Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What "boys" toys (if any) did you want growing up and did you get them?

• 17-05-2010 3:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭

Did you get what toys you wanted growing up, be it from Santa or for birthdays or were their toys which you didn't get cos they were for boys?

I hated dolls esp baby dolls and always want mechano, esp the big Ferris wheel kit, never got it, was told there were too many 'little bits' and it was more of a boys toy. What about you?

And if there are kids in you life which you boy toys for, are you swayed to get them things along gender lines?

20100516.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I was SUCH a tomboy growing up . I had dolls and things but i also had transformers and WWF wrestling figures and all the stuff that the boys had too.
    My parents, fair play to them, gave up trying to turn me into a girlie girl early enough on when they realised they were only wasting money getting me things i didn't want, and i was never really told no you can't have that cos it's for boys.
    I'm sure there was something i wanted that i didn't get, but being the youngest of 8, i knew i couldn't get everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

nintendo! :D
    this 1:
    nes-console.jpg
    loved it, still have it somewhere.

loved lego too, but just played with my brothers :) dont think lego is particularly a boys toy, but maybe it was at the time, dont remember any of my friends having lego.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Anna Molly

I hated barbies, i had like three in my entire life, all bought for me by people who bearly knew me.
    I liked playing with my older brothers stuff, and ya know those tractors you sit and scoot around on.
    I was way into art stuff though, it's what I always asked for. I'd flick through the toy catalogues and see those massive crayola three drawer towers with lots of art things in them :)

I do remember one Christmas though, I was like three or something so our sitting room seemed huge, I remember walking in and seeing this like kitchen and vanity set all set up, the lights on the tree were glistening and it was magical!
    But arty things was always what I wanted :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

My parents were usually pretty good about ignoring the gender divide in terms of toys, in fact it probably made it easier for them because my brother and I would play with pretty much the same kind of toys. Lots of toy cars, Lego, Action Man and all of that.

The only time my parents put the foot down was when I wanted a Nintendo 64 with Ocarina of Time when I was 14 years old (bloody hell, has it really been almost 12 years? :eek: ). They told me "You're too old for computer games", and bought me a dress for Christmas instead. GUTTED. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭miss5

I never really wanted boys toys growing up but my sister wanted action
    figures instead of barbies and she is still a tomboy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

Got lego and transformers growing up. I had one barbie doll my grandmother got me when I was very young but its hair [and pretty soon it's head] were off very shortly after getting it. Any of those dolls that looked like a baby and pooed and peed just scared the life out of me....why would anyone want one of those?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Nuggles

I didn't get toys very often. Shared with my brothers. I had "dolly", a dodgy looking yoke for years, plus a few barbies.

But played with lego and farm stuff and the cars.

Scalextrix I loved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Nuggles wrote: »
    I didn't get toys very often. Shared with my brothers. I had "dolly", a dodgy looking yoke for years, plus a few barbies.

But played with lego and farm stuff and the cars.

Scalextrix I loved.

Oh,that is something i really wanted but never got-we had a smallish one but i always wanted the one that takes up most of the room!

In hindsight,my parents were probably right not to get it,it took long enough for me to assemble the small one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Nuggles

We had foosball and a pool table.

I loved playing football and rugby with the brothers too.

Also had my tea parties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fall_Guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

I had action men instead of kens, kens were too weedy for my Barbies. Those girls knew where it was at.

I also ran around with my brother and 2/3 boys from around the corner getting covered in cuts and bruises, we all had power-ranger costumes knitted by our mams, we kicked ass. I was the yellow one, screw pink!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Rozabeez wrote: »
    I had action men instead of kens, kens were too weedy for my Barbies. Those girls knew where it was at.

I also ran around with my brother and 2/3 boys from around the corner getting covered in cuts and bruises, we all had power-ranger costumes knitted by our mams, we kicked ass. I was the yellow one, screw pink!
    I regularly had Action Man open a can of whoop ass on Doctor X and his double agent Ken. :cool: Then him and barbie got married. Ahhhh, them were the days. :D

Bonito wrote: »
    I regularly had Action Man open a can of whoop ass on Doctor X and his double agent Ken. :cool: Then him and barbie got married. Ahhhh, them were the days. :D

I was so disappointed when I found myself a real life action man :(

I also played with an insane amount of lego any chance I got, I reckon parents must hate lego. My specialities were space ships and pirate ships.

Edit, just remembered that when my niece was 2 or 3 she idolized her dad so much she wanted an electric guitar, so we got her a plastic kids' one for Christmas and she spent hours making him play guitar while she knocked out a few tunes herself.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

Another tomboy here, my brother got lego and meccano sets but I was the one who used to put them together!

Also used to rob his walkie talkies and his ghostbuster gun.

