Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

<Merged> Bono isn't the Worst/Bono is the worst

• 19-05-2010 11:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭

Seriously, I don't adore the man, he can be annoying and slightly embarrasing at times but the amount of bile on here for him is unbelievable.

He is very well intentioned person, has a world wide appeal and is a good ambassador for the country. Are you not slightly proud of him? I am. He's done more in a week than most of us will do in our little lives.

My theory is the internet has created too many extreme opinions, also there is a sheep factor aswell. Mary Harney gets a mention on nearly every thread here, all the sheep trying to outdo each other with their "wit".

Every time I'm in town (Dublin) I see a less friendly place for tourists to visit. Believe it or not we really are known for our friendliness and sadly we're losing that day by day it seems, hate seeing tourists getting a hard time!!

Is the world getting smaller and more alike? Discuss

*Awaits onslaught of crap jokes
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Big Mouth wrote: »
    rabble rabble

Your name, shut it.

Had to be done :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

With that username and that OP, you have got to be Bono.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Are you drunk by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

In before Degsy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

You forget that, as Irish people, we are utterly bitter about the man's success and will begrudge anything he, or any fellow countryman, does that helps him succeed in life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

I heard him being described as "A Useful Idiot" in mainstream media recently and I'd have to agree

Useful puppet for politicians and incorrect spokesman for Africa

THE MAN SUCKS COCK! Sorry OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

I hated Bono before I ever got the Internet.....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The-Rigger wrote: »
    In before Degsy.
    Damn you Sir! Damn you to helllllllll! :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Did you hear Bono fell off the stage the last night??

He was standing too close to The Edge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

Seriously, I don't adore the man

Be honest now, are you Bono?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

El Weirdo wrote: »
    With that username and that OP, you have got to be Bono.

Platitudes and self-important hectoring: check.

Beginners irony: ("big mouth"): check.

All we need is a positive lock on indoor shades and/or being a stumpy short-arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I hate Bono for reason he tells us to help the world but does not give freaking thing himself.

p r i c k

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

When the self serving twat starts paying taxes in his struggling country I might fein interest in his dealings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Big Mouth

I heard him being described as "A Useful Idiot" in mainstream media recently and I'd have to agree

THE MAN SUCKS COCK! Sorry OP!

And what are you? I'm not a big fan of the man but I recognize that he's part of one of the biggest bands ever and a person who really chooses to do good for humanity, don't get why he is so hated unless it is just begrudgery as someone else mentioned.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I agree with the OP.

Twink is infinately worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Let's not forget. His name's simply Paul. Bono, pfft.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

dsmythy wrote: »
    Let's not forget. His name's simply Paul. Bono, pfft.

Bono is just an anagram for Nobo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭celtic Liger

we really are known for our friendliness

you know, i've only ever heard irish people say that. people of the world think we're alcoholics. and not even friendly ones at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Met Ali around 15 years ago very briefly.

She was really stunningly beautiful back then, still is ..

I hate bono..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

You're probably right OP and there are some serious societally worrying points that are worthy of discussion at the highest lev..

..aah fcukit... In before Degsy.

Damn you Rigger.

*Invites Wibbs for pint*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

Apart from beating Randy Marsh on the Guinness World Records for largest bowel movement, I havnt seen or heard a whole lot from Bono lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

If the **** would pay his taxes we'd consider him one of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Paul Hewson - the world's most evil man. No-one can question that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

FearDark wrote: »
    I agree with the OP.

Twink is infinately worse.

And Linda ****ing Martin is worse again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭KevinVonSpiel

He's done more in a week than most of us will do in our little lives.

Can you see 'His' colon yet? Into the colon? Work your way up to the cecum...

I see any one who is a good father or a good mother or anyone who cares for another human being who needs that care has done about as much in a week as 'He' has... I figure there's a lot of folks here on boards who've done as much as 'He' has done in a week...

However, clearly you don't...

So, I think your post is full of shit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

I've paid taxes and given money to charity

Aaron 2 Bono 0

... and then I'd cover her in whipped cream.

Man I should have made a pass at her, regret it now.

Them's the breaks I suppose, her loss.

She's stuck with a millioanire and I'm footloose and fancy free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

OutlawPete wrote: »
    ... and then I'd cover her in whipped cream.

