Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spraying my car

• 18-05-2010 2:06pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭

Planning on spraying my car this weekend, what kind of forms do i need to fill out etc to let the right people know that the colour has been changed?

Oh and ideas on the new colour are welcome too :D Its a 01 BMW 318, currently the regular metallic blueish-grey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Gun metal grey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

2555824558_ac3be83c2d.jpg

Or Black

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Melion wrote: »
    Planning on spraying my car this weekend, what kind of forms do i need to fill out etc to let the right people know that the colour has been changed?

Oh and ideas on the new colour are welcome too :D Its a 01 BMW 318, currently the regular metallic blueish-grey

Best of luck, make sure its a dry day and inside a dust free garage. Colour wise, I'd have to go with greyish-blue!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Matt black :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Anybody know anything about the forms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Tax office needs to know, maybe Shannon.

As to colour, anything pastel from the 80s ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Gooseygoosey

RF111

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Are you sure you don't have to re-register (i.e. money to be spent) it once the colour is changed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,732 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Unless you have experience of doing this before I would avoid as you will make a mess of it and destroy the finish of the car. Spraying a car is not at all like painting a wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

Are you sure you don't have to re-register (i.e. money to be spent) it once the colour is changed?

Not re-register, just amend the details on file. Just like change of address, change of engine etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

I've always fancied Estoril (spelling?) Blue on beemers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

2555824558_ac3be83c2d.jpg

For a second there I thought you were just a boring conservative but then.....
    Or Black

you showed the true hippy inside you. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

OP, are you respraying your car or having it resprayed? It's not something that will go unnoticed if it goes badly and will cost a lot to fix. If you're not planning on getting a professional to do it, I'd recommend doing so or else l'd leave it alone.

In terms of colour, dark grey is nice or black with chrome trim on the door windows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Dunno how sellable a resprayed 3 series would be. you'll have different colour under the bonnet etc. unless the car is currently a shed I'd leave it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Dunno how sellable a resprayed 3 series would be. you'll have different colour under the bonnet etc. unless the car is currently a shed I'd leave it.

Is it the car he has for sale?You'll be losing money tbh and won't recoup it all on the sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Were ya joking or is this a new thing?

- Asking cause I saw a matt Black FTO outside Halfords in Limerick the other day; Was more interesting to see than that it looked bad/good. Did get me thinking of how it may have suited other cars etc. though.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

respraying the car a different color will make it appear to be hit in an accident before and no one will buy it again

I work as an Aircraft sprayer, myself and my boss will be doing it. The whole car will be sprayed perfectly, there will be no sign of the current colour when its finished.

Decided to go with red with a clear coat (with silver in it) for a metallic look.

Raiser wrote: »

- Asking cause I saw a matt Black FTO outside Halfords in Limerick the other day; Was more interesting to see than that it looked bad/good. Did get me thinking of how it may have suited other cars etc. though.....

There's a saloon Civic in Shannon painted matt black, doesnt look too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I work as an Aircraft sprayer, myself and my boss will be doing it. The whole car will be sprayed perfectly, there will be no sign of the current colour when its finished.

Decided to go with red with a clear coat (with silver in it) for a metallic look.

Is an aircraft is easier to spray then a car, what with having to pull bits off the car, masking up etc etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

bmw535d wrote: »
    respraying the car a different color will make it appear to be hit in an accident before and no one will buy it again

Or how about somebody fancies a change of colour and so decides to do so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

From the matte black you could just go with a vinyl wrap. In last month's Total BMW the editor had his new black M3 wrapped in a matte vinyl black. Apparently it is all the rage to do so nowadays.

The advantage of a wrap versus respray is that you can rip the vinyl off & the resale of your car won't be affected by a crap paint job which it will invariably be unless you spend a good bit of money getting the car stripped down properly to do a proper colour change job.

here is an example of a matte black wrap

matte_black_wrap.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

+1 on the wrap. At MINI United in Silverstone last year, one of the german MINI boys had his GP Works wrapped in matt black. You'd swear it was paint. The best bit about it is that when he decides to remove it, the standard, perfect paint will be underneath protected by the wrap.

3570259125_8e2bcc69cc.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Matt blacklooks well when it's done right and it's clean. I wouldn't like to be trying to keep it clean tho!
    Try explaining wrapping a red car in matt black to the Gardai or to the motor office in shannon !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

langdang wrote: »
    Matt blacklooks well when it's done right and it's clean. I wouldn't like to be trying to keep it clean tho!
    Try explaining wrapping a red car in matt black to the Gardai or to the motor office in shannon !