I was also fairly nifty at his amstrad, megadrive and PS1 games which used to totally wreck his head :pac:

The only doll I had any interest in was Hollywood Hair Barbie as you could spray stencils on her hair that turned mad colours. Judging by my hair colour over the years, it had an effect on me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I just asked for an Action Man one Christmas because I thought my Barbie needed a 'real' man! Ken was too... perfect! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Ha ha! I kinda thought along the same lines too! Even though I was too young to fully articulate it, a man who fought in dangerous corners of the globe and did dangerous stunts and got himself all scruffy seemed infinitely more attractive than that prim and proper, girlie Ken! You just KNOW Action Man would be better in the sack... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Dudess wrote: »
    Ha ha! I kinda thought along the same lines too! Even though I was too young to fully articulate it, a man who fought in dangerous corners of the globe and did dangerous stunts and got himself all scruffy seemed infinitely more attractive than that prim and proper, girlie Ken! You just KNOW Action Man would be better in the sack... :pac:

Ken was like... all boring and wore a suit! Action Man could be in the army, and I think there was a scuba diving one! The kind of man who could save you, what more would a Barbie want?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Sinall

I had a wheelbarrow, a shovel, a rake and a hoe! I loved them. I also had dolls and teddies etc. Used to see my dad working in the garden and I wanted to be exactly like him, so set up a campaign for my own stuff. I was about 3/4 when I got them -they were a kind of lime green and I thought they were the best things ever! Probably ruined the garden on dad by hacking at it though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I didn't need to get them as I have two brothers so I could just play with their stuff (if not fighting with them) - I loved anything that moved: the remote control car, the train set, and the Big Loader (it was a trucks thing). Never had a Scalextric set - I'd have loved it though. Loved anything miniature too - Lego fire station was pretty awesome.

But I was a ridiculously girlie child: adored dolls, My Little Pony etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

I mostly liked the kind of small toys you could collect, hence the vast numbers of Pogs/Monsters in my Pocket/Boglins that took over my room.

Don't think those could be described as boys toys particularly, but I wasn't interested in dolls and the walkie talkie dolls just freaked me out. Still do.

And G.I. Joe > Action man, because he just looks so good in combats.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

over the years i had an action man, skateboard, lego, stretch Armstrong, video games, remote controlled cars, racing track. barbie was boring.

I did like polly pockets though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

I had the best of both worlds, I have two brothers so I could play with all their toys and all my own and because I was the only girl I could decide that they couldnt play with my things and get away with it :D

I loved and still love lego :D My niece loves it too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

I'm the oldest of 3 girls.... never did get that mecchano ferris wheel despite years of asking!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭madmac187

Still a big kid at the age of 23 and bought myself a motocross bike, for the tortures of college for 5 years and maybe a 6th year, uhhhhh.

Cars, Lego, Toy soldiers. Wasn't much of a girly girl in that sense. As a young teenager I would spend hours building model cars.

My daughter is exactly the same, not remotely interested in barbies etc. Loves Lego, meccano, magnetix, cars, would sit for hours building stuff.

My husband on the other hand, loved dressing up as a nurse (yes, a female one) when he was a kid :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

I loved lego and cars and transformers. My gran had a big box of boys toys that I loved to get into.

I loved anything dino related too and collected those mags that had a piece of a T-REX skeleton each week for you to build.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Another tomboy here - middle child with 2 brothers. :o I had wrestlers, a ton of Turtles stuff, Dinorider figures, Lego, a skateboard, Simpsons cards, Batman cards, Matchbox cars, marbles, POGs, basketball, hurling stick, a ton of art & craft stuff. My parents did get me a kitchen set & a Big Yellow Teapot.. oh and a My Little Pony. That's as girlie as I got! I bloody hated dolls and dresses and all that. Awh, I always wanted a Sylvanian Family toy but we were poor in the 80s :(

Hahah, Whispered ^^^ We were obsessed with those Dinosaur magazines! Still have a stack of them and the 3D figure you had to assemble!

Oooh and Biker Mice from Mars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Rozabeez wrote: »
    Oooh and Biker Mice from Mars!
    They were awesome :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'd one of those garages with the slidey bit, a train set, and lots of lego (oldest girl of ten children, 7 girls/3 boys)

I did also have one of those baby doll things that were like real babies, but the house was full of the real ones too.

I'd have liked scalectrix but never got it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Morgase

Me and my little bro are very close in age so we used to play with the same toys.

I loved Sylvanian Families but we both loved Action Force (the chaps smaller than Action Man) so there were lots of complicated games of Action Force saving the badgers and hedgehogs from some other Evil Toys. Good times.

I only had one Action Force man of my very own but seeing as I could play with the rest I didn't mind too much. I hated it when people would buy me dolls though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Fox McCloud

Generally got what ever we asked for for christmas(within a price range obviously).