Thats another name for it yea...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Saadyst

It's cool to hate on Bono, and say U2's music is rubbish. But it'll turn around, eventually it'll become mainstream to hate them, and then people will not want to be mainstream, and say they like them again.

Also, I'm not Irish, but I've noticed Irish people in general don't like anyone that is anywhere near successful or doing anything positive.

Saadyst wrote: »
    Also, I'm not Irish, but I've noticed Irish people in general don't like anyone that is anywhere near successful or doing anything positive.

Begrudgery? In Ireland?

I won't hear of the scurrilous accusation :mad:

No no no no, it can't be I tell you ..

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055804579

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

I thought the Joshua Tree was good. He deserves a bit o' smug after that.

Saadyst wrote: »
    It's cool to hate on Bono, and say U2's music is rubbish. But it'll turn around, eventually it'll become mainstream to hate them, and then people will not want to be mainstream, and say they like them again.

True, the internet is a big driver in this hateful thinking and I bet most of these posters would cream themselves if they met Bono;)

you know, i've only ever heard irish people say that. people of the world think we're alcoholics. and not even friendly ones at that.

I've been all over the world, we are known for a friendliness by alot of people. I'm proud of that and its sad to see that ebbing away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭gollem_1975

the term "useful idiot" was coined by Stalin to describe people in the west who supported socialism/communism... He probably would have called SWP and RBB "useless idiots" were he still alive though :pac:

was that info useful ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

True, the internet is a big driver in this hateful thinking and I bet most of these posters would cream themselves if they met Bono;)

You have a point - I met Bono & the Edge in a bar in Dublin around 12 years ago.. they were just drinking there with a few mates, no entourage, no bodyguards & were having the craic with anyone who said hello to them. They were really down to earth - Gavin Friday was with them & started doing impersonations of Bono - really ripping the p*ss out of him & had Bono & the rest of the bar on the floor laughing.

His media persona isn't the best though, it has to be said - he comes across like a bit of a tw*t in fairness, but even the band acknowledge that - I've seen Larry Mullen squirm at some of the stuff he says in both interviews & onstage.

As a band though, U2 have released some amazing albums - in the 80's they released 5 classic albums... Boy, War, October, The Unforgettable Fire, Joshua Tree. The last one was the only really major commercial success & kinda blew them into the stratosphere of uncoolness. In fairness, they didn't do themselves any favours in that respect by releasing Rattle & Hum after that along with it's atrocious cinema release, but they pulled some credibilty back with Achtung Baby & Zooropa in the early 1990's.

Though like a lot of bands who've milked it for too long (Rolling Stones comes to mind), they haven't released a decent album since 1993. So, after nearly 20 years of saying nothing much worthwhile musically & talking through his holio, I can see why people can't stand the little man that was named after a shop that sold hearing aids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I suppose he definitely isn't evil, he's just overexposed, much to much so, I heard him say one time himself that even he was sick of Bono and he has seemed to have taken a lower profile lately (though maybe the shíte last album has something to do with that)

But whenever all is said and done, he has done a lot of good things.
    I was watching Reeling in the Years the last day and while I find Geldof to be fairly insufferable, it was the year in which he orgainised Live Aid. Now say what you like about him, and whatever may have happened the money with the benefit of hindsight, but LiveAid was a bloddy enormous and wildly successful undertaking that will never be repeated again and is something he can really be proud of. Everyone saw those news reports of Famine, but he decided to do something and he really did something.
    So I'll take my hat off to Gelgod for that.
    And also to Bono, a royal pain in the arse, a bit of a hypocrit, but his heart is in the right place and he's made more effort than any of us ever will probably

I suppose he definitely isn't evil, he's just overexposed, much to much so, I heard him say one time himself that even he was sick of Bono and he has seemed to have taken a lower profile lately (though maybe the shíte last album has something to do with that)

But whenever all is said and done, he has done a lot of good things.
    I was watching Reeling in the Years the last day and while I find Geldof to be fairly insufferable, it was the year in which he orgainised Live Aid. Now say what you like about him, and whatever may have happened the money with the benefit of hindsight, but LiveAid was a bloddy enormous and wildly successful undertaking that will never be repeated again and is something he can really be proud of. Everyone saw those news reports of Famine, but he decided to do something and he really did something.
    So I'll take my hat off to Gelgod for that.
    And also to Bono, a royal pain in the arse, a bit of a hypocrit, but his heart is in the right place and he's made more effort than any of us ever will probably

Thats exactly what I was trying to say....bravo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

This is the point. I don't love Bono but he's a decent person. He's given more to the human cause than I ever will. He's raised awareness to the suffering and the only reason he continues to bang on about it is that it's still going on. Who's to say what monetary contributions he's made. Even then, you can give other things to a cause than money.