Is there a 'Giftwrapped' tick box on the form?

- P.S. I wish my Username was Matt Black :(

Confab wrote: »
    Is an aircraft is easier to spray then a car, what with having to pull bits off the car, masking up etc etc?

A plane takes 6-7 days from the time it comes into the hangar until the time it leaves again, and thats working 24 hours a day(day and night shifts). A car can be done in 1 day, possibly 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭feelites

A plane takes 6-7 days from the time it comes into the hangar until the time it leaves again, and thats working 24 hours a day(day and night shifts). A car can be done in 1 day, possibly 2.

its not the same thing to paint straight plane and detailed car
    if u think u can profesionally paint the car in 1 day u must be one of the best painters :)

feelites wrote: »
    its not the same thing to paint straight plane and detailed car
    if u think u can profesionally paint the car in 1 day u must be one of the best painters :)

My boss is :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

Jesus lads the guy thinks he's up for the job so let him do it! Beat of luck with it, post up some before and after pics please!

i think a bit of lacquer run on a white plane would be harder to spot than on the bonnet of a car etc. much harder job imo, speaking of wraps.. carbon fiber rap:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Just make sure you're careful with the paint, nothing worse than contaminated paint. Use something like panel wipe to clean dirt and dust from the car, it can take a while to do but it's really worth it. Anyway best of luck and watch out for runs !! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Raiser wrote: »

I wasn't joking. I reckon it'd look quality!
    From the matte black you could just go with a vinyl wrap. In last month's Total BMW the editor had his new black M3 wrapped in a matte vinyl black. Apparently it is all the rage to do so nowadays.

The advantage of a wrap versus respray is that you can rip the vinyl off & the resale of your car won't be affected by a crap paint job which it will invariably be unless you spend a good bit of money getting the car stripped down properly to do a proper colour change job.

here is an example of a matte black wrap

matte_black_wrap.jpg

That is mint!

Is a wrap just like putting a giant sticker over the car, instead of painting it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

That is mint!

Is a wrap just like putting a giant sticker over the car, instead of painting it?

You're dead right, it looks class.
    Evil isn't the word for it:D
    Have given serious though to getting something similar done to my car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,101 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Are you removing the seats, windows and all the trim? That's more then 1 or 2 days work to sand and prep alone.

Have you got heaters to set the paint? The water based paints take ages to set without heat and the longer it takes to set the more chance of insects/dust getting onto the car.

Best of luck!

Got it sprayed yesterday, going in to put it all back together this afternoon. Ill throw up a few pics tonight or tomorrow. Im delighted with how its turned out though.

Just taken some quick snaps of it, see my ad below for the before :D

31532_1327117016360_1183973745_790211_1557640_n.jpg

31532_1327117056361_1183973745_790212_6087516_n.jpg

31532_1327117136363_1183973745_790213_8258339_n.jpg

31532_1327117216365_1183973745_790214_7233121_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

Nice car, but you really need to cut the grass. :rolleyes:

Cut it 2 days ago :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

Cut it 2 days ago :D

You missed a spot.
    In pic one and two - right in front of you car, there is a 'clump' of grass that should not be there.

Now, get out there and take care of it before it gets dark. :rolleyes:

Oh - and I want to see new pics, so that I know you have taken care of it. :rolleyes:

They're horrible plants that refuse to stop growing.

Looks good, any pics of the engine bay, boot etc ?

Ill take some today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Great job! One thing though, IMO you should have left the black strips on the front black :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Can I ask if the car is special to you in some way? Seems like an awful waste of money to spray it when you could have sold it, added what you spent on the respray and just bought a newer car in the colour you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

I think I would have left the door frame black. It looks kinda funny with them in red.
    I also prefer the rubbing strips in black too, it breaks up the panels.
    But fair play for doing it, best of luck with it.

I wanted as little black on it as possible. I much prefer seeing a car all the one colour

steve06 wrote: »
    Can I ask if the car is special to you in some way? Seems like an awful waste of money to spray it when you could have sold it, added what you spent on the respray and just bought a newer car in the colour you want.

It was free to spray it, we are quiet in the hangar i work in so there was no problem doing it. And i hadn't had any offers on the car and refuse to sell it for less than 4k.

whats with the color coding everything? takes away from the look imo. just tells me straight away it was resprayed if i was to see it before this thred

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

nice job OP. You will be driving in style now. You should IMO try and get those alloys sprayed or polished up also to complete the job. Nice car BTW.