I was generally into a mixture of dolls/stuff/lego until I hit 8 or 9 and then it was all soccer and army stuff:confused:. Never got dresses thank god :eek: My mum had to bribe me with a if she wanted me to wear a dress for an occasion.. she gave up soon enough!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I was never denied a toy because it was a boy's toy. I never really asked for them though because having 3 brothers meant the house was full of cool stuff and I could use my present requests on arts and crafts things.

My older brothers went to Germany when they were teenagers and left behind loads of airfix and a commodore 64 that I got my grubby fingers on. Me and my younger bro used to play lego all day long and fight over the base boards :).

Funnily enough I'm an engineer now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Morgase

Das Kitty - snap on the "having a Commodore 64 and becoming an engineer" thing! :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

I never liked playing with dolls, got a pram one year and my brother ended up using it more than me! He actually ended up in it a couple of times!

I played with my brothers lego, he also got a hot wheels garage with three stories in it, and I used use the small toy soldiers and dinkie cars and act out a story

I had a football since I was less than a year old, a small pink one - I hated pink! Don't think my mother has fully forgiven me for one incident involving pink - my parents painted my room pink, with a border plus matching duvet and curtains. I was kept out of the room till it was finished, and when I went in the first thing I said was its pink! :o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭pearliefan

I had a lot of girls toys when I was growing up, one of my faves being a big wooden dolls house and I had playmobil in it if anyone knows it.

But one of my favourite toys was a small yellow warehouse with lotsa of diggers and builders that came with it! At first when I got it I didn't get it coz it was a 'boys' toy, but after a few minutes I was completely engrossed!
    Another one was a racetrack with cars. Loved putting that together!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Fisher Price garage, Bionic Man, Maskotron, Oscar Goldman, Tom Stone, Bulletman, Stretch Armstrong, Star Wars stuff... ah, memories

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

Never played with dolls as a child, just thought that was real odd and never got into it.

I always used to help my dad in the garage fixing his cars, he used to do up classic cars. I used to love it:D

I always played with 'boys' toys: lego, cars, dinosaurs, etc. Dolls actually always gave me the creeps, too... Needless to say it made my parents very distressed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I have two older brothers, born one year after the other so we were all near enough the same age.

What me and my brothers used to do is arrange who'd ask for what so that we had the best chance of getting it, ie we all wanted a 'boys' toy my brothers would ask for that and I'd ask for something girly or more neutral.

There were somethings (expensive things) that we all had to ask for to get it commodore and nintendo were two.

No surprise that I loved anything to do with animals, I had a farm set were I think the chickens were bigger than the cows:confused:. Also when we went to the zoo and if we were allowed to get something from the shop, I'd always pick out one of the wild cat figures.

I used to play more with the transformers, turtles, army(I liked the germans better they had flame throwers!) than my girly things, were I had to play by myself.

Just remembered we also had a board game something like hero quest, it was brilliant.

I suppose this is more of a boys thing but we always played cards, poker, 21 and what we called threes and nines are wild and roll your fours. We used to bet with match sticks, I always won:cool: I got straight flushes sometimes I even got royal flushes and if not that I had a full house. If I didn't have anything I used to bluff, and I would fool them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

K'Nex, Lego and a Talk boy :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Oh yeah farm sets! And those garages that do things, like you press a button and the car comes down the ramp. Anything that "did" stuff like that! I loved them. (still do :o)

Walkietalkies was something I always wanted too.

And do you remember the remote control car that could drive against a wall and flip? I really really wanted one. Never got it though. :mad:

EDIT: I see the commodore mentioned a few times. Is that boyish? The tapes and cardridges took an AGE to load. Flimbos quest anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Kooli

I loved my girly toys like barbie and my little pony. I sometimes played with my brother's action toys too, but always in a more 'girly' way - like I had characters, storylines and relationships. Whereas my brother tended to use them to fight against each other and blow each other up. So no matter what toys we had to hand we stuck to our gender roles!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭jenny4385

i got a pog maker for xmas and used to make airfix planes the whole time

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

I was the eldest, my first toys were a huge lego collection and a big farm set. As I got older I had a Boulder Hill from M.A.S.K. with a good few character and the Thunderbolt/Spectrum car. I also had an Optimus Prime and a load of other Transformer toys.
    I still have a (nearly) complete (and very played with and damaged) original Stars Wars figures, my fav was Han Solo n the Carbonite.
    POTF2_1998Ex12-Box_HanCarboniteTarget.jpg

I loved my He-man collection, I had a Battle Armour He-man
    d_23959.jpg
    Battlecat and Man-at-arms.
    I also had a full Chem set and Microscope at about 7ish, they're not really boy toys but they weren't typically girly toys.
    Getting older I had an Artari then C64, then Sega Megadrive and then a PS1

But I also had lot of girl type toys, I had a collection of over 30 Barbies and the full
    She-ra range.