To those who criticise him for moving for tax reasons, the vast majority of his income is made outside of Ireland and he's taxed globally because of this. There would be a lot on here who would be more than willing to find a way to pay less taxes.

Of course he's a self-publicist and probably has a huge ego, why is that seen as such a terrible thing in Irish society? Do we always have to go out our business quiety and meekly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Scram

When the self serving twat starts paying taxes in his struggling country I might fein interest in his dealings.

Sums up bono perfectly imo..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

A mole
    Digging in a hole
    Digging up my soul now
    Going down, excavation

Scram wrote: »
    Sums up bono perfectly imo..

U2 only recently decided to move their business accounts off shore due to a change in the Irish tax system which saw a rise in taxes on them by 42%. Every smart business on earth tries to minimize taxes. Every smart individual, too. I make sure to take advantage of every deduction the law allows.

Their RED line of clothing & merchandise donates 40% of all it's profits to charity. They are also sizeable contributors & supporters of Amnesty International, the Burma Campaign U.K., DATA, which stands for Debt, AIDS, Trade and Africa, the environmental group Greenpeace and ONE.

In addition to that, they own several hotels, bars & eateries in Dublin which all pay taxes & employ people.

For over 30 years, they've been one of Ireland's best exports & paid a significant amount of taxes over those years in Ireland until they moved their accounts to the Netherlands a short while back.

So what have you done recently?

I see any one who is a good father or a good mother or anyone who cares for another human being who needs that care has done about as much in a week

That's a rather glib way of taking the posters comment. He was clearly talking about humanitarian work. As cold as it sounds, on a global scale a parent caring for their kid means shite all in comparison to reducing the suffering of millions in poverty and persecution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

I had a very long argument with Bono in a pub once about whether or not he lived up to the spirit of his lyrics.

Every time I walked away he followed me.

I had a very long argument with Bono in a pub once about whether or not he lived up to the spirit of his lyrics.

Every time I walked away he followed me.

C-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Scram

U2 only recently decided to move their business accounts off shore due to a change in the Irish tax system which saw a rise in taxes on them by 42%. Every smart business on earth tries to minimize taxes. Every smart individual, too. I make sure to take advantage of every deduction the law allows.

Their RED line of clothing & merchandise donates 40% of all it's profits to charity. They are also sizeable contributors & supporters of Amnesty International, the Burma Campaign U.K., DATA, which stands for Debt, AIDS, Trade and Africa, the environmental group Greenpeace and ONE.

In addition to that, they own several hotels, bars & eateries in Dublin which all pay taxes & employ people.

For over 30 years, they've been one of Ireland's best exports & paid a significant amount of taxes over those years in Ireland until they moved their accounts to the Netherlands a short while back.

So what have you done recently?

Erm topic isnt about what i or anyone else has done, its about Bono...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭KevinVonSpiel

m@cc@ wrote: »
    That's a rather glib way of taking the posters comment. He was clearly talking about humanitarian work. As cold as it sounds, on a global scale a parent caring for their kid means shite all in comparison to reducing the suffering of millions in poverty and persecution.

Good point, let's leave out caring for your kids then... what of lots of folks who care for those who need care?

I vomit on the ease with which some people say things like; X has done more than many of us ever will...

Good point, let's leave out caring for your kids then... what of lots of folks who care for those who need care?

I vomit on the ease with which some people say things like; X has done more than many of us ever will...

Not the point I was making and you know it. A parent caring for their kid in Ireland isn't going to feed a community in Rwanda.

Scram wrote: »
    Erm topic isnt about what i or anyone else has done, its about Bono...

Yes it is. And he's paid his dues in taxes. Whatever else you can say about him, you can't accuse him of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Yes it is. And he's paid his dues in taxes. Whatever else you can say about him, you can't accuse him of that.

You clearly have no understanding whatsoever of the tax exemptions that Bono benefited from in Ireland.