Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US] 24, Day 8, Hour 22 [1 p.m. - 2 p.m.] [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 18-05-2010 1:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭

Another top-class episode! :)

- Logan convinces the President to silence Reed
    - Jack/Batman kidnaps Logan
    - Logan squeals like a baby
    - Jack "i aint got time to bleed" Bauer goes to town on the Russians and outsmarts everyone again

SERIES FINALE PREVIEW:
    www.youtube.com/watch?v=sTYUJOaCISU
    - Love the little smile Jack gives at the end :)

Last episodes EVER next week :(

Rate episode 22 77 votes

Bloody Fantastic!
    0% 0 votes
    Very Good
    92% 71 votes
    Good
    5% 4 votes
    Meh..
    2% 2 votes
    Booooooring....
    0% 0 votes

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

This is shaping up to be the best season yet. Impossible to predict what's going to happen.

Loved the Terminator type music in the carpark just before Jack attacks the Russian bodyguards. Classic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Absolutely badass episode! You've got to hand it to Logan, he's one slippery dude, he didn't give up Suvarov under gunpoint (and also reminding Taylor that he "may have made recommendations", but that the buck stops with her) (and you also have to hand it to Jack who bugged him :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

fooking deadly episode

I edited the best bits, fooking logan shiting himself :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭AntiRip

Jesus, I have to say that was one of the best episodes of 24 I've seen. 10/10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

ARE YOU WATCHING LOST WRITERS ??

THIS IS HOW YOU LEAD TO A FINALE!!!

awesome ep !!!

1274235091.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 708 ✭✭✭zimovain

Amazing ep!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Jack Bauer as Batman.
    Absolutely brilliant.

Also the off-screen takedown of all the Russians complete with the flagpole or whatever in your man's stomach.
    Classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭big_show

Top class episode and top class acting from Logan.

Looks like my Halloween costume is decided for this year!

Promo for the finale looks class! Just watched it 5 times in a row :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭big_show

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Also the off-screen takedown of all the Russians complete with the flagpole or whatever in your man's stomach.
    Classic.

I think that was a fireplace poker, even better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 708 ✭✭✭zimovain

Hard to tell how this season will end, which is great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

It doesn't get more epic than Jack Bauer going after folk dressed to (literally) kill!

Another cracking episode in what has been a fantastic series.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

big_show wrote: »
    Top class episode and top class acting from Logan.

Looks like my Halloween costume is decided for this year!

Promo for the finale looks class! Just watched it 5 times in a row :D

Gregory itzin is excellent in the role. I think he should have gotten an emmy for series 5. That attack was an excellent scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

I agree with every comment above good god what an ep. This series should be held up to anyone thinking of a final sesaon its had been some ride :)

Loved Logans panic fit in the car classic plain and simple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Interesting that LOST and 24 have the finales next week, wonder if they will be on the same time ?

anyway I have no doubt in my mind which will be better - and it ain't about a pile of black smoke whizzin' round some island ...

edit - wow 100% gave top marks to this ep !!!!!

classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Fiftysix

This series is amazing. Season 5??? It's all about season 8 now. Sentox gas has nothing on jack bauer on a manhunt. I would love to see how high the body count is in this season..

Amazing ending. The preview for next week looks deadly. Can't wait.

the_monkey wrote: »
    Interesting that LOST and 24 have the finales next week, wonder if they will be on the same time ?

anyway I have no doubt in my mind which will be better - and it ain't about a pile of black smoke whizzin' round some island ...

edit - wow 100% gave top marks to this ep !!!!!

classic.

They're on different days, or maybe your talking about irish tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

Sweet Jesus don't tell me I have to read more Lost complaints in other parts of boards!

I'm the odd one out with the rating. Only problem I had with the episode was.... I wanted to see Jack stick that thing into the russian lad :D

It's funny how this season has turned from being one of the worst to one of the best. I'll admit that after 8 or so episodes i wasn't that bothered about it anymore. I'd say there has been a run of 8 or 9 great episodes since then though. The finale looks epic.

It's going to be an emotional week next week with 2 of my favourite shows ending a day after each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Fantastic episode but I think people are getting a little carried away. The last 6 or 7 eps have been very good since Jack went mental but everything preceeding that was utter $hit. 7 good eps does not make it a good season. Overall this season has been fairly rubbish,only made interesting by the last few episodes. Also can we not discuss or post images from the promo for next week? Some people don't like watchin those promos as they give too much away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Absolutely love how they are wrapping up this show. Nobody could even guess what will happen next week. That is what makes this so amazing.

This season has been utter **** until recent episodes? Speak for yourself tvnutz.

