think about C&R a bit more........or the 'middle ground' between the two like a reduced cost license that allows only one fish to be killed on any one day, any more have to be returned, no matter what size.....there are no incentives for C&R for salmon...or trout for that matter.....why should people who C&R pay the 'conservation stamp'?........this can be done just a bit of joined up thinking...........dont hold your breath.

I have to agree this is a silly advise :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭DryFlyFishing

that fish would have made the best smoked salmon .... my mouth is watering...:pac:

here we go again...........................:rolleyes:

Trolling away for a response, DFF?

pot.gif

GROW UP

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭cj salmon

haha,what a guy

Trolling away for a response, DFF?

pot.gif

GROW UP

have you ever got a large salmon smoked... and not got it sliced... you cut your own slices... big melting lumps of smoked salmon....mmmmmmmmm... no one is sturing the pot... its just what i would have done if i caught it...

i suppose you would have released it... well on here you say you would lol... but in reality LMAO

Have I ever got a salmon smoked and enjoyed it? Many times.

DFF: You don't seem to know that returning salmon is a long standing tradition. It is not new at all. On well managed rivers, for decades, red fish and hens were put back from September onwards. The idea of selectively returning special (genetically) fish is just a new twist on this old practice.

I have caught several hundred, killed some, returned some unharmed. Every fish I caught in East Coast rivers in the past twelve years I have returned unharmed. In some cases due to identifying marks I have later in the year watched "my" returned fish mating and spawning on the redds. Such a sight is very gratifying seeing as how some other people seem to be hell bent on removing every last one.

You can only fish for the ones living in the water. Certain people work against that: people who kill too many, or who kill the particular fish that grow fast and achieve big size. These people do their absolute best to prevent fish being in the water that you will fish in future years. They are people like you, as you are today.
    You don't know it yet, but you, right now, are the enemy of yourself in the future because you advocate screwing up your own future fishing, and you kill the parents of the fish that you will hope to catch then.
    With salmon it is very specific, they go back the same place to spawn, so you are advocating the killing of the future fish in the same exact location!
    Everybody learns this eventually, but it helps to "get it" faster and do less damage on the way.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Jaysus guys, I only posted because I was impressed by the size of the fish. I never saw all this coming. :eek:

/backs out of angling forum

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Don't go Smashey!! :D

Yes, certainly a massive size of a fish and a fish of a lifetime to any angler but as you'll see from the argument going on, such a fish is unique to Irish rivers and fewer and fewer are being caught as the years go by. He would be a particular strain of salmon that spend many years at sea to achieve that size before returning to spawn. We need more of those fish in our rivers, returning to spawn to rebuild the stocks.

SeaFields wrote: »

Yes, certainly a massive size of a fish and a fish of a lifetime to any angler but as you'll see from the argument going on, such a fish is unique to Irish rivers and fewer and fewer are being caught as the years go by. He would be a particular strain of salmon that spend many years at sea to achieve that size before returning to spawn. We need more of those fish in our rivers, returning to spawn to rebuild the stocks.

That says it all. Thanks for the OP about the monster salmon. :)

We are glad to see such fish still exist. They are magnificent creatures.

The discussion that came from it is not "sour grapes" that someone else caught it. I'm glad for the fellow. It's a catch of a lifetime and an inspiration to the rest of us.
    Rather this is a voicing of the differences between the "new school" and the "old school" of game anglers. The old guys ran it down to where it is now. The new guys are trying to challenge notions "out there" of what you do with such a fish when it is caught, and allow those fish "safe passage" to increase and multiply.

So where would I fit in pulling eels and roach from the Deele with my old handline and a jar of worms? :D

smashey wrote: »
    So where would I fit in pulling eels and roach from the Deele with my old handline and a jar of worms? :D

Old school! But in a good way!

I think handlines went out about a century ago so maybe, just maybe, time to upgrade to a fishing rod?! You cant miss them in the fishing tackle shop...big, long skinny things with a funny looking yoke at the bottom ! :p:D

I think handlines went out about a century ago so

i wouldn't be too sure about that if i was you.....pavel and gregor are very fond of them hand-lines......

Have I ever got a salmon smoked and enjoyed it? Many times.

DFF: You don't seem to know that returning salmon is a long standing tradition. It is not new at all. On well managed rivers, for decades, red fish and hens were put back from September onwards. The idea of selectively returning special (genetically) fish is just a new twist on this old practice.

i put back all salmon under 8lb ....unless i was having a hard day... how would you know what i know or do or anything about me.,......:)

or the salmon was up the river a few times in its lifetime....????

well i must say the average salmon is nearly doubling in size since the nets have been off .....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

well i must say the average salmon is nearly doubling in size since the nets have been off .....