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    This season has been utter **** until recent episodes? Speak for yourself tvnutz.
    Yet in this case he/she's absolutely correct. That Dana/Kevin thing seemed to drag out foreeeeevvvvveeeeeeeer and it was utter pants. It's easy to forget that a good portion of the start of the season was utter crap and hard to watch.
    However since Dana was revealed as the mole it's been pretty much top notch and all-action episodes one after another.

Absolutely love how they are wrapping up this show. Nobody could even guess what will happen next week. That is what makes this so amazing.

my opinion,and many others here actually. I reckon you are just blinded by the great run of episodes. There is actually a thread on here asking is season 8 the worst yet,and up until this run of episodes it definitely was probably the worst. Looking even at the polls for most episodes in the first part of the season,not every good ratings at all. Someone in this thread mentioned something about forget season 5,its all about season 8 now...that's a joke! This season hasn't been a patch on season 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

I think it's been excellent since the EMP episode(bar the mole twist ep but I suppose it was neccessary to save the series)

1st half of the series was terrible.

Anyway great episode. Couldn't stop laughing at that scene with Bauer as 'batman'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,735 ✭✭✭✭noodler

OOOOOOOOOO MMMMMMMMM FFFFFFFFFFFFFF GGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG

That epic.

How did Jack track Logan and Suberov's phone call btw?

Epic, 5 was still better for me...so far...but epic.

He has officially lost it, murdering foreign security guards and diplomats, notice the way he shot to wound the Secret Service but just headshoted the Embassy workers!

Yet in this case he/she's absolutely correct. That Dana/Kevin thing seemed to drag out foreeeeevvvvveeeeeeeer and it was utter pants. It's easy to forget that a good portion of the start of the season was utter crap and hard to watch.
    However since Dana was revealed as the mole it's been pretty much top notch and all-action episodes one after another.

Oh come on. The whole season ruined by that?
    tvnutz wrote: »
    my opinion,and many others here actually. I reckon you are just blinded by the great run of episodes.

Opinions are like arseholes, everyone has one. You are reckoning wrong. Speak for yourself and not for me.

Oh come on. The whole season ruined by that?

Opinions are like arseholes, everyone has one. You are reckoning wrong. Speak for yourself and not for me.

Did I speak for you? I said it was my opinion so don't get your panties in a twist. I just made reference to a lot of complaining that was going on in the first half of the season and I reckoned the excitement has blinded some people to that,I didn't mean you specifically despite saying you. I meant to say generally,and that I reckoned this in my opinion. So unclench! Its only an opinion on a bloody tv show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Spoiler those screengrabs of the finale preview FFS!! :mad::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

I think I just wee'd :eek: :pac:

That episode was made of pure, unrefined win!! I *need* the next two hours. NOW!! or a brown paper bag in which to hyperventilate kthxbye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Posts about next weeks episodes have been moved to a new thread.
    PLEASE don't discuss the finale or post spoilers in this thread about the finale.
    This thread is for discussing Hour 22 Only.

Thanks. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭pah

E
    P
    I
    C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Chill out, Minstrel.

The first half of the season was terrible, and I started a thread 2 months ago saying exactly that. The last 6 or 7 episodes have definitely redeemed this season, but don't take away from the fact that its half a good season. It's still not a patch on Day 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

At least the season (and the series) is going out strong. That was great - Jack in full psycho mode is everything I hoped for and more.

I still want to see Logan catch a bullet between the eyes (more for season 5 than this one TBH) - the scene where he is putting all the blame back on Taylor was great, he really is the devil!

He could still end up dead - it seems Jack spared him on purpose after all to get to the bottom of things and not because he believed his excuses...

Wasn't Subarov a fairly decent guy last time around? Seems like a pretty big shift for the character (though they already did that with Taylor too).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,735 ✭✭✭✭noodler

The first half of the season was NOT terrible.

Christ, we are completely letting the Dana hate envelop any rational judgement of the earlier parts of the season.

That said, even if it ends unbelievably well, I still can't see it being as good as 5.

noodler wrote: »
    The first half of the season was NOT terrible.
    Ah in fairness it was pretty crap. But let's just agree to differ. :)

Btw when Chloe told Arlo there was one agent left they could use - did anyone else think she was about to call Aaron Pierce?

No?
    Just me then I guess..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Btw when Chloe told Arlo there was one agent left they could use - did anyone else think she was about to call Aaron Pierce?

No?

Glad it wasn't just me who thought that :)

In fairness, this season has gone from the utterly poor to completely unmissable in my opinion. All you need to do is revisit old threads on the start of the season to see the displeasure in a lot of people.

It's quite clear that half way through the season, the writers decided to go in a different direction with Dana (terrified of her ex and unable to sort the ex out to psychotic killer, cold-blooded assassin in the space of an hour or two) and I'm glad they did because the last month or two have been compelling viewing to say the least; and the Dana character has been a great villain in the second half of the season as opposed to the annoying letch she was in the first half.

Maybe the ends justify the means, but I know if I rewatch this in years to come, I'd almost only watch it from episode 10 onwards.

I think the run of episodes has been maybe the best in 24 history, but as a whole I think people are getting slightly carried away saying its the best ever. It may be the best conclusion and ending but as a whole, its been a bit up and down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

My only complaint is why President Taylor has turned into such a sap

scudzilla wrote: »
    My only complaint is why President Taylor has turned into such a sap

Taylor has always been about the Greater Good, In Season 7 this was served by coming clean as only her personal life and presidency were at risk. This time it's the de-stabilisation of a region that has not seen peace for generations, and Logan has been instrumental in swaying her. I don't think it's that hard to believe.

She was prepared to let thousands of Americans die from the dirty bomb to protect Hassan and the peace agreement. This isn't much different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Fiftysix

Ah in fairness it was pretty crap. But let's just agree to differ. :)

No?

Tbh I did, i got really excited. But then... no :(

I thought this too

No. I know I know, it's a TV show but we've already had Jack, Chloe and Renee coming together by magic as the crisis happens.

As much as I love Pierce I don't think i'd have swallowed oh yeah theres only one guy and he's within 30 mins of New Yprk as it happens Pfff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭whosedaddy?

OMG i'm speechless.
    One of the best eps ever.
    Imagine a full day like this - i'd wet myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Ms Happy

Was speachless for a few minutes after that.

Has to be one of the best hours of tv ever!!

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

Simply Excellent

Jack "ain't got no time to bleed" Bauer i'm gonna miss ya :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

That was just utterly brilliant. 1 of the best episodes ever. I think the last 6-7 episodes have been the strongest run of episodes ever in 24.
    No better television than Jack Bauer on a revenge mission. Gregory Itzin also put an fantastic performance. The look of panic on his face during the tunnel sequence was perfection.

Kudos to whoever decided not to show how he killed all the Russians. It was so much more effective seeing the aftermath. The sword being the Pièce de résistance.

Did anybody else have the platoon music running through their head as the camera panned across the floor? It was that kind of carnage.

10/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

noodler wrote: »
    OOOOOOOOOO MMMMMMMMM FFFFFFFFFFFFFF GGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG

That epic.

How did Jack track Logan and Suberov's phone call btw?

Epic, 5 was still better for me...so far...but epic.

He has officially lost it, murdering foreign security guards and diplomats, notice the way he shot to wound the Secret Service but just headshoted the Embassy workers!
    Small bug inside Logans shirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Oh holy bejaysis, that was amazin!!

Whats all this talk about Jack bein "batman"

Jack had GUNS

and hes not gay...... :P

Agree, season 5 was the best as a whole IMO. It was in the best spot of the series, loads of shock factor

Funny, I was convinced the Russians had Meredith @ the cafe [jack bauer keyword] but then didnt expect it at the hotel or wherever she called Kayla from

Wonder what they'll do with her now

Suvarov in on it, OH EM JEEEEE!

Is it a 2hour finale next week??

Shall be a sad day in TV but the movies are on the way! 24 in the cinema, feck yehhhhhhhhhh

Can't believe people are even comparing a shite show like Lost to 24! disgraceful
    "Smoke kills" - we get it! Now get LOST

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

unreggd wrote: »
    Is it a 2hour finale next week??
    Yup 2 hours :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I'm late to coming to the 24 forum but watched the episode last night and bloody hell, if that wasn't Jack at his best and most bad ass ever then I don't know what else he can do. It's great to see the show finish on a high with a brilliant season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Jack was more Iron Man than Batman in my book.

5/5 Simply awesome episode

I was smiling ear to ear watching the tunnel scene.

The poker in Novakovich made me laugh. Can't wait for the finale.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Suvarov being in on it was no surprise. I thought it was pretty obvious as soon as it was mentioned that he just happened to be coming to New York.

I can't say I really cared about the episode. A couple of entertaining scenes alright but Jack & Taylor jumped the shark a couple of episodes back and it lost all credibility. I just can't suspend disbelief with it anymore. Jack has gone waaaaaaaaaaay over the line and shouldn't have any way out at hour 24 - but there's a movie on the way so I guess he does.

The movie could be a prequel of some sort.