Ah, you're having a laugh now. The average size of returning salmon over the last few years has been pathetic, its commonplace to see 5-6lbs spring fish and 3lbs grilse now. A few big fish and the occasional monster fish don't do much for the average when 90% of fish returning now are smaller than they would have been several years ago. You either don't do much salmon fishing or you're just stupid... or maybe you'll tell us you're so good that you can target only the bigger fish

Zzippy wrote: »
    Ah, you're having a laugh now. The average size of returning salmon over the last few years has been pathetic, its commonplace to see 5-6lbs spring fish and 3lbs grilse now. A few big fish and the occasional monster fish don't do much for the average when 90% of fish returning now are smaller than they would have been several years ago. You either don't do much salmon fishing or you're just stupid... or maybe you'll tell us you're so good that you can target only the bigger fish

80-90% of my fish were under 7 lb 2 years ago and many years before... and now 90% are over 8lb

but then again it probably depends on what river you fish.... so yes i probably do target a good river now - ((when i mean now - i mean some problems were solved on the river in the past few years).... same thing with seatrout... some rivers have big ones some dont....

Maybe you should fish another river..... or region.... as the salmon size is a localised poaching problem.... due to nets at estuary level... and on the rivers.... or in winter on the spawning groungs...

it is a pity the board of fisheries does not give 200 euro bounty or a free salmon licence, for taking someone’s net out of the river, or for successful information...... it is amazing to think that so many rivers are closed with no fishermen walking them any more... leaving them open to be raped any day of the week......... the rivers should be open ..... as the poachers wont have free reign...

the last time there was a net found in my local river... a phone call went to the BOF and asked them to come down to catch the poachers.. BOF said take the net out yourself... and what should be done with all the fish??? BOF said you keep them.... but destroy the net...

Old school! But in a good way!

I think handlines went out about a century ago so maybe, just maybe, time to upgrade to a fishing rod?! You cant miss them in the fishing tackle shop...big, long skinny things with a funny looking yoke at the bottom ! :p:D
    A big long skinny thing with a funny looking yoke at the bottom? Ooh er missus. :D

I've had a good few rods over the years but sadly haven't been fishing for a long time now. I really want to get a new fly rod and spend countless quiet hours standing in the Foyle, Finn or Mourne. Well, quiet apart from cursing the odd seal that makes its way as far as Lifford and the otters larking about on the bank.

smashey wrote: »
    I've had a good few rods over the years but sadly haven't been fishing for a long time now. I really want to get a new fly rod and spend countless quiet hours standing in the Foyle, Finn or Mourne. Well, quiet apart from cursing the odd seal that makes its way as far as Lifford and the otters larking about on the bank.

AS i say to everyone that says the same to me when they pass me on the river bank..." ah i havent been fishing in years, would love to try it again."

My reply is always....whats stopping you.

Go for it smashey. One trip and you'll be hooked all over again. The nice, warm sunny evenings we're having at the mo are a gorgeous setting for it.

And you wont get better advice on getting yourself sorted than from some of the lads posting on here.

You dont have to aim for the fish at the start of this thread either...the small ones will do :)

AS i say to everyone that says the same to me when they pass me on the river bank..." ah i havent been fishing in years, would love to try it again."

My reply is always....whats stopping you.

Go for it smashey. One trip and you'll be hooked all over again. The nice, warm sunny evenings we're having at the mo are a gorgeous setting for it.

And you wont get better advice on getting yourself sorted than from some of the lads posting on here.

You dont have to aim for the fish at the start of this thread either...the small ones will do :)

all you have to say is.....theres plenty of lads down in the graveyard who cant go fishing...........;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

80-90% of my fish were under 7 lb 2 years ago and many years before... and now 90% are over 8lb

but then again it probably depends on what river you fish.... so yes i probably do target a good river now - ((when i mean now - i mean some problems were solved on the river in the past few years).... same thing with seatrout... some rivers have big ones some dont....

Maybe you should fish another river..... or region.... as the salmon size is a localised poaching problem.... due to nets at estuary level... and on the rivers.... or in winter on the spawning groungs...

it is a pity the board of fisheries does not give 200 euro bounty or a free salmon licence, for taking someone’s net out of the river, or for successful information...... it is amazing to think that so many rivers are closed with no fishermen walking them any more... leaving them open to be raped any day of the week......... the rivers should be open ..... as the poachers wont have free reign...

the last time there was a net found in my local river... a phone call went to the BOF and asked them to come down to catch the poachers.. BOF said take the net out yourself... and what should be done with all the fish??? BOF said you keep them.... but destroy the net...

I call BULLSHIT. If such an incident occurred report it, name and shame, time, date, which board, who you spoke to. But you can't, cos its not true!

A net was found on my local river about 3 weeks ago....fisheries officer called to the fellas house to collect it from him.